Galway V Mayo

Replying To togoutlads:  "Ah will you stop, it's not nonsense. Mayo suggested the change. Connacht Council pushed it through. Galway agreed - so we know what we're signing up for. All known, talk to people that know will u. Croke Park pitch dimensions are 145 x 88m, McHale is 137x82 - those meters, especially on the width, being a massive difference re Horan's plans and well documented in sports articles in recent years that the pitch size was seen as a hindrance to Mayo being ready for Croke Park. Horan has planned his team set up for Croker and fair play to him for doing so. As regards Galway, we've to learn to play there and Galway don't really have any excuses as Pearse's pitch is the max allowed 145x90. If be training there if I were PJ."
I agree togoutlads that the pitch width has been cited as hindrance to Mayo's style of play and part of the Newbridge debacle arose from the Kildare pitch being a fair bit narrower still. But while Mayo have lost games at McHale, particularly in the league, they haven't lost a knockout championship game there for more than a decade (not sure when was the last time). When the stakes have been win or bust, as they were against Donegal in 2019 or backdoor games, they've managed a result.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 16/07/2021 12:38:21    2360380

Replying To AfricanGael:  "You're at it again like a good little troll, yourself and that dunnie hillbilly going from room to room , nothing happening in rural Ireland."
Plenty happening in my life.. I don't get on here much.. you on the other hand never leave it... sad.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 17/07/2021 23:30:53    2360886

Replying To Pericles:  "I agree togoutlads that the pitch width has been cited as hindrance to Mayo's style of play and part of the Newbridge debacle arose from the Kildare pitch being a fair bit narrower still. But while Mayo have lost games at McHale, particularly in the league, they haven't lost a knockout championship game there for more than a decade (not sure when was the last time). When the stakes have been win or bust, as they were against Donegal in 2019 or backdoor games, they've managed a result."
They came very close on a few occasions. Armagh a few years back should of won that day

Gumball (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 18/07/2021 09:51:58    2360965

Replying To Gumball:  "They came very close on a few occasions. Armagh a few years back should of won that day"
Yes agreed. They haven't lost but certainly were much closer to teams than they likely would have been had they been playing in Croke Park.

Fermanagh caused us problems in 2016 I think. And Derry I think it was we drew with in normal time in 2017.

We don't play well at MacHale Park (at least the Mayo team of old didn't, lots of new players now). They are resurfacing the MacHale park pitch and I think they might be making it longer. I'm hoping that they see sense and make it wider too.

Anyway I'm delighted the game has been moved to Croke Park, I really think it increases our chances of winning.

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 18/07/2021 11:07:23    2360986

Replying To Gumball:  "They came very close on a few occasions. Armagh a few years back should of won that day"
Coming close does not matter though....does it? Mayo fans are told to shut up about "coming close" to winning finals v Dublin...so by that so what if teams have come close to beating Mayo along the way...they didn't.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 18/07/2021 11:29:22    2360992

Replying To Belclare:  "Plenty happening in my life.. I don't get on here much.. you on the other hand never leave it... sad."
Silage time, how could you.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 18/07/2021 13:12:26    2361012

Replying To Pericles:  "I agree togoutlads that the pitch width has been cited as hindrance to Mayo's style of play and part of the Newbridge debacle arose from the Kildare pitch being a fair bit narrower still. But while Mayo have lost games at McHale, particularly in the league, they haven't lost a knockout championship game there for more than a decade (not sure when was the last time). When the stakes have been win or bust, as they were against Donegal in 2019 or backdoor games, they've managed a result."
The last time mayo lost in crew park to a team other than Dublin was 2012 though.

Mayo are better in crew park than McHale park.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 18/07/2021 13:28:26    2361016

No matter how I try I can't see where Galway can beat Mayo in the final. Galway are very similar to Donegal a decent team with accurate forwards but lacking big time in pace and intensity apart from Walsh and sean Kelly. Kelly will probably try to man mark Mcloughlin and even if he succeeds in thwarting his runs they still have so many others, like Tommy Goals who will run at them all day and score with ease. Galway will need at least 3 goals to win this but it's hard to see it happen. I do not expect to to be as bad as the league game last year but I can't see anything other than a handy enough win for the green and red.

