Performance Of The Decade!

Replying To TippRed:  "An exciting and great match, but only in the second half when Mayo started to take the game to the Dubs. I turned over in the first half as I thought the Dubs were cruising to victory. And Paddy Power thought likewise installing Mayo at 28/1 to win the AI at half time. As performances go, I feel the best match between the two teams was the 17 Final. Close all through and Mayo two up with 8 mins to go. For me, the greatest game of football I've seen was Tyrone/Armagh semi of 05. The place was nearly full and the atmosphere was electric. Any day the great Francie Bellew is flat out on the ground, oblivious to the fact that a penalty has been awarded against his side, can't be a bad game."
Oh ye of little faith. How often has this old man told ye that bookies know SFA about Gaelic Games. In relation to Francie the day that my eyes were shot wide open was the day Wexford played Armagh in a quarter Final in Croker- Kerry V Galway same day and a massive downpour- and Francie was yellow carded. Wexford immediately switched Matty Forde on to Francie and he absolutely destroyed the bould Francie. Some of the points he scored were easily the best I have ever seen.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 17/08/2021 21:55:42    2372552

Mayo were 5/2 to win pre match. Not exactly shock of the decade. Performance of the decade? Nope on that one either. 2 poor teams. The Mayo team of 16 and 17 would have wiped the floor with both the current Dublin and Mayo team.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 17/08/2021 23:30:37    2372575

Despite Dublin's success and winning run I still think Cavan's performance and result in last December's Ulster Final trumps Mayo's win over Dublin. It is clear Dublin 2021 were not the same team and were struggling, in hindsight if Meath had some belief earlier it's possible they could have won the Leinster semi final. It doesn't take anything away from Mayo's win but at the same there has been better Mayo performances against Dublin in the 10's with a different result which shows where Dublin currently are. Mayo didn't need to be at the level of previous Mayo teams to beat Dublin this year.

Whatever about beating Dublin, Mayo have an even greater task winning the All Ireland Final if as expected Kerry line up against them, that is the danger as I suspect many in Mayo believe the All Ireland is there's after beating Dublin, but I don't think they have beaten the best team left yet.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 18/08/2021 11:43:34    2372662

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "As others have said, Farrell's taking over after Gavin must be nearly an impossible task, and yes, in those terms, ya can feel a bit of sympathy for him. But from what I have heard there are serious interpersonal issues with current and now former squad members which is down to him, stripping the squad of invaluable experience and damaging morale. This was evident in the second half when Mayo flawless applied the pressure as a cohesive unit. Farrell's monosyllabic game-plan fell apart, there was no plan B and his team fell into disarray.

He will get another season, due to his victory in the meekest championship in many years. But I'm certainly doubtful as to whether he'll be able to construct anything as multifaceted and Damascene as Gavin did over the winter of 2014/15."
I do laugh at this "being down to Farrell"...maybe he had to move lads on, good and great as they were maybe they were taking over the dressing room and "picking the team" and all that lark that dominant players seem to think they can do...we are hearing this that and the other, all slanted no doubt to suit the taste of the teller, we simply dont know...I am a manager of different sport, and unfortunately great players (some not all) because they deem themselves indispensable tend to bang their feet the loudest, and by allowing that you loose other players...its a balancing act for sure, but if personalties were clashing, we cant say "Farell should have managed it better" maybe he managed it as he had to, but in doing so players took sides and the Dublin lost, but so be it, Fareel was hardly going to sit back and have senior players calling the shots...again all this is conjecture, we dont know, but everyone has a view, and Farrell is the fall guy, maybe it is his fault, but if its down to player personalites after Jim Gavin had left, Farrell had to act, and rather than blame Farrell I blame those players who thought they could do what they wished..they are the ones who forced Farells hand...this lark about Farell not being able to manage, Dublin footballers may have just got to big for Dublin football, maybe thats the elephant in the room...it was tiresome looking at the keep ball tactics now to be honest, I missed most of their matches due to falling asleep, and Saturdays first half was no different, my son called me at the start of the second thankfully...and that is the truth...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 18/08/2021 16:11:59    2372784

