Cork For Liam 21

Replying To Rockies:  "Damien Cahalane is probably the most maligned player on the Cork team, yet performed very well against Limerick. After today, Downey has solidified his hold on the no. 3 Jersey. Cahalane can also perform well at left half back, although Millerick looked good there today. Competition for places on this Cork team is ramping up, and this isn't a bad thing. Eoin Cadogan also in the mix,and Colm Spillane also back from injury! Midfield could do with Bill Cooper but looks like he has injury"
Look Rockies, nobody should pressure on a young team. They are undoubtedly coming but this year might be a bridge too far for them, although Limerick did it in '18, but they beat Cork Tipp and KK before they got to the final, so I'd say there they were a bit further on the road that time than Cork are now. Anyway looking forward to meeting ye again.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 25/07/2021 10:08:12    2363746

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Look Rockies, nobody should pressure on a young team. They are undoubtedly coming but this year might be a bridge too far for them, although Limerick did it in '18, but they beat Cork Tipp and KK before they got to the final, so I'd say there they were a bit further on the road that time than Cork are now. Anyway looking forward to meeting ye again."
We've had nice all Ireland wins with young teams in the past! 1966 against Kilkenny with what basically was an under 21 team, and 1999 when we overcame Kilkenny again! Next Saturday will be another day out...

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 25/07/2021 10:36:28    2363760

Replying To Rockies:  "We've had nice all Ireland wins with young teams in the past! 1966 against Kilkenny with what basically was an under 21 team, and 1999 when we overcame Kilkenny again! Next Saturday will be another day out..."
You need more steel around the middle. Clare looked tired and werent as sharp as the last day but still couldve won it with the last puck of the game. Cant believe TK missed that tbh though it was a good save

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12095 - 25/07/2021 11:19:53    2363782

Replying To Rockies:  "Cork aren't the only "flaky " team! Tipperary played great hurling against Limerick in first half and were 10 points up! Tired in second half and managed to lose by 5 points. Limerick looked like a bunch of lumbering cart horses against Tipperary in that first half, but came to life in 2nd. Waterford went 15 points up against Galway and lost most of that lead! Dublin played scintillating hurling against Galway, and looked flat against Kilkenny.This All Ireland is wide open!"
Tipp and Limerick have recent All-Ireland's to back them up though, Cork don't.

Waterford have at least made a couple of finals of late whereas Cork haven't been in one since 2013 which had the weakest semi-final line up in a long long time. That's unthinkable for Cork hurling imo.

Dublin are a poor enough Liam McCarthy team and one Cork shouldn't be comparing themselves.

This Cork team had bags of talent but when push comes to shove they're flaky and unreliable. They remind me a lot of the Dublin footballers from 00s, although more talented to be fair to Cork.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/07/2021 11:28:15    2363786

Replying To MesAmis:  "Tipp and Limerick have recent All-Ireland's to back them up though, Cork don't.

Waterford have at least made a couple of finals of late whereas Cork haven't been in one since 2013 which had the weakest semi-final line up in a long long time. That's unthinkable for Cork hurling imo.

Dublin are a poor enough Liam McCarthy team and one Cork shouldn't be comparing themselves.

This Cork team had bags of talent but when push comes to shove they're flaky and unreliable. They remind me a lot of the Dublin footballers from 00s, although more talented to be fair to Cork."
If Cork hurling resurrects like Dublin football did, we won't be doing badly! I like the comparison !!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 25/07/2021 11:44:09    2363794

Replying To Viking66:  "You need more steel around the middle. Clare looked tired and werent as sharp as the last day but still couldve won it with the last puck of the game. Cant believe TK missed that tbh though it was a good save"
Cork need to close out games better! To give up a 6 point lead like that is unforgivable. Similar to limerick game in 2018. Also need to fix sideline cuts... was Under 10 standard..Mark Coleman should take them! More accuracy from Harnedy and improvements in Horgan's frees needed.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 25/07/2021 11:49:26    2363796

Replying To Rockies:  "If Cork hurling resurrects like Dublin football did, we won't be doing badly! I like the comparison !!"
Yous need your 2011 moment first but I think Cork hurling has that potential.

At the moment though it's hard to see them getting out of this phase where they can't get out of the vicious cycle of beating the teams they should and then falling apart against the big boys when it matters.

