Dubs V Mayo

Replying To baire:  "Would you give us the link to that so we can view it?"
watch it on YouTube plenty time now for you to look it up

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 16/08/2021 12:36:54    2371938

Replying To realdub:  "I'm actually glad for Hennelly, he's had a couple of nightmares against us. Showed great nerve ."
100% agree. Delighted for him.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 16/08/2021 12:39:18    2371940

Replying To daytona11:  "This is the kind of talk which irritates neutrals.

It's not so long ago since Rob was costing Mayo All-Irelands."
Irritated if they've no sense of humour. Sure that's why I posted it. He took dog's abuse within and outside Mayo for that loss. We always want to look for a scapegoat when we lose, Hennelly, Vaughan, Cillian, the ref, hype, Facebook, Newbridge even! For fks sake, we have to find what went wrong and fix it before we can have any hope of improving. The funniest one is 'bad luck'. The squad should stop training until the final, a lucky horseshoe for every player will surely get us over the line.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 16/08/2021 12:56:36    2371944

Replying To Mailman98:  "I guess the GAA want to wait before making the game unwatchable like rugby has become since the head injury rules have changed. Head injuries are inevitable in contact sports played at high intensity. Next thing we'll be asking for no head shots in boxing. The difference of opinion on the Small tackle from fans and pundits range from no free to a red card. This just shows how tough a job a referee has. At the same time we don't want to bring TV referees into GAA as it slows the game down way too much and don't forget we are already have 6 and 7 minutes injury time regularly at the end of matches."
Are you seriously trying to suggest that head injuries are inevitable and acceptable? They never should be. Rugby is changing and is still watchable, you have to enact change and can't just say head injuries are acceptable as part of a game. It cannot and should not. Please don't defend this

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2396 - 16/08/2021 13:01:21    2371945

Replying To tiobraid:  "What are people on about with the John Small tackle? If a man on your team hit a lad as clean as that you'd be delighted. I've watched it 20 times and see it equally as good as the Paudie maher tackle on John canning a few years ago. If it was any other player or county apart from Small there'd be nothing about it"
tiobrad if it was a Kk player there would be a lot about it,what was the difference between the Small tackle and the Richie Hogan tackle?

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 534 - 16/08/2021 13:03:48    2371946

Replying To mayo_123:  "watch it on YouTube plenty time now for you to look it up"
I'd believe Horan's version of what he saw in front of him yesterday and Pádraic Joyce's version of what he saw in the Connacht final sooner than an anonymous poster here!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 16/08/2021 13:05:04    2371947

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "They never said anything about Aidan O'Shea being on the pitch in the middle of that row when he wasn't even playing. RTE are so full **** it's unreal."
Yes they did, they said he shouldn't have been in there entering the field of play. But come on, there were far more bigger incidents that needing highlighting than this one, hence why they likely didn't go into it in detail. But they did mention it

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2396 - 16/08/2021 13:05:50    2371948

Replying To Mailman98:  "None of them were clear though. Still hearing pundits disagree on the McLaughlin one, the high arm ones are not clear either. It's very difficult to judge between a high tackle and a swimming arm. The only clear one was Mccarthy after the equaliser."
Lots were clear, the shoulder to the head, the closed fist clothesline to the jaw, and the elbow to the head after the equalising free are the 3 off the top of my head. Think there was another in extra time. 3 clear red cards, which the Su8nday Game dud highlight and was pretty unanimous in saying they were red

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2396 - 16/08/2021 13:09:36    2371950

Replying To BlueBeret:  "I am sure Lane regrets being appointed to this game as it was clearly was a very bad day at the office for him.

It's amazing how blind some people are and how willing some are to throw dirt at a player especially if he is from Ballymun in Dublin. I have no doubt that Small went in to hit McLaughlin wIth a fair shoulder. I think the actual intended challenge was fair and okay but unfortunately there were moving parts that ended up where we are or more to the point where McLaughlin is. This is regrettable in the extreme.
Reading some of the vile comments here it seems that Small is the incarnation of the devil. We are told that McLaughlin is 6 foot tall . So did he actually duck into the challenge or did Small just up into him? We are informed that it was a frontal challenge but the evidence is clearly that the two shoulders collided. I saw a shoulder charge, legal within the Rules of the GAA, but where the momentum of Smalls challenge caused his shoulder to slide up and collide with McLaughlins head OR where McLaughlin dropped his head. It wasn't a frontal charge as we are also informed by the educated witch hunters.

