Galway Hurling thread

Replying To anotheralias:  "I wouldnt be an expert on hurling but as a Galway supporter I was probably in the minority when i say that i didn't switch to the rugby until the hurling was over.
This may be a personal observation but there is something about Galway hurling and I wonder if hurling people ( and as I've said I'm not one) would agree with me.
In terms of pace , power, shooting, stickwork Galway are on par with anyone ( the exception obviously being Limerick's power). But the area that I think we are well behind is ball handling. Too many times I see Galway players fumbling ball , failing to catch simple 30 yard passes, really bad on catching long high balls.
Maybe its just me but I would be very surprised if there was a "fumble / mis-catch stat" that we would be miles behind the Kilkenny's of this world in that regard.
If I'm correct what's the root cause. Do we not do enough work against the ball walls or pucking the ball long to each other in the fields.
If i'm talking rubbish I won't be offended if ye tell me to stick to the football commentary."
Agree with you there about ball handling and fumbling being absolutely key to modern hurling. Puckouts have to go to hand, preferably to a player moving forward or a player coming back has to pass it off to a runner and this creates the overlap. When you get to midfield then you can pick out full forwards and you have time to do this and you give them a more favourable ball, Joe Canning said as much a few weeks ago on League Sunday. If the ball is fumbled you may still get the ball into your hand but you are then under pressure and timing of runners off the shoulder will break down.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 13/03/2023 13:29:15    2463712

Nice to get the win yesterday in ennis but god forgive me its hard to get too excited about galway hurling now. the bench looked v poor. We just dont have the numbers. Too many small fellas. Looking at both galway and clare yesterday though, all the young lads playing were small. you'd wonder what academy's are doing. When you look at Limerick and the size of their team. That is the blue print of how to win like. I will be laying on Galway this year anyway. Unfortunately.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 426 - 13/03/2023 14:15:05    2463727

Replying To katser:  "We could meet them in the All Ireland Final!"
ya in the camogie........and it's limerick not limrik id say you were in the corridor for a lot of your english classes kathy.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 13/03/2023 15:00:26    2463738

Replying To katser:  "Not included are the points scored from frees given away by the two Corner Backs.......I make it 7pts from play and 5frees"
Having watched the game back you are some bull*******. Frees conceded:

P. Mannion × 2
R. Glennon × 2
K. Cooney x 1
J. Grealish x 1

Where are these 5 frees our corner backs conceded????? Grealish and Brennan turned over a good bit of ball after Reidy's fast start. The OTHER corner forward Taylor was playing out the field and not marked by Grealish or Brennan. So now from your 12 points conceded from our corner backs we are down to 6. A 50% reduction. Wish I could do the same to my electricity bill!!

Not 20 years ago when you can be the drunk lad in the corner spouting muck that can't be easily checked. Like our corner backs. Up your game.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 13/03/2023 15:13:25    2463740

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Nice to get the win yesterday in ennis but god forgive me its hard to get too excited about galway hurling now. the bench looked v poor. We just dont have the numbers. Too many small fellas. Looking at both galway and clare yesterday though, all the young lads playing were small. you'd wonder what academy's are doing. When you look at Limerick and the size of their team. That is the blue print of how to win like. I will be laying on Galway this year anyway. Unfortunately."
Tipp seem huge now as well, and were able to boss Waterford all over the place! But it's only the league, … Yet fellas aren't gonna get any bigger in the next few weeks, whatever about sharper and fitter! You just can't fatten a pig the day of the fair!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 13/03/2023 15:41:11    2463746

Replying To munsterchamps:  "ya in the camogie........and it's limerick not limrik id say you were in the corridor for a lot of your english classes kathy."
You, yourself, might have missed the classes involving punctuation.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 13/03/2023 15:48:22    2463753

Replying To katser:  "Not included are the points scored from frees given away by the two Corner Backs.......I make it 7pts from play and 5frees"
Having watched the game back I have to ask what fictional game were you watching? Talk about making stuff up. A TD in the Dail wouldn't be a patch on you! Frees conceded:

P. Mannion x 2
R. Glennon x 2
K. Cooney x 1
J. Grealish x 1

Thats the 6 accounted for so where or how exactly did the corner backs concede 5 Frees? Take in to account Reidy's 3 points (one of the 3 GMac was picking him up) and Galvin's two points we have now reduced your magical 12 points down to 6!!! 50% reduction! If only I could do the same to my electricity bill......

