Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final

Replying To Rolo99:  "Forget about Mayo lads, they ares serial losers, sob story after sob story, time to move on,
Ulster football football set to dominate league and Championship, Tyrone best team in Ireland."
A little bit of respect doesn't go astray.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 13/09/2021 19:31:20    2380380

Replying To timmyhogan:  "
Replying To Gleebo:  "[quote=Tacaí Liatroma:  "[quote=timmyhogan:  ".
It is one thing to know how to hurt the opposition but Tyrone were very poor in their shooting. Tyrone forwards will have to be much more accurate in their score taking or next year they will be found out badly.

About the only (or one of the few) sensible after match posts on HS and your point bolded above highlights the tale of the match.
Normally a team won't win an AIF if they hit 5 or 6 bad wides & no points in the first 20/25 mins of the 2nd half when defending a 2 point lead. Of course normally the opponents goalie wont gift you a goal under a high ball - although that particular keeper has done it twice before. Not having a pop at RH but facts are facts, it happens too often but the lad doesn't do it on purpose.

Tyrone won Saturday because they beat what was in front of them. Mayo didn't because they butchered 4 clear cut goal scoring chances* - followed up with 4/5 bad wides into Canal end after the penalty.
The first* by Loftus one of Mayo's more talented players was as bad as the penalty miss & he left
3 more points behind. For all the talk of this that and the other (matchups, tactics , turnovers) IF Loftus and Hennelly alone have good games Mayo win the match probably.

You have a point on O Shea but there were 4 or 5 players Mayo players who could have been subbed as easily. Admittedly you wouldn't think so reading the tabloidesque Joe Brolly/Meghan Markle nonsense in most of the comments here.

Good Luck to Tyrone - better team on the day but they and Mayo are both 9/1 for Sam next year for a reason. That won't worry Tyrone too much, worthy champs but Mayo might never have a better chance. They could play alot better in a Semi or Final in the near future and be beaten."
I can't remember all four goal chances, just the penalty miss and the one where the Tyrone man got back in time in the first half and got in the way. What were the other two?"
I'd guess he's referring to the chance that Tommy Conroy drilled wide in the second half, and possibly the one from an acute angle that Bryan Walsh shanked wide on the right hand side from about ten yards out.

The latter was only a half chance IMO (Walsh should have palmed it over the bar), but if Conroy had gotten his head up there was a free man yards out from goal."].
No, O Shea & Loftus in the 1st half & Conroy and the peno in the 2nd. Walsh's was only a point chance really.

I'm not surprised at your average HS poster having an opinion on a match they haven't watched but I had higher hopes for you Gleebo. It was Mayo in an AIF after all ;-)"]LOL. I wouldn't personally count Aido's one as a goal chance purely because he was so slow in getting to it that not only was Morgan back in his goal, but he was also blocked down.

But hey, each to their own.

I think Conor Loftus will still be having nightmares about his one.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/09/2021 19:36:06    2380385

Replying To Gleebo:  "I take it that "Jesus" refers to Darragh Canavan?"
I know that Gleebo' just hope it doesn't catch on .

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 13/09/2021 19:48:59    2380390

Replying To SaffronDon:  "What a pile of nonsense. Picking a team for the AI final is hardly going to have an impact on any county's performances. Do you think those cold January nights are spent honouring a neighbouring county? Just like your own province, some counties get it right and others don't. That's sport. You clearly take who people decide to cheer for quite personally when it's really none of your business, food for thought."
My message was addressed to those (like myself) who believe that perhaps mayo fans enduring, unconditional love for their team might, just might be a slight hindrance.
If it is a hindrance, it's no more of one than GAA fans from, say, Antrim, deciding that they're happy to be very average so long as Tyrone beat (insert Southern team here) in the final.
Food for thought.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 13/09/2021 20:01:07    2380396

Replying To Mayonman:  "Question for ye rules exists out there. Not looking for opinion just wondering if anyone knows the rule.

