2022 Wexford Intercounty Football

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "half forward line is weakest, says i hoping they will prove me wrong"
well they did not prove me wrong, spot on it was

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2841 - 16/01/2022 08:29:32    2395116

From watching the game on the stream Brosnan and Paidi Hughes looked to be the most impressive performers, couple of good scores by O'Toole too. Not good seeing Sheehan pulling up surely doubtful now for a least 1st 2 league games.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 16/01/2022 09:28:32    2395118

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "well they did not prove me wrong, spot on it was"
Yeah I would actual temper my initial optimism on the basis that we are crying out for a creative centre-forward. Most, probably all, of our options out there have carrying the ball as their biggest strength- we don't have anyone to link the play and ping balls inside. O'Toole has shown well enough in the O'Byrne Cup to be fair, but he is still inexperienced at this level. Gooch, KOG, Byrne, Brooks are all exponents of the running game. The only potential outliers I can identify are maybe Niall Hughes or a complete punt on Eoin Porter, who I feel isn't a natural full-back option but is a very good kick-passer.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1416 - 16/01/2022 10:26:30    2395122

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "well they did not prove me wrong, spot on it was"
Out of interest what are you basing that off or what were your expectations or who would your alternatives be? Dean O'Toole with two great scores and perfect assist for the goal. Tobin and Byrne doing the tireless and thankless work up and down the field and linking in between around that. Byrne with a great goal chance that he could possibly have carried further. In general the wing forward role for most teams, but definitely for Wexford is not glamorous, it is the unseen tracking and shadowing and even more so when they are playing with 14 men.

Solid overall team performance, Dylan Furlong impressed with his running out of defence, Martin O Connor had an off day that wouldn't be like him, I thought Glen Malone looked off the pace a bit and didn't penetrate as he normally would. Coleman and Lyons tired as the game went on which would be expected with the Sigerson games catching up on them also. Thought the forwards worked tirelessly but would like to see more penetration and shaping up for shots, Ben Brosnan being the perfect example of doing it.

The ref had a strange game, overall Meath were well worth their win but it was a great game to watch with Wexford packing a serious punch in comparison to the limp performance on Wednesday night.

WX2017 (Wexford) - Posts: 12 - 16/01/2022 10:43:29    2395126

was at the game, there was a few times during the game i thought meath were going to hammer us but we hung in there , it was div 2 v div 4, we struggled to maintain the pace that those teams play at, we did for most of the game but every now and again our concentration went and the work rate dropped, the lesson to be learned from it is the need to stay "switched on" for the full game, half forward time seems to be a problem, got the impression over the 3 games in the week that the players 10 to 12 are not to sure what their roll in the team is , backs will be solid, midfield will be strong, where is rory heffernan? he has not featured yet, or michael furlong and donal stanley, lot to look forward to even if div 4 is stronger than it ever has been , we can get promoted or we might be 4th

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2841 - 16/01/2022 10:57:25    2395127

Replying To WX2017:  "Out of interest what are you basing that off or what were your expectations or who would your alternatives be? Dean O'Toole with two great scores and perfect assist for the goal. Tobin and Byrne doing the tireless and thankless work up and down the field and linking in between around that. Byrne with a great goal chance that he could possibly have carried further. In general the wing forward role for most teams, but definitely for Wexford is not glamorous, it is the unseen tracking and shadowing and even more so when they are playing with 14 men.

Solid overall team performance, Dylan Furlong impressed with his running out of defence, Martin O Connor had an off day that wouldn't be like him, I thought Glen Malone looked off the pace a bit and didn't penetrate as he normally would. Coleman and Lyons tired as the game went on which would be expected with the Sigerson games catching up on them also. Thought the forwards worked tirelessly but would like to see more penetration and shaping up for shots, Ben Brosnan being the perfect example of doing it.

