James O'Donoghue Leaves Kerry Panel

Replying To Pericles:  "I think the generational thing suggests he might have been talking about past players no longer playing at any level? There's no mention of the championship's all-time top scorer, top points scorer and top goals scorer, but he's not finished yet either.

James was very unlucky with injury but at least got that medal in 2014. I remember the goal in the drawn semi-final v Mayo when Donaghy knocked it down to him and he instantly shot with a back leaning into him through a space between the goal post and a defender on the line which was barely wider than the ball. That goal drew the game bar one more point and was some execution with zero margin for error. Such a pity that year was his high point but it was a very high point."
Well 3 on that list are not playing for their counties any more>

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 21/07/2021 20:22:15    2362648

Replying To avonali:  "Well 3 on that list are not playing for their counties any more>"
thanks for all the posts to my topic...its true, he has an AI medal many many players have not, I suppose we will alll say there were more in the tank so to speak, but such is sport...he was probably unlucky too Dublin came with their great team too from 2015 onwards...its a fine balance for some players...definitely one of the best in Kerry be it affected with injuries etc...at 31 too I had to double take as another poster had..time does not stand still...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 21/07/2021 21:08:58    2362665

Replying To togoutlads:  "Best of luck to him in his retirement - a great talent.
I'd be adding Michael Donnellan to that list of gifted natural footballers. And we're seeing the emergence of one of the future greats with young Clifford."
True, Donnellan was class as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/07/2021 21:35:12    2362675

Replying To avonali:  "And you have Con C'Callaghan, Bernard Brogan, Diarmuid Connolly, Brian Fenton, Ciaran Kilkenny , Jack McCaffrey, etc etc. to name a few more."
different types of players. i would possibly give you the Brogans.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/07/2021 08:37:10    2362724

Replying To s goldrick:  "different types of players. i would possibly give you the Brogans."
Don't really get this "natural" footballers lark, what are the others then "unnatural"? Like O'Donoghue is a fine skillful forward with great ability on the ball but for example he doesn't have the array of two footed kicking skills of Ciaran McDonald or Diarmuid Connolly.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 675 - 22/07/2021 10:57:05    2362769

Replying To sligo joe:  "Don't really get this "natural" footballers lark, what are the others then "unnatural"? Like O'Donoghue is a fine skillful forward with great ability on the ball but for example he doesn't have the array of two footed kicking skills of Ciaran McDonald or Diarmuid Connolly."
You wouldn't understand a natural footballer Joe, but those lads that were mentioned are natural footballers, it means they're naturally gifted.

Il explain it in terms you might understand, Ronaldo is a brilliant soccer player but Messi is a natural soccer player, both are great but Messi is better to watch.

JOD could kick off both left and right by the way.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/07/2021 16:19:25    2362909

Replying To Pericles:  "I think the generational thing suggests he might have been talking about past players no longer playing at any level? There's no mention of the championship's all-time top scorer, top points scorer and top goals scorer, but he's not finished yet either.

James was very unlucky with injury but at least got that medal in 2014. I remember the goal in the drawn semi-final v Mayo when Donaghy knocked it down to him and he instantly shot with a back leaning into him through a space between the goal post and a defender on the line which was barely wider than the ball. That goal drew the game bar one more point and was some execution with zero margin for error. Such a pity that year was his high point but it was a very high point."
I remember he dived for the penalty in the replay and yis were absolutely robbed! He was a great player though and best of luck to him for the future

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 22/07/2021 16:37:51    2362915

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You wouldn't understand a natural footballer Joe, but those lads that were mentioned are natural footballers, it means they're naturally gifted.

Il explain it in terms you might understand, Ronaldo is a brilliant soccer player but Messi is a natural soccer player, both are great but Messi is better to watch.

JOD could kick off both left and right by the way."
I never mentioned his ability to kick off both feet, I said he didn't have the same wide array of two footed kicking as the other two which he didn't/doesn't. As regards natural I remember the great Jarlath Fallon being praised for his "Ja Lift" and how easy/natural it looked and his response " a lot of practice went into that".

