Dubs V Mayo

Replying To baire:  "Give me one example of sour grapes from my posts! If you go back over my posts you'll see that I remarked that I was astonished that some Galway posters would prefer to see Dublin win than Mayo. I also know that there are some Mayo posters who would feel the same if Galway were playing Dublin. Why would I have sour grapes? Galway have won 14 Senior Football All Irelands between football and hurling, Mayo have won 3 Senior All Irelands. I'll be delighted if Mayo win this year. Those of us who following hurling in Galway know well what it's like to lose All Irelands. I couldn't understand how some of the Dublin players, who have won so many All Irelands, were so unsporting yesterday."
14 Senior All Irelands rather, 9 in football, 5 in hurling.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 16/08/2021 15:35:54    2372037

I think it is clear that with the benefit of hindsight, the Dublin player deserved a red card. Did he intend to hurt the Mayo player, you would like to think not but only one person can answer this question definitively. Mayo and Dublin are rivalries and this rivalry has built up in the last 20 years and it has spilled over a few occasions in recent years as the games have been close. In many ways, we should thank both Dublin and Mayo because without them, the last six or seven championship would've been completely forgettable. What I find strange is that there is so much time dedicated to this incident and this game, yet a player from Limerick who deliberately headbutted another player and was rightly sent off has been freed to play in the All Ireland, yet, numerous people are saying that it is right that he should be allowed play in the All Ireland final. I'm not condoning what the Dublin player did and I hope that the Mayo player makes a full and speedy recovery but surely there is double standards at play when there is no such about this incident and nothing about the other incident. Or maybe football followers are more willing to use these type incidents to vent their anger and vilify Dublin. After all, I assume there will be no more talk about split up counties from this point forward.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1913 - 16/08/2021 15:37:20    2372038

Replying To sligo joe:  "Well fair enough I'n goin by the Sunday game but the footage shown last night shows no interference from a Dublin player, or a Dub too near. Well if it was a bit of luck Mayo deserved it. Some crack tho if he scored and was ordered to re-take and missed!!!
Not sure where you're coming from re Kilkenny, no evidence that he is not enjoying the game?
Like Paul Mannion opted out b4, maybe he can take it or leave it, no indication of that from Kilkenny."
Fair points re Kilkenny. Just from what it looked like this year he was struggling to impact games in his usual manner.

Mannion would be the type of player I'd like to see come back after getting a rest for a while. If I were Dessie I'd be on the blower.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/08/2021 15:40:38    2372040

Replying To baire:  "14 Senior All Irelands rather, 9 in football, 5 in hurling."
They are all altar boys sure.

HighStoolBandit (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 16/08/2021 15:43:22    2372042

Replying To baire:  "Give me one example of sour grapes from my posts! If you go back over my posts you'll see that I remarked that I was astonished that some Galway posters would prefer to see Dublin win than Mayo. I also know that there are some Mayo posters who would feel the same if Galway were playing Dublin. Why would I have sour grapes? Galway have won 14 Senior Football All Irelands between football and hurling, Mayo have won 3 Senior All Irelands. I'll be delighted if Mayo win this year. Those of us who following hurling in Galway know well what it's like to lose All Irelands. I couldn't understand how some of the Dublin players, who have won so many All Irelands, were so unsporting yesterday."
there you go again on about how many all Irelands galway have come on get a grip we know what u up to

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 16/08/2021 15:49:48    2372046

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "
Replying To timmyhogan:  "Were all these lads called McStay and on a well paid media gig with RTE sport by any chance ;-)

And did they stick to that script even after seeing the replay on the TSG live.

Then change the story on Sundays nights TSG and claim that they hadn't initially seen the replay [a blatant lie
as their RTE producer became aware how ridiculous their product/analyst was looking even by the low standards of TSG.
Those lads?"
No.

It was three Mayo lads in front of us and two oul fellas behind.

Because in real time it looked legit.

We didn't have multiple replays.

Because we were in the stadium.

