2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Firstly I am an Offaly man so not being biased or anything, the referee for Wexford V Clare was poor I thought, very harsh on Wexford while Clare seemed to get the easier frees (many of which were missed early on and and off through out the game) Clare folk will say if Wexford took their goal chances they would have won, yes, but equally if Clare had took their points scoring chances or even 50% of them they would not have been in the situation they were in in the last 5 minutes...goal chances come and go in most games not all are scored, its only when a team loses they are bemoaned. Point chances the same but more frequent obviously and from play and frees. Shane Reck was outstanding for Wexford on Saturday, he was hit heavily on numerous occasions, often unfairly I thought, and yet Clare seemed to manage to have a different player hitting him each time, hence no second yellow. His final injury in the last 5 minutes of normal time proved the final straw and he had to go off, and no disrespect to his replacement or the switches, but Wexford defence folded once Reck went off. I am convinced Clare would never have found the space they found with Reck still in there.

Unfortunaley for Wexford they lost, and Shane Recks display for 65 minutes will be forgot about and people will only remember the Clare finish. I think Wexford would be a better opponent to Kilkenny, Clare will certainly put it up to them, but with inconsistent free taking, and going out of the game for periods, Kilkenny will make hay at these times I think. I hope Clare do beat Kilkenny (they have more than enough won) Wexford were a tad unlucky Saturday I suppose..3-14 was an old time traditional tally to hit and would have won many games in the past..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 21/06/2022 13:59:12    2426648

Replying To Viking66:  "I got the impression from reading that article that he's going to do work with them between now and then to help them get ready for training resumption in December."
I really hope this is the case

If he puts in this extra work then the fans and players will buy into him even more

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 549 - 21/06/2022 14:01:31    2426649

Replying To Yellow:  "I really hope this is the case

If he puts in this extra work then the fans and players will buy into him even more"
For sure. When he was coming in being thorough and leaving no stone unturned were said to be leading attributes of his. He was a big part of Kiladangans rise from mid Intermediate to full Tipp senior champions.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 21/06/2022 14:23:37    2426653

Replying To Pikeman96:  "All I'll say on the supporter issue is I think Wexford has a large number of people who just like going to Croke Park, and nowhere else. If the quarter-finals had been played in Croke Park instead of Thurles, we'd probably have had at least 5,000 extra supporters there, and maybe even more.

Yes, Thurles is a pain to get to by comparison, and the lack of public transport doesn't help either. But still, if you really wanted to go, you'd find a way. If you could afford match tickets for the same price in Croke Park and probably €20 or more each for a bus or train fare to Dublin, you could afford tickets for Thurles and find somebody to car pool with if people threw in a few quid each for petrol/diesel.

Look even at 2019. Attendance in Wexford Park for an all-important match v Kilkenny in the final round of the group stage was around 17,000 - so probably about 12,000 from Wexford. There was still terrace tickets available on the day, so it's not that there was a large number of people who wanted to go but couldn't get in.

The attendance in Croke Park for the final a few weeks later was over 50,000 - so probably at least 25,000 to 30,000 from Wexford. There's anywhere from 13,000 to 18,000 people straight away who just like the day out in Croke Park, but who wouldn't go down the road in Wexford to see the team play."
If the GAA fixed that match for Croke Park, people would have said "Why not Thurles"......."I'm not trying to get to Croke Park on a Saturday afternoon", and so on so forth. I well remember Wexford v Dublin in Croke Park a few years ago on
a Saturday evening and there was not 3k at it.

The one thing I will defend supporters with is that there was a lack of hype altogether about the match. Nothing on SE Radio, Twitter, Facebook, etc not a word.

The GAA is very bad at publicising games, the LOI even is better than them and that is saying something.

Look, it is up to everybody in the county to decide to go or not. My issue is when I hear Wexford described as this hurling mad county with huge support, but when there is a very winnable All-Ireland quarter final on a fine sunny day they are found wanting. Dublin has a small but loyal fan base and would have brought more to Thurles than Wexford did.

