Galway V Mayo

Replying To AfricanGael:  "You can't blame being battered and bruised if you can't beat Cavan in an Ulster final to begin with.

I never heard anyone from Cavan whingeing last year when they were beaten by a better team in the semi-final, they took their beating like proper men and moved on.

I didn't see Down or Derry doing too much battering this year, I recall your own captain getting the line for kicking an opponent though, and you're complaining about being battered when you face real teams!

What's your excuse for the failure of Ulster teams to win Division one titles on a regular basis? Is it because of being battered and bruised as well, surely not?

The last time an Ulster team won a Division one title was 2008, Donegal and Tyrone only ever won one each, the 3 teams you are whingeing about have won 48 between them and have won 9 titles between them since an Ulster team last won one so maybe Ulster teams just aren't as good as you believe at the moment and that's the crux of it, and it has nothing to do with the excuse of being "battered and bruised".

You've been on here the last few weeks telling us how good Ulster football is and how Dublin, Kerry and Mayo don't get proper tests in their provinces, now your whingeing that Ulster teams are tested too much, so which one is it?

Dublin, Kerry and Mayo would relish playing in Ulster.

If you think the likes of Down, Derry or Cavan last year are serious tests, then Donegal have no business even thinking about competing in Croke Park.

The facts are that while Donegal do have a good squad of players they are far too flaky and are still overly dependent on the same man they were a decade ago and if they don't get their act together they could slip to fourth in Ulster never mind in Ireland so I think you have more than enough to focus on without worrying about other counties.

I'm sure Tyrone or Monaghan will relish a crack at Kerry.

Quit the whingeing and get on with it."
Africa or UK, whatever you are, Cavan cried a river last year after the Dublin match, starting with too much money, home advantage, puke football etc. As for teams getting tested, Dublin, Kerry and Mayo can breeze through their provinces and peak for semi final day. What planet are ye on that ye can't see it.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 26/07/2021 14:20:08    2364294

Replying To Saynothing:  "Africa or UK, whatever you are, Cavan cried a river last year after the Dublin match, starting with too much money, home advantage, puke football etc. As for teams getting tested, Dublin, Kerry and Mayo can breeze through their provinces and peak for semi final day. What planet are ye on that ye can't see it."
When you start off with "Africa or UK", I know I have you beaten already and that I have hit the nail on the head.

Money, home advantage etc. have absolutely nothing to do with whingeing about being battered and bruised, absolutely nothing.

I give out plenty about Dublin's advantages as well but you'll never hear me say that they should be split or that their players aren't putting the work or commitment in or any of that nonsense.

Dublin, Kerry and Mayo would make handy work of Ulster as well, you're just not as good as you think at the moment.

You just hate each other more up north which makes the games more competitive, it doesn't mean you are any good though when you reach Croke Park.

Look at the record of Ulster teams in even winning Division 1, atrocious.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 26/07/2021 15:12:04    2364313

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "It's interesting that there has been absolutely no inquest into the tunnel incident by Sunday Game analysts. Footage quite clearly demonstrating 3 mayo players throwing punches...wonder why it's being covered up...if I was a Dub I'd be asking some serious questions about the RTE agenda."
When the Australians slammed Graham Geraghty to the ground everyone lost there heads and still speak of it. That was a game where they were competing for the ball and the tackle is like rugby. This case a Mayo man sneaks up behind the player with the ball the other end of the field and attacks and slammed the player to the ground. It was worse then what the Australians did and no mention of it on the Sunday game. Mayo bring fan which brings money so the get a free pass.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 26/07/2021 15:19:58    2364317

Replying To yew_tree:  "Was still confident enough at half time. The breeze at pitch pitch level was strong and Mayo had not played at all first half. Once Mayo moved the ball fast we ran over Galway. Kevin McLouglains introduction was big. We had runners of the shoulder and were coming at Galway in waves.

A game of two halves of ever there was one. Will we beat Dublin? Probably not but it will be an interesting game."
Great to see Mayo with their mojo back in the second half, threw off the shackles and poured forward in numbers. Lovely chip pass by McLoughlin to Aidan O Shea in the lead up to the penalty. If you can replicate that second half intensity for 70mins + in the semi final you can rattle any opponent. You will find the majority of us getting behind you , including some of those having a pop or winding you up on this forum.
On a personal note I was delighted to see Paul Conroy moving so well in the first half after that horrific leg break a few years ago.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 26/07/2021 15:26:36    2364321

Great result in the end, it was like 2 different games the way the halfs went, Mayo scored alot more when they were on top than Glaway did when they were on top.