The ref had a strange game, overall Meath were well worth their win but it was a great game to watch with Wexford packing a serious punch in comparison to the limp performance on Wednesday night."
ok, i take your point about tobin and byrne, no doubting their work rate tracking back and defending, while that is a largepart of a modern half forwards agenda they must also create and not just defend

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2841 - 16/01/2022 11:54:12    2395134

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "was at the game, there was a few times during the game i thought meath were going to hammer us but we hung in there , it was div 2 v div 4, we struggled to maintain the pace that those teams play at, we did for most of the game but every now and again our concentration went and the work rate dropped, the lesson to be learned from it is the need to stay "switched on" for the full game, half forward time seems to be a problem, got the impression over the 3 games in the week that the players 10 to 12 are not to sure what their roll in the team is , backs will be solid, midfield will be strong, where is rory heffernan? he has not featured yet, or michael furlong and donal stanley, lot to look forward to even if div 4 is stronger than it ever has been , we can get promoted or we might be 4th"
Heffernan is injured, Furlong got injured in Adamstown's campaign so I assume he is still carrying that. Haven't heard Shanley's situation (who actually could be a centre-forward option).

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1416 - 16/01/2022 12:17:18    2395137

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "was at the game, there was a few times during the game i thought meath were going to hammer us but we hung in there , it was div 2 v div 4, we struggled to maintain the pace that those teams play at, we did for most of the game but every now and again our concentration went and the work rate dropped, the lesson to be learned from it is the need to stay "switched on" for the full game, half forward time seems to be a problem, got the impression over the 3 games in the week that the players 10 to 12 are not to sure what their roll in the team is , backs will be solid, midfield will be strong, where is rory heffernan? he has not featured yet, or michael furlong and donal stanley, lot to look forward to even if div 4 is stronger than it ever has been , we can get promoted or we might be 4th"
Agree, we got opened up a few times and the manner in which they did it suggested that they would run riot however we dug in. That can come from not just been used to that level of intensity. Meath were Div 1 last year and ok they will be div 2 this year but its that experience that counts. Based on what we have seen so far we should be good enough to get out of div 4. We perhaps lack a controller of the game around the middle half forward like. Ben was coming out to do it yesterday but you need him in closer, at times in the counter attack, you need someone to be able to say hold on we don't go. However as I said we should be good enough to get out of Div 4

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 16/01/2022 12:58:00    2395142

Replying To zinny:  "Agree, we got opened up a few times and the manner in which they did it suggested that they would run riot however we dug in. That can come from not just been used to that level of intensity. Meath were Div 1 last year and ok they will be div 2 this year but its that experience that counts. Based on what we have seen so far we should be good enough to get out of div 4. We perhaps lack a controller of the game around the middle half forward like. Ben was coming out to do it yesterday but you need him in closer, at times in the counter attack, you need someone to be able to say hold on we don't go. However as I said we should be good enough to get out of Div 4"
o toole has a future at intercounty but he is not a centerforward yet

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2841 - 16/01/2022 13:56:53    2395150

Replying To zinny:  "Agree, we got opened up a few times and the manner in which they did it suggested that they would run riot however we dug in. That can come from not just been used to that level of intensity. Meath were Div 1 last year and ok they will be div 2 this year but its that experience that counts. Based on what we have seen so far we should be good enough to get out of div 4. We perhaps lack a controller of the game around the middle half forward like. Ben was coming out to do it yesterday but you need him in closer, at times in the counter attack, you need someone to be able to say hold on we don't go. However as I said we should be good enough to get out of Div 4"
We should be good enough to get out of Division 4. But then Cavan, Tipp and Carlow would all feel the same way. Being good enough to get out of Division 4 and actually getting out of division 4 are 2 different things entirely and the draw hasnt been too kind to us. Hopefully we are in div 3 next year as playing better teams will surely help our younger lads. As regards someone controlling the game I think Martin O Connor at centre back should be that man. Centreforward should be someone very mobile who can play like an attacking 3rd midfielder and who can win the ball played out and hold it up long enough for runners coming through on the one hand or who can carry it forward and find Ben or whoever in the inside line on the other. Or take a long range score himself. And obviously tackle and press the opposition half backs when they are coming out with the ball especially if they are counter attacking and our half backs have overlapped ahead of him. Our centreback in that situation should be a little behind him directing our lads so to speak. I know this is a bit of a leftfield suggestion but how about Glen Malone at centre forward?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11827 - 16/01/2022 19:07:22    2395196