Morgan had a hop ball given against him when it was ruled a kick out didn't pass the 21. In my opinion the ball passed the 21 and curled back inside it before it was picked up. In this instance should the referee not have deemed the ball travelled the required distance?

Before people start dating it never crossed the line (it did) let's pretend it did so we can get correct interpretation of rule.

Any referee's out there that can help??"
The defender cant collect the ball indide the 20m line.

DelganyUpper (Tyrone) - Posts: 17 - 13/09/2021 20:04:46    2380398

Replying To Galway9801:  "Agree with you re Brolly.
He probably has two diametrically opposed pieces ready to print before each game and whichever one he puts forward depends on the result."
I'm not a particular fan of Brolly but to be fair to him, he was slating OShea and Mayo before they lost the final v Tyrone.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 13/09/2021 20:15:43    2380403

Replying To Mayonman:  "Question for ye rules exists out there. Not looking for opinion just wondering if anyone knows the rule.

Morgan had a hop ball given against him when it was ruled a kick out didn't pass the 21. In my opinion the ball passed the 21 and curled back inside it before it was picked up. In this instance should the referee not have deemed the ball travelled the required distance?

Before people start dating it never crossed the line (it did) let's pretend it did so we can get correct interpretation of rule.

Yes the ball crossed the line but is it when you receive the ball that counts? Maybe.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 13/09/2021 20:35:44    2380411

I'm going to complicate this even more, because there was so much time and space, could Morgan have run out and picked it up himself?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 13/09/2021 20:56:33    2380418

Replying To Galway9801:  "My message was addressed to those (like myself) who believe that perhaps mayo fans enduring, unconditional love for their team might, just might be a slight hindrance.
If it is a hindrance, it's no more of one than GAA fans from, say, Antrim, deciding that they're happy to be very average so long as Tyrone beat (insert Southern team here) in the final.
Food for thought."
I've never met anyone in Antrim or from any county who would blindly follow another county instead of their own. Or that you could attribute the success of a county to the behaviour of their supporters. Seriously, are you just making this stuff up? How many supporters are in charge of training, tactics, motivation, nutrition etc? I think they might have a lot more to do with the success of a team than the armchair brigade that most managers advise their players to ignore anyway.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 13/09/2021 22:15:53    2380453

Replying To Saynothing:  "Yes the ball crossed the line but is it when you receive the ball that counts? Maybe."
SET PLAY
Rule 2.7 (a): The ball shall travel not less than 13m and outside the 20m line before being played by another player of the defending team.

TECHNICAL FOULS
Rule 4.29: For another player on the team taking a kick-out to play the ball before it has travelled 13m and outside the 20m. line.

PENALTY FOR THE ABOVE FOULS -
(i) Cancel kick-out.
(ii) Throw in the ball on defenders' 20m line in front of scoring space.

So it seems to me that once the ball has travelled outside the 20m line and has gone at least 13m, a back can play it. There's nothing there that suggests to me that if it goes past the 20m line but then back in again that a back can't touch it. I can't remember it however; isn't it pretty difficult to fail to pass the 20m line if the kick-out is taken from the 20m line? After all, "play is restarted by a kick-out off the ground from the centre point of the 20m line and shall be kicked forward."

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1030 - 13/09/2021 22:23:25    2380459

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "SET PLAY
Rule 2.7 (a): The ball shall travel not less than 13m and outside the 20m line before being played by another player of the defending team.

TECHNICAL FOULS
Rule 4.29: For another player on the team taking a kick-out to play the ball before it has travelled 13m and outside the 20m. line.

(i) Cancel kick-out.