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I do laugh at this "being down to Farrell"...maybe he had to move lads on, good and great as they were maybe they were taking over the dressing room and "picking the team" and all that lark that dominant players seem to think they can do...we are hearing this that and the other, all slanted no doubt to suit the taste of the teller, we simply dont know...I am a manager of different sport, and unfortunately great players (some not all) because they deem themselves indispensable tend to bang their feet the loudest, and by allowing that you loose other players...its a balancing act for sure, but if personalties were clashing, we cant say "Farell should have managed it better" maybe he managed it as he had to, but in doing so players took sides and the Dublin lost, but so be it, Fareel was hardly going to sit back and have senior players calling the shots...again all this is conjecture, we dont know, but everyone has a view, and Farrell is the fall guy, maybe it is his fault, but if its down to player personalites after Jim Gavin had left, Farrell had to act, and rather than blame Farrell I blame those players who thought they could do what they wished..they are the ones who forced Farells hand...this lark about Farell not being able to manage, Dublin footballers may have just got to big for Dublin football, maybe thats the elephant in the room...it was tiresome looking at the keep ball tactics now to be honest, I missed most of their matches due to falling asleep, and Saturdays first half was no different, my son called me at the start of the second thankfully...and that is the truth..."
all of that is utter nonsense apart from the tiresome keep-ball tactics. I'm glad that you admitted yourself that everything you made up was conjecture. The interpersonal issues were instigated by Farrell. If he was doing any managing it was managing a mess of his own creation.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 18/08/2021 17:23:30    2372810

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I do laugh at this "being down to Farrell"...maybe he had to move lads on, good and great as they were maybe they were taking over the dressing room and "picking the team" and all that lark that dominant players seem to think they can do...we are hearing this that and the other, all slanted no doubt to suit the taste of the teller, we simply dont know...I am a manager of different sport, and unfortunately great players (some not all) because they deem themselves indispensable tend to bang their feet the loudest, and by allowing that you loose other players...its a balancing act for sure, but if personalties were clashing, we cant say "Farell should have managed it better" maybe he managed it as he had to, but in doing so players took sides and the Dublin lost, but so be it, Fareel was hardly going to sit back and have senior players calling the shots...again all this is conjecture, we dont know, but everyone has a view, and Farrell is the fall guy, maybe it is his fault, but if its down to player personalites after Jim Gavin had left, Farrell had to act, and rather than blame Farrell I blame those players who thought they could do what they wished..they are the ones who forced Farells hand...this lark about Farell not being able to manage, Dublin footballers may have just got to big for Dublin football, maybe thats the elephant in the room...it was tiresome looking at the keep ball tactics now to be honest, I missed most of their matches due to falling asleep, and Saturdays first half was no different, my son called me at the start of the second thankfully...and that is the truth..."
Easier to get players onboard when they are hungry and striving together to achieve their ambitions. No-one knows what happened to the Dublin football team in 2021, it'll make a fascinating chapter in a book about the best team ever. They climbed Everest 6 years in a row and dealt with the adulation, envy and begrudgery that came with that. I think possibly that many of that squad didn't lose their love for fooyball, their county or respect for everyone on the squad. They were well capable if climbing Everest again but there was no real prize for 7 in a row to sate their appetite.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 18/08/2021 18:11:26    2372820

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yewtree Im waiting in vain for your response to your claim. I have scrolled through the sites and have nt seen one Kerry poster that said or thought. Kerry were in a final. I thought we were in a final before we rightly gave Tyrone a chance to play again but not now. Name one Kerry poster to prove your point or be decent and withdraw your comment."
I'm still waiting Yewtree

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3680 - 18/08/2021 19:30:38    2372838

Replying To sam1884:  "Despite Dublin's success and winning run I still think Cavan's performance and result in last December's Ulster Final trumps Mayo's win over Dublin. It is clear Dublin 2021 were not the same team and were struggling, in hindsight if Meath had some belief earlier it's possible they could have won the Leinster semi final. It doesn't take anything away from Mayo's win but at the same there has been better Mayo performances against Dublin in the 10's with a different result which shows where Dublin currently are. Mayo didn't need to be at the level of previous Mayo teams to beat Dublin this year.

Whatever about beating Dublin, Mayo have an even greater task winning the All Ireland Final if as expected Kerry line up against them, that is the danger as I suspect many in Mayo believe the All Ireland is there's after beating Dublin, but I don't think they have beaten the best team left yet."
Cavan didn't beat anyone of note in the Ulster Final, that was proven this year when a division 3 mob had them on the ropes.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 18/08/2021 20:01:09    2372842

Does this performance of the decade make Mayo favs now for the All Ireland after them knocking out may peoples favs?
I'm not sure who they'll be facing , most likely Kerry I suppose given how Tyrone are struggling to get players recovered from Covid.
If it is Kerry I'd make it a 50/50 game but we'll have to see how they perform against Tyrone first.
This could be Mayo's best chance in a long time to end the famine.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2759 - 18/08/2021 21:00:56    2372865

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I'm still waiting Yewtree"
Apologies for late reply I forgot I posted here. No Kerry poster here stated Kerry were in the final. I saw a few comments on social media which I'll admit is not a good place to reference as it's a cesspit of keyboard warriors including ones from my own county so apologies if my comment implied it was any Kerry posters here who are decent skins.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11241 - 18/08/2021 22:03:06    2372887

