Dubs V Mayo

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Mayo player seen the tackle coming and left himself wide open for the hit, he won't do that again. Never a red card, not even a free. shoulder tackle is part of the game, Mayo man wasn't fit to take it, simple as."
Are you for real?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 16/08/2021 10:24:58    2371864

Replying To mayo_123:  "same as s walsh for galway not fit for the hit
everyone knows it was a red even you"
So by that logic you're saying the tackle on Shane Walsh was also a red. I agree.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 16/08/2021 10:26:25    2371865

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I watched that county final. The big difference is that the Keaney hit was a clean shoulder to shoulder. There was no broken jaw from it.
In saying that, I do believe that Small was attempting the same hit. McLaughlin was wide open for the hit and most players would go for it.
He mistimed it a bit and caught McLaughlin high. I don't think that was intentional, but it did happen. When going for a big hit like that at such speed, it's always a risk.
It was very hard to tell in real time if the hit was fair or not, but the big failing on Lane's part was not stopping the game. The way McLaughlin fell, it was clear he was out of it.
I do also agree with the points made that the same has happened to other players without the outcry and the fact that it was Small is adding fuel to the debate. There have been elbows swung at players' jaws with genuine malice that didn't get anywhere near as much coverage."
Great Post. My issue is not with the shoulder but with Lane not stopping the game when the dogs on the street knew the lad was in trouble. Hopefully his recovery goes well.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 16/08/2021 10:26:34    2371866

Replying To timmyhogan:  "Not in extra time - in normal time. The overcarrying call on Comerford was ridiculous & resulted in a tap over free. Also the retake of the 45 seemed dubious. Somebody obviously appraised him of the reality of the hit by Small or else he had a damascene conversion on how this particular Mayo Dublin game should be reffed."
We can debate the 45 retake but there was a lot of commotion and also the linesman apparently shouting at him not to take it as there were too many men on the pitch. So it might seem harsh but those are the rules. And you could tell Hennelly was clearly annoyed with something as soon as he kicked the first one and gestured to the linesman.

I think Mayo deserved a bit of luck considering Dublin should have been down to maybe 13 men at that stage? Plus a couple of other cop outs from Lane.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 16/08/2021 10:27:56    2371868

Replying To Jackeen:  "
Replying To jonjon:  "[quote=Jackeen:  "Even if he had been trying to do a fair shoulder*, that is entirely irrelevant

You can't "accidentally" smash a man's head in and be excused on the basis that you intended to hit his shoulder.

Morgan on Andrews. Thoughts?"
Clearly should have been a red. Shoulders to the head = red card. Why on earth is this even debatable?"
Because the ref gave a yellow and Morgan stayed on and we didn't have the national outcry for a players head like we have now. So precedence was set. Either change the rule or these things can still happen. Cluxton was taken out in the air by a Longford lad.
His injuries were three broken bones in his back, a punctured lung and cartilage damage in his shoulder. Considerable injuries no? What should we do about that? The problem with what happened at the weekend is that it was Small that was involved. I can almost guarantee if it had been done to Small there would be little said about and you all know it."]How exactly can you guarantee nothing would be said about it?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 16/08/2021 10:28:01    2371870

Replying To Mailman98:  "So by that logic you're saying the tackle on Shane Walsh was also a red. I agree."
I'm afraid not and please rewatch that incident walsh grabs ohora and both pull each other 2 the ground probably yellow for both

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 16/08/2021 10:43:50    2371877

Small hit McLaughlin in the head . That's a straight red regardless of his intentions. Anyone confused about the rules you can't hit someone on the head. And no I dont think small set out to inflict that injury. That doesn't matter .

McLaughlin will now be drinking through a straw because of it and anyone defending the actual tackle would want to cop on a bit. The injury could have been much worse too. Deegan and particularly Lane for letting the game go absolutely disgraceful. Imagine if that goal had gone in ? Several Mayo players stopped playing to rightfully check on their teammate

Well done Mayo. You got what you deserved yesterday

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 16/08/2021 10:43:52    2371878

I watched it at 1/4 speed and think it was a red card but Small didn't intend to shoulder Eoghan in the head. He definitely lined him up and intended to shoulder him as hard as he could in the shoulder but in the last second as Small turned his head before impact, Eoghan dropped his head slightly, Small's shoulder glanced off Eoghan's shoulder but his head bore the brunt of the impact. Dangerous but not intending to shoulder him so high. Not saying that is what happened, just my opinion. The Sunday Game went intobfull clickbait mode talking about it last night.