The days of spouting rubbish and it not be called out are gone. Every game is easily accessible online. Like the two corner backs. Up your game.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 13/03/2023 16:40:24    2463765

I hear Sarsfields are looking for someone to do stats for the senior team this year. I know the perfect candidate.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 13/03/2023 18:14:37    2463782

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Having watched the game back I have to ask what fictional game were you watching? Talk about making stuff up. A TD in the Dail wouldn't be a patch on you! Frees conceded:

P. Mannion x 2
R. Glennon x 2
K. Cooney x 1
J. Grealish x 1

Thats the 6 accounted for so where or how exactly did the corner backs concede 5 Frees? Take in to account Reidy's 3 points (one of the 3 GMac was picking him up) and Galvin's two points we have now reduced your magical 12 points down to 6!!! 50% reduction! If only I could do the same to my electricity bill......

The days of spouting rubbish and it not be called out are gone. Every game is easily accessible online. Like the two corner backs. Up your game."
Having watched the game back I must say it's great having every game so easily accessible online!!
Yes P Mannion fouled "Reidy" when nobody was picking him up.........Corner Backs need to be tight to their men and can't afford to let them drift all over the place unmarked and also they need to turn quicker when their man gets inside them...no point turning like a big Zetor tractor because your man will be gone 10yrds!!
The days of Freedom of Speach are here to stay.
Sit on that.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 13/03/2023 19:29:23    2463794

Replying To anotheralias:  "I wouldnt be an expert on hurling but as a Galway supporter I was probably in the minority when i say that i didn't switch to the rugby until the hurling was over.
This may be a personal observation but there is something about Galway hurling and I wonder if hurling people ( and as I've said I'm not one) would agree with me.
In terms of pace , power, shooting, stickwork Galway are on par with anyone ( the exception obviously being Limerick's power). But the area that I think we are well behind is ball handling. Too many times I see Galway players fumbling ball , failing to catch simple 30 yard passes, really bad on catching long high balls.
Maybe its just me but I would be very surprised if there was a "fumble / mis-catch stat" that we would be miles behind the Kilkenny's of this world in that regard.
If I'm correct what's the root cause. Do we not do enough work against the ball walls or pucking the ball long to each other in the fields.
If i'm talking rubbish I won't be offended if ye tell me to stick to the football commentary."
Agree with this, vert poor stick passing. Has happened so many times during the league, even simple ones when not under pressure don't go to hand, are fumbled or overtime. It's very poor.

I think other Counties have been at it for years while we were still going long and expecting a forward to win his share of the ball, worked fine in 17 when we had huge men, we don't now, if anything other teams are ahead of us in that as well.

Really need to improve this, Limerick streets ahead of us.

Galwayspur (Offaly) - Posts: 230 - 13/03/2023 20:51:01    2463808

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Having watched the game back I have to ask what fictional game were you watching? Talk about making stuff up. A TD in the Dail wouldn't be a patch on you! Frees conceded:

P. Mannion x 2
R. Glennon x 2
K. Cooney x 1
J. Grealish x 1

The days of spouting rubbish and it not be called out are gone. Every game is easily accessible online. Like the two corner backs. Up your game."
the mods should have him banned from this forum long ago for spouting so many inaccuracies and sometimes worse. An ignoramus is my best description.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 426 - 14/03/2023 09:34:48    2463826

So....for this Weekend, We need Wexford to beat limrik, Clare to beat Cork and us to beat Westmeath +35pts!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 14/03/2023 10:02:19    2463831

Replying To Galwayspur:  "Agree with this, vert poor stick passing. Has happened so many times during the league, even simple ones when not under pressure don't go to hand, are fumbled or overtime. It's very poor.

