Wexford Football Championship

Replying To foreveryoung:  "It's facing winter time. I've time on me hands, so reading Wexford GAA stuff is quite entertaining and informative.

So, I have a question, but you're not obliged to answer. Stmunnsriver (Wexford?) have you ever posted anything positive at all about Wexford on here?"
i never know which of the all ireland winning teams of the last 50 year to talk about to tell u the truth, lets see which will we talk about
the A I club winners? the leinster club winners? the A I club winners? the leinster club winners? the A I u 21/20 winners? the leinster u 21/20 winners. the minor all ireland winners ? or the leinster minor winners?, spoiled for choice, but thank u for summing up the exact problem with wexford gaa, lads wont face up to the problems as it shines the light directly in their own faces, the same lads who sat on the co board 40 years and still do who have never achieved a thing, but still there, and will stay there for as long as they want it was a closed shop back then and while its not as bad now its still a matter of who u know not what u know to get any job particularly at under age if wexford co board was a private company how many would have jobs?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 10/09/2022 15:55:20    2440242

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "i never know which of the all ireland winning teams of the last 50 year to talk about to tell u the truth, lets see which will we talk about
the A I club winners? the leinster club winners? the A I club winners? the leinster club winners? the A I u 21/20 winners? the leinster u 21/20 winners. the minor all ireland winners ? or the leinster minor winners?, spoiled for choice, but thank u for summing up the exact problem with wexford gaa, lads wont face up to the problems as it shines the light directly in their own faces, the same lads who sat on the co board 40 years and still do who have never achieved a thing, but still there, and will stay there for as long as they want it was a closed shop back then and while its not as bad now its still a matter of who u know not what u know to get any job particularly at under age if wexford co board was a private company how many would have jobs?"
A more than fair reply: answer given, answer accepted!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1923 - 10/09/2022 16:44:19    2440243

I haven't posted in ages but I came on to see what the reaction was like to our new football manager and happened to see this discussion about football coverage and just couldn't help myself from posting.

It's time for a bit of a reality check about Wexford football.

Beano your posts above along with Stmunnsriver's is a good place to start.

In your first post on the issue you said people wouldn't know it was on. It has been plastered over social media, its on the website, its in the local papers, it was announced all day on radio. How else would you like the county board to let people know about the fixtures?

You have said that streaming has been 'binned'. You are wrong.

I was talking yesterday to quite a reliable source on the issue. It hasn't been stopped. There are just particular problems with this weekend.

Sunday is to be a complete wash out if forecasts are accurate. An orange rainfall warning. Bellefield and Monamolin are grand when it's dry but the facilities aren't suitable for wet days & Grantstown isn't suitable any day.

You also gave out about previews. Again talking to the person I mentioned above. That topic came up. I was interested to hear that there was lots of work went on to have a new weekly football programme for the football championship. It didn't materialise for the simple reason that it was proving quite difficult to find people to do it and that most of the clubs contacted wouldn't co-operate.

Now where to start with Stmunnsriver?

If it was to do with money I daresay there'd be no football streamed until the knockout stages, because let's be honest there is a complete lack of interest even amongst so called football people.

By the end of round 3 in the hurling 14 of the 18 senior matches had been streamed and it will be 12 of the 18 in football. Comparing the level of interest in football with hurling I think football getting almost parity should be commended rather than criticised.

We all know those people who complain on an annual basis on social media about the way football is treated. Where are they when it comes to actually going to the matches and supporting the game within the county? It's very easy to complain while doing nothing about it and showing no interest in the games.

I am a football man. I enjoy the game. But it seems to me that too many 'football people' would prefer to have something to complain about rather than something to enjoy.

Anyway, back to my original purpose of being on here. Best of luck to John Hegarty and team.