I, as all Dublin supporters do, wish McLaughlin a speedy and full recovery and lament the fact that he will not be able to play in the All Ireland Final."
What vile comments? All I've seen on here is people rightly calling for a red and saying it was a terrible tackle (all of which are correct to say), hardly being vile, is it?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2396 - 16/08/2021 13:11:32    2371951

Replying To avonali:  "Dubs can have no complaints.
1. Small's shoulder was a straight red. There is no debate. That would be a straight red on a rugby pitch. I absolutely hate it when people celebrate "big hits" on a rugby or Gaelic pitch, as if it was some great feat of machismo. It usually involves a player receiving a hospital pass or being caught in a stationary, passive position without a chance to brace themselves for the full impact. The 'tackler" just can't lose in that situation if he lines a man up and catches him before he is ready to take the impact. I'm all for a fair shoulder but if a shoulder is executed properly it should not result in that type of serious injury. I like John Small and but he plays on the edge and several times in big matches he has crossed the line.
2, I thought the first half was the most boring spectacle. I couldn't believe Dublin resorted to keep ball that early in a game and that endless sleep inducing toing and froing, across and backwards with the ball. It's as if they felt they no longer felt they had to go for the jugular and open up Mayo. There were very few players running into space or running off the shoulder at pace. When Mayo pressed up on them in the second half they had become so complacent they just couldn't switch gears and up the intensity. When a collective complacency sets it's very hard for a team to rouse themselves out of it; they gift wrapped and handed the initiative back to the other team and Mayo were not going to look the gift horse in the mouth this time. in There's a lesson in that.
3. I was disappointed to see the loss of composure from some Dublin players. That clip of a certain Dublin player pinching his opponent and then calling the ref's attention when the Mayo man retaliated is an unnacceptable level of b*llsh8t. Focus on trying to win the bloody game back and leave the sh*thousery out.

We've had a great run but all things must pass. Dublin teams from 2011-21 were an incomparable group of players, the best I've seen in my lifetime. Very sad this morning but angry because I feel this loss was partly self-inflicted by management (I suspect) adopting a mode of football that is not not in the spirit of the game. This team cut Kerry open 4 times in a recent National League game. They still had the firepower but as soon as the stakes went up it's as if they were
happy to adopt a low risk, conservative approach that just invited the opposition on to them. It was fitting that it would be Mayo to end the great run. I hope they go and finish the job now. Horan will have some job to settle things down and re-focus them. I hope the inevitable hype doesn't get to the players and that expectations are managed."
Classy post from a classy poster.

Congrats on the 6 in a row. It's hard to see it equalled.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 16/08/2021 13:15:03    2371953

Replying To Jackeen:  "
Replying To jonjon:  "[quote=Jackeen:  "Even if he had been trying to do a fair shoulder*, that is entirely irrelevant

You can't "accidentally" smash a man's head in and be excused on the basis that you intended to hit his shoulder.

Morgan on Andrews. Thoughts?"
Clearly should have been a red. Shoulders to the head = red card. Why on earth is this even debatable?"
Because the ref gave a yellow and Morgan stayed on and we didn't have the national outcry for a players head like we have now. So precedence was set. Either change the rule or these things can still happen. Cluxton was taken out in the air by a Longford lad.
His injuries were three broken bones in his back, a punctured lung and cartilage damage in his shoulder. Considerable injuries no? What should we do about that? The problem with what happened at the weekend is that it was Small that was involved. I can almost guarantee if it had been done to Small there would be little said about and you all know it."]2 wrongs don't make a right. Don't be letting yourself down.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 16/08/2021 13:16:51    2371956

Replying To baire:  "I'd believe Horan's version of what he saw in front of him yesterday and Pádraic Joyce's version of what he saw in the Connacht final sooner than an anonymous poster here!"
horan and everyone seen it because it was right in front of them in the course of play are u telling me pj spent the day watching shane walsh that might explain why he didnt see them getting ripped to shreds in the second half any this thread is about mayo v dublin if you look

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 16/08/2021 13:33:49    2371964

Replying To greysoil:  "
Replying To Jackeen:  "[quote=jonjon:  "[quote=Jackeen:  "Even if he had been trying to do a fair shoulder*, that is entirely irrelevant

You can't "accidentally" smash a man's head in and be excused on the basis that you intended to hit his shoulder.

