Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views???

Replying To KillingFields:  "I hope England win.
So many of those who will be claiming anyone but england will go back in few weeks time to crying their endless support for the same players in the premier league."
Are you English? If not, what's wrong with Italy? Why do you hope England beat them?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 08/07/2021 14:32:18    2357689

If England win so be it. As for cheating. We're nt they cheated against in 86 by Maradona and most of us had no problem. Nor worried either way but I do think it's funny that guys I know hate England but would prefer to see their beloved Premiership teams win over their county in gaa. Also the majority would support their English club team in action versus a league of ireland team. This I find strange.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3680 - 08/07/2021 14:33:15    2357690

Replying To Saynothing:  "Difference is pulling a player to the ground is not cheating, against the rules yes, that's why it's a foul, if a forward pulled a defender to the ground it's a foul like any other."
"Cheating in sports is the intentional breaking of rules in order to obtain an advantage over the other teams or players"

If you can show me how pulling players to the ground does not go against the rules, then fair play to you.

We all know the difference between a foul and the premeditated act of pulling players to the ground.

I've looked at the Sterling incident several times while there is no doubt that Sterling made the most of it I can now see why VAR upheld the penalty decision.

The bigger mistake was to allow the game to continue with two footballs on the pitch.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/07/2021 14:34:33    2357693

I hope the italians batter them too, but i have to ask what is the point in starting this thread on a GAA website, i came on here to escape all the 'footballs coming home' hype

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 08/07/2021 14:36:17    2357695

England?

Booing national anthem of Denmark and fans pointing lasers in keepers face. Any GPS throwing?
Diving for penalty etc.
Italy way better side. I don't follow premier league or anything, not my scene.

There would be decent English soccer fans also like Boris and Willy lol and regular steak and kidney pie loving Brits.
Hope it is a fair game and let the best team win.

Forza Azzurri Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1675 - 08/07/2021 14:36:27    2357697

Italy will catch them on the counter, about 5 times :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 08/07/2021 14:37:04    2357698

The usual suspects trying to derail the thread. Anyway Italy to hockey the Brits and I'll love every second of it.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 08/07/2021 14:42:16    2357700

Replying To HuddHastings:  "I hope the italians batter them too, but i have to ask what is the point in starting this thread on a GAA website, i came on here to escape all the 'footballs coming home' hype"
The Italians don't go out to "batter" teams, they're far more sophisticated than that, a 1 nil is good enough.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/07/2021 14:54:28    2357704

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Are you English? If not, what's wrong with Italy? Why do you hope England beat them?"
No im not but have far more affiliation with England than Italy and would be same for majority of people here
All those who comment calling Man utd, arsenal etc "we" are utter hypocrites if they will then just go against England in this especially with no ireland team even competing in the tournament
There is also fact that Grealish, Rice represented Ireland at age grade level then Kane, Harry Maguire were also eligible to play for Ireland means the ties are far greater than anything within italian set up....

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3513 - 08/07/2021 14:58:48    2357708

Replying To realdub:  "Italy will catch them on the counter, about 5 times :D"
And they have 3 disallowed goals!!

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 08/07/2021 14:58:56    2357709

Replying To Rosineri1:  "I have lived in England for the past twenty years and a lot of my best friends are English, go the games proud English people. Although I would not bemoan England winning it for them I still can never bring myself to cheer on an England team. The current batch of players seem a likeable bunch bar the odd exception (Maguire for example), Rashford has been great in what he has done regarding free school meals, Henderson and Sterling have also spoken out on social issues. Southgate himself wrote a great piece on the team taking the knee. The current team also a thumb into the face to those people who want to keep England English, they are a great advertisement for the benefits of immigration, and it is great to see that the team are being supported by a much more diverse following than in the past.