Replying To Viking66:  "We should be good enough to get out of Division 4. But then Cavan, Tipp and Carlow would all feel the same way. Being good enough to get out of Division 4 and actually getting out of division 4 are 2 different things entirely and the draw hasnt been too kind to us. Hopefully we are in div 3 next year as playing better teams will surely help our younger lads. As regards someone controlling the game I think Martin O Connor at centre back should be that man. Centreforward should be someone very mobile who can play like an attacking 3rd midfielder and who can win the ball played out and hold it up long enough for runners coming through on the one hand or who can carry it forward and find Ben or whoever in the inside line on the other. Or take a long range score himself. And obviously tackle and press the opposition half backs when they are coming out with the ball especially if they are counter attacking and our half backs have overlapped ahead of him. Our centreback in that situation should be a little behind him directing our lads so to speak. I know this is a bit of a leftfield suggestion but how about Glen Malone at centre forward?"
niall hughes?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2841 - 16/01/2022 20:02:10    2395208

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "niall hughes?"
Maybe better wing forward alongside Malone? Need a strong half forward line who can kick points from out the field with the wing forwards having licence to make runs inside and make and take goal chances. At the same time being quick enough and fit enough to track back when the opposition attacks. Which Hughes would be great at.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11827 - 17/01/2022 10:42:32    2395240

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "niall hughes?"
Maybe Shanley as the other wing forward

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11827 - 17/01/2022 10:46:23    2395244

Replying To Viking66:  "Maybe Shanley as the other wing forward"
will shanley be available?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2841 - 17/01/2022 11:44:39    2395257

In my opinion glen Malone would not make a center forward, he better at facing the ball and attack from wing back and will score from wing back too

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 435 - 17/01/2022 12:03:44    2395267

Replying To Viking66:  "Maybe Shanley as the other wing forward"
Shanley in the centr. He is probably the most creative of our experienced lads without having to upset the overall structure of the side. O'Toole hasn't put a foot wrong yet though. Any two of Tobin/KOG/Byrne/Brooks flanking him either side (realistically all four would be utilised in a game given the work-rate required for the role). Brosnan and Rossiter two certs inside, with probably Tubs or Mini-KOG and Brooks are options here too.

Hughes midfield with Coleman (Heffernan in contention with Lyons). I can see Waters calling it a day too after Brian's announcement.

Half-back line of Paudie, Murt and Glen is our strongest line. Porter, Barron and Naomhan Rossiter able deputies.

Sheehan full-back with any combo of Jim Rossiter, O'Connor, the two Furlongs and Carty either side.

Looks the most functional to me.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1416 - 17/01/2022 12:07:33    2395268

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "In my opinion glen Malone would not make a center forward, he better at facing the ball and attack from wing back and will score from wing back too"
The only reason I suggested him at CF is to give us more defensive solidity furthur up the pitch. Facing the ball when our attacks break down. Watching us the last few years we seem particularly vulnerable to teams running the ball out of defense and scoring goals against us especially when we turn the ball over up the pitch and have too many of our defenders in the opposition 45. The role of the centre forward I was picturing was someone who along with the 2 midfielders would be lads who have a bit of speed who are good at tackling and pressing operating mostly between the 45s ahead of Martin O Connor who would be playing a kind of NFL Quarterback role at Centreback. These 3 lads would need to be able to take a long range point too. The half backs and half forwards would then have more licence to go forward when we attack without leaving us wide open to teams counter attacking from deep and getting goals against us which seems to happen too often over the last couple of years. That's why I thought Malone would be a good choice for the position.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11827 - 17/01/2022 13:53:30    2395298

My team , Doyle, furlong porter o Connor,Malone rossiter martin o Connor, Hughes and Coleman, Byrne,Nolan Tobin, brosnan, brooks o grady

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 435 - 17/01/2022 14:04:32    2395305

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "will shanley be available?"
Not sure tbh. Hopefully though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11827 - 17/01/2022 14:35:00    2395311

Replying To Viking66:  "Not sure tbh. Hopefully though."
Haven't heard anything, i believe he's qualified as a doctor now so obviously will poss challenges for training etc.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 17/01/2022 14:51:05    2395317