2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To tearintom:  "So championship starting for some clubs in 6 days times, others 8 days.

Anyone else feel this whole championship is going to be far far too rushed both football and hurling"
Most Martins men?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11697 - 20/06/2022 20:30:31    2426483

Replying To WEX98:  "He did.

Exactly, we're looking forward to the club championship.

Hon Oylegate"
Bad out of him so. They defo seem to have learnt that to be successful you have to play like Limerick and Kilkenny did in their pomp. Hopefully Shane and the rest of our lads will have learnt something from this. Likewise the Nolan dragdown on Chin. Its that cuteness, or whatever you want to call it, that we don't have that Limerick and now Clare do. Shefflin is trying to get it into Galway and we will need to match them in that regard.
Hope you go well back in Senior WEX98. Unfortunately for us after being in a 3 team group with yourselves and Bunclody last years 2 Intermediate finalists we are now in Oularts group. The Alley have some good young players like o'Hagan coming through and presumably Kenny will be back he was a big loss to them last year. Blackwater field 3, I think, adult teams so obviously have the hurling numbers. St James are always solid and Ballygarrett always have skilful lads and seem to fly under the radar. We have a Tipp man managing us so good luck to him and all the lads. Apparently we will be fitter than last year and we have a couple of new players coming through. It's very important for us that we don't have any injuries to key men like we did last year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11697 - 21/06/2022 10:09:55    2426511

Replying To tearintom:  "So championship starting for some clubs in 6 days times, others 8 days.

Anyone else feel this whole championship is going to be far far too rushed both football and hurling"
If it's "rushed", then that's down to the clubs of the county, since they're the ones who voted to go back to two groups of six in each grade. That means that 16 rounds of matches need to be played (eight in hurling, followed by eight in football).

If they'd voted for the proposal of four groups of three, then there'd have been only ten rounds of matches (five in each code), and there'd be far more scope for weekends off and less rush.

For what it's worth, happen to like the two groups of six myself.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2222 - 21/06/2022 10:19:03    2426516

Do we have it on good authority that Darragh Egan is going to continue to develop the U20s over the Summer?

I read the article and I didnt see anything like that in it - he just said he is looking forward to getting them back in December

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 547 - 21/06/2022 10:26:13    2426521

Replying To WEX98:  "He did.

Exactly, we're looking forward to the club championship.

Hon Oylegate"
Bad out of him so. They defo seem to have learnt that to be successful you have to play like Limerick and Kilkenny did in their pomp. Hopefully Shane and the rest of our lads will have learnt something from this. Likewise the Nolan dragdown on Chin. Its that cuteness, or whatever you want to call it, that we don't have that Limerick and now Clare do. Shefflin is trying to get it into Galway and we will need to match them in that regard.
Hope you go well back in Senior WEX98. Unfortunately for us after being in a 3 team group with yourselves and Bunclody last years 2 Intermediate finalists we are now in Oularts group. The Alley have some good young players like o'Hagan coming through and presumably Kenny will be back he was a big loss to them last year. Blackwater field 3, I think, adult teams so obviously have the hurling numbers. St James are always solid and Ballygarrett always have skilful lads and seem to fly under the radar. We have a Tipp man managing us so good luck to him and all the lads. Apparently we will be fitter than last year and we have a couple of new players coming through. It's very important for us that we don't have any injuries to key men like we did last year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11697 - 21/06/2022 10:46:50    2426527

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=ExiledInWex:  "I won't fault our supporters one bit, we sold well over 7000 tickets I was told yesterday ironic seeing fellas criticizing Wexford fans who don't even hail from here and didnt even go to the game themselves.
tearintom,
I will have you know tearintom I was actually there. I got fully behind the team even though you correctly point out that I "don't even hail from here". I was shouting my head off for Wexford.
I will also have you know I coach hurling and football in our local club and always help out with fundraising, selling Model County tickets and things.
I did more yesterday than all but the most loyal Wexford supporter and do more in my club than many Wexford people who "do even hail from here".
Wexford people wouldn't drive to Portlaoise if they wouldn't drive to Thurles. You are kidding yourself if you think Thurles was a problem, Wexford don't play in that many quarter finals FFS."
Me too EIW. Don't think he was talking about us though."
Well, he criticised Wexford fans who "don't even hail from here"........Viking66.
One of the joys of being a blow-in, no matter what you do you will ever be thus!"]I really dont care where youre from to be honest. My impression from a previous post was that you werent going, fair play, you did go.

I just find it quite ironic for someone to have a username that indicates being in Wexford as a form of punishment who says they "might refer to Wexford as we" to then come on and lecture Wexford fans for not being as loyal as you!!