So it seems to me that once the ball has travelled outside the 20m line and has gone at least 13m, a back can play it. There's nothing there that suggests to me that if it goes past the 20m line but then back in again that a back can't touch it. I can't remember it however; isn't it pretty difficult to fail to pass the 20m line if the kick-out is taken from the 20m line? After all, "play is restarted by a kick-out off the ground from the centre point of the 20m line and shall be kicked forward.""
But a Mayo forward could pick it up

DelganyUpper (Tyrone) - Posts: 17 - 13/09/2021 22:42:49    2380466

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I've never met anyone in Antrim or from any county who would blindly follow another county instead of their own. Or that you could attribute the success of a county to the behaviour of their supporters. Seriously, are you just making this stuff up? How many supporters are in charge of training, tactics, motivation, nutrition etc? I think they might have a lot more to do with the success of a team than the armchair brigade that most managers advise their players to ignore anyway."
You've just completely missed the point of what I was saying.
Read my post again please.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 13/09/2021 22:58:44    2380477

TECHNICAL FOULS

(i) Cancel kick-out.

So it seems to me that once the ball has travelled outside the 20m line and has gone at least 13m, a back can play it. There's nothing there that suggests to me that if it goes past the 20m line but then back in again that a back can't touch it. I can't remember it however; isn't it pretty difficult to fail to pass the 20m line if the kick-out is taken from the 20m line? After all, "play is restarted by a kick-out off the ground from the centre point of the 20m line and shall be kicked forward.""
You have to read it as the "and" means the full 13M is outside the 20M line. I don't believe the kick went 13m outside the 20M. In Hurling as long as the player is outside the 20M when the puc is taken they can collect the ball inside the 20M.
Actually in the above football case Morgan could have went over and kicked it again!

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 14/09/2021 03:19:07    2380491

TECHNICAL FOULS

(i) Cancel kick-out.

The player should have lifted the ball and played on the kick out was legal it looks like the lad got confused and McQuillan must have though that it hadn't crossed due to the reaction of the player.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 14/09/2021 08:31:18    2380505

Replying To Gleebo:  "
Replying To timmyhogan:  "[quote=Gleebo:  "[quote=Tacaí Liatroma:  "[quote=timmyhogan:  ".
It is one thing to know how to hurt the opposition but Tyrone were very poor in their shooting. Tyrone forwards will have to be much more accurate in their score taking or next year they will be found out badly.

About the only (or one of the few) sensible after match posts on HS and your point bolded above highlights the tale of the match.
Normally a team won't win an AIF if they hit 5 or 6 bad wides & no points in the first 20/25 mins of the 2nd half when defending a 2 point lead. Of course normally the opponents goalie wont gift you a goal under a high ball - although that particular keeper has done it twice before. Not having a pop at RH but facts are facts, it happens too often but the lad doesn't do it on purpose.

Tyrone won Saturday because they beat what was in front of them. Mayo didn't because they butchered 4 clear cut goal scoring chances* - followed up with 4/5 bad wides into Canal end after the penalty.
The first* by Loftus one of Mayo's more talented players was as bad as the penalty miss & he left
3 more points behind. For all the talk of this that and the other (matchups, tactics , turnovers) IF Loftus and Hennelly alone have good games Mayo win the match probably.

You have a point on O Shea but there were 4 or 5 players Mayo players who could have been subbed as easily. Admittedly you wouldn't think so reading the tabloidesque Joe Brolly/Meghan Markle nonsense in most of the comments here.

Good Luck to Tyrone - better team on the day but they and Mayo are both 9/1 for Sam next year for a reason. That won't worry Tyrone too much, worthy champs but Mayo might never have a better chance. They could play alot better in a Semi or Final in the near future and be beaten."
I can't remember all four goal chances, just the penalty miss and the one where the Tyrone man got back in time in the first half and got in the way. What were the other two?"
I'd guess he's referring to the chance that Tommy Conroy drilled wide in the second half, and possibly the one from an acute angle that Bryan Walsh shanked wide on the right hand side from about ten yards out.

The latter was only a half chance IMO (Walsh should have palmed it over the bar), but if Conroy had gotten his head up there was a free man yards out from goal."].
No, O Shea & Loftus in the 1st half & Conroy and the peno in the 2nd. Walsh's was only a point chance really.

I'm not surprised at your average HS poster having an opinion on a match they haven't watched but I had higher hopes for you Gleebo. It was Mayo in an AIF after all ;-)"]LOL. I wouldn't personally count Aido's one as a goal chance purely because he was so slow in getting to it that not only was Morgan back in his goal, but he was also blocked down.