Only slagging now but is Eoghan the second Mayo player to have his jaw broken in a semi final v Dublin? The last time wasn't accidental. There were a few suspects the last time but they all had alibis!

Get well soon Eoghan.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 16/08/2021 10:48:44    2371880

Replying To mayo_123:  "I'm afraid not and please rewatch that incident walsh grabs ohora and both pull each other 2 the ground probably yellow for both"
Would you give us the link to that so we can view it?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 16/08/2021 10:54:26    2371882

Replying To timmyhogan:  "Not in extra time - in normal time. The overcarrying call on Comerford was ridiculous & resulted in a tap over free. Also the retake of the 45 seemed dubious. Somebody obviously appraised him of the reality of the hit by Small or else he had a damascene conversion on how this particular Mayo Dublin game should be reffed."
I've heard about half a dozen reasons for the retake of the 45 and none of them a definite reason to give a retake. The one offered up by Mayo's own Kevin McStay on the Sunday game is laughable. It must have taken him all day yesterday to find that one. Watch the incident again and you'll see and hear that Lane waited for it to go wide before blowing his whistle. There are a few examples of 2 wrongs trying to make a right from Lane. The best team won on the day so I suppose justice was seen to be done however it came about.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 16/08/2021 10:55:19    2371883

Havent watched the game back and probably wont, but at the game live i thought we should have had three reds in real time at that moment.

If Basquel had of scored that goal after Johnners challenge there would be murder (and he should have).

Just my take, i would have been shouting for them if it had been the other way.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/08/2021 10:56:58    2371885

my man of the match was hennelly 3 top drawer points and the last point under huge pressure for all the stick he gets I am delighted for him his knockouts also top notch so well done robbie

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 16/08/2021 10:57:53    2371886

Replying To mayo_123:  "I'm afraid not and please rewatch that incident walsh grabs ohora and both pull each other 2 the ground probably yellow for both"
It was Lee Keegan.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 16/08/2021 11:03:41    2371888

Re-watched the game yesterday & last night. Absolutely awesome performance from Mayo. Things like reaching out a leg to stop a wide, tackling, bravery and cool heads. Mayo have been criticised in the past for not closing games out, but the way James Horan masterminded this success was outstanding.

Padraig O'Hora was immense. I thought some of Lee Keegan's play was very smart, showed a lot of maturity. Ryan O'Donoghue's play was hugely important to the win.

Mayo did well to see the game out.

No matter who reaches the final, hopefully Mayo reach that peak again. It should be some final.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 16/08/2021 11:14:37    2371890

Replying To TheUsername:  "Havent watched the game back and probably wont, but at the game live i thought we should have had three reds in real time at that moment.

If Basquel had of scored that goal after Johnners challenge there would be murder (and he should have).

Just my take, i would have been shouting for them if it had been the other way."
we were in 332 right in front of the McLaughlin-Small incident, everyone including the Mayo lads around us thought it was square on and legit in real time. They were as surprised as anyone when I told them my brother had just texted me that Small should have been sent off.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 16/08/2021 11:18:18    2371891

Replying To Mailman98:  "I've heard about half a dozen reasons for the retake of the 45 and none of them a definite reason to give a retake. The one offered up by Mayo's own Kevin McStay on the Sunday game is laughable. It must have taken him all day yesterday to find that one. Watch the incident again and you'll see and hear that Lane waited for it to go wide before blowing his whistle. There are a few examples of 2 wrongs trying to make a right from Lane. The best team won on the day so I suppose justice was seen to be done however it came about."
There is a view of the 45 from behind the Mayo goals on twitter, two players started tussling behind Hennelly and Deegan the linesman on the 45 had his right arm outstretched to draw attention to the referee to the tussle and as the run up to the kick beings the ref also points at the tussle and had the whistle going to his mouth. Not sure I can share it here but it is pretty clear cut. It wasn't anything to do with McMahon and in fact the ref waves him away as he's running into the goals

kick-it (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 16/08/2021 11:18:38    2371892