I know plenty of loyal supporters who simply hadnt the means to bloody go on Saturday and then get lectured by those who "might" refer to wexford as "we" and then get called bandwagoners if they happen to get enough together to go the next day.

I wouldnt dare try lecture someone who couldnt go last saturday simply because i had the means to go, im lucky others are not.

There was 34k there on saturday and according to you earlier there was at least 15k from Cork and Clare and barely 5k from Wexford!!!!! What did Galway have, minus figures??

Like i said couldnt care less where youre from but perhaps a bit more empathy for fellow wexford fans and a recognition not everyone is in a position where they can or could attend might be the way to go

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1325 - 21/06/2022 11:09:31    2426538

Replying To Pikeman96:  "If it's "rushed", then that's down to the clubs of the county, since they're the ones who voted to go back to two groups of six in each grade. That means that 16 rounds of matches need to be played (eight in hurling, followed by eight in football).

If they'd voted for the proposal of four groups of three, then there'd have been only ten rounds of matches (five in each code), and there'd be far more scope for weekends off and less rush.

For what it's worth, happen to like the two groups of six myself."
Yeah i know i just feel like there was no real thought put into it.

The Co Board got sidelined by the 2 groups of 6 thing, they never wanted it but were pushing for split championship on the basis of their proposal and all of a sudden it all got mushed in together.

For me the whole 2 groups of 6 worked really well in the league simply because it alternated week to week football to hurling etc which kept interest up but it took over 4 months in reality.

Where i do see it as unfair is Club getting their county players back and straight into it without a break or a chance to recover, recuperate injuries etc. That for me is a disadvantage for them.

For the vast majority of clubs hurling is their first focus, i think it would have been far better for example if we eliminated the split championships. For example we could have a situation this weekend where the football championship starts for 2 weeks and then 2 weeks hurling etc etc. At least then that gives clubs with players from the county teams a chance to get them back for what is their primary focus, hurling.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1325 - 21/06/2022 11:25:47    2426549

Replying To tearintom:  "
Replying To ExiledInWex:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=ExiledInWex:  "I won't fault our supporters one bit, we sold well over 7000 tickets I was told yesterday ironic seeing fellas criticizing Wexford fans who don't even hail from here and didnt even go to the game themselves.
tearintom,
I will have you know tearintom I was actually there. I got fully behind the team even though you correctly point out that I "don't even hail from here". I was shouting my head off for Wexford.
I will also have you know I coach hurling and football in our local club and always help out with fundraising, selling Model County tickets and things.
I did more yesterday than all but the most loyal Wexford supporter and do more in my club than many Wexford people who "do even hail from here".
Wexford people wouldn't drive to Portlaoise if they wouldn't drive to Thurles. You are kidding yourself if you think Thurles was a problem, Wexford don't play in that many quarter finals FFS."
Well, he criticised Wexford fans who "don't even hail from here"........Viking66.
One of the joys of being a blow-in, no matter what you do you will ever be thus!"]I really dont care where youre from to be honest. My impression from a previous post was that you werent going, fair play, you did go.

I just find it quite ironic for someone to have a username that indicates being in Wexford as a form of punishment who says they "might refer to Wexford as we" to then come on and lecture Wexford fans for not being as loyal as you!!

I know plenty of loyal supporters who simply hadnt the means to bloody go on Saturday and then get lectured by those who "might" refer to wexford as "we" and then get called bandwagoners if they happen to get enough together to go the next day.

I wouldnt dare try lecture someone who couldnt go last saturday simply because i had the means to go, im lucky others are not.

There was 34k there on saturday and according to you earlier there was at least 15k from Cork and Clare and barely 5k from Wexford!!!!! What did Galway have, minus figures??

Like i said couldnt care less where youre from but perhaps a bit more empathy for fellow wexford fans and a recognition not everyone is in a position where they can or could attend might be the way to go"]Yep i know plenty who simply struggled to get to the game on Saturday and would be proper genuine supporters.

Dont like this "im a better supporter than you cos i was at the match" carry on. Its not a cheap day out any more, cost me well over €200 to bring the family.

Fact is on saturday there was only 34k in total there from 4 hurling counties and as was suggested the Co Board sold over 7,000 tickets its not exactly this abandonment of the team like whats being portrayed.

It is what it is, we are good supporters but its been an up and down year, everyone is doing their best in these times.

