Dubs V Mayo

Replying To Sindar:  "
Replying To Pericles:  "[quote=Sindar:  "Yes you can deliberately pull someone to the ground by the jersey and that is a black card. However, that wasn't the case here. He pulled him back and not down. That might sound pedantic and technical but that's why words are carefully chosen in rules. You'd change the rule to state that a pull back is now a black card. Of course that causes other problems."
Very good posts and info Sindar, but surely if someone's accelerating away from you and you pull their jersey there's a good chance they're going to lose their footing. Would have been different if the two were side by side and/or running at the same speed. Kevin McLoughlin was running away from the defender and the jersey pull caused him to lose traction and balance. Is that not a pull down? I'm leaving the cynical aspect out as that doesn't seem to make any difference to what the ref decides according to what you've said (rules not open to interpretation)."
I hear you but the answer is no. The intent isn't to bring him down and that is the essence of this part of the black card rule. If you were to expand the rule for this where do you draw the line between a "little tug" and a "pull back/down". Can you see where the problems might arise?
It all definitely needs to be looked at again and all cyncial play should be black cards in my view. But all eventualities need to be covered.
It I was in charge of it I'd get rid of the black cards completely (not the offences) and make them yellow cards and make all yellow cards a sin binning offence. That's the way it is in ladies football and it seems to work. Not perfect in men's but there would be no debates between black and yellow."]Fully agree with simplifying the cards Sindar. While there isn't supposed to be interpretation involved in applying the rules attempting to read the intent of a player who is fouling is pure guesswork. It'd be fair to say that Small wasn't going to let Kevin Mc go in on goal with a pass likely. What the player is gaining in a situation ought to be taken into account. but I accept this is a natural justice reaction rather than any part of the current laws of the game. No doubt it'll be looked at in the round.

I appreciate the info...

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 17/08/2021 14:02:44    2372385

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I see a lot of mayo posters on this site..none of ye have mentioned the stupidity of ye,re captain at the end of normal time..he goot involved with philly when he had been reaced and should have been watching from the stand..what do ye think of his actions?i think this was a huge mistake from all the officials and he should have received a red for it.."
Very stupid from AOS...no business being there. Lucky he does not get a suspension because of it. Agree if it was a Dublin player there would be a lot more about it.

As for there being a lot of Mayo fans on this site....there always has been. I hope we aren't all unbearable ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 17/08/2021 14:03:58    2372386

Rugby Union at the elite level is now virtually untenable as the rules stand because the players are so fit and so strong that the collisions are leading to life changing injuries and premature deaths. Until such time as the rules are substantially altered to protect the players, I for one want no further part of it.

Toxic masculinity has also had a long history in Gaelic Football. Hard shoulders are enjoyed in some quarters more than high fielding. Mind you, the horses so minded tend to talk a lot out of the wrong quarters so the less said about their opinions the better!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 17/08/2021 14:06:19    2372389

Replying To yew_tree:  "Very stupid from AOS...no business being there. Lucky he does not get a suspension because of it. Agree if it was a Dublin player there would be a lot more about it.

As for there being a lot of Mayo fans on this site....there always has been. I hope we aren't all unbearable ;)"
No more than my own county, some of ye are more bearable than others! lol

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 17/08/2021 14:09:02    2372390

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Sindar:  "Yes you can deliberately pull someone to the ground by the jersey and that is a black card. However, that wasn't the case here. He pulled him back and not down. That might sound pedantic and technical but that's why words are carefully chosen in rules. You'd change the rule to state that a pull back is now a black card. Of course that causes other problems."
I bow to your superior knowledge Sindar as you would know more about the rules than I."
Sindar is totally wrong there regarding the McLaughlin incident because Byrne did not pull at the back of McLoughlins jersey, he caught the side of his jersey and spun him to the ground so that is not a pull back as Sindar describes it.

Black card all day long.

Small illegal charge on E McLoughlin, a red card all day long.

It became illegal once contact was made with the head, regardless of intent."]If that's the case then Diarmuid O'Connor would have walked for his high head challenge, he would have walked again for his tugging of James McCarthy's jersey, AOS would be suspended for entering the field of play and ripping another players jersey. Sure the list goes on. Intent has to come into it when it comes to tackling, just like when Morgan broke Paddy Andrew's jaw and got a yellow. The game is too fast paced with physical contact to not consider intent.

Sure O'Hora should have been red carded for this tackle if that was the case…

https://youtu.be/7uCXZcOup_k

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/08/2021 14:12:54    2372392

Replying To cluichethar:  "I never said you didn't. You said it looked good in real time and I asked you how a player can deliver a legal hit start from Smalls starting position on McLaughlin, he came from the front and unless McLaughlin turns there's no way to make contact with the shoulder. I'm beginning to think that some people seem to think a shoulder hit to the front part of the shoulder is legal it isn't. Outside of shoulder is where the contact has to be made. In a legal shoulder to shoulder hit a player is sent sideways not backwards. That's all I'm saying."
Well it's not that simple it seems.
David Coldrick, who reffed last years AIF, seems to think that a shoulder straight into the chest is a legitimate tackle.
Now there are those cynics who would claim that had it happened at the other end and Keegan delivered that hit it would have been a red card and a free in.
I am not of that opinion myself - that would be an appalling vista and then where would we bee ;-).

