Galway Hurling thread

Replying To tommy k:  "Absolutely waterside I heard recently that Sarsfields is the only club in Ireland to have won multiple senior AI Club titles in both hurling and camogie (camogie champs for the third year running this year) as well as AI's at other grades one of which you reference above and that is some achievement for a very small rural club!"
They're a mighty club for sure. Still very competitive at underage too as their U20 side showed last year. I'm sure their camogie side will be looking to emulate the great Limerick senior team in doing a 3-in-a-row.
Their might be an odd person GREEN with envy at Sarsfields' and Limerick's achievements, but they deserve huge respect.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 01/03/2023 13:32:12    2461196

Replying To Oldtourman:  "You did not see Lynch been hit at all. Nothing changes."
It was Hayes who did the Lynching! We all saw that one. I didn't see the other one but according to you if it's not seen it's not a foul!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 01/03/2023 13:44:37    2461203

Replying To tommy k:  "I think you are referring to Brian Concannon as the "opposition player". I looked back at the incident with Hayes and Concannon took a small swing at the ball when it was crossing the sideline but he didn't hit Hayes from what I saw but Hayes was frustrated with the Galway comeback and decided a full belt into Concannon's face was merited. The referee talked to Hayes but took no action as he didn't want to send him off with a second yellow card (which was the bare minimum it deserved), however it should have been a straight red no doubt and most commentators agreed with that."
Did you notice the targeting of Monaghan throughout the game and then Concannon when he came on?
The ref unfortunately wasn't up to it.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 01/03/2023 13:50:30    2461206

Replying To baire:  "It was Hayes who did the Lynching! We all saw that one. I didn't see the other one but according to you if it's not seen it's not a foul!"
Well watch the match on TG 4 and you will see it. I was up in the stand and I saw it clearly. It was every bit as Hayses and if one should have the other should have gone. Of course RTE made nothing of it but that does not mean it was a reckless and potentially dangerous pull.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/03/2023 14:31:02    2461214

Replying To baire:  "Did you notice the targeting of Monaghan throughout the game and then Concannon when he came on?
The ref unfortunately wasn't up to it."
Several people in the stand commented on the fact that monaghan was stamped on in an incident in the first half with Henry and the galway sideline going ballistic

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 01/03/2023 14:33:33    2461216

Replying To baire:  "I agree. Some of the response to the Hayes hit from the Limerick fellas is pathetic, trying to justify the unjustifiable, coming onto the Galway thread spouting their usual propaganda and talking about everything except Hayes' indiscipline. Their two biggest and strongest men hit two Galway players in the head in the last year! Seems to be in their dna or is it cultural? Striking a fella intentionally in the head with a hurley is criminal, simple as. I don't care what county or club the player is from it has to be called out. Kiely went on a rant in Pearse Stadium a while back accusing fellas of diving, we haven't heard a word from his mouth about the way Brian Concannon went down or why. We'll be waiting, I'd say!
Don't bother responding OTM with your usual guff about other players, other games, other counties, other years etc etc, it doesn't wash."
I'll respond any time I want to. You have no right to try to stifle debate.o

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/03/2023 14:36:14    2461217

Replying To minor77:  "Several people in the stand commented on the fact that monaghan was stamped on in an incident in the first half with Henry and the galway sideline going ballistic"
Henry is all his life trying to "referee" matches

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/03/2023 15:32:29    2461235

Replying To baire:  "Did you notice the targeting of Monaghan throughout the game and then Concannon when he came on?
The ref unfortunately wasn't up to it."
Isn't it ironic that the only player that actually ended up in Casualty during all the Limerick/Galway games was Joe Canning and he ended up there because of a reckless and highly dangerous charge by his own man and all the auld talk there is about Limerick.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/03/2023 15:37:57    2461237

Replying To baire:  "I agree. Some of the response to the Hayes hit from the Limerick fellas is pathetic, trying to justify the unjustifiable, coming onto the Galway thread spouting their usual propaganda and talking about everything except Hayes' indiscipline. Their two biggest and strongest men hit two Galway players in the head in the last year! Seems to be in their dna or is it cultural? Striking a fella intentionally in the head with a hurley is criminal, simple as. I don't care what county or club the player is from it has to be called out. Kiely went on a rant in Pearse Stadium a while back accusing fellas of diving, we haven't heard a word from his mouth about the way Brian Concannon went down or why. We'll be waiting, I'd say!
Don't bother responding OTM with your usual guff about other players, other games, other counties, other years etc etc, it doesn't wash."
Obviously Kiely will use his favourite term "simulation" rather than diving for what happened to Brian Concannon lol!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 01/03/2023 15:43:04    2461240

There is no place in the game of hurling for hitting men in the face (thankfully he was protected) or stamping on a helpless man on the ground.
What sort of "things" do that...... disgraceful behavior!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 01/03/2023 16:11:53    2461244

Jaysus some of ye really hate us, how can ye be so bitter, so easy to get ye wound up.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 01/03/2023 16:18:25    2461248

Replying To updwell:  "Jaysus some of ye really hate us, how can ye be so bitter, so easy to get ye wound up."
We're not talking about 'ye' whoever you may be. We're talking about a head injury to a Galway player. I don't see Limerick mentioned in the title of this thread.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 01/03/2023 16:53:40    2461258

Replying To katser:  "There is no place in the game of hurling for hitting men in the face (thankfully he was protected) or stamping on a helpless man on the ground.
What sort of "things" do that...... disgraceful behavior!!"
But it is alright to hit Cian Lynch across the face with a hurley and from the blindsided as well. Maybe a good job he had a helmet too. I just feel one incident was as bad as the other and both of them should have got the line. And yes the one match ban is a joke as I have been saying for ages.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 01/03/2023 16:54:03    2461259

Replying To tommy k:  "Obviously Kiely will use his favourite term "simulation" rather than diving for what happened to Brian Concannon lol!"
He's well able for that himself! Going around with his big grin to HS! Hypocrite!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 01/03/2023 16:57:45    2461261

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Isn't it ironic that the only player that actually ended up in Casualty during all the Limerick/Galway games was Joe Canning and he ended up there because of a reckless and highly dangerous charge by his own man and all the auld talk there is about Limerick."
Your reading of the Canning injury is off the wall, an accidental collision. Sometimes I think you believe your own gibberish! He had spent at least 10 minutes in agony on the ground from Hegarty's sly pull to his kidneys before that - the camera could show it but the GAA dinosaurs don't allow modern technology in the 21st Century.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 01/03/2023 17:12:38    2461272

Replying To baire:  "He's well able for that himself! Going around with his big grin to HS! Hypocrite!"
Yes he wasn't grinning and joking with HS and SON when Galway beat them in the league for the last 2 years and when Galway were leading / level during the second half of the AI semifinal last year. Seems to be a very petty, bad-minded individual compared to Michael O'Donoghue who is a true gentleman.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3322 - 01/03/2023 17:34:55    2461284

Replying To Viking66:  "Anyone posting anything about Galway on the Galway thread today?!!!"
The Limerick ladies are 'edgetated'! lol

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 01/03/2023 17:53:20    2461287

Galway and Limerick need to play each other more often. With all the comments about it I'll need a bigger iPhone and iPad. lol.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 01/03/2023 18:22:31    2461294

Always the victims.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 01/03/2023 18:27:55    2461297

All limerick posters ignore all this and discuss on limerick page..Galway support is bitter since2018..we are top of the pile and hopefully stay there to annoy people for a few more years..let's face it Galway would gladly take some of the players the supporters are talking about..cmon the treaty!!!!!!!!

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 01/03/2023 18:31:21    2461299