TheHogues (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 21/06/2022 11:46:42    2426565

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=ExiledInWex:  "I won't fault our supporters one bit, we sold well over 7000 tickets I was told yesterday ironic seeing fellas criticizing Wexford fans who don't even hail from here and didnt even go to the game themselves.
tearintom,

Like i said couldnt care less where youre from but perhaps a bit more empathy for fellow wexford fans and a recognition not everyone is in a position where they can or could attend might be the way to go"]Don't get this arguement . Fair enough it's a difficult time with the cost of living . But Clare and Cork outnumbered us 2-1 at the very least. Their supporters are experiencing the same difficulties with the price of everything. The majority of Wexford hurling people just didn't bother travelling simple as in my opinion

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 21/06/2022 11:47:12    2426566

Championship should be week on week off, hurling, football, hurling, football.

Then it wouldnt feel as rushed but it is great that we have club championship in June, July, August, September and October.

The leagues are a joke really. Firstly a league is not a league unless there is promotion and relegation. Secondly under the current structure a team could make the league final on zero points while a team in the same league who wins all of their games might not make it.

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 21/06/2022 11:58:28    2426577

Onfor15, I hate the constant changing in codes. Play 1 to a conclusion, then the other.
I think Wexford needs a full size 4G pitch with a stand capable of holding big enough matches (e.g. Bellfield). Limerick have one in UL I believe and played Louth in the league on it.
It would take the weather out of the equation. I hate hurling in October/November if I am being honest. Football is a bit better.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1729 - 21/06/2022 12:25:22    2426604

There was not a peep when Ed Sheeran charged €90 for tickets lately. Or Garth Brooks. Or Bruce Springsteen €120 or whatever it was. They all sold out in no time. No word about the "expensive day".

Those 2 matches were great value for €40, it was sunny, 1.5 hour from all most parts of all 4 counties. Another €4-50 of diesel would have gone a long way even at the moment.

I don't agree with the "Aint I a great supporter" but if Wexford had won, 45k people would have spent €50 for one match and not a word would be said about it. Get to a final and would you hear anybody say what an expensive day it was?

There are no 2 ways to it. The Clare support got their team over the line on Saturday. Once the crowd built up a head of steam, the players responded and Wexford, after 55 minutes of domination, barely raised a roar in that length despite 3 goals.

But Wexford supporters are great. 70k at a Leinster final...Saturday was a horrendous no-show by Wexford supporters and there is no 2 ways to it.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1729 - 21/06/2022 12:39:47    2426610

Replying To Onfor15:  "Championship should be week on week off, hurling, football, hurling, football.

Then it wouldnt feel as rushed but it is great that we have club championship in June, July, August, September and October.

The leagues are a joke really. Firstly a league is not a league unless there is promotion and relegation. Secondly under the current structure a team could make the league final on zero points while a team in the same league who wins all of their games might not make it."
Do you mean a week's hurling, then a week off, then a week's football, then a week off, etc.? If so, please have a look at the calendar and consider how that would take 32 weeks if there are eight rounds hurling, eight rounds football, and a week off in between each round. If you wanted the championships finished by mid-October to allow Wexford teams compete in Leinster, you'd have to be starting them before St. Patrick's Day.

You have a bit of a point re. the League though, because yes, it is the case (however unlikely) that all the teams in one group could lose all the games against teams from the other group. So in one group, everybody would end on maximum points, and in the other group, everybody would end with zero...and still one of the zero points teams would get to play in the final.

For what it's worth, I've had a look at the Hurling League Div. 1 (i.e. senior) tables, which are based on the championship groups:
Group A: Glynn/Barntown, Naomh Eanna, Crossabeg/Ballymurn, Harriers, Cloughbawn, St. Anne's
Group B: Ratnure, Shels, Oylegate/Glenbrien, Martins, Ferns, Rapps

I still think Group B is stronger and therefore more difficult for the championship, and the league tables shows that of all the matches played between teams from each group, Group B teams won 23 of them, while Group A teams won only 10 (there were three draws).

I know "it's only the league" and there were all sorts of other factors at play too, but still, that could be seen as significant.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2222 - 21/06/2022 13:04:40    2426619

Replying To StoreysTash:  "There was not a peep when Ed Sheeran charged €90 for tickets lately. Or Garth Brooks. Or Bruce Springsteen €120 or whatever it was. They all sold out in no time. No word about the "expensive day".

Those 2 matches were great value for €40, it was sunny, 1.5 hour from all most parts of all 4 counties. Another €4-50 of diesel would have gone a long way even at the moment.

I don't agree with the "Aint I a great supporter" but if Wexford had won, 45k people would have spent €50 for one match and not a word would be said about it. Get to a final and would you hear anybody say what an expensive day it was?

There are no 2 ways to it. The Clare support got their team over the line on Saturday. Once the crowd built up a head of steam, the players responded and Wexford, after 55 minutes of domination, barely raised a roar in that length despite 3 goals.