And it is 100% a fact that if Wexford had made a semi final, 60k would have turned up. And if they had made a final, many of the 5k who were in Thurles would not have got a ticket and being gazumped by the bandwagon. Including me and my kids who have been to almost every match this year and many others.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 21/06/2022 14:36:22    2426658

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Firstly I am an Offaly man so not being biased or anything, the referee for Wexford V Clare was poor I thought, very harsh on Wexford while Clare seemed to get the easier frees (many of which were missed early on and and off through out the game) Clare folk will say if Wexford took their goal chances they would have won, yes, but equally if Clare had took their points scoring chances or even 50% of them they would not have been in the situation they were in in the last 5 minutes...goal chances come and go in most games not all are scored, its only when a team loses they are bemoaned. Point chances the same but more frequent obviously and from play and frees. Shane Reck was outstanding for Wexford on Saturday, he was hit heavily on numerous occasions, often unfairly I thought, and yet Clare seemed to manage to have a different player hitting him each time, hence no second yellow. His final injury in the last 5 minutes of normal time proved the final straw and he had to go off, and no disrespect to his replacement or the switches, but Wexford defence folded once Reck went off. I am convinced Clare would never have found the space they found with Reck still in there.

Unfortunaley for Wexford they lost, and Shane Recks display for 65 minutes will be forgot about and people will only remember the Clare finish. I think Wexford would be a better opponent to Kilkenny, Clare will certainly put it up to them, but with inconsistent free taking, and going out of the game for periods, Kilkenny will make hay at these times I think. I hope Clare do beat Kilkenny (they have more than enough won) Wexford were a tad unlucky Saturday I suppose..3-14 was an old time traditional tally to hit and would have won many games in the past.."
Just in relation to your comment:

"I am convinced Clare would never have found the space they found with Reck still in there".

Wexford were 6 points up with 59 on the clock.

When Shane Reck left the field of play on 66 minutes Clare were 1 point down and waiting to take the free that was scored. The tide had turned IMO before Reck went off the pitch. Clare were well in the ascendancy from 59 to the point Shane Reck went off the field.

IMO, Shane Reck was out on his feet by the time he left the pitch but this was to be expected given his long term injury. if both Recks had stayed on the field it would have been immaterial to the result I think as the tide had well turned by the time they left the field.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 21/06/2022 14:56:34    2426667

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Just in relation to your comment:

"I am convinced Clare would never have found the space they found with Reck still in there".

When Shane Reck left the field of play on 66 minutes Clare were 1 point down and waiting to take the free that was scored. The tide had turned IMO before Reck went off the pitch. Clare were well in the ascendancy from 59 to the point Shane Reck went off the field.

IMO, Shane Reck was out on his feet by the time he left the pitch but this was to be expected given his long term injury. if both Recks had stayed on the field it would have been immaterial to the result I think as the tide had well turned by the time they left the field."
Only small positive think after sat is that you might at least leave the wexford forum alone now (lohansredhelmet). I never seen a poster so pro his own county before. In your eyes Clare are the best team in the country, do nothing wrong and every other county team is to blame, etc etc.... you are a real drain on other counties forum.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 933 - 21/06/2022 15:15:05    2426676

Replying To hunting:  "Only small positive think after sat is that you might at least leave the wexford forum alone now (lohansredhelmet). I never seen a poster so pro his own county before. In your eyes Clare are the best team in the country, do nothing wrong and every other county team is to blame, etc etc.... you are a real drain on other counties forum."
Listen I know there is a narrative that some lads are trying to fill but the facts dont match.

No point crying when someone makes a factual statement

End!

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 21/06/2022 15:33:23    2426679

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Just in relation to your comment:

IMO, Shane Reck was out on his feet by the time he left the pitch but this was to be expected given his long term injury. if both Recks had stayed on the field it would have been immaterial to the result I think as the tide had well turned by the time they left the field."
Finally got watching the 2nd half last night LRH. Damien Reck wasn't right for the entirety of it. Looked slightly disorientated . TK scored 2 points while Shane was on the pitch. You are right he wasn't match fit but 10 championship minutes against Kerry wasn't likely to build up his match fitness. Tbh I was amazed he played as well as he did. All the backs tired not just Shane they had a long day. We didn't have a single natural defender, as in someone who played as a defender underage or club, with championship experience on the bench. Murphy and Bailey were injured. Joe OC was/is travelling as was/is Nolan. 3 of those started last year against Clare in the championship as defenders. And we could really have done with Dunbar and ROC and a fresh newly brought on Dwyer for the last 20 minutes to exploit the extra space around the half forward line as we had against Kilkenny in Nowlan Park. Unfortunately we had to bring on Dwyer to replace ROC who only played 11 minutes and Dunbar has what's supposed to be a bad enough injury picked up against Kerry and didn't play at all. He scored 4 or 5 points from play against you in the Championship last year. We couldn't even bring Chin out as we did against Kilkenny because he injured his hamstring coming up to half time. Hopefully we will have these lads back for next year and we will be luckier with key injuries. And more S and C done by some of the younger panel members to get them up to senior intercounty size.
Tbh if you told me before the game that ROC would last only 11 minutes and Chin would only be able to jog after 30 Idve been predicting we'd be getting a hammering. So fair play to the rest of our lads for making it as competitive as they did.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 21/06/2022 15:49:50    2426684

ah lads no need for bickering as such, who is to say the tide had changed by the time Shane Reck left the field, it looked like it had but he was awesome and who knows what he might have intercepted and changed the flow etc. Likewise, Lee Chin hauled down and only a free given was questionable too, to add to the poor game the ref had..Wexford probably didnt do enough when ahead to win out the game (obviously says you) but Clare didnt do a whole pile either and only for late rally (with Reck gone for almost 10 minutes or more including injury time, who knows..hard luck to Wexford, it was a way better game of hurling than the first game..well done Clare.

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 21/06/2022 15:50:20    2426685

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "ah lads no need for bickering as such, who is to say the tide had changed by the time Shane Reck left the field, it looked like it had but he was awesome and who knows what he might have intercepted and changed the flow etc. Likewise, Lee Chin hauled down and only a free given was questionable too, to add to the poor game the ref had..Wexford probably didnt do enough when ahead to win out the game (obviously says you) but Clare didnt do a whole pile either and only for late rally (with Reck gone for almost 10 minutes or more including injury time, who knows..hard luck to Wexford, it was a way better game of hurling than the first game..well done Clare."
Wexford should concentrate next year on winning Leinster. It's doable. Neither Galway nor Kilkenny are that strong at present. Wexford would then be directly into the All Ireland semi final. Wexford are not that far off being very competitive at the highest level. Plenty to build on for next year I think.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 21/06/2022 16:26:14    2426696

A discussion started in my local the other night . It's been said umpteen times of course and it involved Conor McDonald. The usual comments were raised about him getting constantly fouled and been bottled up by 2 or 3 backs. I made the point that all the great forwards were able to find a way around that otherwise they would not be great forwards.
Unfortunately Mac just hasn't got the ability to escape tight markers. Ok sometimes he can score great goals and points but he really should be clocking up a greater tally.
In the past and currently his lack of speed and his inability to avoid close marking might suggest that he should be played further out and develop another player into a full forward that would give a better return. Easier said than done i know.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 21/06/2022 16:42:24    2426704

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Listen I know there is a narrative that some lads are trying to fill but the facts dont match.

No point crying when someone makes a factual statement

End!"
Go on off with yourself now:) and enjoy your all ireland win this year. I put 50 on ye to win it, I think it your year.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 933 - 21/06/2022 16:57:49    2426708

Replying To endgame:  "Wexford should concentrate next year on winning Leinster. It's doable. Neither Galway nor Kilkenny are that strong at present. Wexford would then be directly into the All Ireland semi final. Wexford are not that far off being very competitive at the highest level. Plenty to build on for next year I think."
Agree endgame. Playing from a full deck next year (hopefully) we shouldn't fear anyone.
Egan will have seen more players and will no doubt work on our forward play. I don't think major changes are needed but we do need 2 new front men.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 21/06/2022 18:41:48    2426723

With regards to people noting that fair-weather supporters could end up gazumping diehard supporters for All-Ireland Semi-Final/Final tickets, if you want to guarantee yourself a ticket, buy a season ticket. €120 this year and covered all league games plus the first two games of the Championship; had to pay full price for tickets for the rest of the Championship but they were guaranteed seats. If you find yourself going to most of the League games and all of the Championship games, then the season ticket makes sense both financially and in terms of guaranteeing a seat at the big games. Although I will add the provision that if you don't go to most of the League games, buying a season ticket does not make quite as much financial sense.

