Derry V Donegal

Great match! Good back and forth battle, great scores from distance, dramatic finish, hello championship its been a while!!

Hard luck to Derry, if one of those goal chances were taken they'd be leaving Ballybofey with a victory. They've had a great season and should hold their heads up at giving a great account of themselves and plenty to work at and hopefully build themselves into a force once again, one that the GAA badly needs.

Donegal will be happy to get over the line in this one after a lackluster first half. The finish should give them a feel good factor heading into the semi which is hopefully another close contest.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 11/07/2021 17:57:56    2358694

Exciting game.

Derry played excellently. Donegal struggled for long periods.

Big weekend of football next week!!!!

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 11/07/2021 17:58:42    2358696

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Good competitive game. bit nervey from our boys, Derry doing well, don't think Tyrone will be too worried looking at either team,
looks like a bit of complacency from us again today, can't fathom why they haven't learned their lesson by now, BBC panel is great craic, expect a better scoring 2nd half, Ulster Championship is brilliant.
CMON DONEGAL!!!"
Ulster championship so competitive, all four semi finalists are genuine contenders and will fancy their own chances. Happy for Niall O'Donnell, had a nightmare shooting bad wides first half but kept going and backed himself to take on difficult shots when game slipping away from them. McGonagle led the fight back as well. Great match, enjoyed it.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 11/07/2021 18:04:26    2358699

Hard luck Derry

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 11/07/2021 18:11:12    2358703

Very enjoyable game and an incredible point by McBrearty to win it for Donegal. Derry will be gutted but the future looks bright for them.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 11/07/2021 18:13:47    2358704

Had Derry taken their chances we would have been well beat. Some great scoring from both sides but that point from Mc Brearty at that time was unreal. It was the first time he shook off Mc Caigue who had been brilliant.
We stood off Derry far too much and they punished us. If we play with that intensity next week Tyrone will destroy us.
At least it was a competitive game if not high quality.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 11/07/2021 18:16:07    2358707

Replying To joeteor:  "haha going on this weekend of football Donegal won't be playing after next weekend"
As I said on the Cavan Tyrone thread Tyrone are absolutely awful. Yous are light years ahead of us in all aspects of the game. Donegal by at least 6-7 next Sunday.

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 11/07/2021 18:16:50    2358709

Replying To Saynothing:  "Why not shoot, not the first time I've seen it."
Most teams are the same. Coached out of taking risks. It's all about possession and not giving away the ball. My own county done the same in 2016 in drawn connacht final,lads afraid to have a go. It's killing football.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 11/07/2021 18:19:22    2358710

Great game, lousy conditions but both teams went toe to toe.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 11/07/2021 18:39:12    2358720

Brilliant game. Ulster championship producing yet again. I thought Derry had it. Donegal folding under pressure again as I predicted but fair play to them and McBrearty for pulling it out of the bag. I thought McKaigue did a great job on him. I was surprised. They stepped up.

Monaghan to win Ulster this year is my prediction. Donegal seem to have trouble getting to the pitch of a high pressure game but I msybe today was a big turning point for them.

Well done to both teams today. Really looking forward to the rest of the Ulster championship.

They rest of the All Ireland championship is a foregone conclusion unfortunately . Kerry, Dublin and Mayo to win their provinces easily. Kerry and Dublin final with Dublin to win pulling up.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 11/07/2021 19:35:44    2358732

Shout out to Derry and their supporters tonight. Probably deserved the win but gotta take one of those goal chances. While I wouldn't be a big fan of Gallagher after his time in Donegal he seems to be doing a decent job there. Getting the best players in the county to play is the main battle where he seems to have succeeded with any amount of talent to come through Derry are definitely on the up. Also a shout out to those who didn't bite when their caution was questioned on here. There is no question of the talent in Donegal but there is about their mental strength and after today the management also who completely lost the battle of the sidelines today. Saying that the team showed great character summed up by Niall O'Donnell who didn't shy away despite some misses in the first half. The introductions of Brennan, Murphy and MacNialais made a huge difference. Great to have the last named back, he oozes class and brought real composure and class when he came on. Big improvement needed next week. Hopefully Murphy is good to go. In ways today reminded me of the Cavan game last year and Mayo during a couple of their close calls when navigating through the qualifiers including against Derry a couple of years ago.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 11/07/2021 20:18:17    2358743

Replying To sam2008:  "As I said on the Cavan Tyrone thread Tyrone are absolutely awful. Yous are light years ahead of us in all aspects of the game. Donegal by at least 6-7 next Sunday."
Tyrone are a level or two below previous years but if you watched that today and don't think ye have a chance forget about it. Entertaining game but extremely low standard. Derry improving but were D3. Ulster extremely competitive but winner will be by far the weakest of the provincial winners.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 11/07/2021 20:31:29    2358748

Replying To sam2008:  "As I said on the Cavan Tyrone thread Tyrone are absolutely awful. Yous are light years ahead of us in all aspects of the game. Donegal by at least 6-7 next Sunday."
Yerra yerra Sam2008, that won't work, we were very lucky today in fairness, just about managed to beat a div 3 team, Tyrone are strong favs now for Ulster, question is, can Tyrone beat Kerry? hope we can get to within 5 or 6 points of Tyrone anyway.yerra yerra

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 11/07/2021 20:33:44    2358749

Today showed the importance of Murphy to Donegal. Given the talent they have, it does say something about the man.

They'll win ulster if he can stay fit.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 11/07/2021 21:02:49    2358760

Think it is very unfair that a team that lost today by a point are in the same position and gone from the competition as a team that lost by 24 points and were never at the races.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/07/2021 21:03:02    2358762

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yerra yerra Sam2008, that won't work, we were very lucky today in fairness, just about managed to beat a div 3 team, Tyrone are strong favs now for Ulster, question is, can Tyrone beat Kerry? hope we can get to within 5 or 6 points of Tyrone anyway.yerra yerra"
Thought this game will bring on Donnies big time but still seem to me to lacking the pace to trouble Kerry dubs or ourselves if we were to meet. What were Derry at in added minute, playing like they were a point ir 2 up. In defensive set ups players are forbidden to ask at meetings what are we to do if we are behind? The system must be preserved with regardless.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 500 - 11/07/2021 21:09:36    2358768

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Think it is very unfair that a team that lost today by a point are in the same position and gone from the competition as a team that lost by 24 points and were never at the races."
Whole format needs to change. straight knockout as main competition and a system where counties will play more competitive games in January, February and March than rest of year is totally messed up

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3511 - 11/07/2021 21:16:34    2358772

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Think it is very unfair that a team that lost today by a point are in the same position and gone from the competition as a team that lost by 24 points and were never at the races."
Have to say I agree. Derry would have been a great addition to a back door competition

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 11/07/2021 21:16:36    2358773

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yerra yerra Sam2008, that won't work, we were very lucky today in fairness, just about managed to beat a div 3 team, Tyrone are strong favs now for Ulster, question is, can Tyrone beat Kerry? hope we can get to within 5 or 6 points of Tyrone anyway.yerra yerra"
Ah come off it. No way you think that. Only the other day you tried belittle me and said you could write my football knowledge on the back of a stamp when I claimed Tyrone were better. Now all of a sudden you have them favourites. Have you finally came out of the fog? Or are you trying to play down chances after weak performance today.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 11/07/2021 21:23:13    2358775

Dub saves Donegal again :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2578 - 11/07/2021 21:48:35    2358785