But hey, each to their own.

I think Conor Loftus will still be having nightmares about his one."].

Oh agreed, O Shea is never scoring at the near post (it was never on) but if he turns out - even if he can't beat his man the first player into an otherwise empty square is Loftus. Better chance than the (very good) ball in that lead to Tyrone's 1st goal.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 14/09/2021 08:32:50    2380507

Replying To ballydalane:  "I'm not a particular fan of Brolly but to be fair to him, he was slating OShea and Mayo before they lost the final v Tyrone."

"He's being cutting & pasting the same O Shea/Mayo nonsense since 2015 but to be fair to him the same numpties have been lapping it up." Works better I think.
Its kinda lazy even by tabloid standards but it works for a certain target market.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 14/09/2021 09:02:33    2380512

Replying To Galway9801:  "You've just completely missed the point of what I was saying.
Read my post again please."
Your point makes zero sense. Players don't wait for approval/criticism from supporters and they have no bearing over that county's performances either. If there's another point you're trying to make, you aren't making it with much clarity. I'll revert to your original post which was a bitter rant at fans in the North deciding to support Tyrone in the final like it was somehow related to lack of success in their own county, which was and still is nonsense.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 14/09/2021 10:03:15    2380526

Replying To ballydalane:  "I'm not a particular fan of Brolly but to be fair to him, he was slating OShea and Mayo before they lost the final v Tyrone."
Brolly also wrote a hit piece on Mayo before the semi final slating them and said they would lose as they always do. How did that work out. But that is forgotten about. As I said a stopped clock is right twice a day.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 14/09/2021 10:35:34    2380533

Replying To Galway9801:  "Tyrone are very good but much but I'd say they'll be carrying the ulster torch all on their own for some time to come. No other northern team will win it anytime soon imo.
Alot is being said about how mayo fans need to demand more from their team but perhaps if ulster fans concentrated more on their own counties lack of success instead of cheering on tyrone (and maybe occasionally Donegal) against those horrible southerners they'd see some improvement too?"
Nothing wrong with any of us putting local rivalries aside and getting behind our provincial winners in the All Ireland series. Galway gave the rest of us hope in '98 and '01 and remain the only team to bring Sam to Connacht in the past 55 years. Tyrone will be boosted by this impressive victory and may well become more formidable in Ulster. Looking at the four semi finalists Tyrone will have the toughest pathway to replicate their provincial win. Odds are that Dublin and Kerry will come through and probably Mayo again unless Galway can maintain their first half performance in the Connacht final for 70 mins . In this century one team from Connacht and Leinster , two from Munster but three from Ulster have won an All Ireland title so our Ulster friends aren't doing too bad at all.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 14/09/2021 12:09:22    2380567

Replying To Curlew66:  "Nothing wrong with any of us putting local rivalries aside and getting behind our provincial winners in the All Ireland series. Galway gave the rest of us hope in '98 and '01 and remain the only team to bring Sam to Connacht in the past 55 years. Tyrone will be boosted by this impressive victory and may well become more formidable in Ulster. Looking at the four semi finalists Tyrone will have the toughest pathway to replicate their provincial win. Odds are that Dublin and Kerry will come through and probably Mayo again unless Galway can maintain their first half performance in the Connacht final for 70 mins . In this century one team from Connacht and Leinster , two from Munster but three from Ulster have won an All Ireland title so our Ulster friends aren't doing too bad at all."
Yeah again you've missed the point of what I was saying but seeing as how both yourself and saffron have taken it up wrong I probably didn't articulate it properly, tbh it was only an observation and I'm not bothered enough to keep going round and round arguing about it.
Whatever about what happened "this century" I will stand by my point against the Tyrone poster who gleefully proclaimed that Ulster is set to dominate now, that no other ulster team apart from possibly, maybe Donegal will come close to winning Sam anytime soon.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 14/09/2021 12:33:25    2380578