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 17/08/2021 14:16:28    2372394

Replying To plike:  "Rugby Union at the elite level is now virtually untenable as the rules stand because the players are so fit and so strong that the collisions are leading to life changing injuries and premature deaths. Until such time as the rules are substantially altered to protect the players, I for one want no further part of it.

Toxic masculinity has also had a long history in Gaelic Football. Hard shoulders are enjoyed in some quarters more than high fielding. Mind you, the horses so minded tend to talk a lot out of the wrong quarters so the less said about their opinions the better!"
Toxic masculinity? Get a hold of yourself would you?
If you're going to spout masochistic bilge at least try to use an appropriate comparison. High fielding is no less a demonstration of physical prowess than a hard shoulder.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1717 - 17/08/2021 14:22:08    2372400

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Sindar:  "Yes you can deliberately pull someone to the ground by the jersey and that is a black card. However, that wasn't the case here. He pulled him back and not down. That might sound pedantic and technical but that's why words are carefully chosen in rules. You'd change the rule to state that a pull back is now a black card. Of course that causes other problems."
I bow to your superior knowledge Sindar as you would know more about the rules than I."
Sindar is totally wrong there regarding the McLaughlin incident because Byrne did not pull at the back of McLoughlins jersey, he caught the side of his jersey and spun him to the ground so that is not a pull back as Sindar describes it.

Black card all day long.

It became illegal once contact was made with the head, regardless of intent."]You clearly have no idea of what you are talking about. I wanted it again just now. He did not spin him to the ground. It was definitely cynical but not a black card. Read the rules before you reply.
As for your Small comment "regardless of intent" you are completely wrong again. It is never a red card in GAA for unintentional action.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 17/08/2021 14:29:56    2372405

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Sindar:  "Yes you can deliberately pull someone to the ground by the jersey and that is a black card. However, that wasn't the case here. He pulled him back and not down. That might sound pedantic and technical but that's why words are carefully chosen in rules. You'd change the rule to state that a pull back is now a black card. Of course that causes other problems."

Black card all day long.

It became illegal once contact was made with the head, regardless of intent."]If that's the case then Diarmuid O'Connor would have walked for his high head challenge, he would have walked again for his tugging of James McCarthy's jersey, AOS would be suspended for entering the field of play and ripping another players jersey. Sure the list goes on. Intent has to come into it when it comes to tackling, just like when Morgan broke Paddy Andrew's jaw and got a yellow. The game is too fast paced with physical contact to not consider intent.

https://youtu.be/7uCXZcOup_k"]Look at it again Joxer in totality, and then freeze it on 18 seconds afterwards, O'Hora playing the ball, Howard playing the man.

If Dublin had played a bit more of the ball than the man they might have won it and should have won it when they were 5 points up on 63 mins.

They just cracked up under pressure and were unable to play when it was put up to them.

I see now why they hate Mayo.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 17/08/2021 14:38:34    2372409

Replying To Sindar:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Sindar:  "Yes you can deliberately pull someone to the ground by the jersey and that is a black card. However, that wasn't the case here. He pulled him back and not down. That might sound pedantic and technical but that's why words are carefully chosen in rules. You'd change the rule to state that a pull back is now a black card. Of course that causes other problems."

Black card all day long.

It became illegal once contact was made with the head, regardless of intent."]You clearly have no idea of what you are talking about. I wanted it again just now. He did not spin him to the ground. It was definitely cynical but not a black card. Read the rules before you reply.
As for your Small comment "regardless of intent" you are completely wrong again. It is never a red card in GAA for unintentional action."]My moneys on you knowing what your talking about Sindar. Fair play!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 17/08/2021 14:50:59    2372417

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I see a lot of mayo posters on this site..none of ye have mentioned the stupidity of ye,re captain at the end of normal time..he goot involved with philly when he had been reaced and should have been watching from the stand..what do ye think of his actions?i think this was a huge mistake from all the officials and he should have received a red for it.."
Go back to after the game and you'll see that i said that AOS could and should get a ban for going onto the field. General statements are never good

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 17/08/2021 15:11:21    2372429

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Spot on and good point Cluichethár. Didn't think about it like that. Apologies, I misunderstood you earlier."
No worries

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 17/08/2021 15:12:35    2372431

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Fair enough. I actually agree with you. I was just saying when I saw it first I thought I was a great shoulder. Obviously I was wrong. When I saw it in slow motion I realised it was a red card. The only proper way to shoulder is shoulder to shoulder."
I think the GAA needs to clean up this rule. put out some videos showing whats legal and whats not. Obviously theres a lot of opinions on what a shoulder challenge is. IMO a shoulder charge to the front should always get at least a yelloy card because it is dangerous.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 17/08/2021 15:16:44    2372433

