Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Just watched the '22 AIF there last night; what a splendid game of fast open Hurling as was the AISF and the Munster Final; nothing at all wrong with the Modern Game. In fact looking back at games played ten or twenty years ago it is clear to be seen that skill levels, fitness levels, athleticism etc,etc, etc are way down on the present performances at every level. Thankfully the game has moved on and there is no future in the past."
Made a similar point a few pages and couldn't agree more, hurling now is at a much higher level in all aspects of the game, it is more physical, it is faster, it is more technical, more skillful etc etc. Go back and watch a match from the mid 90s and watch the standard of play.
Also, speaking of the past, i listened to an interesting podcast with TJ Ryan and Tom Ryan on it. Tom Ryan is as old skool as you can get but he was making the point, why are other teams trying to play like Limerick and adopt their style. Limerick developed their own style and identity which suited their players and their managements ethos which they planned and built from the ground up like having a playmaking corner back, playing a half back like who has license to get up and down the field, playing half forwards who have equal amounts of defensive as well as attacking responsibility, moving the opposition around the field to create space by going short, short, short and then long etc. All counties are free to play the game in whatever way they choose.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 08/03/2023 11:31:30    2462712

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Made a similar point a few pages and couldn't agree more, hurling now is at a much higher level in all aspects of the game, it is more physical, it is faster, it is more technical, more skillful etc etc. Go back and watch a match from the mid 90s and watch the standard of play.
Also, speaking of the past, i listened to an interesting podcast with TJ Ryan and Tom Ryan on it. Tom Ryan is as old skool as you can get but he was making the point, why are other teams trying to play like Limerick and adopt their style. Limerick developed their own style and identity which suited their players and their managements ethos which they planned and built from the ground up like having a playmaking corner back, playing a half back like who has license to get up and down the field, playing half forwards who have equal amounts of defensive as well as attacking responsibility, moving the opposition around the field to create space by going short, short, short and then long etc. All counties are free to play the game in whatever way they choose."
I respectfully disagree with you both. NOBODY pulls on the ball, players FROM ALL TEAMS are in big piles all trying to rise the ball and usually failing. Look back at Jimmy Barry Murphy and the way he could pull on the ball over his head and tell me who nowadays does anything like it? I'd say Canning was the closest I saw of the recent players.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 08/03/2023 11:53:29    2462723

Replying To Ailteoir:  "foreverwrong would be more apt."
You could add abusive, arrogant, juvenile, loudmouthed, rhino-necked and a good few more adjectives to that Ailteoir! It's best to to IGNORE attention seekers.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 08/03/2023 13:00:12    2462744

Replying To Trump2020:  "I respectfully disagree with you both. NOBODY pulls on the ball, players FROM ALL TEAMS are in big piles all trying to rise the ball and usually failing. Look back at Jimmy Barry Murphy and the way he could pull on the ball over his head and tell me who nowadays does anything like it? I'd say Canning was the closest I saw of the recent players."
Gillane scored a stunner a by flicking the ball into the net, can't remember the exact game. There are great moments in all eras (Ciaran Carey in full flight soloing being one strong memory for me) of hurling but as a whole week in week out on the field the standard in all areas of the games is far superior imo. Whether or not it is more entertaining is subjective. Limerick used to play traditional off the cuff hurling, Mark Foley would win the ball and hit it as hard as he could down the field, i loved those years but i just think what is on offer now is far superior. In terms of pulling on the ball if you look back at the games when a team pulls on the ball the chances are you will lose more ground than you gain and the percentages are against you which is why most teams don't use it anymore unless it is to pass on the ground. Each to their own though. I'm guessing our (or maybe just my own) judgement may be clouded by the comparable success of the team we follow at that particular time.

