Dubs V Mayo

Replying To Lockjaw:  "It was a massive hit by Small, and lets be honest - we all enjoy seeing a good physical challenge. But regardless of the intent, when a player ends up with a broken jaw then obviously the challenge cannot have been a legal one. I would give Lane some leeway given that it happened so quickly. It's easy for us at home to judge with the benefit of replays and different angles.

It's a bit like how rugby has gone too. Players these days are so powerfully built that any challenge at speed, particularly one where the recipient is not braced for impact, can lead to very serious consequences. That's not to say players of yester-year were shrinking violets either by the way."
Ye must be goin soft Lock. I've seen far worse challenges in the Ulster Championship….and that was before the ball was thrown in. :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/08/2021 16:32:21    2372469

Replying To Lockjaw:  "It was a massive hit by Small, and lets be honest - we all enjoy seeing a good physical challenge. But regardless of the intent, when a player ends up with a broken jaw then obviously the challenge cannot have been a legal one. I would give Lane some leeway given that it happened so quickly. It's easy for us at home to judge with the benefit of replays and different angles.

It's a bit like how rugby has gone too. Players these days are so powerfully built that any challenge at speed, particularly one where the recipient is not braced for impact, can lead to very serious consequences. That's not to say players of yester-year were shrinking violets either by the way."
Direction of the challenge should have been enough for Conor Lane to know that it wasn't a legal challenge. Almost impossible to deliver a legal challenge from Smalls starting position. When McLaughlin receives the ball he's almost facing Small.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 17/08/2021 17:44:36    2372483

The ref had indicated the game was over before Aidan O'Shea came back on the pitch. Watch it back and you will see this.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 17/08/2021 17:45:31    2372484

Congrats to Mayo on coming through a tough big game against us. They have never let the heads drop and always return year after year with renewed vigour in search of the holy grail.Horan epitomizes this.I hope 2021 is Mayos year. I haven't been on here in a while and reading the last 6 pages of this thread reminded why not. The amount of threads that are ruined by anoraks/bitter gombeens (from most counties) is sad because plenty of posters have good stuff to share. Anyway I'm looking forward to an All Ireland final were I'm not shitting my pants watching it. Na Dubs abu

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 17/08/2021 17:57:07    2372486

Replying To Joxer:  "Ye must be goin soft Lock. I've seen far worse challenges in the Ulster Championship….and that was before the ball was thrown in. :)"
Ha ha this is true. But all joking aside, accidents do happen on the pitch, players will get injured, it's par for the course. But concussions and broken jaws noone wants to see.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 17/08/2021 18:37:09    2372495

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Ha ha this is true. But all joking aside, accidents do happen on the pitch, players will get injured, it's par for the course. But concussions and broken jaws noone wants to see."
Agreed Lockjaw. No one wants to see that. Events happen so quickly in inter county football that officials might miss them. What was deeply worrying was the failure of the officials to properly exercise their duty of care to Eoghan McLoughlin.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 17/08/2021 19:18:30    2372509

Replying To CaogaCuig:  "Congrats to Mayo on coming through a tough big game against us. They have never let the heads drop and always return year after year with renewed vigour in search of the holy grail.Horan epitomizes this.I hope 2021 is Mayos year. I haven't been on here in a while and reading the last 6 pages of this thread reminded why not. The amount of threads that are ruined by anoraks/bitter gombeens (from most counties) is sad because plenty of posters have good stuff to share. Anyway I'm looking forward to an All Ireland final were I'm not shitting my pants watching it. Na Dubs abu"
I'm looking forward to the kids NOT being off school the next day myself:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/08/2021 19:21:31    2372511

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Ha ha this is true. But all joking aside, accidents do happen on the pitch, players will get injured, it's par for the course. But concussions and broken jaws noone wants to see."
Agreed Lockjaw. No one wants to see that. Events happen so quickly in inter county football that officials might miss them. What was deeply worrying was the failure of the officials to properly exercise their duty of care to Eoghan McLoughlin.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 17/08/2021 19:37:24    2372514