Right in front of it."]Methinks you rather missed the point there Gav ;-)
However on the hit itself, I was actually in the Cusack and it looked hard and high but I couldn't say for sure. [It certainly looked like a hospital pass even from 80+ yards away]
I could claim the Tipp lad close to me was sure it was high and dangerous but that rather misses the point also. The ref and Deegan were a lot closer and Lane was on the correct side and they are supposed to see it - opinions of eijits in the crowd [myself included] who are much further away aren't really germane.
If Deegan was reffing he would IMO probably have smiled at McL & waved at him to get up going by his previous performances in these games.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 16/08/2021 15:53:11    2372051

Replying To HighStoolBandit:  "They are all altar boys sure."
I never knew that! Thanks for telling me from your high stool!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 16/08/2021 15:54:09    2372052

Replying To baire:  "
Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "[quote=timmyhogan:  "Were all these lads called McStay and on a well paid media gig with RTE sport by any chance ;-)

Then change the story on Sundays nights TSG and claim that they hadn't initially seen the replay [a blatant lie
as their RTE producer became aware how ridiculous their product/analyst was looking even by the low standards of TSG.
Those lads?"
No.

Right in front of it."]If you had watched the way McLaughlin fell and stayed motionless on the ground after the hit, you'd have known he was badly injured. The ref or the linesman should checked on him."]The way he went down tells you everything you need to know about the challenge. If hit by a shoulder there would have been a sideways motion. He hits the deck straight on, that's what made me feel at the time it was an awful challenge.

The fact that this is even a debate is ludicrous. Small plants his feet and raises the arm, reckless beyond belief. The man has a broken jaw as a result, and some geniuses on here don't think it was a straight red.

Look at Horan's reaction. That man has been on enough sidelines to know whether or not one of players has been hard done by.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 16/08/2021 15:55:26    2372054

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Looks like P.Mckenna (Louth) is another one of African Gail's aliases, along with Killingfields as well,
it must have some kind of personality disorder, more to be pitied really I suppose. puerile indeed."
Oh darn, I've been rumbled. Super work Tirchonaill. You are very bright.

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 16/08/2021 15:55:52    2372055

Replying To mayo_123:  "there you go again on about how many all Irelands galway have come on get a grip we know what u up to"
The best of luck against Kerry/Tyrone! I hope you can shred them as well as you shredded our lads!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 16/08/2021 16:00:13    2372056

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yes have to agree with you on Avonali s posts."
Thanks Mick. ohh I can get as thick as the rest of them. Difficult weekend. But it all had to end sometime. I just had a strong sense that the old firm ,the so called dream final wasn't going. to happen. May the best team win it now.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/08/2021 16:10:11    2372061

Replying To CC2020:  "Classy post from a classy poster.

Congrats on the 6 in a row. It's hard to see it equalled."
Ta CC2020. It's time to rebuild now.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/08/2021 16:12:40    2372063

Replying To Jackeen:  "Well spotted!!"
I bet you never realised that Djibouti was next parish after Abbeydorney :-D.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/08/2021 16:21:39    2372067

Replying To Forpucksake:  "
Replying To baire:  "[quote=Gavvygavgav:  "[quote=timmyhogan:  "Were all these lads called McStay and on a well paid media gig with RTE sport by any chance ;-)

Those lads?"
No.

Right in front of it."]If you had watched the way McLaughlin fell and stayed motionless on the ground after the hit, you'd have known he was badly injured. The ref or the linesman should checked on him."]The way he went down tells you everything you need to know about the challenge. If hit by a shoulder there would have been a sideways motion. He hits the deck straight on, that's what made me feel at the time it was an awful challenge.

The fact that this is even a debate is ludicrous. Small plants his feet and raises the arm, reckless beyond belief. The man has a broken jaw as a result, and some geniuses on here don't think it was a straight red.

Look at Horan's reaction. That man has been on enough sidelines to know whether or not one of players has been hard done by."]We didn't have the benefit of replay.

In real time it looked square and legit. The mayo lads in front said there was nothing wrong with the hit, that it was just a massive one, and that the ref should have stopped play.

Having seen the video I was sent a couple of minutes after the incident, we were able to see that it should have been a red card.

