Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final

It's an awful pity this wasn't an 82k plus attendance and no restrictions , the craic would have been ninty, Hoping for a classic.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 11/09/2021 11:26:29    2379569

Replying To seadog54:  "Tommy Dowd will represent Meath."
Tommy dowd. Fair play didn't know how it would work. Interesting that he would have beat both teams in lead up to that all ire. Tyrone in semi and mayo in final after replay and of course the fracas. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/09/2021 11:29:45    2379571

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Can't see anything but a Tyrone win, Mayo don't have the forwards to win this so 11/10 for Tyrone to win outright is free money."
I don't agree because it's not that simple anymore. Mayo have the forwards to do the jobs required and whichever side wins today is likely to have 7 or 8 different scorers on the score sheet. Mayo won't be starting with the best scoring forwards to be found in the county, which the likes of Kerry seem to be pressured to do. For instance, Paul Towey who played Mayo U20 last year and is in the senior panel didn't make the 26 today or last day even though he's very accurate and is right up there as a free-taker too. In the U20 game last year versus future AI winners Galway he scored 9 points in stormy conditions, 6 from play out of Mayo's total of 14 points. In some way's he seems the ideal replacement for Cillian O'Connor, but to get on Mayo teams under James Horan forwards and all other players need to already have the developed physicality and attitude to track, defend and pressure their marker as minimum requirements and Paul's just not there yet. I think Tyrone are holding Darragh Canavan back for the same reason, so he can be introduced after some of the raw physicality has ebbed from the game. Overall I'm satisfied Mayo have plenty of scoring power in the team and where the scores come from is immaterial. Tyrone share a similar philosophy.

May(o) the team win!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 11/09/2021 11:54:32    2379575

Definition of fracas" loud disturbance or quarrel" lol.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 11/09/2021 12:07:08    2379579

Replying To supersub15:  "If Mayo and Tyrone were Connaught counties I'd be rooting for Mayo,
If Tyrone and Mayo were Ulster counties I'd be rooting for Mayo, - why is that.?

Well the way I see it is Mayo rewrote the script over the past 6 or 7 years and beyond, as well as that they represent the underdog, they don't know how to loose, it just happens the odd time so they don't get to bring home the silverware, so what, tomorrow will be no different win lose or draw Mayo won't be bringing home the cup with them either, however they may be going home with a silver less title and knowing they beat the reigning all Ireland champions on their way to the final who were going for 7 in a row.

I can't for the life of me understand why Mayo should be favorites especially when you see the paths to the final of both Mayo and Tyrone, I can understand that Mayo should or could be peoples favorites for historic reasons but not for the silver ware they didn't win. Tyrone on the other hand have made all Ireland finals in recent years and brought home the silverware, etc, etc, etc,

Either way the open draw brought Tyrone and Mayo together to compete for the 2021 all Ireland final, the question is if the Back Door system was in operation would it be a Mayo / Tyrone all Ireland final.?
2020 and 2021 open draw senior football championships have been up there with the best."
I'll put a stop to your open draw waffle, open draw means open draw 32 counties.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 11/09/2021 12:31:30    2379583

Best of luck to the Tyrone and Mayo teams and supporters thís evening, I hope the weather is better in dublin than it is down here at the minute.

Even though I'm disappointed we're not there ourselves I'm really looking forward to watching the game , going to head out to pub for the big pour :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/09/2021 12:32:30    2379584

Replying To Saynothing:  "Looking forward to today but win or lose for Mayo and Tyrone, hope everybody gets there and home again safely."
Did you get a ticket yourself? Hoping Tyrone can bring the same level of performance as they did against Kerry but cut out the mistakes on kickouts etc,
it's Tyrone's for the taking if they play as they can imo, can see Mayo lads freezing on the big day as they have a habit of doing, hope the ref doesn't ruin the game for Tyrone, he will be favouring Mayo for sure.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 11/09/2021 12:32:45    2379585

Very best of luck to both sides today. Hoping for a good game whatever the result.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 11/09/2021 12:37:04    2379589

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Kennedy & Kilpatrick are the weak link in the Tyrone team.

Personally i wouldn't start Kennedy. Hes big but cant jump to win primary possession and can only punch it. He cant tackle either - gives away free after free. And has bad feet, cant pass or score (apart from goal against Cavan and it was scrappy enough).

I would put McKenna into midfield against Loftus (i know Loftus can go into CHF at times) but i think McKenna could run the legs of Loftus. I would start McShane (who hasnt looked his best this season overall) but its an all ireland final.

Canavan & Bradley come on when there is a bit more space and they can use their pace.

Mullin coming back is huge for Mayo. With Harrision to come on if needs be, very strong bench."
It's usual midfield every time for me rather that Ben.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 11/09/2021 13:34:25    2379597

Best of luck to both teams today and May the best team win

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 11/09/2021 13:54:36    2379602

Have decided to lend my voice to mayo. To end the curse.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/09/2021 14:17:17    2379606

Really excited about the game today as 2 well matched teams go for glory. I'd be delighted for mayo to finally end their famine but not today. I've a huge soft spot for Tyrone so I'll be roaring them on to victory. Tir Eoghain abu

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 11/09/2021 14:24:04    2379608

Best of luck to Mayo today, should be a great match.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 11/09/2021 14:24:47    2379609

I'll be delighted for both sets of players and supporters no matter the winner later.

I've been flip flopping between both teams all week in terms of a winner.

Hopefully an exciting close game.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 11/09/2021 14:50:39    2379612

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "That's what we expect from Rte up here in Ulster, don't think it will bother Tyrone though, they know what to expect from the southern media, think Mickey Harte done right to totally blacklist them,
I'm dreading having to listen to the Rte commentary and that panel of pundits. Cora ukSean and probably O'Rourke tomorrow?"
Sorry but that's totally out of order.
Harte ended his relationship with rté (avd only the rté) for one specific reason and it had nothing to do with him being jealous that the "southern media" wasn't giving ulster teams as much love and attention as they would like.
I know you're a wum and this is all about banter etc but you should apologise for that post.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 11/09/2021 15:06:12    2379614

Mayo by 10. Too much scoring power for Tytone.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 11/09/2021 15:49:12    2379618

I can only see a Tyrone win today and more heartache for poor Mayo.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 11/09/2021 15:59:08    2379622

Some sad posts on this thread from people dying for one or other county to lose.. I know I would rather be in the position both teams are in today with an amazing opportunity. Two teams there on merit. Very hard one to call but sticking to my Mayo prediction. Expect Mayo to create a frantic pace and Tyrone to try and slow that down and counter. Fascinating game.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 11/09/2021 16:19:07    2379629

Replying To Galway9801:  "Sorry but that's totally out of order.
Harte ended his relationship with rté (avd only the rté) for one specific reason and it had nothing to do with him being jealous that the "southern media" wasn't giving ulster teams as much love and attention as they would like.
I know you're a wum and this is all about banter etc but you should apologise for that post."
Yerra, lad, chill the beans for fecks sake!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYOZ3IzRaf4

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 299 - 11/09/2021 16:20:59    2379630

How do I see it, well I think Tyrone will start well. And Mayo being slow starters ususally, will fall behind. If they concede goals though Mayo will be in trouble. Anyway, I would see a slight Tyrone lead at half time and hope fully the real Mayo will kick into action, and start scoring in the second half. Mayo need a good game from Aidan O Shea. And hope they will have a 3 or 4 point lead into the last 5 minutes, when Cathal McShane will probably score. Hope not a goal though. Final score, Mayos by 2 points.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 11/09/2021 16:33:42    2379632