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To Aibrean:  "[quote=Sindar:  "[quote=Aibrean:  ""To distinguish between the two, a defender who pulls the attacker by the jersey and it is clear that his intent is to bring him to the ground is a black card."
I don't agree. "Intent" is not mentioned in the rules and, accordingly, is not a consideration. "Deliberately" is the word in the rules.
So, for example, when John Small tugged the jersey of Kevin McLoughlin you could not say that he "deliberately" pulled McLoughlin to the ground - even though McLoughlin ended up on the ground.
McStay got this one wrong, by the way. He was also mistaken on two counts when he said the re-taking of the 45 was due to a recent rule change whereby interfering with the free taker was a foul."
You are right I should have used deliberate instead of intent. I don't think we can say Small deliberatley pulled McLoughlin to the ground though. That's not the way referees interpret this and I would be quite adamant that I am correct on that."
I think we are in total agreement. Read my post carefully: I said the Small/Kevin McLoughlin incident was not a black card - though the RTE 'experts' disagree."]What are you talking about ?

You sound like someone who didn't watch the game at all.

Now you are even misquoting your own posts, you said Small/ McLoughlin, period.

Now you are saying Small / Kevin McLoughlin and that's even wrong.

It was Byrne who pulled on McLoughlin.

Fecken hell how many attempts do you need to get your head around it !"]Yes, I am wrong (what a rare admission on this forum!). It was David Byrne who tugged Kevin McLoughlin's jersey.
However, the point I was making (and Sindar agrees) is clear enough: it is not a black card unless you can conclude that Byrne deliberately pulled McLoughlin to the ground.
The critical word is 'deliberately'; 'intent' does not come into it.
And, I don't think you can conclude it was deliberate.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 17/08/2021 19:43:15    2372515

Replying To Aibrean:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "[quote=Sindar:  "[quote=Aibrean:  ""To distinguish between the two, a defender who pulls the attacker by the jersey and it is clear that his intent is to bring him to the ground is a black card."
I don't agree. "Intent" is not mentioned in the rules and, accordingly, is not a consideration. "Deliberately" is the word in the rules.
So, for example, when John Small tugged the jersey of Kevin McLoughlin you could not say that he "deliberately" pulled McLoughlin to the ground - even though McLoughlin ended up on the ground.
McStay got this one wrong, by the way. He was also mistaken on two counts when he said the re-taking of the 45 was due to a recent rule change whereby interfering with the free taker was a foul."
You are right I should have used deliberate instead of intent. I don't think we can say Small deliberatley pulled McLoughlin to the ground though. That's not the way referees interpret this and I would be quite adamant that I am correct on that."
I think we are in total agreement. Read my post carefully: I said the Small/Kevin McLoughlin incident was not a black card - though the RTE 'experts' disagree."]What are you talking about ?

You sound like someone who didn't watch the game at all.

Now you are even misquoting your own posts, you said Small/ McLoughlin, period.

Now you are saying Small / Kevin McLoughlin and that's even wrong.

It was Byrne who pulled on McLoughlin.

Fecken hell how many attempts do you need to get your head around it !"]Yes, I am wrong (what a rare admission on this forum!). It was David Byrne who tugged Kevin McLoughlin's jersey.
However, the point I was making (and Sindar agrees) is clear enough: it is not a black card unless you can conclude that Byrne deliberately pulled McLoughlin to the ground.
The critical word is 'deliberately'; 'intent' does not come into it.
And, I don't think you can conclude it was deliberate."]Here lads, yes the rules are written and referees are obliged to follow them. But the foul on McLoughlin the other day is a textbook example of why the black card was introduced in the first place. Everything else is just semantics.