I'm not debating whether it was a red card.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 16/08/2021 16:28:57    2372072

Replying To avonali:  "Thanks Mick. ohh I can get as thick as the rest of them. Difficult weekend. But it all had to end sometime. I just had a strong sense that the old firm ,the so called dream final wasn't going. to happen. May the best team win it now."
Thanks Avon. Oh all good things come to an end but in a strange way you ll find it easier enjoy next year as the pressure is gone. Oh we all get thick. We are all human or I'd like to think we are lol.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 16/08/2021 16:59:39    2372087

Replying To avonali:  "I bet you never realised that Djibouti was next parish after Abbeydorney :-D."
Yerra I'd a sneaky suspicion:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/08/2021 17:00:56    2372088

Replying To kick-it:  "There is a view of the 45 from behind the Mayo goals on twitter, two players started tussling behind Hennelly and Deegan the linesman on the 45 had his right arm outstretched to draw attention to the referee to the tussle and as the run up to the kick beings the ref also points at the tussle and had the whistle going to his mouth. Not sure I can share it here but it is pretty clear cut. It wasn't anything to do with McMahon and in fact the ref waves him away as he's running into the goals"
That's 100% what I saw too. I think Lane was also starting to move towards Rob Hennelly because of what was going on behind him, which would have been distracting.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 16/08/2021 17:04:06    2372089

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I think it is clear that with the benefit of hindsight, the Dublin player deserved a red card. Did he intend to hurt the Mayo player, you would like to think not but only one person can answer this question definitively. Mayo and Dublin are rivalries and this rivalry has built up in the last 20 years and it has spilled over a few occasions in recent years as the games have been close. In many ways, we should thank both Dublin and Mayo because without them, the last six or seven championship would've been completely forgettable. What I find strange is that there is so much time dedicated to this incident and this game, yet a player from Limerick who deliberately headbutted another player and was rightly sent off has been freed to play in the All Ireland, yet, numerous people are saying that it is right that he should be allowed play in the All Ireland final. I'm not condoning what the Dublin player did and I hope that the Mayo player makes a full and speedy recovery but surely there is double standards at play when there is no such about this incident and nothing about the other incident. Or maybe football followers are more willing to use these type incidents to vent their anger and vilify Dublin. After all, I assume there will be no more talk about split up counties from this point forward."
Wicklow, if you listened to the media reports informing us that Caseys red card had been overturned you would have heard that Limerick produced video evidence that he did not headbutt and that is the reason it was overturned. We haven't seen this footage but I am very sure that the powers to be would not have made the decision unless there was adequate proof.

hashtag2017 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 16/08/2021 17:08:50    2372092

Replying To baire:  "The best of luck against Kerry/Tyrone! I hope you can shred them as well as you shredded our lads!"
hopefully cheers and good luck next year

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 16/08/2021 17:38:00    2372098

Replying To Mailman98:  "But your implication was that McLaughlin not being able to take the tackle was no reason to let Small away without red. Then you said Walsh wasn't able to take o'horas tackle yet O'hora didn't deserve red. At least try to be consistent."
Not many people can take a full-blooded shoulder to the head, especially from players as well conditioned as inter-county lads are these days. My view is that John Small meant to take him out fairly but got it wrong and if you go in like that it's a risk. If it goes wrong you have to endure the consequences, but the officials failed. In a funny way, I'm happy that Mayo got to beat a 15 man Dubs and it's even possible that had Lane sent Small off it could have affected both team's performances for the rest of the game. We've all seen it before. When Eoghan can speak for himself I'm sure he'll say nothing. He had some guts to grab the ball in that moment, I wouldn't have.

I don't often reference soccer as the source for better anything, but in the professional game players take eachother's welfare onboard and kick the ball out even when the ref doesn't act. It gets thrown back and maybe it's a thing the PFA could promote? It's not as if the game is littered with these sorts of incidents and generally the ref does do the needful. I'm not having a go at Conor Lane either... he hadn't his best day but he's still a good ref with a very good record overall.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 16/08/2021 17:44:51    2372099