Over and out.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 10/09/2022 16:47:39    2440244

Replying To Onfor15:  "So this person told you that there'd be no more football games streamed?"
I spoke to someone involved today and they said that there were a few reasons for no coverage this weekend but one was the venues (no games in the park due to underage finals) and that streaming on Sunday with forecasted weather was a risk to equipment. There were plans to stream the Friday night game but apparently there are some pubs who are offering happy hour drinks and the stream to punters which has not gone down well. The stream will resume next week. Same person said there will be the same number of football as hurling covered although numbers are low watching.

On another note. John Hegarty is a great appointment. Hope it goes well.

Groundball (Wexford) - Posts: 122 - 10/09/2022 17:19:57    2440251

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "i never know which of the all ireland winning teams of the last 50 year to talk about to tell u the truth, lets see which will we talk about
the A I club winners? the leinster club winners? the A I club winners? the leinster club winners? the A I u 21/20 winners? the leinster u 21/20 winners. the minor all ireland winners ? or the leinster minor winners?, spoiled for choice, but thank u for summing up the exact problem with wexford gaa, lads wont face up to the problems as it shines the light directly in their own faces, the same lads who sat on the co board 40 years and still do who have never achieved a thing, but still there, and will stay there for as long as they want it was a closed shop back then and while its not as bad now its still a matter of who u know not what u know to get any job particularly at under age if wexford co board was a private company how many would have jobs?"
We won a Leinster u21 in 2011?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12008 - 10/09/2022 18:06:36    2440253

Replying To Viking66:  "We won a Leinster u21 in 2011?"
think u have made my point by the fact you can name that one example , thanks,

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 10/09/2022 18:34:49    2440258

I stand corrected, and am happy to hear it's not a complete binning so to speak. As I said before, I try to go to as many games as I can, but it's great to be able to have that as a fall-back option.

Back to the actual games, and it's quite alarming just how poor St.Martin's have been. Their biggest total of the three games so far is 1-8, which is terrible. One thing I noticed from last week's results is that the old adage "goals win games" generally has held true. Six teams only hit eight points last week: Starlights (2-8), St.Martin's (1-8), Shelmaliers (2-8), Gusserane (1-8), Glynn (4-8) and Bunclody (1-8). Four of those teams won.

So the fact that Martin's have only managed two goals in three games sort of sums up their plight. It's the sort of form that's hard to turnaround. And ironically, they hit the equivalent of eight points last night!

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1421 - 10/09/2022 20:19:09    2440270

Replying To beano:  "I stand corrected, and am happy to hear it's not a complete binning so to speak. As I said before, I try to go to as many games as I can, but it's great to be able to have that as a fall-back option.

Back to the actual games, and it's quite alarming just how poor St.Martin's have been. Their biggest total of the three games so far is 1-8, which is terrible. One thing I noticed from last week's results is that the old adage "goals win games" generally has held true. Six teams only hit eight points last week: Starlights (2-8), St.Martin's (1-8), Shelmaliers (2-8), Gusserane (1-8), Glynn (4-8) and Bunclody (1-8). Four of those teams won.

So the fact that Martin's have only managed two goals in three games sort of sums up their plight. It's the sort of form that's hard to turnaround. And ironically, they hit the equivalent of eight points last night!"
Was just reading through the remarks on the streaming I think in general you might be guilty of jumping on every chance to have a go at the county board before getting the full detail.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1740 - 11/09/2022 09:42:24    2440285

crossabegs rise up the football ladder continues

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 11/09/2022 15:39:20    2440320

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "crossabegs rise up the football ladder continues"
Good win today ok. Impressive win for Shels also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12008 - 11/09/2022 18:51:46    2440339

I be more worried about how poor Kilanerin (a once stronghold of wexford football) are at the moment. I seen a few games and it sad to see the standard so poor and especially the low attendance at games. On the plus side absolutely anyone could win this championship yet

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 944 - 11/09/2022 20:12:49    2440350

That group already looks close to done and dusted with Bunclody and Sarsfields in the last game likely to be essentially a relegation semi final.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1740 - 11/09/2022 20:25:32    2440354

