Dubs V Mayo

I've heard theories about why Dublin haven't been finishing matches as well as they used to do. Some say their bench isn't as good now. Others say their conditioning isn't what it was. Others still say that they just haven't been able to maintain superhuman levels of focus and determination any more.

I say, remember how quick people were to write off Kilkenny a few years back? They haven't gone away- although other teams have upped their game considerably. Dublin in football will likewise be with us ever more, even if the next few years will see Sam up for grabs by four or more teams. Normal service has been resumed!

Relieved as I am to see the blue juggernaut halted this year, it has to be said that they have been the best team ever. Others may have been as talented but they got the job done. I for one won't join in the gobdaw rejoicing at their defeat. If you want your team to win then learning from the best seems like a more reliable route to success than kicking those who have been brought down at long last.

All credit now to Mayo. Injuries and mistakes aplenty yet they were awesome when they got going. They now have strength in depth. They have options. They have been tested and past that test with flying colours. If they can manage to be more consistent in the final then Sam will be crossing the Shannon in September. Every other county but two will want that to happen now.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 16/08/2021 11:39:36    2371902

Replying To kick-it:  "There is a view of the 45 from behind the Mayo goals on twitter, two players started tussling behind Hennelly and Deegan the linesman on the 45 had his right arm outstretched to draw attention to the referee to the tussle and as the run up to the kick beings the ref also points at the tussle and had the whistle going to his mouth. Not sure I can share it here but it is pretty clear cut. It wasn't anything to do with McMahon and in fact the ref waves him away as he's running into the goals"
That makes it 7 reasons!

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 16/08/2021 11:40:31    2371903

Replying To ecad123:  "Yes the ref could have sent players off. But he definitely done his bit for mayo and made up for it in the finish! Gave a few soft frees especially the over carry free on the Dublin keeper. And Rob was lucky he got to take the free again I know there was an extra player but he was lucky and fair play to him he took his second chance. I wish McLaughlin a speedy recovery and hope everything goes well."
Unpopular opinion bit true nevertheless.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 16/08/2021 11:46:06    2371904

Replying To avonali:  "Dubs can have no complaints.
1. Small's shoulder was a straight red. There is no debate. That would be a straight red on a rugby pitch. I absolutely hate it when people celebrate "big hits" on a rugby or Gaelic pitch, as if it was some great feat of machismo. It usually involves a player receiving a hospital pass or being caught in a stationary, passive position without a chance to brace themselves for the full impact. The 'tackler" just can't lose in that situation if he lines a man up and catches him before he is ready to take the impact. I'm all for a fair shoulder but if a shoulder is executed properly it should not result in that type of serious injury. I like John Small and but he plays on the edge and several times in big matches he has crossed the line.
2, I thought the first half was the most boring spectacle. I couldn't believe Dublin resorted to keep ball that early in a game and that endless sleep inducing toing and froing, across and backwards with the ball. It's as if they felt they no longer felt they had to go for the jugular and open up Mayo. There were very few players running into space or running off the shoulder at pace. When Mayo pressed up on them in the second half they had become so complacent they just couldn't switch gears and up the intensity. When a collective complacency sets it's very hard for a team to rouse themselves out of it; they gift wrapped and handed the initiative back to the other team and Mayo were not going to look the gift horse in the mouth this time. in There's a lesson in that.
3. I was disappointed to see the loss of composure from some Dublin players. That clip of a certain Dublin player pinching his opponent and then calling the ref's attention when the Mayo man retaliated is an unnacceptable level of b*llsh8t. Focus on trying to win the bloody game back and leave the sh*thousery out.

We've had a great run but all things must pass. Dublin teams from 2011-21 were an incomparable group of players, the best I've seen in my lifetime. Very sad this morning but angry because I feel this loss was partly self-inflicted by management (I suspect) adopting a mode of football that is not not in the spirit of the game. This team cut Kerry open 4 times in a recent National League game. They still had the firepower but as soon as the stakes went up it's as if they were
happy to adopt a low risk, conservative approach that just invited the opposition on to them. It was fitting that it would be Mayo to end the great run. I hope they go and finish the job now. Horan will have some job to settle things down and re-focus them. I hope the inevitable hype doesn't get to the players and that expectations are managed."
I'm from a part of the world where Gaelic football, rugby and basketball have always been played and enjoyed.