Replying To timmyhogan:  ",
Well it's not that simple it seems.
David Coldrick, who reffed last years AIF, seems to think that a shoulder straight into the chest is a legitimate tackle.
Now there are those cynics who would claim that had it happened at the other end and Keegan delivered that hit it would have been a red card and a free in.
I am not of that opinion myself - that would be an appalling vista and then where would we bee ;-)."
I wouldn't put much into what David Coldrick does, for me the man isn't a very good refree.
Still the rule says shoulder to shoulder not shoulder to chest. A frontal challenge is a cardable offence

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 17/08/2021 15:21:28    2372436

It's important for me to point out why Sindar is wrong when he says "It is never a red card in GAA for unintentional action".

I know Sindar is a referee but he's not an Inter-County referee and the guidelines which were brought in back in 2018 are quite specific regarding contact to the head.

Perhaps Sindar is not up to date with the guidelines and perhaps he has no reason to be.

So what Sindar is claiming here leaves him zero wiggle room "It is never a red card in GAA for unintentional action"

So by claiming this Sindar is saying there is absolutely no sanction on a player who makes contact with the head of an opponent because the tackler mistimes what would normally be a legitimate tackle.

And I am saying that this is absolutely not correct, the sanction is a straight red card.

And whether Small meant it or not is totally irrelevant, he mistimed it and made contact with the head of McLoughlin and the guidelines set out are clear in relation to head contact, red card.

I have no problem in backing this up but I will let Sindar respond.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 17/08/2021 15:35:32    2372439

Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Sindar:  "Yes you can deliberately pull someone to the ground by the jersey and that is a black card. However, that wasn't the case here. He pulled him back and not down. That might sound pedantic and technical but that's why words are carefully chosen in rules. You'd change the rule to state that a pull back is now a black card. Of course that causes other problems."

Black card all day long.

https://youtu.be/7uCXZcOup_k"]Look at it again Joxer in totality, and then freeze it on 18 seconds afterwards, O'Hora playing the ball, Howard playing the man.

If Dublin had played a bit more of the ball than the man they might have won it and should have won it when they were 5 points up on 63 mins.

They just cracked up under pressure and were unable to play when it was put up to them.

I see now why they hate Mayo."]Not sure what you're looking at. Howard is clearly playing the ball and is laid out by O'Hora. Howard doesn't even see O'Hora. O'Hora smashes him in the head with his shoulder at great speed. It's a red card for a high tackle all day long if the rules are adhered to. It's not even questionable.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/08/2021 15:59:18    2372452

Replying To cluichethar:  "I think the GAA needs to clean up this rule. put out some videos showing whats legal and whats not. Obviously theres a lot of opinions on what a shoulder challenge is. IMO a shoulder charge to the front should always get at least a yelloy card because it is dangerous."
Agreed

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 17/08/2021 16:08:48    2372457

Gaelic football is a physical game. We don't want it to become non contact. The small hit was miss timed..should have been a red but he didn't mean to break MacLoughlains jaw...I'd be quiet sure of that. AOS is also lucky not to be cited for running onto the field.

It's eat or be eaten at this level. Players on both sides coming off black and blue...the old saying you win nothing with nice guys. Dublin and Mayo both have a few lads who are well able to play ugly and hit off the ball....have any of ye played club ball? It goes on.

The losing team will always over analyse where it went wrong and we are no strangers to that. For Mayo though it's time to move on and focus on the final. We simply have to win it this time, no excuses, no hard luck stories or excuses. Now is the time.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 17/08/2021 16:20:16    2372460

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=Joxer:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Sindar:  "Yes you can deliberately pull someone to the ground by the jersey and that is a black card. However, that wasn't the case here. He pulled him back and not down. That might sound pedantic and technical but that's why words are carefully chosen in rules. You'd change the rule to state that a pull back is now a black card. Of course that causes other problems."

Black card all day long.

I see now why they hate Mayo."]Not sure what you're looking at. Howard is clearly playing the ball and is laid out by O'Hora. Howard doesn't even see O'Hora. O'Hora smashes him in the head with his shoulder at great speed. It's a red card for a high tackle all day long if the rules are adhered to. It's not even questionable."]Ah now if you're trying to tell me you are seeing something different forget it !

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 17/08/2021 16:21:30    2372461

It was a massive hit by Small, and lets be honest - we all enjoy seeing a good physical challenge. But regardless of the intent, when a player ends up with a broken jaw then obviously the challenge cannot have been a legal one. I would give Lane some leeway given that it happened so quickly. It's easy for us at home to judge with the benefit of replays and different angles.

It's a bit like how rugby has gone too. Players these days are so powerfully built that any challenge at speed, particularly one where the recipient is not braced for impact, can lead to very serious consequences. That's not to say players of yester-year were shrinking violets either by the way.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 17/08/2021 16:22:17    2372464