Sorry it's actually the other group.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1740 - 11/09/2022 20:26:21    2440355

Replying To hunting:  "I be more worried about how poor Kilanerin (a once stronghold of wexford football) are at the moment. I seen a few games and it sad to see the standard so poor and especially the low attendance at games. On the plus side absolutely anyone could win this championship yet"
Very young team who won their 1st 2 games they could come good, with 5 group games and 1-3 knockout games there's a good chance you'll have poor performance somewhere, young players can be inconsistent at times too. On the championship as a whole I'd have Shels a bit ahead of the pack and following on the previous point were themselves poor enough by their standards against Sarsfields and the Jimmies. Intermediate looks wide open Horeswood, Fethard, Ferns and Gorey the front runners for me.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1740 - 11/09/2022 21:54:50    2440363

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Very young team who won their 1st 2 games they could come good, with 5 group games and 1-3 knockout games there's a good chance you'll have poor performance somewhere, young players can be inconsistent at times too. On the championship as a whole I'd have Shels a bit ahead of the pack and following on the previous point were themselves poor enough by their standards against Sarsfields and the Jimmies. Intermediate looks wide open Horeswood, Fethard, Ferns and Gorey the front runners for me."
Hard to know if yesterdays result would be repeated next week if the game was replayed - Hughes going off and some sloppy defending and goals which can easily happen in that type of weather would have made a difference. They looked good in the first two games so I wouldn't be too worried about them at this stage. On the other hand the Shels looked yesterday that they are the team to beat, O'Gara looked a class above anything in Wexford. I think it was Beno who commented on teams not scoring points, they showed yesterday that they can definitely do that!
Interesting that there are now 3 teams on no points and the fourth have 2 only because they beat the bottom team. The slide of the Martins from being talked about as potential challengers to relegation targets is a concern - this is a club who have had a lot of success in underage football and for me that points to where all the problems exist in Wexford Football, its easy to keep lads playing football when in School and we have schools who look after them but once they are done there clubs just abandon them and if the Dublin Unis they are just not good enough to play at the top level so nobody is bringing them on anymore.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 12/09/2022 10:14:09    2440381

Looking at the first 3 rounds

Group A absolutely wide open

Crossabeg have been the best team in the group so far. They beat Starlight's by 10, beat Kilanerin by 12 and should have beaten Gusserane by 7/8 but for some very bad wides and a slip up by the goalkeeper for the Gusserane goal.

They have done all this despite not having their strongest team any day. Ronan Devereux and Oran Maddock missed the Starlights game and yesterday they were without Seamus Carroll, Conor Devereux and Oran Maddock. Add in those who are away: Paddy Devereux, Cathal Devereux and Martin Redmond. Paudie Foley is reportedly going away this week so he will obviously be a big loss. I still expect them to beat St Martin's this weekend.

Kilanerin were quite impressive apart from yesterday, lots of young lads which probably meant the conditions went against them yesterday. Missing Brendan Hobbs who is out injured was a big loss. Still they should qualify for the quarter finals but they still have to play Starlight's and St Martin's. They should be favourites for both of those games but neither will be easy.

Gusserane destroyed St Martin's, battled out a fortunate win over Crossabeg and were hammered by Kilanerin. They were seriously depleted that day and have managed to get a few lads back for rounds 2 and 3. They should probably qualify but they are still missing too many to reach the heights of last year. Sean Ryan, Mark O'Neill, Kenneth Cahill, Paraic Conway and John Roche all missing from last year's team. They still have to play Starlight's and St Anne's.

St Anne's looked very good in round 1 against St Martin's but we didn't really know then was it because St Anne's were so good or were St Martin's so bad. I think it's a bit more the latter. They had a very important win over Starlight's yesterday and having the head to head on them could be crucial. They still have to play Gusserane and Crossabeg, both very tough games.