I'd love to see Horgan's excellence rewarded but I've a feeling it never will.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/07/2021 21:58:07    2364097

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yous need your 2011 moment first but I think Cork hurling has that potential.

At the moment though it's hard to see them getting out of this phase where they can't get out of the vicious cycle of beating the teams they should and then falling apart against the big boys when it matters.

I'd love to see Horgan's excellence rewarded but I've a feeling it never will."
Bookies have spoken! Limerick 1/2 to win outright, so is all over bar the shouting. Must get the fat lady to sing!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 27/07/2021 16:49:31    2364791

Replying To Rockies:  "Cork need to close out games better! To give up a 6 point lead like that is unforgivable. Similar to limerick game in 2018. Also need to fix sideline cuts... was Under 10 standard..Mark Coleman should take them! More accuracy from Harnedy and improvements in Horgan's frees needed."
Cork hurlers will come good again for sure. Always have talent. Also while they have nt won since 2005 they should have won in 13 imo and are always there or thereabouts. Hard to believe Patrick Horgan has no all ireland medal. One of the most outstanding hurlers of the last 15 years

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 27/07/2021 18:16:31    2364828

Replying To Rockies:  "Cork need to close out games better! To give up a 6 point lead like that is unforgivable. Similar to limerick game in 2018. Also need to fix sideline cuts... was Under 10 standard..Mark Coleman should take them! More accuracy from Harnedy and improvements in Horgan's frees needed."
Cork for sure will be at the top again. Not sure if it is this year though. They have never really gone away. The problem we had was after '63 we disappeared through the seventies and eighties and got relegated to the 3rd division. Since 1996 we have managed to stay at the top table with the odd major defeat. It shows you how hard it is to get back if you slide too far. Offaly have a mountain to climb because of dropping too far off. They will be back but the opportunity to keep Laois Antrim and Westmeath up and push on needs priority. Carlow were looking good for awhile but now sliding. The Munster championship has been a ball and chain around Kerry's net and quiet honestly treated shabby. On the other hand they themselves are know to vote with the elites at the cost to others like themselves.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2671 - 27/07/2021 19:27:04    2364846

Replying To Rockies:  "We've had nice all Ireland wins with young teams in the past! 1966 against Kilkenny with what basically was an under 21 team, and 1999 when we overcame Kilkenny again! Next Saturday will be another day out..."
"Basically an Under 21 team" in 1966, Rockies? There were FOUR Under 21s on that team - Justin, Gerald and Charlie McCarthy and Seanie Barry. And several of the team would have been far closer to 31 than 21. By the way, it is just possible that Cork's name might be on the cup this year. They were lucky to get a bye to the second round of the qualifiers, despite having lost their only game at that point. Meanwhile Clare, who had actually won their first game, had to play three weekends in a row, including a tough game in melting heat against Wexford just a week before playing Cork. And then - surprise, surprise - Cork got lucky again with yesterday's draw, and will now face a probably understrength Dublin rather than a Tipp team with lots to prove. Yes indeed, the gods (or someone) may well be smiling on the rebels this year.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 546 - 27/07/2021 21:23:44    2364890

Replying To Rockies:  "Bookies have spoken! Limerick 1/2 to win outright, so is all over bar the shouting. Must get the fat lady to sing!"
I would not bother with with corpulent female. The sound of the dulcet tones of Dolores O'Riordan ringing out around Croke Park once more would do fine. However all that is a long way off.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 27/07/2021 22:13:22    2364904

Your 1966 description is highly questionable. There were four Under 21s on that team, but by 1970 all the rest had gone and as Seanie Barry went in the Priesthood abroad and Justin had that awful accident there only two '66 men still playing in '70- Gerard and Charlie. So in fact overall the '66 were a vastly expierianced team. In '18 Limerick had U21s in Flanagan and Kyle Hayes and Peter Casey and Barry Murphy were subs and a number of them like Lynch, Gillane, Dan Morrissey Byrnes and Finn were just out of the U21 Grade. Overall a far less battle hardened team that Cork in' 66.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 27/07/2021 22:50:36    2364919