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 675 - 22/07/2021 18:40:21    2362945

if I might as they say...why is it, on most posts here, the West of Ireland "no one else matters but us" mentality takes over and once Michael Donnellan or "Ja" is mentioned, the original post is completely taken over with debating these players ability only instead of discussing the actual topic of the post...I work with Roscommon and Mayo people and in fairness the Galway people arent as bad, but there are 29/30 other counties also....it always seems to be pegged back to comparing such and such a player with "Ja" or Donnellan, yes, excellent footballers, but so was Johnny Doyle, Martin Lynch, and Tadgh Fennin of Kildare, Graham Gerraght, Trevor Giles etc. for Meath, Johnny Nevin, Garvan Ware for Carlow, Peter Brady, Vinny Claffey, Ciaran McManus for Offaly, I could go through each county and throw up with what would be only a start on listing their great footballers, but you dont see them counties jumping on every post throwing in their own man, and completely driving the topic into their own back clapping...if ye want to start a post on Ja and Donnellan, go off and do so, I and many will contribute, but every other post on here is hijacked with this ould mullarkey....Yes, some players mentioned above have not won All Ireland medals, but all the same were some of the finest footballers in Ireland...just like James O'Donaghue whom the original post was about...lets not forget that...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 23/07/2021 10:43:16    2363099

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "if I might as they say...why is it, on most posts here, the West of Ireland "no one else matters but us" mentality takes over and once Michael Donnellan or "Ja" is mentioned, the original post is completely taken over with debating these players ability only instead of discussing the actual topic of the post...I work with Roscommon and Mayo people and in fairness the Galway people arent as bad, but there are 29/30 other counties also....it always seems to be pegged back to comparing such and such a player with "Ja" or Donnellan, yes, excellent footballers, but so was Johnny Doyle, Martin Lynch, and Tadgh Fennin of Kildare, Graham Gerraght, Trevor Giles etc. for Meath, Johnny Nevin, Garvan Ware for Carlow, Peter Brady, Vinny Claffey, Ciaran McManus for Offaly, I could go through each county and throw up with what would be only a start on listing their great footballers, but you dont see them counties jumping on every post throwing in their own man, and completely driving the topic into their own back clapping...if ye want to start a post on Ja and Donnellan, go off and do so, I and many will contribute, but every other post on here is hijacked with this ould mullarkey....Yes, some players mentioned above have not won All Ireland medals, but all the same were some of the finest footballers in Ireland...just like James O'Donaghue whom the original post was about...lets not forget that..."
Ja is the man, biaatch

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 23/07/2021 11:56:45    2363130

James was a great player when at the height of his powers and injury free. When he got out in front and on the ball he made supporters sit forward in their seats in anticipation like all the great talented players do. A very technically gifted player with a lot of pace and who knew where the posts were. It's disappointing that he has bowed out. A full forward line of an injury free fit O'Donoghue, Geaney and Clifford would take some watching.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9129 - 23/07/2021 12:46:58    2363145

Replying To Lockjaw:  "James was a great player when at the height of his powers and injury free. When he got out in front and on the ball he made supporters sit forward in their seats in anticipation like all the great talented players do. A very technically gifted player with a lot of pace and who knew where the posts were. It's disappointing that he has bowed out. A full forward line of an injury free fit O'Donoghue, Geaney and Clifford would take some watching."
thanks for bringing the topic back...some of the posters "its all about our county men"..some were fine footballers no doubt but everyone thats menitoned is compared to to their own county men...ffs...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 23/07/2021 13:40:44    2363168

Great servant who was unlucky with injuries.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 23/07/2021 14:36:37    2363185

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "thanks for bringing the topic back...some of the posters "its all about our county men"..some were fine footballers no doubt but everyone thats menitoned is compared to to their own county men...ffs..."
Good a player and all as he was in 2014,he couldn't keep Neil McGee scoreless in the final ;-)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9129 - 23/07/2021 17:27:40    2363230