Mayo were very slow and lethargic in the first half, playing a sweeper that wasnt working and support play going forward wasnt there. Galway had a good defensive shape and had good numbers forward when attacking and were making inroads.

Mayo made changes, 2 McLoughlins made big difference and man for man at the back and changed the match ups and more importantly Aidan O Shea into full forward where he is most dangerous and not slowing things down around the middle and Galway lads easily getting around him, he got in the way to allow Shane Walsh setup the second goal.
Ruane is powerful runner, Galway could not handle him in the second half, Galway bunched the middle third and left to much space in there defense for Mayo to run into, and when Galway had numbers back were not effective, Ruanes goal and a point Tommy Conroy got really showed this up, they both running past 4 or 5 Galway lads with no stopping them or getting a hit on them.

From what I saw of the Shane Walsh incident, he came across O Hora to stop his run and as O hora was falling, he grabbed Walsh and made sure he fell with him, so either it was the way O Hora grabbed him or the way Walsh fell on the shoulder is what caused the damage..if Joyce wants to complain about it let him off, but there was not much to be whinging about there.

People complaining about Mayo starting the scuffle in the Tunnel, its not even worth talking about, but you can see from the video it was Heaney starting it and then its Heaney and Mullkerrins shoving O Shea.. so again more whinging from certain Galway fans over nothing.

I'm waiting (ill be waiting a long time I know) for the comments from Galway people condemning there own support for cheering and celebrating the Mayo wides and whistling and roaring at Mayo free takers since it seems to bother them so much when they accuse Mayo fans of doing it..when Mayo kicked wides in the first half they were getting a bigger roar from Galway fans than when a Galway lad scored..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 26/07/2021 15:55:04    2364337

Replying To brisbane:  "When the Australians slammed Graham Geraghty to the ground everyone lost there heads and still speak of it. That was a game where they were competing for the ball and the tackle is like rugby. This case a Mayo man sneaks up behind the player with the ball the other end of the field and attacks and slammed the player to the ground. It was worse then what the Australians did and no mention of it on the Sunday game. Mayo bring fan which brings money so the get a free pass."
Time for the crying to end for our supporters RE shane walsh & ohora. Walsh tried to obstruct ohoras run and ohora rightfully decided to sort that issue out. he didnt try to stop him again. Mayo have received their fair share of that treatment from Johnaton cooper philly mahon and johnathon small. It was well time mayo found their own version to take care of things. unfortunately for them it may have been 5 years too late!!!

Galway4Sam!!!!!!! (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 26/07/2021 16:22:45    2364349

Replying To brisbane:  "When the Australians slammed Graham Geraghty to the ground everyone lost there heads and still speak of it. That was a game where they were competing for the ball and the tackle is like rugby. This case a Mayo man sneaks up behind the player with the ball the other end of the field and attacks and slammed the player to the ground. It was worse then what the Australians did and no mention of it on the Sunday game. Mayo bring fan which brings money so the get a free pass."
''his case a Mayo man sneaks up behind the player with the ball the other end of the field and attacks and slammed the player to the ground''

Did the mayo player rub his hands together in a menacing manner with an evil grimace on his face as he slowly tip toed up behind Shane Walsh?

If it was so random and vicious why didn't the officials behind the goals call it?

On telly it looked like the two of them came together in the background as they were coming out

nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 26/07/2021 16:31:49    2364354

Have you posted this accusation to every thread on this site?

Reeks of sour grapes, just like PJ himself. O'Hora didn't come from behind him. Walsh stepped across to stop his run. If you want to play dirty, you better be sure that you have the bottle to finish the job.

Walsh,like every Galway team since the early 2000s, is as soft as butter. Wilted in the heat of battle time and again.

Mac&Cheese (Mayo) - Posts: 9 - 26/07/2021 16:38:39    2364357

Replying To Mac&Cheese:  "Have you posted this accusation to every thread on this site?

Reeks of sour grapes, just like PJ himself. O'Hora didn't come from behind him. Walsh stepped across to stop his run. If you want to play dirty, you better be sure that you have the bottle to finish the job.

Walsh,like every Galway team since the early 2000s, is as soft as butter. Wilted in the heat of battle time and again."