Replying To yew_tree:  "Apologies for late reply I forgot I posted here. No Kerry poster here stated Kerry were in the final. I saw a few comments on social media which I'll admit is not a good place to reference as it's a cesspit of keyboard warriors including ones from my own county so apologies if my comment implied it was any Kerry posters here who are decent skins."
Fair play to you Yewtree. No worries! Thank you!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3680 - 18/08/2021 22:27:13    2372902

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Cavan didn't beat anyone of note in the Ulster Final, that was proven this year when a division 3 mob had them on the ropes."
That's a wee bit harsh on Cavan AfricanGael. Donegal are a good side. I agree with you that Mayo's win is at a different level to Cavan's. I think this whole thread is a bit of a joke given that the decade is not even two years old. If you're looking for a performance over the last five years you could do a lot worse than look at Corofin's win over Nemo in 2017 in the All Ireland Club Final. They were sensational and won 2-19 to 0-10. Over the last two years Limerick's second half performance against Tipp in this year's Munster Final was special.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 18/08/2021 22:46:35    2372906

Replying To yew_tree:  "Apologies for late reply I forgot I posted here. No Kerry poster here stated Kerry were in the final. I saw a few comments on social media which I'll admit is not a good place to reference as it's a cesspit of keyboard warriors including ones from my own county so apologies if my comment implied it was any Kerry posters here who are decent skins."
I don't do social meeja U3, fair play though for your response,

Question for you is hoganstand regarded as social meeja? Hardly I'd say?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/08/2021 01:21:35    2372925

Apart from KB and the Hermit!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 19/08/2021 08:17:21    2372934

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't do social meeja U3, fair play though for your response,

Question for you is hoganstand regarded as social meeja? Hardly I'd say?"
Well I suppose it is a form social media but at least it's moderated so actual abuse is blocked out. That said it's not what it used to be around here.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11241 - 19/08/2021 10:16:53    2372953

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Cavan didn't beat anyone of note in the Ulster Final, that was proven this year when a division 3 mob had them on the ropes."
They didn't beat anyone of note in the Ulster final, just the double Ulster champions at that stage yeah, genius.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 19/08/2021 11:01:37    2372967

Replying To yew_tree:  "Well I suppose it is a form social media but at least it's moderated so actual abuse is blocked out. That said it's not what it used to be around here."
That is for sure yew_tree. Dellboypolecat and the late, great Patrique come to mind.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 19/08/2021 11:10:55    2372972

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Mayo were 5/2 to win pre match. Not exactly shock of the decade. Performance of the decade? Nope on that one either. 2 poor teams. The Mayo team of 16 and 17 would have wiped the floor with both the current Dublin and Mayo team."
I've heard this kind of thing a lot this week. I think it's an interesting one, it would be interesting to hear what Mayo fans think, is the current team better or worse than the 16/17 team. Personally I think they are better. Their pace and power is incredible, even less prominent lads like conor loftus and Ruane at midfield have tremendous engines. I think Jim McGuinness now uses the phrase "aerobic capacity". Well this Mayo team has buckets of it. I still think they have psychological issues but the hit and run on McLaughlin seemed to banish those last weekend

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 324 - 19/08/2021 11:13:56    2372973

Replying To 97Cavans:  "I've heard this kind of thing a lot this week. I think it's an interesting one, it would be interesting to hear what Mayo fans think, is the current team better or worse than the 16/17 team. Personally I think they are better. Their pace and power is incredible, even less prominent lads like conor loftus and Ruane at midfield have tremendous engines. I think Jim McGuinness now uses the phrase "aerobic capacity". Well this Mayo team has buckets of it. I still think they have psychological issues but the hit and run on McLaughlin seemed to banish those last weekend"
I suspect most informed fans would think that the Mayo or Dublin teams of 16/17 are much better that the 2 teams that lined out on Saturday - certainly based on that match & in indeed in general.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 19/08/2021 16:25:38    2373128

Replying To 97Cavans:  "I've heard this kind of thing a lot this week. I think it's an interesting one, it would be interesting to hear what Mayo fans think, is the current team better or worse than the 16/17 team. Personally I think they are better. Their pace and power is incredible, even less prominent lads like conor loftus and Ruane at midfield have tremendous engines. I think Jim McGuinness now uses the phrase "aerobic capacity". Well this Mayo team has buckets of it. I still think they have psychological issues but the hit and run on McLaughlin seemed to banish those last weekend"
Ask me after the final. The harsh reality is we have to win the final now. Anything less is failure. Enough of the hard luck and excuses. Now is the time. I've watched us lose enough finals to last two lifetimes.l...no more.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11241 - 19/08/2021 17:50:37    2373159