But the reason I cannot support then is that the English football team appear to bring out the worst in certain English people. It is a minority but a vocal minority as demonstrating in the friendlies prior to the tournament when they booed their own players when they took the knee, versus Scotland when because they weren't beating little Scotland they booed the team off at half time and then last night they started to boo the Danish national anthem. Sadly the England national team seems to attract a large number of these bigoted morons. You also see people who may in polite company keep their views on certain matters to themselves when they get caught up in a crowd like this will quite happily start expressing their real feelings ( I have seen these first hand). Don't think I even need to mention what the English - Londoncentric media are like. One last point how can you want a team to win so that it allows Priti Patel to post victorious messages all over social media."
Hmmmm... You lecture others on your progressive virtues, then coincidentally decide to single out one of Englands most powerful politicians, who just happens to be one of the few powerful women of colour there, for your little dig. Freudian slip perhaps?

In any event those two eejits on talksport, cundy and Goldstein have been unbearable throughout this tournament, them, and the fact I love the Italians pride in their anthem and their jersey has me hoping for an italy win. I think they'll do it too, maybe 2-1.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1731 - 08/07/2021 15:02:57    2357712

Not a chance, I hope Italy spoil their party. They kept a lid on the usual hyped up nonsense until the Ukraine game. Now they're unbearable again. Italy have too much class I think for them anyway. A narrow Italian win and the only thing coming home will be their damaged, deflated notions of grandeur.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 08/07/2021 15:03:46    2357713

I'm not a soccer man, but I do find it the height of hypocrisy where soccer fans will cheer and idolize a club player for the entire season then boo them for their national side.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 08/07/2021 15:11:45    2357717

Replying To HuddHastings:  "I hope the italians batter them too, but i have to ask what is the point in starting this thread on a GAA website, i came on here to escape all the 'footballs coming home' hype"
And I have to ask what is the point of clicking on a thread that is clearly about the Euros when you are trying to escape the hype you refer too. A touch masochistic, no???

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/07/2021 15:15:02    2357719

the gaelic must be bad when the discussion turns to england . i hope the english win but i fear the azzuri will be a step too far . westmeath v kildare on sunday week is more important to me

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1806 - 08/07/2021 15:19:34    2357722

Why does this stupid debate come up every time there's a tournament? Most people in Ireland won't support England and there are numerous obvious reasons why.
I'll be shouting for Italy in the final as will pretty much anyone I know. That's that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2053 - 08/07/2021 15:21:14    2357724

Replying To avonali:  "And I have to ask what is the point of clicking on a thread that is clearly about the Euros when you are trying to escape the hype you refer too. A touch masochistic, no???"
In fairness Avon I think his point was that hoganstand is a gaa site

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3680 - 08/07/2021 15:22:14    2357725

Replying To KillingFields:  "No im not but have far more affiliation with England than Italy and would be same for majority of people here
All those who comment calling Man utd, arsenal etc "we" are utter hypocrites if they will then just go against England in this especially with no ireland team even competing in the tournament
There is also fact that Grealish, Rice represented Ireland at age grade level then Kane, Harry Maguire were also eligible to play for Ireland means the ties are far greater than anything within italian set up...."
Chiellini's oul boy was from enniskillen. Met his father at mass the other week.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 08/07/2021 15:25:15    2357728

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "If England win so be it. As for cheating. We're nt they cheated against in 86 by Maradona and most of us had no problem. Nor worried either way but I do think it's funny that guys I know hate England but would prefer to see their beloved Premiership teams win over their county in gaa. Also the majority would support their English club team in action versus a league of ireland team. This I find strange."
You're spot on there, when Liverpool won the League there were parades all over Ireland from small villages to big towns.

A figure of 35,000 Dublin supporters has often been mentioned even by John Costello but without doubt there are more supporters of English clubs in Dublin than there are of the Dublin footballers.

Back in 1996 there was a campaign to move Wimbledon to Dublin and call them the "Dublin Dons".

Is it a complete and utter inferiority complex, a demonstration of an immature people or is the whole thing just beyond psychoanalysis ?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/07/2021 15:27:12    2357729

Replying To St.Conleth:  "And they have 3 disallowed goals!!"
:D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 08/07/2021 15:29:21    2357730