Starlights were poor in the first round, only slightly better in round 2 and couldn't get over the line last night so they are under pressure to qualify and if results go really wrong for them they could end up in the relegation final. I think their performances have improved week by week. Kilanerin and Gusserane still to play. Both winnable games but I don't think they are capable of competing strongly for the title this year.

St Martin's have been probably the worst team in the championship so far. 3 losses from 3. Beaten twice by 14 points and showing very little desire. They play Crossabeg and Kilanerin in the last two rounds and need to get at least 3 points from those 2 games to just give themselves a mathematical chance of avoiding the relegation final.

Group B is a different story. It looks as though the top 4 currently will qualify

Shels have been impressive without being spectacular. Struggled to brush off Sars and St James but demolished Bunclody. They still have Castletown and Glynn to play. I expect them to beat Castletown and rest lads for the Glynn game.

Glynn had a shaky start against St James with a very poor second half. They put in a very impressive first half display against Bunclody and then ground out victory over Castletown yesterday. They are very hard to predict. Can put it up to anyone but can also put in poor performances. They have still to play Sarsfields and Shels.

Castletown struggled to beat Bunclody, were dominant against Sarsfields but still struggled to put them away despite all the lads the Sarsfields were missing and then really struggled to get scores yesterday v Glynn. They only scored 1-4 and got no score in the second half and had Ben Brosnan given a straight red. They still have Shels and St James to play. Both will be tough.

St James have had a very solid start to the championship. A comfortable victory in the end over Glynn, they really put it up to the Shels despite having no Matthew O'Hanlon that day and then ground out a tight victory over Sarsfields. They have Bunclody and Castletown to play and should get at least one win there if not two.

Sarsfields have been decent enough so far too without getting any victory. They certainly didn't disgrace themselves against the Shels and in injury time they got to within 2 point before the Shels got two very late goals. I thought they had a decent chance v Castletown but they had 7 lads missing due to electric picnic (5) and holidays (2). It must be very frustrating for management and the club in general that lads would prioritize a music festival. This type of apathy/attitude illustrates why the last decade or so has been such a struggle for the Sarsfields. I think they have the talent, but do they have the commitment. Their game against Bunclody is crucial. Even if they beat Castletown they still have to avoid losing to Bunclody to stay out of relegation.

Bunclody were ok against Castletown and could have sneaked a win, they were quite poor when faced with better opposition against both Glynn and Shels. They have to play St James and Sarsfields. Even a win against St James still means they'd have to avoid losing to Sarsfields to avoid relegation final.

Onfor15 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 12/09/2022 12:16:35    2440401

Yeah it's remarkable to think that on a wet day when there was only one score in the entire second half of one senior game that finished 1-7 to 1-4, that in similar conditions Shels manage to kick 0-21. I think that illustrates their status at the minute, and they are proving me wrong so far.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1421 - 12/09/2022 13:22:27    2440411

Shells look a good bit ahead at the minute,st martins to be relgaeted, just looking at St martin's team very surprised young waters not getting game time, very good free taker and always chalks up descent scores from play exactly what St martin's are missing

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 441 - 12/09/2022 15:03:17    2440429

Replying To beano:  "Yeah it's remarkable to think that on a wet day when there was only one score in the entire second half of one senior game that finished 1-7 to 1-4, that in similar conditions Shels manage to kick 0-21. I think that illustrates their status at the minute, and they are proving me wrong so far."
The 2 championships have flip flopped from a few years ago when Oulart were a level ahead of everyone in the hurling and football was generally very open. I don't think the Shels are at a really exceptional level like that Oulart team but they have there gameplan bedded down to a tee and with alot of clubs down players between injuries and travelling at the moment it's hard to see anyone stopping them this year. But in the hurling this year I think pretty much all the quarter finalists except Glynn were at a similar level it was just a matter of who performed on the day.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1740 - 13/09/2022 17:16:58    2440574

See a full round of matches this weekend are live on wexford gaa tv. Think we might have jumped the gun a bit.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 14/09/2022 13:41:55    2440651