Over the past few years, I've become so disillusioned by the failure of the IRB to accept that the size, strength and conditioning of players is leading to disaster. Nobody should have their health ruined or their lives ended prematurely for a game, any game. In short, I am fed up with the authorities so the best thing to do is to stop supporting the game and direct my attention elsewhere to a sport which doesn't dice with the lives of the players.

As you suggest, something similar may well be happening in Gaelic football, at the elite level. The GAA needs to understand that while the enthusiasm for the competitions it runs is genuine and widespread, we as a people won't tolerate indefinitely the reckless indulgence of outmoded and downright dangerous machismo. The world changes. You need to change with it. If you don't then you are effectively signing your own death warrant.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 16/08/2021 11:48:45    2371906

Replying To mayo_123:  "I'm afraid not and please rewatch that incident walsh grabs ohora and both pull each other 2 the ground probably yellow for both"
But your implication was that McLaughlin not being able to take the tackle was no reason to let Small away without red. Then you said Walsh wasn't able to take o'horas tackle yet O'hora didn't deserve red. At least try to be consistent.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 16/08/2021 11:49:53    2371908

Hey Lads,

So I let the dust settle before coming on here to pick apart the game.

I'll start with the Ref:

1. In real time the John Small tackle was really hard to call, impossible actually to be fair to the officials. It's grand the Sunday game etc looking at 200 hundred replays of it and being able to tell us how bad it was. In real time, which is the only time Conor Lane gets to see it the tackle looked legitimate as per the rule book.

2. Black Cards

A lot of people including RTE calling for Davy Byrne to be black carded. A tug of the jersey is not a black card. No issues there. The other black cards didn't have an impact on the result of the game and were easy calls.

3. The retaken 45.

He got that wrong. If there were interference with the free taker he was correct to order the retake. However the ball should have been advanced 13 meters more advantageous. If Hennelly had of missed the retake I can guarantee this would have been highlighted. That was a massive mistake and although a score came from the retaken 45 it was a huge error on Lanes part.

Overall I think he probably did ok in what was a really tough game to officiate. In the big games like this at the bug venues it's time to let refs look at a monitor.

The Dubs

1. Simply put they have lost to many of the best players to play the game over the last 12-36 months. It's a natural breakup of a team and we have seen it with other great teams in many sports.

2. No other county ever reached the level the Dubs played at for their 6 in a row. The pack are not catching up, the Dub are regressing.

3. I felt the biggest loss for them in a game like that was Kevin McManamon. They laboured and weren't capable of breaking from defence to attack like we have seen on the past. McManamon would have given them the direct approach and ability to run at a defence. It can't be underestimated the lift a player like McManamon can give a team when he gives the defence a break but also wins a couple of 50/50 frees.

4. Dessie. He just didn't seem to have any ideas in the Kildare, Meath or Mayo games when Dublin slumped. After the Meath game Jim Gavin or Pat Gilroy would have addressed the second half performances and got it sorted. It's something we haven't seen with Dublin before. The warning signs were there from the league. The players body language going in at the end of the 70 mins and at half time in extra time was telling. He held the team back from going into the tunnel with Mayo etc Little things like that can play at a teams a players psyche. I'd have let them in at the same time and let them at it.

5. Cluxton. When it was evident before the Wexford game Dessie should have come out and said Cluxton wasn't part of the panel anymore. Clear it up there and then. Evan Comerford may reach that level but he isn't near it at the moment. Between himself and Byrne they effectively done a Mayo on it and handed them extra time. If in doubt put your boot through the ball.

6. Retirements. Ciaran Kilkenny, McCarthy, Philly and Rock will have some soul searching to do.

Mayo

1. AOS. I don't think he should start the final. Keep him in reserve. He'd give the team and supporters a huge lift if needed. He slows things down to much and against the better teams he just isn't effective as a target man. He offers very little in full forward. The wide open spaces of Croker don't suit him.

2. James Horan. Got everything right on the day.

3. Rob Hennelly. The comeback kid. Well done.

4. Youth. Stick with it. Fearless. Strange that we can actually say that not having COC has been a boost.

5. No more talk of curses or hard luck stories now. It's time to get over the line. It won't be easy but they are arguably going to be playing a cold Kerry/Tyrone team. Hard to see how they will have a better chance than this. Don't beat yourselves is key here also.

