Dubs V Mayo

Replying To Joxer:  "He was square on his shoulder but McLoughlin's head was rotating at the time and got clipped as well. It happens when games are played at that pace. We might as well remove the shoulder tackle from the game if a tackle like that goes punished. Small had no intention of making contact with his head."
So the contact doesn't matter....its what your intentions were.....your a gas woman

richardcrowe (Mayo) - Posts: 61 - 16/08/2021 03:14:50    2371809

Replying To tiobraid:  "What are people on about with the John Small tackle? If a man on your team hit a lad as clean as that you'd be delighted. I've watched it 20 times and see it equally as good as the Paudie maher tackle on John canning a few years ago. If it was any other player or county apart from Small there'd be nothing about it"
A good tackle, you do realise that the mayo player is 6ft tall and somehow your version of a good tackle left him with a broken jaw. It must have been the win that did it.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 16/08/2021 06:47:33    2371811

Replying To Galway9801:  "Agreed, it looked fine to me, the mayo player simply wasn't able for the hit, small shouldn't have been criticised for that."
You do realise that the mayo player had his jaw broken in a shoulder to shoulder tackle ? How does a jaw get broken in a fair challenge.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 16/08/2021 06:50:04    2371812

Replying To Rebel2020:  "4 clear straight red incidents highlighted by the Sunday Game. Zero given. Hard to believe really."
It was the dubs that were playing simple as that

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 16/08/2021 06:50:57    2371813

Replying To Rebel2020:  "4 clear straight red incidents highlighted by the Sunday Game. Zero given. Hard to believe really."
I was watching the game with some 5-7 year old kids
They kept asking me why a clothesline wasn't a card. Or a shoulder in the face not a free?
I explained to them that in any other sport you get sent off for those things but not in GAA.

Conor Lane has a shocker and seemed in awe of Dublin - let them away with anything really in normal time.

Looked like he didn't want to send someone off as they would end up missing the final

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1125 - 16/08/2021 07:49:53    2371814

Replying To tiobraid:  "What are people on about with the John Small tackle? If a man on your team hit a lad as clean as that you'd be delighted. I've watched it 20 times and see it equally as good as the Paudie maher tackle on John canning a few years ago. If it was any other player or county apart from Small there'd be nothing about it"
Paudie mahers was a shoulder to shoulder collision where both men were somewhat parallel to each other. John smalls tackle was a collision where he met the mayo man with force with a shoulder straight to the chest. Red card all day, no debate

Bunbros11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 67 - 16/08/2021 09:10:42    2371830

Replying To Galway9801:  "Agreed, it looked fine to me, the mayo player simply wasn't able for the hit, small shouldn't have been criticised for that."
In last year's county final Small nailed Keaney with a very similar hit, no free, no injury and the pic of it actually goes on to win awards! Keaney because he is a unit was able to absorb the hit, get up and play on. The injury to McLoughlin is of course very unfortunate and I wish him the best in his recovery but these things happen from time to time in sport. If it wasn't John Small involved there would be such bluster about it since the game.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 16/08/2021 09:14:27    2371831

John Small lined McLoughlin up and knew exactly where he was going in with that terrible hit. Surprised at nothing from Small. The hit was a lot like Colm Boyle's blind side hit on a 20 yr old Damien Comer back in 2014. In both cases, the players are wide open for a hit while receiving a hospital pass and the aggressor had time to line them up and take them down. Extremely dangerous stuff and rule book needs to be used consistently for such blind hits.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 905 - 16/08/2021 09:17:55    2371834

None of them were clear though. Still hearing pundits disagree on the McLaughlin one, the high arm ones are not clear either. It's very difficult to judge between a high tackle and a swimming arm. The only clear one was Mccarthy after the equaliser.

Mailman98 (Galway) - Posts: 319 - 16/08/2021 09:25:43    2371836

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Mayo player seen the tackle coming and left himself wide open for the hit, he won't do that again. Never a red card, not even a free. shoulder tackle is part of the game, Mayo man wasn't fit to take it, simple as."
Hilarious comment. I'd say you've never even laced a pair of boots. You haven't a clue.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 16/08/2021 09:40:17    2371839

Replying To TYE08:  "
Replying To Jackeen:  "Even if he had been trying to do a fair shoulder*, that is entirely irrelevant

You can't "accidentally" smash a man's head in and be excused on the basis that you intended to hit his shoulder.

Morgan on Andrews. Thoughts?"
I remember the Dublin gaa page calling out the Morgan challenge. Funny that they are quite about it now."
Of course they did. Why wouldn't they? Morgan wasn't assassinated by the country's press or on our national broadcaster though. Just calling out the huge hypocrisy surrounding this challenge.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/08/2021 09:49:58    2371844

Anyone saying they see nothing wrong with the John Small hit, must be just stirring for a reaction, to see replays and still be saying nothing wrong with it then ye havent a clue and id like to see ye take a hit like that and say it was fair afterwards.
In normal time I can see why the ref let it go because it was a tough call in real time but not to stop play was ridiculous decision, a player knocked out and everyone could see he was in trouble the way he landed but for the officials to play on was awful.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 16/08/2021 09:57:48    2371846

Replying To jonjon:  "
Replying To Jackeen:  "Even if he had been trying to do a fair shoulder*, that is entirely irrelevant

You can't "accidentally" smash a man's head in and be excused on the basis that you intended to hit his shoulder.