These guys making the rules completely diminish a good referee's ability to ref a match properly in my opinion. Namely, the ability to "know" the game and generally use their common sense, rather than officiate in fear of what some nerd in the stand thinks with his official rule book.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 17/08/2021 20:21:35    2372521

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Sindar:  "Yes you can deliberately pull someone to the ground by the jersey and that is a black card. However, that wasn't the case here. He pulled him back and not down. That might sound pedantic and technical but that's why words are carefully chosen in rules. You'd change the rule to state that a pull back is now a black card. Of course that causes other problems."
I bow to your superior knowledge Sindar as you would know more about the rules than I."
Sindar is totally wrong there regarding the McLaughlin incident because Byrne did not pull at the back of McLoughlins jersey, he caught the side of his jersey and spun him to the ground so that is not a pull back as Sindar describes it.

Black card all day long.

Small illegal charge on E McLoughlin, a red card all day long.

It became illegal once contact was made with the head, regardless of intent."]If that's the case then Diarmuid O'Connor would have walked for his high head challenge, he would have walked again for his tugging of James McCarthy's jersey, AOS would be suspended for entering the field of play and ripping another players jersey. Sure the list goes on. Intent has to come into it when it comes to tackling, just like when Morgan broke Paddy Andrew's jaw and got a yellow. The game is too fast paced with physical contact to not consider intent.

Sure O'Hora should have been red carded for this tackle if that was the case…

https://youtu.be/7uCXZcOup_k"]Look at it again Joxer in totality, and then freeze it on 18 seconds afterwards, O'Hora playing the ball, Howard playing the man.

If Dublin had played a bit more of the ball than the man they might have won it and should have won it when they were 5 points up on 63 mins.

They just cracked up under pressure and were unable to play when it was put up to them.

I see now why they hate Mayo."]I work from the rule book and keep myself very much up to date. When other refs ask me about scenarios (I'm a refs tutor also) I refer them to what the rules state and not what we think the correct action should be. I invite you to do the same.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 17/08/2021 20:27:43    2372525

Replying To CaogaCuig:  "Congrats to Mayo on coming through a tough big game against us. They have never let the heads drop and always return year after year with renewed vigour in search of the holy grail.Horan epitomizes this.I hope 2021 is Mayos year. I haven't been on here in a while and reading the last 6 pages of this thread reminded why not. The amount of threads that are ruined by anoraks/bitter gombeens (from most counties) is sad because plenty of posters have good stuff to share. Anyway I'm looking forward to an All Ireland final were I'm not shitting my pants watching it. Na Dubs abu"
Agree with all you say, congrats Mayo and go and win it now. Living in the west and meeting loads of Mayo's and Dubs in real life what I hear is reason, sense and comraderie, mostly what I read on this forum is insults and bitterness, I'm gettin out of here to talk to my Dublin, Mayo and all other county friends. CLG ABÚ

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 17/08/2021 21:50:07    2372550

Any update on Eoin Murchin's ankle injury?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 17/08/2021 21:52:01    2372551

Replying To Sindar:  "No two aggressive tackles are the same so interpretation is always required. As in soccer, rugby etc., GAA referees review and discuss as many incidents as possible so that some level of standardisation can be achieved but it's never going to be perfect.
In GAA the result of an aggressive foul is not a factor in determining the disciplinary action (I think it is in rugby from what I have seen). e.g. a player could be pushed to the ground and land awkwardly dislocating a shoulder. Is that a red card? No. On the opposite side of that, a player could take a swing at an opponents head fully intending to do damage but he misses. GAA rules state that is a red card because it's all about intent.

Other posters and some pundits mentioned "duty of care", which is something that you seem to be alluding to. You won't find "duty of care" mentioned in our playing rules (with the exception of a legal liability clause which is not relevant here). There is a rule about inflicting injury recklessly (red card) which could certainly be considered in this instance but they are not the same thing imo. It's often used in rugby (I'm just a watcher of the game only) when a player goes up for a high ball and is taken out such as in a lineout or garryowen. The player tackling but who does not win the ball has a responsibility to ensure his opponent lands safely. That's duty of care and it doesn't exist in GAA."
Sindar let me ask the question an other way-

Do you think it is possible in Gaelic Football or Hurling for a player to break an opponent's jaw and/or inflict concussion whilst trying to make a deliberate tackle (which John Small undoubtedly was) without breaking the rue regarding recklessly endangering an opponent?