6. Padraic O'Hora. Inspirational.

Overall it's hard to know how good Mayo are and how poor Dublin have been this year. Mayo fully deserve their win and place in the final. Hopefully Horan can get them backdown to earth now. No medals were handed out last Saturday that's for sure.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/08/2021 11:57:20    2371911

When Dublin win its often the ref's fault and when Dublin lose it's the ref's fault Dublin didn't lose my more!

Plus ca change mes amis.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 16/08/2021 11:59:47    2371912

Replying To ecad123:  "Yes the ref could have sent players off. But he definitely done his bit for mayo and made up for it in the finish! Gave a few soft frees especially the over carry free on the Dublin keeper. And Rob was lucky he got to take the free again I know there was an extra player but he was lucky and fair play to him he took his second chance. I wish McLaughlin a speedy recovery and hope everything goes well."
Spare a thought for Rob Hennelly. Had to get the bus home because his balls wouldn't fit into a car.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 16/08/2021 12:04:13    2371914

Replying To updwell:  "Brilliant stuff Mayo well deserved finish the job now.
Why was there so much attention on Aidan O'Shea it's the younger players who led this victory"
Great to see Mayo close the deal, their youngsters all stepped up and led the way, led of course by the irrepressible Lee Keegan - he was incredible

Dublin looked like a team wanting to be put out of their misery

Another no show from AOS against a top team, whipping him off was the winning of the game, RTE were obsessed with him, Darragh maloney kept talking about him even as he was on the sideline. Big decision for Horan to make ahead of the final re whether to start him, hard running game is the way ahead for mayo, its always been their strength

Jesus, watching the highlights last night again Davey Byrne had an absolute shocker throughout. Him running the ball our over the endline for the equaliser was criminal

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 16/08/2021 12:07:19    2371915

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Spare a thought for Rob Hennelly. Had to get the bus home because his balls wouldn't fit into a car."
This is the kind of talk which irritates neutrals.

It's not so long ago since Rob was costing Mayo All-Irelands.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/08/2021 12:10:16    2371919

I'm actually glad for Hennelly, he's had a couple of nightmares against us. Showed great nerve .

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 16/08/2021 12:11:35    2371920

Jes you'd have to laugh, ref done all he could to help mayo win the match and they are still on here whining about a mistimed shoulder.
any comment on why Aidan o'shea was on the pitch when he was supposed to be in the stand? cat got your tongue?
Dubs will be back for sure as strong as ever. Mayo will bottle the final as always.
real final is on 28th Aug.

Rolo99 (Tyrone) - Posts: 19 - 16/08/2021 12:15:55    2371923

Replying To daytona11:  "Hey Lads,

I'll start with the Ref:

1. In real time the John Small tackle was really hard to call, impossible actually to be fair to the officials. It's grand the Sunday game etc looking at 200 hundred replays of it and being able to tell us how bad it was. In real time, which is the only time Conor Lane gets to see it the tackle looked legitimate as per the rule book.

2. Black Cards

A lot of people including RTE calling for Davy Byrne to be black carded. A tug of the jersey is not a black card. No issues there. The other black cards didn't have an impact on the result of the game and were easy calls.

3. The retaken 45.

He got that wrong. If there were interference with the free taker he was correct to order the retake. However the ball should have been advanced 13 meters more advantageous. If Hennelly had of missed the retake I can guarantee this would have been highlighted. That was a massive mistake and although a score came from the retaken 45 it was a huge error on Lanes part.

Overall I think he probably did ok in what was a really tough game to officiate. In the big games like this at the bug venues it's time to let refs look at a monitor.

The Dubs

1. Simply put they have lost to many of the best players to play the game over the last 12-36 months. It's a natural breakup of a team and we have seen it with other great teams in many sports.

2. No other county ever reached the level the Dubs played at for their 6 in a row. The pack are not catching up, the Dub are regressing.

3. I felt the biggest loss for them in a game like that was Kevin McManamon. They laboured and weren't capable of breaking from defence to attack like we have seen on the past. McManamon would have given them the direct approach and ability to run at a defence. It can't be underestimated the lift a player like McManamon can give a team when he gives the defence a break but also wins a couple of 50/50 frees.