Look at the likes of Cian Lynch back flicking a ball between his legs to pick in up on the run, the skill levels of Tony Kelly in full flight, Kyle Hayes scoring a goal from running inside his own half, both goals scored by Hegarty in last years Munster and all ireland were spectacular. I'll politely head back to the Limerick thread now :) , Just to add i think most Limerick people see Galway as the biggest threat to Limerick and have been the strongest and most consistent opponent against us in recent times. There was nothing between the teams in the AI Semis and they provided a sterner test than KK did in the final.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 08/03/2023 13:03:07    2462746

Replying To Doylerwex:  "If it makes you feel any better I'm still not over it"
I have no regrets about 2019 Doylerwex but I empathise with you and fully understand the feeling.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 08/03/2023 13:06:14    2462747

Replying To Viking66:  "We only lost 1 game in 2019 too"
True and ye should have won that semi.
Ye did only win two games out of 6 though so I feel my point still stands!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/03/2023 13:39:53    2462756

Replying To tiobraid:  "Comment was addressed at one poster only. I didnt lose any sleep over Galway winning in 2017 as Tipp were poor all year that year so i dont expect Galway people to be upset over Tipp in 2019 - apart from Popey tho whos still bringing it up!"
Not upset in the slightest. I said I'd fire a shot, when I got the opportunity, after reading your unsolicited character reference for Concannon during the Kyle Hayes argument. Lo and behold, you come on telling us ye haven't won a Munster since 2016, and I knew my moment had arrived.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 08/03/2023 14:16:25    2462771

Replying To foreveryoung:  "An AI is an Al, whatever ifs, buts, or ands anyone tries to attribute to it. The most important fact of 2019 is that Tipp were crowned champions that year, and fully deserving of it. I'd attach genuine credibility to that win, especially considering what Limk have gone on and done since!

Another 4 years???? We'd be so lucky. It might actually take this crowd more like 40 years to get over it. I still hear them bleating about Tipp's win in 1989. They remind me of the Hannibal Lecter line in The Silence of the Lambs, "Can you still hear them bleating, Clarice?""
We're you 'yer man' in the corner, when Clarice used to visit Hopkins? Probably, with the USA address and all.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 08/03/2023 14:19:07    2462772

Replying To tiobraid:  "True and ye should have won that semi.
Ye did only win two games out of 6 though so I feel my point still stands!"
Sshhhhhhh; )

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 08/03/2023 15:11:16    2462796

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Gillane scored a stunner a by flicking the ball into the net, can't remember the exact game. There are great moments in all eras (Ciaran Carey in full flight soloing being one strong memory for me) of hurling but as a whole week in week out on the field the standard in all areas of the games is far superior imo. Whether or not it is more entertaining is subjective. Limerick used to play traditional off the cuff hurling, Mark Foley would win the ball and hit it as hard as he could down the field, i loved those years but i just think what is on offer now is far superior. In terms of pulling on the ball if you look back at the games when a team pulls on the ball the chances are you will lose more ground than you gain and the percentages are against you which is why most teams don't use it anymore unless it is to pass on the ground. Each to their own though. I'm guessing our (or maybe just my own) judgement may be clouded by the comparable success of the team we follow at that particular time.

Look at the likes of Cian Lynch back flicking a ball between his legs to pick in up on the run, the skill levels of Tony Kelly in full flight, Kyle Hayes scoring a goal from running inside his own half, both goals scored by Hegarty in last years Munster and all ireland were spectacular. I'll politely head back to the Limerick thread now :) , Just to add i think most Limerick people see Galway as the biggest threat to Limerick and have been the strongest and most consistent opponent against us in recent times. There was nothing between the teams in the AI Semis and they provided a sterner test than KK did in the final."
That Gillane goal was breathtaking alright.. Keeper knew nothing about it. If I remember correctly it was v Waterford in the 2019 league final.. Doubled on a delivery from Tom Morrissey from 100m out. Probably doesn't get remembered so much because it was the league.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 08/03/2023 16:59:09    2462847

