Wexford Football Championship

Replying To Formertownie:  "I ve no idea tbh I d imagine they could do that on any given day to a lot of club teams .
Say serious competition fur places on their team and would nt take the good off the pedal for that reason .
I take it most people on here din t fznvy their chances v st mullins never mind ballyhale or kilmacud.
With debate on hurling football club champ structure.
If we don't believe we cant contest at provincial level maybe uts time to step away from it as such. And let the county championships take priority .
Possibly nominate a club to take part in provincial if championships not completed by a team that's been eliminated. Be it junior senior or intermediate. Allowing for breaks in between some games. Longer championship and not as condensed."
Like others, have heard Ballygunner gave Ferns a solid beating all right, but haven't heard either the margin or scoreline.

Think it would be a massively backward step though for Wexford to decide not to send senior hurling champions into Leinster competition. And your alternative suggestion isn't a runner, as it's been probably 20 years or more now sicne counties were allowed to just nominate a club for provincial competition, if their own county championship wasn't finished yet. Definitely a good few years since that was allowed happen anyway!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 08/11/2022 14:45:37    2446882

Replying To Formertownie:  "I ve no idea tbh I d imagine they could do that on any given day to a lot of club teams .
Say serious competition fur places on their team and would nt take the good off the pedal for that reason .
I take it most people on here din t fznvy their chances v st mullins never mind ballyhale or kilmacud.
With debate on hurling football club champ structure.
If we don't believe we cant contest at provincial level maybe uts time to step away from it as such. And let the county championships take priority .
Possibly nominate a club to take part in provincial if championships not completed by a team that's been eliminated. Be it junior senior or intermediate. Allowing for breaks in between some games. Longer championship and not as condensed."
Of course we can compete. Especially in hurling. Wexford clubs have won AIs and Leinsters in near enough every grade of hurling. Ferns could go on a run and surprise us. They are county champions for a reason. Its not that people on this don't think they can beat St Mullins. Its just most of us, unlike yourself, think that it's at best a 50/50 game. Even the Bookies have St. Mullins slight favourites according to you. If any of the Senior Carlow teams played in our Senior championship probably none of them would be relegation certs.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 08/11/2022 15:10:54    2446884

No offence lads, but would this stuff not belong on a hurling thread? Don't see what St Mullins or Ballygunner have to do with Wexford football championship.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 08/11/2022 15:12:16    2446885

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "a word of credit to fixtures committie to for running this years championships so well, hurling and football, there was a lot of games to be played arranged, pitches, refs, linesmen, gatemen etc , and fair play to the people paper for getting the match reports, id love to know how many games were played in total between hurling and football from senior to junior b?"
Have been meaning to come back to this one sometime and do the sums on it, so here goes...

A group of 6 in a championship means 15 group games. Two groups in each grade means 30 group games overall. Add in four quarter-finals, two semi-finals, a final and a relegation final in each grade, and you're up to 38.

Five hurling championships run that way, plus five football, means a total of 380 matches from Senior down to Junior 'A'.

Difficult to tell how many Junior 'B' matches to add in on top of that. Wexford District didn't supply their results to the wexfordgaa.ie website for hurling, and seems none of the districts did for football. But can see that there were roughly 50 Junior 'B' hurling matches in Gorey District, close to 60 in Enniscorthy District, and 20 in New Ross District. Let's guess 40 for Wexford District, and then add in the county quarter-finals, semi-finals and final, and you're up to approx. 175 Junior 'B' hurling matches.

Could guess there was roughly the same number again for Junior 'B' Football. That would make somewhere in the region of 700 matches played overall.

That takes a lot of organising all right!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 08/11/2022 15:32:52    2446886

Replying To icehonesty:  "No offence lads, but would this stuff not belong on a hurling thread? Don't see what St Mullins or Ballygunner have to do with Wexford football championship."
Lol. You're dead right. Think talk here just morphed harmlessly from how our football sides were doing in Leinster to how our hurling teams might do as well.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 08/11/2022 15:34:56    2446887

Replying To icehonesty:  "No offence lads, but would this stuff not belong on a hurling thread? Don't see what St Mullins or Ballygunner have to do with Wexford football championship."
True.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 08/11/2022 15:45:09    2446888

Well it started with people congratulating Fethard and Adamstown on making Leinster semi finals and wishing the hurling teams all the best next weekend, the discussions just developed organically from there.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 08/11/2022 15:45:52    2446890

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Well it started with people congratulating Fethard and Adamstown on making Leinster semi finals and wishing the hurling teams all the best next weekend, the discussions just developed organically from there."
Started a new thread on this! Lol!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 08/11/2022 16:09:50    2446895

Quick one for ye guys in the know. Did every club concentrate on hurling for the year, until the hurling championship was over? Or would clubs have split 50:50? Any clubs which would have concentrated on football, even during the hurling championship?

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 08/11/2022 17:29:48    2446901

My original post was about football and thinking we are more competitive than would be expected . But the hurling our dominant code is nt as competing as we would like in leinster .
I never take any game for granted v any opposition . But feel if we want to call ourselves a hurling county we should consistently be at worst competing for leinster club titles at senior . . I wish all teams the best of luck in their respective codes and grades .
And I just like to show a bit of optimism thats all . I ve attended a lot of leinster club championship hurling games over the years especially oulart and feel they would have won more only the conditions at the time of year certainly curtailed their game plan and skill set .
I think Fethard for such small pick and area are examples to follow in the way they compete in both codes and would love to see them win a leinster .