4. Dessie. He just didn't seem to have any ideas in the Kildare, Meath or Mayo games when Dublin slumped. After the Meath game Jim Gavin or Pat Gilroy would have addressed the second half performances and got it sorted. It's something we haven't seen with Dublin before. The warning signs were there from the league. The players body language going in at the end of the 70 mins and at half time in extra time was telling. He held the team back from going into the tunnel with Mayo etc Little things like that can play at a teams a players psyche. I'd have let them in at the same time and let them at it.

5. Cluxton. When it was evident before the Wexford game Dessie should have come out and said Cluxton wasn't part of the panel anymore. Clear it up there and then. Evan Comerford may reach that level but he isn't near it at the moment. Between himself and Byrne they effectively done a Mayo on it and handed them extra time. If in doubt put your boot through the ball.

6. Retirements. Ciaran Kilkenny, McCarthy, Philly and Rock will have some soul searching to do.

Mayo

1. AOS. I don't think he should start the final. Keep him in reserve. He'd give the team and supporters a huge lift if needed. He slows things down to much and against the better teams he just isn't effective as a target man. He offers very little in full forward. The wide open spaces of Croker don't suit him.

4. Youth. Stick with it. Fearless. Strange that we can actually say that not having COC has been a boost.

5. No more talk of curses or hard luck stories now. It's time to get over the line. It won't be easy but they are arguably going to be playing a cold Kerry/Tyrone team. Hard to see how they will have a better chance than this. Don't beat yourselves is key here also.

Overall it's hard to know how good Mayo are and how poor Dublin have been this year. Mayo fully deserve their win and place in the final. Hopefully Horan can get them backdown to earth now. No medals were handed out last Saturday that's for sure."
The 45 was retaken as Mayo had 16 players on the pitch. If anything it should have been a throw ball and not a retake so agree it was a massive error on Lanes part.

He lost control of the game from early on an there was no going back. Dublin could have had a number of red cards and the call on Comerford fouling the ball was very harsh which gifted Mayo a free in front of the posts. Mayo deserved their win but Lane did not do ok

Hill16downunder (Dublin) - Posts: 1 - 16/08/2021 12:17:10    2371924

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Spare a thought for Rob Hennelly. Had to get the bus home because his balls wouldn't fit into a car."
He'll ***** the togs in final again, wait n see.

Rolo99 (Tyrone) - Posts: 19 - 16/08/2021 12:17:24    2371925

Replying To Rebel2020:  "4 clear straight red incidents highlighted by the Sunday Game. Zero given. Hard to believe really."
This happened for years. Ref's afraid of upsetting the Dublin / GAA HQ for fear they wouldn't get the big games. A young man went out to represent his county & ended up in hospital after an incident that the ref ignored entirely. Beggars belief.

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 16/08/2021 12:19:00    2371927

This is the stuff I love to think Mayo players are reading.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 16/08/2021 12:21:08    2371928

Replying To daytona11:  "Hey Lads,

I'll start with the Ref:

2. Black Cards

3. The retaken 45.

The Dubs

Mayo

Overall it's hard to know how good Mayo are and how poor Dublin have been this year. Mayo fully deserve their win and place in the final. Hopefully Horan can get them backdown to earth now. No medals were handed out last Saturday that's for sure."
Haha does 1 not make 2 false?

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 16/08/2021 12:22:21    2371929

Replying To Mailman98:  "This is the stuff I love to think Mayo players are reading."
Sure they're always on here. Hennelly had some stones though to kick those frees.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 16/08/2021 12:26:16    2371931

Replying To Mailman98:  "Haha does 1 not make 2 false?"
I don't think so. Might be an idea to actually elaborate on a point rather than sneering.

When is school back?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/08/2021 12:30:46    2371934

Replying To Mailman98:  "But your implication was that McLaughlin not being able to take the tackle was no reason to let Small away without red. Then you said Walsh wasn't able to take o'horas tackle yet O'hora didn't deserve red. At least try to be consistent."
ohora and walsh as I said both deserved yellow both tangled with each other off the ball away from the play .small did it right in front of ref and another ref on side line badly timed hit

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 16/08/2021 12:33:30    2371936