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 239 - 21/06/2022 19:37:09    2426727

Replying To endgame:  "Wexford should concentrate next year on winning Leinster. It's doable. Neither Galway nor Kilkenny are that strong at present. Wexford would then be directly into the All Ireland semi final. Wexford are not that far off being very competitive at the highest level. Plenty to build on for next year I think."
Do you not think we have been trying to win Leinster every year ?.Just didn't work out for us.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 221 - 21/06/2022 19:58:20    2426728

Replying To Punter72007:  "Firstly, I'd like to say Thanks to all the players and management on a competitive year. You went out and gave it your all, so thanks for all your commitment and effort.
Best of luck to Clare going forward. Fair play to Brian Lohan, in the post-match interview giving credit to Wexford for a hard-fought game.

I won't go into the match in any great detail, because it has already been said here and I agree with most of it.
What I will say is that when you look at the statistics, Clare had 6 scoring forwards and 2 more scoring forwards came off the bench to score multiple times - so 8 scoring forwards in total.
Ultimately, this was the difference - they had more scoring forwards and most of them scored multiple times.
Put simply, we didn't have that fire power. The loss of Rory O'Connor was huge.
In that light, Chin's contribution with 1-8(0-6f) was immense and very impressive given he was injured for the 2nd half.
So we lost to Clare, with Rory gone off injured, Chin injured for the 2nd half and Mac held scoreless which is a rare thing.
In summary, we needed another 2-3 more scoring forwards to compliment Oisin Foley, Jack O & Mikey Dwyer and come off the bench and score those points.

Going forward, the good news for us is five-fold.
1. We have good enough backs/midfield/strategy that made us very competitive despite our forwards not scoring enough. When we have more forwards, we will be a match for anybody.
2. Darragh Egan now gets to watch a full club championship and maybe unearth a few club players than were overlooked in the past. Maybe there's a hidden gem or two there somewhere. If I was a club player, I'd be super motivated to do well because I think Darragh Egan is a bright guy who will give guys a go.
3. We have good quality players to return to the fold … Bailey, Shaun Murphy, Aidan Nolan and Joe O'Connor (and apologies if I missed anybody).
4. Also, Darragh Egan will have a chance to work with this years U-20's, who by springtime next year will be a year older, bigger and wiser. I genuinely think that the future is bright because our area for most improvement is the forwards and between the 6 starting forwards for the U-20's in the leinster final + Tucker + Oisin Pepper + that young minor Cillian Byrne … there's 9 forwards at least in the pipeline. How they will develop, only time will tell but that's a decent pipeline coming on stream within the next few years.
5. I think the Darragh Egan, Niall + others management team are very good and we are lucky to have them. First year in and they are only going to get better.

A special word must also go to the 2 Recks … Tony Kelly and Shane O'Donnell will probably will All Stars and maybe even Hurler of the year (and rightly so) … both Recks did a superb job on them. So let's make sure we appreciate how good these Recks are and give them credit for being great hurlers.

Up Wexford!"
There's a lot of good posters on this forum but I'll have to say yours is one of the best posts I have read here. Well done.

