Performance Of The Decade!

The most electrifying match that I was ever at was in croke Park 2005 All Ireland semi final between Armagh and Tyrone. It came down to a free in added time. It was Peter the great who stepped up to take it and it was an unbelievable atmosphere and of course he put it straight over and they won it. That match was the most highly charged affair that I ever experienced.
The people in the stands from both sides and many other neutral s like myself from other counties were hugging each other and saying we are never likely to repeat this atmosphere in our lives.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 19/08/2021 21:55:35    2373215

Donegal v Kildare 2011 quarter final.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2759 - 19/08/2021 22:28:31    2373223

Replying To border Gael:  "The most electrifying match that I was ever at was in croke Park 2005 All Ireland semi final between Armagh and Tyrone. It came down to a free in added time. It was Peter the great who stepped up to take it and it was an unbelievable atmosphere and of course he put it straight over and they won it. That match was the most highly charged affair that I ever experienced.
The people in the stands from both sides and many other neutral s like myself from other counties were hugging each other and saying we are never likely to repeat this atmosphere in our lives."
We were lucky enough too; that was the last hurrah of that Armagh team; had it gone on for another 5 minutes, who knows, they might have won, it was that close. I was glad we got past them. It was a thunderous contest for sure. The final was an excellent game too. It was an era when you had a good balance in football - good mix of defence and attack, and still plenty of room for individual flair.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 20/08/2021 00:21:18    2373236

Replying To border Gael:  "The most electrifying match that I was ever at was in croke Park 2005 All Ireland semi final between Armagh and Tyrone. It came down to a free in added time. It was Peter the great who stepped up to take it and it was an unbelievable atmosphere and of course he put it straight over and they won it. That match was the most highly charged affair that I ever experienced.
The people in the stands from both sides and many other neutral s like myself from other counties were hugging each other and saying we are never likely to repeat this atmosphere in our lives."
Great game surly but nothing beats the 2017 final for atmosphere and on field intensity....it was insane. and I've been at a lot of finals inc as a neutral.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11241 - 20/08/2021 14:20:18    2373356

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Donegal v Kildare 2011 quarter final."
Nonsense, has to be Donegal Mayo 2013 QF - possibly that's what you were thinking of.
Donie Vaughan scored one of the greatest goals ever seen in Croker - to win a scintillating battle that could have gone either way.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 20/08/2021 16:56:01    2373391

Replying To yew_tree:  "Great game surly but nothing beats the 2017 final for atmosphere and on field intensity....it was insane. and I've been at a lot of finals inc as a neutral."
Were you in limerick in 2014 U3? Now that was an atmosphere, we nearly burnt a new hole in the Ozone layer that day, that game had it all big hits great scores black cards yellow cards red cards lads running into each other and getting burst open a Mayo fan trying to assassinate the reff, extra time.

Pure off the cuff football by both teams, tactics went out the window early on.

Amazing stuff.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/08/2021 19:00:33    2373422

Replying To timmyhogan:  ".
Nonsense, has to be Donegal Mayo 2013 QF - possibly that's what you were thinking of.
Donie Vaughan scored one of the greatest goals ever seen in Croker - to win a scintillating battle that could have gone either way."
2012 final was better than that, over after 15 mins, never forget that fantastic day.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2759 - 20/08/2021 19:27:42    2373428

Replying To yew_tree:  "Great game surly but nothing beats the 2017 final for atmosphere and on field intensity....it was insane. and I've been at a lot of finals inc as a neutral."
Same.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2021 19:40:30    2373435

Donie Vaughan scored one of the greatest goals ever seen in Croker - to win a scintillating battle that could have gone either way."
A mismatch more than a game. We beat a Donegal team that was betrayed by their county board in 2013. As Yew Tree says above 2017 was a great game.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 20/08/2021 20:07:12    2373437

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "2012 final was better than that, over after 15 mins, never forget that fantastic day."
That's better, much much better - A happy memory that involves Mayo.

Now hold onto that, we are making progress here. Maybe think of Murphy's goal or if, as I suspect, that doesn't work think about Keane's mistake that led to the second goal or Varleys missed frees. Anything that lessen the need to express yourself impulsively on your bitterness about Mayo. Apart from your own peace of mind (and ours) you sometimes set the others off.
Now I'm neither a veterinarian nor a psychiatrist but it's surely worth a try.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 20/08/2021 21:04:21    2373447

He should have done it in 2012 when it really mattered in a game that Donegal led from start to finish but sure look, quarter finals are fun days out too.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 20/08/2021 21:04:36    2373448

Mayo won that game by a massive margin cillian O'Connor single handedly matched donegals entire score.