Cos I cannot see how that is possible? You mentioned shoulder injury- I think that's completely different. If John Small had made contact with Eoghan McLaughlin square on with that force he may well have dislocated his shoulder/his AC joint/fractured his collarbone. I have treated players who have suffered these injuries in legitimate tackles and I suffered one myself as a player and to be honest I'm fine with this as these are not potentially life changing injuries. Head injuries, however, are potentially life changing, and for that reason most contact sports do not allow deliberate contact to an opponent's head.

So how can one of the top referees in the country see that Eoghan McLaughlin has been knocked out and being placed on a spinal board and come to the conclusion that it could have been the result of a fair tackle? Does he simply not have enough evidence to send off John Small? Does he need video review to confirm it? Do referees need more education on this particular subject? Do we need to tighten the rules? I'm genuinely curious as to what your thoughts are.

Like Mayo v Dublin is one of the marquee fixtures in the GAA calendar and on Saturday night two Mayo players left the field with head injuries after being "tackled" with force to the head by an opponent and the net sanction for both incidents was one yellow card. That is not a good look for the sport.

I'm all for having physical contact and collisions in the sport. Unfortunately, injuries, including concussion will continue to happen during incidental collisions- we just can't eliminate that risk entirely. But we can do something about allowing dangerous tackles and I find it very disappointing that there is even a debate as to whether or not a challenge that breaks a players jaw is a red card or not.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 17/08/2021 22:18:51    2372556

I'm smiling at your last comment but know exactly what you mean. The best part about being in an all ireland final is the build up to it and the morning but when the national anthem starts it's nerve wrecking. I don't really enjoy the game when my county are involved unless they winning as I'm so nervous. Yes I want to be there but when you ré neutral there s no nerves. We never happy but of course we will all put up with the nerves just to have our counties there.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 17/08/2021 22:59:24    2372567

Replying To bulmccabe:  "mayo will bottle it again on the big day against kerry even though id like to see tyrone take them on, it's just a bit early for an unsettled team that are still recovering and will be from covid"
Haha, state of his
Talking up an unproven Kerry team while undermining his own teams chances because he knows they've done squat over the past decade.

Bar Donegal in 2012 , a long.long time go i may add,
no team in Ulster has been anywhere near Mayo's /kerrys ,Dublins level over past 10 years.
Tyrone only got to the final in 2018 because of Mayo's shock exit at hands of Kildare.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 17/08/2021 23:46:37    2372578

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Any update on Eoin Murchin's ankle injury?"
He's still trying to figure out what one he hurt...

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/08/2021 23:57:39    2372579

There has not much mention of how John Small even after the Mc Laughlin hit should have received a red card for his cowardly hit on Ryan O Donoghue. This was highlighted on the Sunday Game but has not received much attention.

boholabob (Mayo) - Posts: 2 - 18/08/2021 04:49:47    2372590

Replying To boholabob:  "There has not much mention of how John Small even after the Mc Laughlin hit should have received a red card for his cowardly hit on Ryan O Donoghue. This was highlighted on the Sunday Game but has not received much attention."
nor have we heard much about Diarmuid O'Connor's cowardly high hit on Tom Lahiff. We should continue until we've flogged this horse through the next life and into the following one.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 18/08/2021 10:41:44    2372629

Replying To BeJasus:  "Haha, state of his
Talking up an unproven Kerry team while undermining his own teams chances because he knows they've done squat over the past decade.

Bar Donegal in 2012 , a long.long time go i may add,
no team in Ulster has been anywhere near Mayo's /kerrys ,Dublins level over past 10 years.
Tyrone only got to the final in 2018 because of Mayo's shock exit at hands of Kildare."
of course tyrone done nothing since 2008 apart from 1 semi under harte, he was allowed to stay because of what he did but most supporters recognised his tenure should have ended as the players either just didnt perform or his ideas were dated, then again as i stated each time mayo have got to a final they bottled itwhich is there for all to see, you cant argue with the facts regardless of what tyrone did or didnt do and yes kerry are unproven but still look too strong

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 18/08/2021 11:05:57    2372645