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Gillane scored a stunner a by flicking the ball into the net, can't remember the exact game. There are great moments in all eras (Ciaran Carey in full flight soloing being one strong memory for me) of hurling but as a whole week in week out on the field the standard in all areas of the games is far superior imo. Whether or not it is more entertaining is subjective. Limerick used to play traditional off the cuff hurling, Mark Foley would win the ball and hit it as hard as he could down the field, i loved those years but i just think what is on offer now is far superior. In terms of pulling on the ball if you look back at the games when a team pulls on the ball the chances are you will lose more ground than you gain and the percentages are against you which is why most teams don't use it anymore unless it is to pass on the ground. Each to their own though. I'm guessing our (or maybe just my own) judgement may be clouded by the comparable success of the team we follow at that particular time.

Look at the likes of Cian Lynch back flicking a ball between his legs to pick in up on the run, the skill levels of Tony Kelly in full flight, Kyle Hayes scoring a goal from running inside his own half, both goals scored by Hegarty in last years Munster and all ireland were spectacular. I'll politely head back to the Limerick thread now :) , Just to add i think most Limerick people see Galway as the biggest threat to Limerick and have been the strongest and most consistent opponent against us in recent times. There was nothing between the teams in the AI Semis and they provided a sterner test than KK did in the final."
I had a West Limerick friend of your nickname in my youth. His reassuring catchphrase was 'Never fear; Fitzy is here', which he used, as Baire might say, waxing all Classical, Ad Nauseum. The think that we Modest Limerick people forget is that we twice changed the way the game was played, before. Back in the '97 Final, as in 1897, when the lads from Tullaroan were raging favourites, the Kilfinane boys adapted some new tactics which crucially included a new fangled idea called Hook and Block. It worked a treat on the day, but people said it would ruin the game, but times were moving on.
Then in the early Thirties Mackeys side came along. In 1931, when Cork played Kilkenny in the Final 30,000 people attended. By '35 when the crack Limerick side faced the Noreside men, a record crowd of over 50,000 people attended, despite it being in the midst of the Economic War. So we really were the first Hurling superstars.
We are currently changing the face of Hurling for the better as well. People may not realise it YET, but as a 73 man I have never seen the game played as brilliantly.
I have made the point that right since the start of our present good spell Galway are the biggest threat to our lofty position and I believe they are the men, who will knock us off our perch. Let us all enjoy it one way or the other. After all, it is only a game.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 08/03/2023 18:04:12    2462862

Replying To baire:  "You could add abusive, arrogant, juvenile, loudmouthed, rhino-necked and a good few more adjectives to that Ailteoir! It's best to to IGNORE attention seekers."
Oh Baire, I must compliment you on always being the voice of sweet reason.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 08/03/2023 18:06:06    2462863

Gas how the Limerick posters persist with their glorification of their team on the GALWAY HURLING THREAD. Have they ever heard of etiquette?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 08/03/2023 18:26:48    2462866

Replying To baire:  "What have we got to get over? If Tipp had beaten us on the way it may have taken us a few months to get over it but since ye didn't there's no bother in the world. Fair play to ye for winning it! At least we used to have a decent game of hurling, not the soccerised, pass the parcel type game that is played these days."
Some people harp on about the glorious decade of hurling in the 1990's (not Galway ppl though, as they have no reason to), and it was enjoyable THEN, even though the big 3 still ended up with 50% of the titles, and for no county was it a case of their first AI (unlike the 80's).

Quite novel though that we'd 6 different countries lift McCarthy, especially Clare coming from nowhere, Offaly cementing their new found stardom of the decade before, Wexford bridging a 28-year gap and dancing at the crossroads, KK doing the double, Cork opening and closing the decade with a title, and Tipp maintaining their great record of never going a decade without a title by winning in 1991. Even Limerick was to the forefront; who could ever forget that Ciaran Carey point?