Joe1 (Kildare) - Posts: 52 - 21/06/2022 20:39:38    2426731

Replying To Viking66:  "Finally got watching the 2nd half last night LRH. Damien Reck wasn't right for the entirety of it. Looked slightly disorientated . TK scored 2 points while Shane was on the pitch. You are right he wasn't match fit but 10 championship minutes against Kerry wasn't likely to build up his match fitness. Tbh I was amazed he played as well as he did. All the backs tired not just Shane they had a long day. We didn't have a single natural defender, as in someone who played as a defender underage or club, with championship experience on the bench. Murphy and Bailey were injured. Joe OC was/is travelling as was/is Nolan. 3 of those started last year against Clare in the championship as defenders. And we could really have done with Dunbar and ROC and a fresh newly brought on Dwyer for the last 20 minutes to exploit the extra space around the half forward line as we had against Kilkenny in Nowlan Park. Unfortunately we had to bring on Dwyer to replace ROC who only played 11 minutes and Dunbar has what's supposed to be a bad enough injury picked up against Kerry and didn't play at all. He scored 4 or 5 points from play against you in the Championship last year. We couldn't even bring Chin out as we did against Kilkenny because he injured his hamstring coming up to half time. Hopefully we will have these lads back for next year and we will be luckier with key injuries. And more S and C done by some of the younger panel members to get them up to senior intercounty size.
Tbh if you told me before the game that ROC would last only 11 minutes and Chin would only be able to jog after 30 Idve been predicting we'd be getting a hammering. So fair play to the rest of our lads for making it as competitive as they did."
Would Darragh Egan be able persuade Andrew Kenny back? He's only 27 I think?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11844 - 22/06/2022 09:36:22    2426753

Couldn't agree more Roscommon man. Next year is a huge year for us a number of our key players in their prime and a handful of lads possibly in their last year . We need to unearth another 2-3 players for next year . Another scoring forward to compliment Mac , Rory and Chin would really aid us I think . Hopefully likes of Cian Byrne or one of the under 20s can step up or somebody has a breakthrough season with the club. If we can find another 2-3 players and have more luck on the injury front a Leinster title should be the aim for next year .

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 22/06/2022 09:54:19    2426756

Replying To Afinestick:  "Couldn't agree more Roscommon man. Next year is a huge year for us a number of our key players in their prime and a handful of lads possibly in their last year . We need to unearth another 2-3 players for next year . Another scoring forward to compliment Mac , Rory and Chin would really aid us I think . Hopefully likes of Cian Byrne or one of the under 20s can step up or somebody has a breakthrough season with the club. If we can find another 2-3 players and have more luck on the injury front a Leinster title should be the aim for next year ."
Anyone know what the story with Jack cullen is?he has been one of the best club hurlers for the last two years but for some reason doesn't seem to be involved at county level. Ian byrne of ferns is another one, I taught he was very unlucky to be drop by davy.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 933 - 22/06/2022 11:10:01    2426794

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Do you mean a week's hurling, then a week off, then a week's football, then a week off, etc.? If so, please have a look at the calendar and consider how that would take 32 weeks if there are eight rounds hurling, eight rounds football, and a week off in between each round. If you wanted the championships finished by mid-October to allow Wexford teams compete in Leinster, you'd have to be starting them before St. Patrick's Day.

You have a bit of a point re. the League though, because yes, it is the case (however unlikely) that all the teams in one group could lose all the games against teams from the other group. So in one group, everybody would end on maximum points, and in the other group, everybody would end with zero...and still one of the zero points teams would get to play in the final.

For what it's worth, I've had a look at the Hurling League Div. 1 (i.e. senior) tables, which are based on the championship groups:
Group A: Glynn/Barntown, Naomh Eanna, Crossabeg/Ballymurn, Harriers, Cloughbawn, St. Anne's
Group B: Ratnure, Shels, Oylegate/Glenbrien, Martins, Ferns, Rapps

I still think Group B is stronger and therefore more difficult for the championship, and the league tables shows that of all the matches played between teams from each group, Group B teams won 23 of them, while Group A teams won only 10 (there were three draws).

I know "it's only the league" and there were all sorts of other factors at play too, but still, that could be seen as significant."
No I obviously don't mean that. I mean a week on hurling, a week off hurling....ie hurling every second week and football filling the gaps they way it had been until 2020.

Also the Leinster council have 6 weeks to play their championships. Last 2 weekends in October and all of November. This is way too much time. They have 6 weeks to play a championship with only a handful of teams in it, while all other club teams are expected to play an entire county championship in just 7 weeks.

Currently, club championship players are being expected to play 8 games in 7 weeks just so that Leinster have 6 weeks to play a 3/4 round championship.

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 22/06/2022 11:34:17    2426798