I think other Counties have been at it for years while we were still going long and expecting a forward to win his share of the ball, worked fine in 17 when we had huge men, we don't now, if anything other teams are ahead of us in that as well.

Really need to improve this, Limerick streets ahead of us."
That is too negative. If Cork can beat Limerick, well so can Galway. Get behind the team. They can and will succeed. Gaillimh abú

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 14/03/2023 10:34:16    2463836

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "the mods should have him banned from this forum long ago for spouting so many inaccuracies and sometimes worse. An ignoramus is my best description."
Just scroll past any posts you don't like rather than calling for censorship. George Orwell warned us about people like you. Sigh.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 14/03/2023 10:56:20    2463843

Leinster is going to be interesting this year.

Kilkenny look decent without setting the world alight but they will be stronger when the Ballyhale lads all bed back in especially Cody, Mullen and TJ.

Wexford were septic against Clare but played very well v Cork but they rely so much on Lee Chin and Dee O Keeffe having full fitness. Two vital players for them.

Galway again a mixed bag, played well for 40mins v Clare the last day but Shefflin needs to find his settled team now V Wexford in Salthill. It won't be an easy match.

Dublin will try and use the matches in Parnell Park to get wins in the championship, they can't see to beat Kilkenny at all so they will definitely target the Galway and Wexford games to try and get out of the group.

The above probably does show the league if very much for experimenting and getting blocks of fitness work done but 4 weeks until a fairly cut throat round robin.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 726 - 14/03/2023 10:57:15    2463845

Wouldnt be worried about making a league semi final or not. We have a five week break after the Westmeath game before we play Wexford which is useful for getting the injured lads back on the training pitch. Still have Fintan and Shane Cooney to come back from injury and Cathal Mannion should be back for the Wexford game as well.

The big learnings from the weekend are to persist with Kevin Cooney at full forward as he gives a different dynamic and TJ Brennan is going to hard to dislodge from the team even with Morrissey to come in. Brennan went over to Reidy after he was giving Grealish trouble early and completely shut him down. Now he had his own trouble at the end with Galvin but he was fresh on the field and usually clips over a point or two anyway. Also credit to Ronan Glennon for taking away any influence from Tony Kelly.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 14/03/2023 11:12:40    2463847

Yes I would agree that the current Galway team are a long way behind the 2017 team in terms of game-plan, quality, movement, stick passing, size of players etc. To me its like they are making it up as they go along e.g. the space and time afforded to Clare players last Sunday under little or no pressure was frightening especially in the first half but also in the second half at times e.g. Fitzgerald collecting a pass from the Clare goalie and running about 20 yards before shooting a point completely unmarked is just unacceptable even if "its only the league". Also the current cornerbacks are not as good as the corner backs there in 2018 even though Adrian Tuohy and John Hanbury got their own share of criticism at the time. Midfield is still unsettled since David Burke and Johnny Coen's time and the forwards are "doing their own thing" and playing as individuals to a large degree. I hope there will be a big improvement in the next number of weeks as there needs to be. Are Fintan Burke and Shane Cooney still part of the panel and where did Adrian Tuohy and Ja Mannion disappear to after the Walsh Cup? We will need all those players as well as Cathal Mannion when it comes to the championship to have any chance. Re the size of the players we have now 2 catchphrases come to mind - "its not the size of the dog in the fight, its the size of the fight in the dog" and "a good big un will always beat a good little un". For Galway's sake I hope the first one is more accurate this year!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 14/03/2023 11:18:04    2463849

Replying To katser:  "So....for this Weekend, We need Wexford to beat limrik, Clare to beat Cork and us to beat Westmeath +35pts!!"
Whatever about the second one, the first and last will not happen!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 14/03/2023 11:33:28    2463853

Replying To Trump2020:  "Just scroll past any posts you don't like rather than calling for censorship. George Orwell warned us about people like you. Sigh."
Are the days of people being Civilised, Educated and Courteous gone.......some of the language needs to be questioned!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 14/03/2023 12:03:31    2463861

When people have to curse it means they haven't got the Intelligence to use an appropriate word so they just throw in bad language!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 14/03/2023 12:20:09    2463864