Yes, all the elite counties of hurling were there to write the narrative of the glorious 1990's. Yet, if you look back on it all now, it was very pedestrian stuff compared with today's ferocious game. And also, fellas just letting the ball fly as hard as they could, without any scientific thought or effort at all in trying to make sure that it was their own team member who retained the ball. All very exciting but quite silly as well. Is it any wonder that the 'sheep in a heap' with pints in their bellies and fags in their mouths won Liam?

And for all its hurling novelty and romance, it was a far better decade for Gaelic football: 8 different winners of Sam, never before or since achieved. You'd the two heavies coming back after each being without a title for more than a decade; Galway reclaiming its place as a footballing power and county pride after horrible decades in the 70's and 80's; Meath continuing Boylan's magic of the '80's; Down furthering its footballing aristocracy from the 60's; the emergence of newcomers Donegal and Derry, and of course the Cork double in 1990. Kildare, Tyrone, and Mayo were all highly central to the drama too. What a decade that was! A footballing decade!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 08/03/2023 19:09:06    2462873

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Just watched the '22 AIF there last night; what a splendid game of fast open Hurling as was the AISF and the Munster Final; nothing at all wrong with the Modern Game. In fact looking back at games played ten or twenty years ago it is clear to be seen that skill levels, fitness levels, athleticism etc,etc, etc are way down on the present performances at every level. Thankfully the game has moved on and there is no future in the past."
There would be no present without a past, no county or provincial hurling competition without townland, parish or club hurling. We owe a lot to those who kept the game alive during the dark and hungry years, the horrific decades of the 19th century. Of course players today are fitter, healthier, stronger, well conditioned, pampered even. Ireland is a first world country. Even in the last century, the 1930's, 40s, 50s up to the 90s were lean years compared to the present. Those teams should not be compared to the 21st century teams with their massive backup, professionalism and finance.
Fitness levels, athleticism, S&C are not hurling skills per se, they are an essential part of team sports everywhere nowadays.
My point and it was a reference to hurling in general because the changes that have evolved are very similar in most counties - hurling, under the influence of gaelic football, seems to be taking its guidance and inspiration from English games, namely soccer and rugby. Some ppl like that, others don't. It's the reality. But it has drifted away from the original gaelic game, the gaelic mindset which wasn't obsessed with possession but more interested in the fast movement of the sliotar, letting it go, off the cuff hurling, both ground and aerial and more than anything else in the excitement of single combat, a very ancient Celtic tradition.
There are improvements in the modern game, the pitches are generally better, the sliotar is drier etc and no doubt we still have exciting matches but I dislike the obsession with possession, the predictability of the set pieces, the 3-10 hand passes or throws out of defence is a blight on the game imo, the rucks (a lovely gaelic term no doubt!) and the obsession with getting the sliotar into the hand each and every time.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 08/03/2023 19:47:23    2462878

You're as right as rain that there are fine players still playing and Limerick have a ton of them but I was just being general about it plus I was at work and had to rush the post a bit. I scream at the TV when I'm watching a hurling match "PULL ON THE DAMN BALL" nonstop no matter who is playing especially GALWAY. Pulling on the Ball is a lost art and deserves a thread of its own in my humble opinion.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 08/03/2023 20:22:19    2462887

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Not upset in the slightest. I said I'd fire a shot, when I got the opportunity, after reading your unsolicited character reference for Concannon during the Kyle Hayes argument. Lo and behold, you come on telling us ye haven't won a Munster since 2016, and I knew my moment had arrived."
Louise Morrissey sing a lovely song called "Tipperary on my mind...." :-D

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 09/03/2023 09:05:55    2462903