Morgan on Andrews. Thoughts?"
Clearly should have been a red. Shoulders to the head = red card. Why on earth is this even debatable?"
Because the ref gave a yellow and Morgan stayed on and we didn't have the national outcry for a players head like we have now. So precedence was set. Either change the rule or these things can still happen. Cluxton was taken out in the air by a Longford lad.
His injuries were three broken bones in his back, a punctured lung and cartilage damage in his shoulder. Considerable injuries no? What should we do about that? The problem with what happened at the weekend is that it was Small that was involved. I can almost guarantee if it had been done to Small there would be little said about and you all know it."]2 wrongs don't make a right. Don't be letting yourself down."]I don't believe I have let myself down at all. I'm highlighting that a precedent for this type of event has been set. So either change the rule or this will surely happen again. We've already had 2 players seriously injured with jaw breaks. We don't want to be talking about 3 or 4 wrongs not making it right in the future do we?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/08/2021 13:35:51    2371965

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "we were in 332 right in front of the McLaughlin-Small incident, everyone including the Mayo lads around us thought it was square on and legit in real time. They were as surprised as anyone when I told them my brother had just texted me that Small should have been sent off."
Were all these lads called McStay and on a well paid media gig with RTE sport by any chance ;-)

And did they stick to that script even after seeing the replay on the TSG live.

Then change the story on Sundays nights TSG and claim that they hadn't initially seen the replay [a blatant lie] as their RTE producer became aware how ridiculous their product/analyst was looking even by the low standards of TSG.
Those lads?

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 16/08/2021 13:39:21    2371966

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Yes they did, they said he shouldn't have been in there entering the field of play. But come on, there were far more bigger incidents that needing highlighting than this one, hence why they likely didn't go into it in detail. But they did mention it"
They barely mentioned it, if that had of been the likes of Diarmuid Connolly they'd have been looking to ban him. seems all Aidan O'Shea is good for is pushing and shoving and trying to fight in the tunnel, most over rated GAA player in Ireland for sure.
Hope Horan starts him in the final, he always good for a laugh. that easy 'mark' he missed was priceless,

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 16/08/2021 13:48:01    2371972

Replying To daytona11:  "Hey Lads,

So I let the dust settle before coming on here to pick apart the game.

I'll start with the Ref:

1. In real time the John Small tackle was really hard to call, impossible actually to be fair to the officials. It's grand the Sunday game etc looking at 200 hundred replays of it and being able to tell us how bad it was. In real time, which is the only time Conor Lane gets to see it the tackle looked legitimate as per the rule book.

2. Black Cards

A lot of people including RTE calling for Davy Byrne to be black carded. A tug of the jersey is not a black card. No issues there. The other black cards didn't have an impact on the result of the game and were easy calls.

3. The retaken 45.

He got that wrong. If there were interference with the free taker he was correct to order the retake. However the ball should have been advanced 13 meters more advantageous. If Hennelly had of missed the retake I can guarantee this would have been highlighted. That was a massive mistake and although a score came from the retaken 45 it was a huge error on Lanes part.

Overall I think he probably did ok in what was a really tough game to officiate. In the big games like this at the bug venues it's time to let refs look at a monitor.

The Dubs

1. Simply put they have lost to many of the best players to play the game over the last 12-36 months. It's a natural breakup of a team and we have seen it with other great teams in many sports.

2. No other county ever reached the level the Dubs played at for their 6 in a row. The pack are not catching up, the Dub are regressing.

3. I felt the biggest loss for them in a game like that was Kevin McManamon. They laboured and weren't capable of breaking from defence to attack like we have seen on the past. McManamon would have given them the direct approach and ability to run at a defence. It can't be underestimated the lift a player like McManamon can give a team when he gives the defence a break but also wins a couple of 50/50 frees.

4. Dessie. He just didn't seem to have any ideas in the Kildare, Meath or Mayo games when Dublin slumped. After the Meath game Jim Gavin or Pat Gilroy would have addressed the second half performances and got it sorted. It's something we haven't seen with Dublin before. The warning signs were there from the league. The players body language going in at the end of the 70 mins and at half time in extra time was telling. He held the team back from going into the tunnel with Mayo etc Little things like that can play at a teams a players psyche. I'd have let them in at the same time and let them at it.

5. Cluxton. When it was evident before the Wexford game Dessie should have come out and said Cluxton wasn't part of the panel anymore. Clear it up there and then. Evan Comerford may reach that level but he isn't near it at the moment. Between himself and Byrne they effectively done a Mayo on it and handed them extra time. If in doubt put your boot through the ball.