Dubs can have no complaints.
1. Small's shoulder was a straight red. There is no debate. That would be a straight red on a rugby pitch. I absolutely hate it when people celebrate "big hits" on a rugby or Gaelic pitch, as if it was some great feat of machismo. It usually involves a player receiving a hospital pass or being caught in a stationary, passive position without a chance to brace themselves for the full impact. The 'tackler" just can't lose in that situation if he lines a man up and catches him before he is ready to take the impact. I'm all for a fair shoulder but if a shoulder is executed properly it should not result in that type of serious injury. I like John Small and but he plays on the edge and several times in big matches he has crossed the line.
2, I thought the first half was the most boring spectacle. I couldn't believe Dublin resorted to keep ball that early in a game and that endless sleep inducing toing and froing, across and backwards with the ball. It's as if they felt they no longer felt they had to go for the jugular and open up Mayo. There were very few players running into space or running off the shoulder at pace. When Mayo pressed up on them in the second half they had become so complacent they just couldn't switch gears and up the intensity. When a collective complacency sets it's very hard for a team to rouse themselves out of it; they gift wrapped and handed the initiative back to the other team and Mayo were not going to look the gift horse in the mouth this time. in There's a lesson in that.
3. I was disappointed to see the loss of composure from some Dublin players. That clip of a certain Dublin player pinching his opponent and then calling the ref's attention when the Mayo man retaliated is an unnacceptable level of b*llsh8t. Focus on trying to win the bloody game back and leave the sh*thousery out.

We've had a great run but all things must pass. Dublin teams from 2011-21 were an incomparable group of players, the best I've seen in my lifetime. Very sad this morning but angry because I feel this loss was partly self-inflicted by management (I suspect) adopting a mode of football that is not not in the spirit of the game. This team cut Kerry open 4 times in a recent National League game. They still had the firepower but as soon as the stakes went up it's as if they were
happy to adopt a low risk, conservative approach that just invited the opposition on to them. It was fitting that it would be Mayo to end the great run. I hope they go and finish the job now. Horan will have some job to settle things down and re-focus them. I hope the inevitable hype doesn't get to the players and that expectations are managed.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/08/2021 11:19:56    2371893

I watched incident again last night,intent don't think so,dangerous challange no doubt and straight red..ref had a nightmare in many ways and when it's looked back on Dublin could have lost possibly 3 or 4 more to black and red cards..in extra time a lot of the dubs were running on empty and they left themselves down big time..ive enjoyed the dubs in last few years and I've admitted it here,not like others who detest them..on another issue is aos getting away scot free for being on the field of play when he should have been in the stand??out and out stupidity from the man..very little coverage on that incident last night..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2224 - 16/08/2021 11:19:57    2371894

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "I was watching the game with some 5-7 year old kids
They kept asking me why a clothesline wasn't a card. Or a shoulder in the face not a free?
I explained to them that in any other sport you get sent off for those things but not in GAA.

Conor Lane has a shocker and seemed in awe of Dublin - let them away with anything really in normal time.

Looked like he didn't want to send someone off as they would end up missing the final"
Yes the ref could have sent players off. But he definitely done his bit for mayo and made up for it in the finish! Gave a few soft frees especially the over carry free on the Dublin keeper. And Rob was lucky he got to take the free again I know there was an extra player but he was lucky and fair play to him he took his second chance. I wish McLaughlin a speedy recovery and hope everything goes well.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 16/08/2021 11:22:21    2371895

Replying To Joxer:  "I don't think your comment will go down well here but you're correct. There were plenty of sinners on both teams yesterday. I've no idea why Basquel saw the line. I still think Small's shoulder was square on. McStay saw it several times and thought likewise. The Mayo player was unlucky. I'm not sure why a sub, AOS, was on the pitch starting fights. Imagine Connolly doing that in his day, 3 month ban. There were a couple of high tackles from both teams, including Diarmuid O'Connor's clothes line but you'd expect this in the heat of championship. It was hard to see the McCarthy incident on camera. Looked as though Mayo players was pulling his jersey and McCarty swung an arm back to release. I've no problem with any player doing that on any team. It's instinctive. When all is said and done, it was a great and well deserved Mayo win. Let's hope that wasn't their AI final. With all of our financial doping that is bearing so much fruit at minor and U20 level??, the Dubs should be back in 12 months God willing."
You need to take off those blue tinted glasses, it was never square on as he came from the front and hit him head on. He was never squared up to his shoulder. And don't be quoting one commentator, and he has since said he was 100% wrong and it should have been a red card.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2396 - 16/08/2021 11:37:46    2371901