Morgan on Andrews. Thoughts?"
Clearly should have been a red. Shoulders to the head = red card. Why on earth is this even debatable?"
Because the ref gave a yellow and Morgan stayed on and we didn't have the national outcry for a players head like we have now. So precedence was set. Either change the rule or these things can still happen. Cluxton was taken out in the air by a Longford lad.
His injuries were three broken bones in his back, a punctured lung and cartilage damage in his shoulder. Considerable injuries no? What should we do about that? The problem with what happened at the weekend is that it was Small that was involved. I can almost guarantee if it had been done to Small there would be little said about and you all know it.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/08/2021 10:03:50    2371851

small does this all the time and always goes unpunished .I think ref realised what he had done because in extra time he did give mayo a few handy frees but the cards should have been shown earlier .dublin maybe great winners but definitely very bad losers if anyone disagrees rewatch the match

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 16/08/2021 10:06:12    2371852

Replying To Crinigan:  "Hilarious comment. I'd say you've never even laced a pair of boots. You haven't a clue."
A bad NorWestie egg.

He'll know the day karma calls.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 16/08/2021 10:07:53    2371853

Not hard to believe if you have watched any/certain high profile GAA matches in the last 10 years. Par for the course.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 16/08/2021 10:09:03    2371854

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Mayo player seen the tackle coming and left himself wide open for the hit, he won't do that again. Never a red card, not even a free. shoulder tackle is part of the game, Mayo man wasn't fit to take it, simple as."
Absolute joke of a comment

But I guess it's coming from easily one of the worst posters on this forum.. so what else did I expect really?

nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 16/08/2021 10:13:51    2371858

Replying To mayo_123:  "small does this all the time and always goes unpunished .I think ref realised what he had done because in extra time he did give mayo a few handy frees but the cards should have been shown earlier .dublin maybe great winners but definitely very bad losers if anyone disagrees rewatch the match"
Not in extra time - in normal time. The overcarrying call on Comerford was ridiculous & resulted in a tap over free. Also the retake of the 45 seemed dubious. Somebody obviously appraised him of the reality of the hit by Small or else he had a damascene conversion on how this particular Mayo Dublin game should be reffed.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 16/08/2021 10:17:50    2371860

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "In last year's county final Small nailed Keaney with a very similar hit, no free, no injury and the pic of it actually goes on to win awards! Keaney because he is a unit was able to absorb the hit, get up and play on. The injury to McLoughlin is of course very unfortunate and I wish him the best in his recovery but these things happen from time to time in sport. If it wasn't John Small involved there would be such bluster about it since the game."
I watched that county final. The big difference is that the Keaney hit was a clean shoulder to shoulder. There was no broken jaw from it.
In saying that, I do believe that Small was attempting the same hit. McLaughlin was wide open for the hit and most players would go for it.
He mistimed it a bit and caught McLaughlin high. I don't think that was intentional, but it did happen. When going for a big hit like that at such speed, it's always a risk.
It was very hard to tell in real time if the hit was fair or not, but the big failing on Lane's part was not stopping the game. The way McLaughlin fell, it was clear he was out of it.
I do also agree with the points made that the same has happened to other players without the outcry and the fact that it was Small is adding fuel to the debate. There have been elbows swung at players' jaws with genuine malice that didn't get anywhere near as much coverage.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 16/08/2021 10:20:54    2371861

I am sure Lane regrets being appointed to this game as it was clearly was a very bad day at the office for him.

It's amazing how blind some people are and how willing some are to throw dirt at a player especially if he is from Ballymun in Dublin. I have no doubt that Small went in to hit McLaughlin wIth a fair shoulder. I think the actual intended challenge was fair and okay but unfortunately there were moving parts that ended up where we are or more to the point where McLaughlin is. This is regrettable in the extreme.
Reading some of the vile comments here it seems that Small is the incarnation of the devil. We are told that McLaughlin is 6 foot tall . So did he actually duck into the challenge or did Small just up into him? We are informed that it was a frontal challenge but the evidence is clearly that the two shoulders collided. I saw a shoulder charge, legal within the Rules of the GAA, but where the momentum of Smalls challenge caused his shoulder to slide up and collide with McLaughlins head OR where McLaughlin dropped his head. It wasn't a frontal charge as we are also informed by the educated witch hunters.

I, as all Dublin supporters do, wish McLaughlin a speedy and full recovery and lament the fact that he will not be able to play in the All Ireland Final.

BlueBeret (Dublin) - Posts: 54 - 16/08/2021 10:23:04    2371863