6. Retirements. Ciaran Kilkenny, McCarthy, Philly and Rock will have some soul searching to do.

Mayo

1. AOS. I don't think he should start the final. Keep him in reserve. He'd give the team and supporters a huge lift if needed. He slows things down to much and against the better teams he just isn't effective as a target man. He offers very little in full forward. The wide open spaces of Croker don't suit him.

2. James Horan. Got everything right on the day.

3. Rob Hennelly. The comeback kid. Well done.

4. Youth. Stick with it. Fearless. Strange that we can actually say that not having COC has been a boost.

5. No more talk of curses or hard luck stories now. It's time to get over the line. It won't be easy but they are arguably going to be playing a cold Kerry/Tyrone team. Hard to see how they will have a better chance than this. Don't beat yourselves is key here also.

6. Padraic O'Hora. Inspirational.

Overall it's hard to know how good Mayo are and how poor Dublin have been this year. Mayo fully deserve their win and place in the final. Hopefully Horan can get them backdown to earth now. No medals were handed out last Saturday that's for sure."
What are you on, "Ciaran Kilkenny retirement" he only turned 28 last month, nominated for player of the year 7 months ago?
As for the retaken 45, a lucky call for Mayo(worthy winners) there were 16 Mayo players on the field, Stephen Coen who was subbed was just short of the sideline on his way off.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 16/08/2021 14:08:57    2371980

If you all believe that the small shoulder was a red then we might as well remove the shoulder tackle from the game altogether, or else make it so you're not allowed shoulder anyone smaller than you.

The great Ja fallon towards the end of his career had to leave the pitch a couple of time after being hit hard, but fair, from some of his opponents on the shoulder. He simply wasn't able for the physicality any more. That's the way it goes, it's no one's fault.
I was delighted to see mayo win and I hope they win the final but some of this is just anti Dublin nonsense.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1717 - 16/08/2021 14:15:26    2371983

Small knew what he was doing alright.

Anyone that has played football at any level knows that if a player is running towards you and turns his body to receive a pass that it is totally reckless and dangerous play to even attempt a shoulder in that situation.

He knew there was only one way McLoughlin was going to turn his body and that was straight into his shoulder and then he lifts his elbow afterwards for good measure.

It was pure filth by Small.

We saw the real Dublin on Saturday, great lads when everyone was rolling over for them but dirty losers when it was put up to them.

If games had been officiated properly over the last few years they wouldn't have won four in a row never mind six .

Great champions me hole .

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 16/08/2021 14:15:43    2371984

Replying To mayo_123:  "horan and everyone seen it because it was right in front of them in the course of play are u telling me pj spent the day watching shane walsh that might explain why he didnt see them getting ripped to shreds in the second half any this thread is about mayo v dublin if you look"
As you may notice the title of threads mean nothing on HS, all sorts of issues may be thrown in. Someone brought up other hits and injuries that happened in previous games, Shane Walsh being one of them. The point been made is that Mayo are not squeaky clean when it comes to foul play, neither are Kerry, Dublin, or the other top footballing counties. When Pádraic Joyce says that Walsh needed an injection in his shoulder at half-time so that he could continue to play and that the injury affected his performance in the second half, I believe him. I don't like to see any player, no matter what county he's from, ending up as McLaughlin did yesterday.
I'm interested in player welfare and better officiating of our games, not some smart comments from the likes of you.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 16/08/2021 14:16:32    2371985

Replying To sligo joe:  "What are you on, "Ciaran Kilkenny retirement" he only turned 28 last month, nominated for player of the year 7 months ago?
As for the retaken 45, a lucky call for Mayo(worthy winners) there were 16 Mayo players on the field, Stephen Coen who was subbed was just short of the sideline on his way off."
I stand corrected on the 45. If it was for 16 players on the field and it didn't have an impact on the game then Mayo are extremely luck. Has anyone on the refereeing team confirmed that this was the reason? Or is it more BS from amateur Sunday game muppets? Mad stuff. If Henelley had of nailed it would it have been retaken?

Yeh I think Kilkenny will be thinking along the lines of Mannion for example. Mannion was 28 and stepped away. Didn't retire but stepped away. Possibly could have chosen my words more carefully.

MIck Fitzsimons is another who can be added to that list too. 32 now.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/08/2021 14:18:06    2371987