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 97 - 18/07/2021 22:15:29    2361418

Between injuries and retirements and Covid , dont see how Mayo can even give Galway a good game.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 406 - 19/07/2021 09:24:19    2361507

Replying To yew_tree:  "Coming close does not matter though....does it? Mayo fans are told to shut up about "coming close" to winning finals v Dublin...so by that so what if teams have come close to beating Mayo along the way...they didn't."
Getting close up is what Galway and Mayo will be doing the next day! lol

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1818 - 19/07/2021 11:16:14    2361559

Tickets on sale on Ticketmaster through GAA.ie. Queue not too bad now. €35 each. Have to buy a pod of 2,3,4 or 5.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 19/07/2021 12:06:10    2361608

With all the retirements, injuries to players , players with covid and players having to isolate due to being close contacts it is very hard to see Mayo winning this.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 19/07/2021 13:37:43    2361702

Mayo, and with ease.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 19/07/2021 15:04:47    2361734

Replying To Pericles:  "Considering the exciting prospect of seeing Galway and Mayo doing battle at Croker the discourse here is now truly mind numbing.

Will Galway chance going man-for-man is what I'd like to know."
If they do go man for man it will over before they get the first drink of water, they have to have everyone back for the first half anyway. A defensive set up can keep the scoreboard respectable but either way I can't see them being able to deal with Mayo running game sufficiently to win

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1225 - 19/07/2021 15:26:27    2361750

Galway have a lot of advantages going into Final next Sunday, games against Division One Teams and good win away from home against Roscommon. Injuries and Covid in Mayo Camp has upset Mayo's preparation. I can see Galway really fired up for this Game (revenge for final loss last year).

Maritime (Mayo) - Posts: 14 - 19/07/2021 15:38:58    2361757

Interesting to see lots of people outside Mayo, tipping Mayo to win. No Cillian or Diarmuid, no Lee Keegan and covid in the camp. If we had all those players fully fit and no covid then I'd be very confident. I'll be delighted if we win but I'm very weary.

Any word on Brendan Harrison? He has been a huge loss.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 19/07/2021 19:38:44    2361893

Lads, some of ye are talking about teams going man to man. No team ever does that. Some will press high at various stages but if they don't turnover the kick out they all filter back and block the channels. The only difference is the extreme they do it and how they transition the ball to attack. It is never 1 on 1.

Mayo to their credit press a lot and when they break they commit to it and break hard.

Dublin, on the rare occasions they don't have the possession get 14 behind the ball.

Kerry always defend in numbers.

I would like to see Galway full press teams but sometimes I think that is because it is an exciting way to play rather than most effective. Most effective is probably a bit of both.

The transition is crucial. Cooke&Tierney are excellent kick passers and I think we need to utilise this to break quickly when we turn the ball over.

If Shane is fully fit I think we will win. We need both Walsh & Comer playing as if one is missing it is too easy to double up on the other.

Tierney is gifted. His chip from 40 yards that came back off the crossbar against Monaghan gives a glimpse of his talent and vision. Saying that is a lot to ask in his first year to dictate play against Mayo. We all love to slag AOS but we have the height of respect for him. Hugely effective footballer. I think DO'C will be a massive loss if not playing.

Very intriguing game.

For all my musings above we need to win a high percentage of our own kick outs or the rest won't matter!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1835 - 19/07/2021 21:19:50    2361936

Replying To yew_tree:  "Interesting to see lots of people outside Mayo, tipping Mayo to win. No Cillian or Diarmuid, no Lee Keegan and covid in the camp. If we had all those players fully fit and no covid then I'd be very confident. I'll be delighted if we win but I'm very weary.

Any word on Brendan Harrison? He has been a huge loss."
The bookies are of the same opinion as most of those people too. Mayo are decent favourites according to the latest odds and the bookies tend to take all factors into account.
Experience, consistency and reliability are big parts of people's thinking, as well as proven quality of course. We can be almost certain that Mayo will put in a solid performance as a minimum, with anything better than this not too surprising. Galway on the other hand have been liable to deliver something ranging from horrendous to very good. We just don't know what we're going to get.
Mayo's experience and record in Croke Park over the past 10 years is on a different level to Galway's.
Winning on Sunday would be one way to start redressing the balance.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2046 - 20/07/2021 13:05:19    2362104

Replying To WanPintWin:  "The bookies are of the same opinion as most of those people too. Mayo are decent favourites according to the latest odds and the bookies tend to take all factors into account.
Experience, consistency and reliability are big parts of people's thinking, as well as proven quality of course. We can be almost certain that Mayo will put in a solid performance as a minimum, with anything better than this not too surprising. Galway on the other hand have been liable to deliver something ranging from horrendous to very good. We just don't know what we're going to get.
Mayo's experience and record in Croke Park over the past 10 years is on a different level to Galway's.
Winning on Sunday would be one way to start redressing the balance."
Mayo will bring fight and never say die attitude, plenty of running and enthusiasm. That's all we as Mayo fans can ask. If it's not enough on the day and Galway beat us then fair dues and I will be the first in here to congratulate Galway. Cracker of a battle ahead.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 20/07/2021 22:54:22    2362331

Mayo News Connacht Final review.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 22/07/2021 12:52:08    2362821