Replying To baire:  "There would be no present without a past, no county or provincial hurling competition without townland, parish or club hurling. We owe a lot to those who kept the game alive during the dark and hungry years, the horrific decades of the 19th century. Of course players today are fitter, healthier, stronger, well conditioned, pampered even. Ireland is a first world country. Even in the last century, the 1930's, 40s, 50s up to the 90s were lean years compared to the present. Those teams should not be compared to the 21st century teams with their massive backup, professionalism and finance.
Fitness levels, athleticism, S&C are not hurling skills per se, they are an essential part of team sports everywhere nowadays.
My point and it was a reference to hurling in general because the changes that have evolved are very similar in most counties - hurling, under the influence of gaelic football, seems to be taking its guidance and inspiration from English games, namely soccer and rugby. Some ppl like that, others don't. It's the reality. But it has drifted away from the original gaelic game, the gaelic mindset which wasn't obsessed with possession but more interested in the fast movement of the sliotar, letting it go, off the cuff hurling, both ground and aerial and more than anything else in the excitement of single combat, a very ancient Celtic tradition.
There are improvements in the modern game, the pitches are generally better, the sliotar is drier etc and no doubt we still have exciting matches but I dislike the obsession with possession, the predictability of the set pieces, the 3-10 hand passes or throws out of defence is a blight on the game imo, the rucks (a lovely gaelic term no doubt!) and the obsession with getting the sliotar into the hand each and every time."
Look Baire, seriously speaking, for once, I agree with much of the above. The man who made the famous ,' Let us bring back the Hurling to the fields of Ireland,' speech came from a parish about twenty miles from me and I grew up in the midst of great inter parish and inter county rivalry, all of which fuels great hurling deeds.
However, you have to move with the times. As far back as the 2007 Final, when we experienced it ourselves, and yes other counties had the same experience, we saw Kilkenny's savaging our boys and 'targetting' certain players for 'specisl treatment
. The game had changed even back then. Ten years later, LK played KK in Nowlan Park. Everytime Cian Lynch went for a ball three or four KK men hounded and harried him and yet the loose Limerick players seemed to be unable to cash in on the space left. After the game Ned Rea, the ex great, hit the nail on the head, simply' saying 'our lads did not work hard enough' Implicit in that remark was the message that the game had changed and thst there was no longer any good in the hit and hope game any longer

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 09/03/2023 10:34:21    2462913

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Oh Baire, I must compliment you on always being the voice of sweet reason."
Thank you.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 09/03/2023 10:48:40    2462919

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Some people harp on about the glorious decade of hurling in the 1990's (not Galway ppl though, as they have no reason to), and it was enjoyable THEN, even though the big 3 still ended up with 50% of the titles, and for no county was it a case of their first AI (unlike the 80's).

Quite novel though that we'd 6 different countries lift McCarthy, especially Clare coming from nowhere, Offaly cementing their new found stardom of the decade before, Wexford bridging a 28-year gap and dancing at the crossroads, KK doing the double, Cork opening and closing the decade with a title, and Tipp maintaining their great record of never going a decade without a title by winning in 1991. Even Limerick was to the forefront; who could ever forget that Ciaran Carey point?

Yes, all the elite counties of hurling were there to write the narrative of the glorious 1990's. Yet, if you look back on it all now, it was very pedestrian stuff compared with today's ferocious game. And also, fellas just letting the ball fly as hard as they could, without any scientific thought or effort at all in trying to make sure that it was their own team member who retained the ball. All very exciting but quite silly as well. Is it any wonder that the 'sheep in a heap' with pints in their bellies and fags in their mouths won Liam?

And for all its hurling novelty and romance, it was a far better decade for Gaelic football: 8 different winners of Sam, never before or since achieved. You'd the two heavies coming back after each being without a title for more than a decade; Galway reclaiming its place as a footballing power and county pride after horrible decades in the 70's and 80's; Meath continuing Boylan's magic of the '80's; Down furthering its footballing aristocracy from the 60's; the emergence of newcomers Donegal and Derry, and of course the Cork double in 1990. Kildare, Tyrone, and Mayo were all highly central to the drama too. What a decade that was! A footballing decade!"
Only thing Offaly 'cemented' in the '90s seems to have been their grave plot. Either that, or completely derailed by the 'millennium bug'.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 09/03/2023 11:21:39    2462933