But Wexford supporters are great. 70k at a Leinster final...Saturday was a horrendous no-show by Wexford supporters and there is no 2 ways to it."
Totally agree with this post. The huge vast majority of our ''supporters'' will only turn up for a Leinster final or All Ireland semi final . The perception that Wexford supporters are one of the best in the country isn't true . In the late noughties I it was hard to go to games as we were so poor at the time and a lot of supporters chose to stay at home. Our lads are highly competitive now at the moment . Wexford people have no excuses not to support this team

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 21/06/2022 13:13:44    2426622

Replying To Yellow:  "Do we have it on good authority that Darragh Egan is going to continue to develop the U20s over the Summer?

I read the article and I didnt see anything like that in it - he just said he is looking forward to getting them back in December"
I got the impression from reading that article that he's going to do work with them between now and then to help them get ready for training resumption in December.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11697 - 21/06/2022 13:27:34    2426630

tearintom,

Like i said couldnt care less where youre from but perhaps a bit more empathy for fellow wexford fans and a recognition not everyone is in a position where they can or could attend might be the way to go"]People like you aren't who he was talking about Tearintom. It's the lads who haven't gone to a game since the AISF in 2019 I thought he was referring to and we all know plenty of them.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11697 - 21/06/2022 13:29:41    2426632

Replying To Afinestick:  "Totally agree with this post. The huge vast majority of our ''supporters'' will only turn up for a Leinster final or All Ireland semi final . The perception that Wexford supporters are one of the best in the country isn't true . In the late noughties I it was hard to go to games as we were so poor at the time and a lot of supporters chose to stay at home. Our lads are highly competitive now at the moment . Wexford people have no excuses not to support this team"
Not excuses but maybe a bit of reality not everyone has the means to go with rising fuel cost ,shopping costs and preparing to save money for back to school .I know I was giving out a bit myself but on reflection having spoken to a few genuine fans I was probably a bit harsh just the times we live in I suppose.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 218 - 21/06/2022 13:39:06    2426637

Replying To StoreysTash:  "There was not a peep when Ed Sheeran charged €90 for tickets lately. Or Garth Brooks. Or Bruce Springsteen €120 or whatever it was. They all sold out in no time. No word about the "expensive day".

But Wexford supporters are great. 70k at a Leinster final...Saturday was a horrendous no-show by Wexford supporters and there is no 2 ways to it."
Agree totally storystash.
Are Wecford people more financially burdened than Clare people? I don't know what the reason was but the famous Wexford roar was sadly missing. Galway are well known to have small support for their hurling team but to be outnumbered by the Clare fans by such an extent was poor. As i said in an earlier post ,was it that most people thought we hadn't a chance of winning, remembering our wretched record against the banner county over the years?

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 21/06/2022 13:44:15    2426641

All I'll say on the supporter issue is I think Wexford has a large number of people who just like going to Croke Park, and nowhere else. If the quarter-finals had been played in Croke Park instead of Thurles, we'd probably have had at least 5,000 extra supporters there, and maybe even more.

Yes, Thurles is a pain to get to by comparison, and the lack of public transport doesn't help either. But still, if you really wanted to go, you'd find a way. If you could afford match tickets for the same price in Croke Park and probably €20 or more each for a bus or train fare to Dublin, you could afford tickets for Thurles and find somebody to car pool with if people threw in a few quid each for petrol/diesel.

Look even at 2019. Attendance in Wexford Park for an all-important match v Kilkenny in the final round of the group stage was around 17,000 - so probably about 12,000 from Wexford. There was still terrace tickets available on the day, so it's not that there was a large number of people who wanted to go but couldn't get in.

The attendance in Croke Park for the final a few weeks later was over 50,000 - so probably at least 25,000 to 30,000 from Wexford. There's anywhere from 13,000 to 18,000 people straight away who just like the day out in Croke Park, but who wouldn't go down the road in Wexford to see the team play.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2222 - 21/06/2022 13:48:58    2426643

I find it hilarious, amid all the clamour in the media about a cost of living crisis, that the airport was absolutely jammers as soon as May hit. In fact, I can't remember knowing as many people jetting off on foreign holidays. Not downplaying it for a second, but there is more disposable income around than there is let on.

As for the championship structure, I always said that a two-week block of hurling, followed by two of football, and one more apiece before playing the hurling off to a finish, would be a lot fairer than the present one. But at the same time, I am looking forward to the championships returning from this weekend regardless. Seems to be some semblance of normality to it.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1409 - 21/06/2022 13:53:39    2426645