It was over by the 20th minute it couldn't of went either way.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 20/08/2021 21:55:23    2373458

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Were you in limerick in 2014 U3? Now that was an atmosphere, we nearly burnt a new hole in the Ozone layer that day, that game had it all big hits great scores black cards yellow cards red cards lads running into each other and getting burst open a Mayo fan trying to assassinate the reff, extra time.

Pure off the cuff football by both teams, tactics went out the window early on.

Amazing stuff."
Yes I was up at the Ennis road end behind the goal. I was never so disappointed and p*ssed off coming out of the Gaelic Grounds that day.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11241 - 20/08/2021 21:56:07    2373459

Carlow v Kildare Leinster senior football championship 2018;

For me the performance of the decade was when Carlow stopped Kildare in the 2018 LSFC in O' Connor park on a score line of 2-12 to 2-08, it has to be said that Carlow had No wides throughout that entire game, from there on it has to be said also that Kildare then went on an endless roll, I travelled across to see them playing Mayo in the Newbridge or nowhere game and they beat Mayo by a point, they qualified for the super 8,s,

From memory I think it got a mention on the Sunday game,

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2910 - 20/08/2021 22:27:44    2373467

Mayo and Kerry SF replay in the Gaelic Grounds was incredible. I think because extra time is quite rare in the championship games take on a crazy dimension. Atmosphere wise Donegal and Mayo in 2019 was pretty great too. I'd never seen a crowd like that in McHale Park before.

Immer (Mayo) - Posts: 31 - 20/08/2021 22:47:02    2373472

Replying To yew_tree:  "Yes I was up at the Ennis road end behind the goal. I was never so disappointed and p*ssed off coming out of the Gaelic Grounds that day."
That's understandable U3, in fairness we weren't given any chance against ye so when you win against the head its always sweet but they were 2 mighty games all the same.

Actually we were wrote off against Cork Mayo and Donegal that year, we only barely scrope past Clare by 4 points in Ennis, and even Joe brolly said we'd have been planning for dublin in the final and 2 weeks wouldn't be enough time to plan for Donegal.

It was a crazy crazy year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/08/2021 00:33:36    2373487

Replying To legendzxix:  "Congratulations to Mayo on the performance of the decade! Fully deserving winners today!"
Much too early to say yet, great wins in '06 and '12 as well but the outcome of the resulting deciders took a little of the gloss from both victories. (similar to Donegal in 2014 semi final, their finest performance under JMcG) If as I hope Mayo close the deal in next month's final the significance of this semi final win over Dublin will magnify a thousandfold in the momentum and confidence it will have given Mayo. An All Ireland win irrespective of the performance would go down as Mayo's greatest day in 70 years and what a popular victory that would be throughout the country and beyond. Dublin's wonderful successful run apart, no other team has given the same entertainment in the past decade as those warriors in the Green and Red. Having witnessed the raw passion and final day disappointments of their huge loyal following over the years very few would begrudge them the privilege of bringing Sam to Castlebar.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 21/08/2021 02:57:22    2373492

Replying To Immer:  "Mayo and Kerry SF replay in the Gaelic Grounds was incredible. I think because extra time is quite rare in the championship games take on a crazy dimension. Atmosphere wise Donegal and Mayo in 2019 was pretty great too. I'd never seen a crowd like that in McHale Park before."
The smaller provincial grounds lends to better atmosphere in my view, I alway find crokepark a bit lacking in that sence.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/08/2021 09:42:45    2373505

Replying To Sssthe:  "Mayo won that game by a massive margin cillian O'Connor single handedly matched donegals entire score.

It was over by the 20th minute it couldn't of went either way."
Ah Jaysis lads ;-), I kinda knew that - would have thought the reference to Donie Vaughans 's goal would have been a giveaway, never mind the actual result. The gap was bigger than the London match that year!

See my later post - just needed to use the carrot or a touch of the wavin and the response was predictable.
Mightn't work but hey ... he does set the others off.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 21/08/2021 10:25:54    2373518

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The smaller provincial grounds lends to better atmosphere in my view, I alway find crokepark a bit lacking in that sence."
I know it's difficult to guess an attendance, but any game with less than 50 000 spectators should be moved around to the likes of the gaelic grounds, Thurles, Páirc Uí Chaoimh etc, Croke Park is an amazing stadium that I'm proud of as a GAA man but it has to be at least 60/70 000 full to get a proper atmosphere there from my experience.
I'd love to see all Ireland semis and quarters moved around the country.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1732 - 21/08/2021 10:31:02    2373519