JM25 have the decency to acknowledge Fahy's contribution Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1969 - 24/06/2023 21:18:10 2488926 Link 1 |
Ban them from crazy long range shots. Every ball should be bounced in to Cooney and Whelan with runners charging in off the shoulder. Both sides hit lots of wides so conditions were poor with swirling wind. I loved their hunger. I loved their discipline in defence. I loved how hard they worked up top. I loved the composure at the back. Be happy Galwegians! They did us proud! Few rated our chances. We closed down completely the much vaunted Tipp attack.. Wasn't Linnane super?! Hon the Tribes! Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 24/06/2023 21:20:32 2488928 Link 2 |
Would agree on KK and Clare. If the Clare full back line that played today line out in Croke Park, they will be beaten out the gate. Dublin could have had five or six goals and that was without their main forward. They will have to play Cleary at full back even if he isn't fit.
galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 806 - 24/06/2023 21:24:07 2488936 Link 2 |
I believe Clare have the better players and more firepower but beating Kilkenny is easier said than done. I'd love a Galway v Clare All Ireland but that's not easy to set up. Sigh.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2282 - 24/06/2023 23:26:39 2488973 Link 1 |
I disagreed with this at the time. I couldn't see how you thought we had no chance at all. Anyone following Galway hurling should know we always have a chance. Especially against a team like Tipp who we've always had very tight and competitive games against. Even this year alone would have shown this, given our very hot and cold spells in games. The same scenario had unfolded in 2020, when we threw away a Leinster final against Kilkenny and bounced back to beat Tipp in the quarters. Today's performance while far from perfect was at least more consistent over the whole course of the game. A fully deserved win and the margin would have been greater if we had been a bit more clinical. Fair play to the lads. Looking forward to the semi-final. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2224 - 25/06/2023 02:27:21 2488984 Link 1 |
'A poor Tipp forward division' that qualified from the 'great' Munster championship, going unbeaten against both Munster finalists, and enjoying 'a great press' heading into last evenings match, in almost complete contrast to their 'beleaguered inconsistent' opponents of yesterday, who you claim now were an astonishing 15 points the better side.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 25/06/2023 08:33:20 2488996 Link 0 |
I'll hold my hands up. I thought Tipp would bring fire and brimstone and put us to the sword. That was one of the worst Tipp performances I did ever see, and it was against us..delighted!! Shackles will be off now v Limerick it's going to be a shootout with plenty of errors by both teams, if Whelan turns in another performance, we'll win! CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 499 - 25/06/2023 09:19:45 2489006 Link 0 |
Too true...JM25 criticism of Fahy way off. A few wides yes but he took two great points and more importantly he won masses of dirty ball in the air and on the ground, one of our best players on the day. He's finally embedded himself i feel in this team and he's a sure fire starter against Limerick. Sadly Conor Cooney in his short cameo only confirmed what we already know...
Flaherty (UK) - Posts: 126 - 25/06/2023 09:38:29 2489014 Link 2 |
Clare have more firepower when it's an open game of ping pong hurling like in Munster or v Dublin. Kilkenny are the masters of zero space in their defence and forcing opposition forwards into winning their own dirty ball in the air or on the ground and we both know Clare don't have the forwards up for that fight. Kilkenny by 6 points. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 844 - 25/06/2023 09:56:17 2489017 Link 0 |
God but you havent a clue!!!
jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1618 - 25/06/2023 10:14:56 2489025 Link 0 |
Well I have gone for a Galway v Clare All Ireland Final from the start.....only two big games to go!!
katser (Galway) - Posts: 2481 - 25/06/2023 10:17:35 2489027 Link 1 |
Ah yeah he'd a fine second half and maybe that kind of physical nuisance and competitor and there are other lads in forward who need to keep the scoreboard ticking he could be our bonner Maher. But at the same time he missed a simple 1-2 which we're gonna need if we are to have any hope in two weeks I'm still unsure on cathal mannion role he was excellent yesterday but are missing his influence and scoring ability further up the field and maybe could linnane or glennon play depper role I find linnane to be an almost remake of Aidan Harte really good yesterday and that's 3 solid performance in a row he's put in jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1308 - 25/06/2023 10:28:09 2489032 Link 1 |
3 solid performances in a row........jaysus, he couldn't be a Galway hurler........Lame Sheedy will tell you that
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3911 - 25/06/2023 10:53:36 2489042 Link 1 |
Ah you can't jump on the bandwagon now and predict us to get to the All Ireland Final when you said you expected us to get hammered by Tipp lol
katser (Galway) - Posts: 2481 - 25/06/2023 11:07:18 2489048 Link 1 |
Great win for loughrea in the senior A league final 5-21 to 2-21 after ET Vs cappy. Hard to believe not one player from the 30 players in the county final 22 started for Galway yesterday Jackson88 (Galway) - Posts: 72 - 25/06/2023 13:22:01 2489079 Link 1 |
On the day yes for some reason flat as a pancake. They were a long way off Galway and in my opinion a two point defeat flattered them more than any team this year. Galway upped their game also in certain places and not taking any thing from your deserved win. I for one never write off any Galway team since the days of the great John Connolly. It is a great time to cause a diversion from Conor Whelan as he will have two men on him now.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2903 - 25/06/2023 14:07:14 2489100 Link 1 |
I watched a recording of the game last time, having returned from Limerick, and I noticed each time Anthony Daly spoke about Conor Whelan he spoke only about his strength, the same re J Cooney. When Whelo scored the goal, Daly said he got the better of Barrett with his strength which was total nonsense. He got the better of the two Tipp backs with his stick work, with his skill and hurling ability.
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 25/06/2023 14:22:24 2489107 Link 2 |
Whelan is rarely left one on one, Canuck even though he's only a one trick pony according to one Tyrellibly complimentary punter!
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 25/06/2023 14:32:40 2489112 Link 1 |
Brian Concannon could profit greatly if Conor Whelan gets too much attention from the defense.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2282 - 25/06/2023 14:41:03 2489114 Link 0 |
Very true. But mighty hurdles lay ahead for this to happen. Galway Abu.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2282 - 25/06/2023 14:43:16 2489116 Link 0 |