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Your 1966 description is highly questionable. There were four Under 21s on that team, but by 1970 all the rest had gone and as Seanie Barry went in the Priesthood abroad and Justin had that awful accident there only two '66 men still playing in '70- Gerard and Charlie. So in fact overall the '66 were a vastly expierianced team. In '18 Limerick had U21s in Flanagan and Kyle Hayes and Peter Casey and Barry Murphy were subs and a number of them like Lynch, Gillane, Dan Morrissey Byrnes and Finn were just out of the U21 Grade. Overall a far less battle hardened team that Cork in' 66."
Oh sorry. I forgot Paddy Barry, the goalie-he was also on in '66 and '70- but that's all.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 28/07/2021 09:42:51    2364971

I wouldn't be quick to write off Dublin, Some top quality players. How Cork could do with a Chris Crummy

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 30/07/2021 16:13:05    2365856

Replying To Southsham:  "I wouldn't be quick to write off Dublin, Some top quality players. How Cork could do with a Chris Crummy"
At this stage of the championship alot depends on who turns up on the day. Cork have alot of young players. They could play fearlessly and blitz Dublin or freeze in which case the Dubs have enough experienced heads to get over the line. Over the last 10 years Cork have had great hurlers on their team but have been found wanting in the big games. Cooper if he is missing will be a big loss. Likewise O Donnell for Dublin.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12095 - 30/07/2021 20:38:54    2365930

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Oh sorry. I forgot Paddy Barry, the goalie-he was also on in '66 and '70- but that's all."
I can still remember Paddy been sent off in Walsh Park for tossing a broken hurley at an umpire but most of all remember coming out a Cork supporter screaming "ye will go no further". A Waterford supporter said nice and quietly to him "one thing we do know for sure, ye are not going any further". Jim Greene and Martin Geary had put a couple of goals past Paddy and he was frustrated throwing the stick away but I believe not at the umpire. Geary had just walked over him also.
Martin came from Limerick via Cork. His son Niall went from Tramore and Waterford to play football with Cork. Now if you were ever run over by a small tank that was Martin. Probably only 5' 7". I am sure he could only hit the ball from one side but carried it in a way you could not take it off him.
There was a bunch of lads at that time working in the department of agriculture played with us. The next week playing in Galway and the following week in Clare or some where else. They were like mercenaries. No proper check on anyone.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2671 - 30/07/2021 21:22:51    2365941

Replying To Viking66:  "At this stage of the championship alot depends on who turns up on the day. Cork have alot of young players. They could play fearlessly and blitz Dublin or freeze in which case the Dubs have enough experienced heads to get over the line. Over the last 10 years Cork have had great hurlers on their team but have been found wanting in the big games. Cooper if he is missing will be a big loss. Likewise O Donnell for Dublin."
Agree O'Donnell would be a massive loss for the Dubs.
Its tight margins at this stage of the championship, afterall a block down from Nicky Quaid kept Cork out of the All Ireland Final in 18.

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 30/07/2021 21:23:52    2365942

Replying To Canuck:  "I can still remember Paddy been sent off in Walsh Park for tossing a broken hurley at an umpire but most of all remember coming out a Cork supporter screaming "ye will go no further". A Waterford supporter said nice and quietly to him "one thing we do know for sure, ye are not going any further". Jim Greene and Martin Geary had put a couple of goals past Paddy and he was frustrated throwing the stick away but I believe not at the umpire. Geary had just walked over him also.
Martin came from Limerick via Cork. His son Niall went from Tramore and Waterford to play football with Cork. Now if you were ever run over by a small tank that was Martin. Probably only 5' 7". I am sure he could only hit the ball from one side but carried it in a way you could not take it off him.
There was a bunch of lads at that time working in the department of agriculture played with us. The next week playing in Galway and the following week in Clare or some where else. They were like mercenaries. No proper check on anyone."
Denis Conroy, a most outspoken Cork Official, was supposed to have been asked by an 'inquisitve' Waterford supporter, as he left the Pitch, 'Denis, what do you think of Walsh Park?, The f****** place should be ploughed up' was his succinct reply. Anna Geary is Martin's niece and Lorcan McLoughlin, who played with Cork, is his nephew.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 30/07/2021 21:38:50    2365947

Replying To Southsham:  "Agree O'Donnell would be a massive loss for the Dubs.
Its tight margins at this stage of the championship, afterall a block down from Nicky Quaid kept Cork out of the All Ireland Final in 18."
Please God Dublin and Waterford do it this weekend.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 30/07/2021 22:32:45    2365966