If you're going to accuse Galway of the above, what does that make Mayo over the last decade when it came to finals in Croke Park? You couldn't get get over the line. Let's see if Mayo can break the habit of a lifetime and not sh*t in the shorts if they get to an All-Ireland.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 26/07/2021 17:26:25    2364374

Replying To Mac&Cheese:  "Have you posted this accusation to every thread on this site?

Would it be fair to say that Mayo were 'soft as butter' as well up to 2010? 2011 was the sea change, and the 5 in a row. Mayo have been generally at a better level than Galway 2011-2021 (last 11 seasons), despite the aberration of losing 3 in a row championship games to an inferior Galway side 2016-2018.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3456 - 26/07/2021 17:59:18    2364386

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Agreed. I think it should have been allowed too. It was only a slight nudge with the hip, like all good forwards do when jostling for position.
We could have easily conceded 6 or 7 goals in the end. Sean Kelly was a big loss for sure, but our problems ran much deeper than that."
The pass from Conor Loftus was a thing of beauty.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 26/07/2021 18:05:01    2364389

Since we won in 2001 I'd agree.
Mayo like every team since 1959 bottle it on the biggest day...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 26/07/2021 18:35:28    2364408

Replying To Belclare:  "Since we won in 2001 I'd agree.
Mayo like every team since 1959 bottle it on the biggest day..."
We won it in 59? Class.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/07/2021 19:24:10    2364422

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Would it be fair to say that Mayo were 'soft as butter' as well up to 2010? 2011 was the sea change, and the 5 in a row. Mayo have been generally at a better level than Galway 2011-2021 (last 11 seasons), despite the aberration of losing 3 in a row championship games to an inferior Galway side 2016-2018."
I think it would be fair to say that Mayo teams pre 2011 we're soft, certainly mentally when it came to the biggest day.

Mac&Cheese (Mayo) - Posts: 9 - 26/07/2021 19:25:55    2364423

Replying To Marse:  "On current form, I would put it:

1.Kerry
2.Mayo
3.Dublin"
Oh, mind games!!!!! Kildare????

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 26/07/2021 19:33:45    2364428

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Sure Mayo are Rte's wee darlings don't you know, if that halftime brawl involved an Ulster team they'd be pouring over every camera angle to see who they could find guilty of thinking of throwing a punch.
Looking forward to the Dublin mayo match already, if there's a chance of beating Dublin for Mayo it's at semi final stage, Dublin Kerry final is still the most likely outcome, that would be some game.
Maybe Tyrone or Monaghan will upset the whole applecart though and bring Sam north, we live in hope."
And not a mention of curse and swear Kildare!!!!

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 26/07/2021 19:38:15    2364431

Replying To MillerX:  "And not a mention of curse and swear Kildare!!!!"
Haven't looked at a game in Leinster or only very briefly might have seen a few highlights, I'm sure Kildare will put up a good fight but I doubt they'll trouble the Dubs that much.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 26/07/2021 20:02:09    2364442

Mayo will take Dublin in semi and Kerry to beat Mayo in a great final. Mayo likely to be 2nd best team in country once more and wonder what might have been had they had Killian O'connor. Excellent young players with energy to overcome a bellow par Dublin but Kerry will have too much firepower in a shootout. Really disappointed from Galway having been in an excellent position. Joyce does not appear to have what is needed to get most out of their talent. Always negative comments afterwards aswell. Cork extremely poor too. They are not progressing.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 26/07/2021 20:17:37    2364452

Replying To winatallcost:  "Mayo will take Dublin in semi and Kerry to beat Mayo in a great final. Mayo likely to be 2nd best team in country once more and wonder what might have been had they had Killian O'connor. Excellent young players with energy to overcome a bellow par Dublin but Kerry will have too much firepower in a shootout. Really disappointed from Galway having been in an excellent position. Joyce does not appear to have what is needed to get most out of their talent. Always negative comments afterwards aswell. Cork extremely poor too. They are not progressing."
Mayo would crap the togs against Kerry, game would be over by the first water break. Now if the Ulster champs beat Kerry then that's a whole new ball game.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 26/07/2021 20:29:08    2364460

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Mayo would crap the togs against Kerry, game would be over by the first water break. Now if the Ulster champs beat Kerry then that's a whole new ball game."
Superb analysis there. But it isn't 2006 buddy.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/07/2021 21:27:52    2364483