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 167 - 08/11/2022 17:53:44    2446903

Replying To icehonesty:  "Quick one for ye guys in the know. Did every club concentrate on hurling for the year, until the hurling championship was over? Or would clubs have split 50:50? Any clubs which would have concentrated on football, even during the hurling championship?"
We split 50/50 as far as I know except for when the hurling championship was on. Don't think the lads kicked any ball during the hurling championship.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 08/11/2022 19:32:14    2446910

Replying To Viking66:  "We split 50/50 as far as I know except for when the hurling championship was on. Don't think the lads kicked any ball during the hurling championship."
We did 50/50 up to around the June Bank Holiday weekend, and then concentrated fully on hurling for the three or four weeks between then and the start of the hurling championship, and obviously during the hurling championship itself. The focus went back fully to football once we finished in the hurling championship.

Obviously can't speak with certainty about any other club, but I believe even a "football club" like Horeswood concentrated fully on hurling during the same time. Paid off for them by winning the Intermediate 'A', and then they had a good football campaign too, although obviously they'd be disappointed by losing the final.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 09/11/2022 10:34:31    2446935

Replying To Pikeman96:  "We did 50/50 up to around the June Bank Holiday weekend, and then concentrated fully on hurling for the three or four weeks between then and the start of the hurling championship, and obviously during the hurling championship itself. The focus went back fully to football once we finished in the hurling championship.

Obviously can't speak with certainty about any other club, but I believe even a "football club" like Horeswood concentrated fully on hurling during the same time. Paid off for them by winning the Intermediate 'A', and then they had a good football campaign too, although obviously they'd be disappointed by losing the final."
Pretty much all the "football" clubs in the Ross District have been putting a massive effort into hurling at underage for many years now as is shown by the improvement in their adult teams the last few years. Kilanerin/Tara Rocks and Castletown/Liam Mellows likewise in the North of the county. Obviously town is a little different as lads who hurl for the Harriers kick ball for Mary's and Sars.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 09/11/2022 12:40:17    2446964

Are those Ross district "football" clubs putting the same effort into football at underage level?

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 09/11/2022 13:25:48    2446972

Replying To icehonesty:  "Are those Ross district "football" clubs putting the same effort into football at underage level?"
We are. Most Ross District clubs are fairly small in population. Next year Jimmy's, Gusserane and Fethard will be senior. All 4 Intermediate football semifinalists were from Ross District this year. Clongeen and Adamstown had good years this year too. Ballymitty retained their Intermediate status. Half the Intermediate grade next year will be from the District. Alot more than the quarter it should be by averages. And 2 Ross District teams are still in their Leinster Championships.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 09/11/2022 18:35:02    2447024

Replying To icehonesty:  "Are those Ross district "football" clubs putting the same effort into football at underage level?"
We are. Most Ross District clubs are fairly small in population. Next year Jimmy's, Gusserane and Fethard will be senior. All 4 Intermediate football semifinalists were from Ross District this year. Clongeen and Adamstown had good years this year too. Ballymitty retained their Intermediate status. Half the Intermediate grade next year will be from the District. Alot more than the quarter it should be by averages. And 2 Ross District teams are still in their Leinster Championships.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 09/11/2022 18:35:44    2447025

Replying To Viking66:  "We are. Most Ross District clubs are fairly small in population. Next year Jimmy's, Gusserane and Fethard will be senior. All 4 Intermediate football semifinalists were from Ross District this year. Clongeen and Adamstown had good years this year too. Ballymitty retained their Intermediate status. Half the Intermediate grade next year will be from the District. Alot more than the quarter it should be by averages. And 2 Ross District teams are still in their Leinster Championships."
Brilliant.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 10/11/2022 10:14:37    2447058

Good coverage of the u19s in the People Paper. How were the divisions decided? Is there promotion and relegation? Seems alot of clubs haven't entered at all.
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/wexford-gaa-results-and-fixtures-42127538.html
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/hotshot-whitty-steals-the-show-as-taghmon-camross-prove-too-strong-for-gusserane-42125739.html
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/cummins-runs-riot-in-big-bannow-ballymitty-victory-42125707.html

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 10/11/2022 14:58:56    2447101

Good coverage of the u19s in the People Paper. How were the divisions decided? Is there promotion and relegation? Seems alot of clubs haven't entered at all.
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/wexford-gaa-results-and-fixtures-42127538.html
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/hotshot-whitty-steals-the-show-as-taghmon-camross-prove-too-strong-for-gusserane-42125739.html
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/cummins-runs-riot-in-big-bannow-ballymitty-victory-42125707.html

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 10/11/2022 14:59:01    2447102

Replying To Viking66:  "Good coverage of the u19s in the People Paper. How were the divisions decided? Is there promotion and relegation? Seems alot of clubs haven't entered at all.
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/cummins-runs-riot-in-big-bannow-ballymitty-victory-42125707.html"
Thought I'd replied to this the other day, but mustn't have done so properly...

Anyway, clubs would have been graded as per recommendation of the CCC, who'd have looked at the U17 results of two years ago for guidance on who should go where. Club delegates would have had an opportunity then at a Co. Board meeting to speak up if they thought they were being graded unfairly.

There's not promotion/relegation in the usual sense. For instance, there are no relegation playoffs, and winning Div. 2 wouldn't automatically mean you'd be promoted to Div. 1 the following year, because most of your winning team could be going overage and you could have a weaker group coming along behind them. Instead, each year's gradings would be based on the relevant results/standings from the relevant younger age group of a couple of years previously, e.g.:

U19 gradings for 2022 based on U17 results from 2020
U19 gradings for 2023 (if that's what happens) would be based on U17 results from 2021
U20 gradings for 2023 (if that happens instead) would be based on U17 results from 2020
And for example,
U20 gradings for 2024 would be based on U17 results from 2021.

Hope that makes sense!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 14/11/2022 10:59:19    2447484