Fantastic footballer , pity its come to this with injury to the lad really liked him great player wish James all the best for the future

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 23/07/2021 19:01:02    2363246

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "thanks for bringing the topic back...some of the posters "its all about our county men"..some were fine footballers no doubt but everyone thats menitoned is compared to to their own county men...ffs..."
Relax man, kind of inevitable that when a player steps back comparisons to other players will be made and human nature being what it is fans are likely to rexcall their "own" favourites. Well done to to the young Offaly lads in Potrlaoise last night.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 675 - 23/07/2021 19:27:19    2363254

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "if I might as they say...why is it, on most posts here, the West of Ireland "no one else matters but us" mentality takes over and once Michael Donnellan or "Ja" is mentioned, the original post is completely taken over with debating these players ability only instead of discussing the actual topic of the post...I work with Roscommon and Mayo people and in fairness the Galway people arent as bad, but there are 29/30 other counties also....it always seems to be pegged back to comparing such and such a player with "Ja" or Donnellan, yes, excellent footballers, but so was Johnny Doyle, Martin Lynch, and Tadgh Fennin of Kildare, Graham Gerraght, Trevor Giles etc. for Meath, Johnny Nevin, Garvan Ware for Carlow, Peter Brady, Vinny Claffey, Ciaran McManus for Offaly, I could go through each county and throw up with what would be only a start on listing their great footballers, but you dont see them counties jumping on every post throwing in their own man, and completely driving the topic into their own back clapping...if ye want to start a post on Ja and Donnellan, go off and do so, I and many will contribute, but every other post on here is hijacked with this ould mullarkey....Yes, some players mentioned above have not won All Ireland medals, but all the same were some of the finest footballers in Ireland...just like James O'Donaghue whom the original post was about...lets not forget that..."
Just to point out as well, you seem to have a bit of an issue with galway people mentioning Ja

1-Ja was a super super player, I hadn't played football in years but his performances in 1998 literally persuaded me to go back playing

2-i work with him, and he's the soundest humblest fella you could hope to meet

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 23/07/2021 20:38:33    2363270

Replying To Galway9801:  "Just to point out as well, you seem to have a bit of an issue with galway people mentioning Ja

1-Ja was a super super player, I hadn't played football in years but his performances in 1998 literally persuaded me to go back playing

2-i work with him, and he's the soundest humblest fella you could hope to meet"
oh grand, so thats licence to hijack almost every post about anyother footballer with either "Ja" or Michael Donnellan??..they were excellent footballers, as are and some better that I listed elsewhere and didnt mention..they are good, but no need to wheel them out for every topic, those two are popped out here for most debates..good yes, but not worthy of every single debate comparison...other dogs have had their day too...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 24/07/2021 01:27:14    2363334

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "oh grand, so thats licence to hijack almost every post about anyother footballer with either "Ja" or Michael Donnellan??..they were excellent footballers, as are and some better that I listed elsewhere and didnt mention..they are good, but no need to wheel them out for every topic, those two are popped out here for most debates..good yes, but not worthy of every single debate comparison...other dogs have had their day too..."
"Licence to hijack" what are you on about, if someone wants to post something they believe is relevant off they go, no bother. Reply to it if you want, ignore it if you like, there's enough restrictions at the minute, feel free to post what you want observing normal standards.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 675 - 24/07/2021 12:09:10    2363390

Replying To sligo joe:  ""Licence to hijack" what are you on about, if someone wants to post something they believe is relevant off they go, no bother. Reply to it if you want, ignore it if you like, there's enough restrictions at the minute, feel free to post what you want observing normal standards."
But with Galway replies it all about Ja and Michael Donellan, they were great players, many many more have come (and gone since)...they need to broaden the net abit...good yes, but everyone mentioned here compared to them...Seamus Moynihan one of the best players I ever seen and almost forgotten about...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 24/07/2021 13:26:44    2363414