Senior Football Championship 2021

Ratoath are a prime example of proper dual club now as much as that pains me to say , and a good one at that , fair play to them , just goes to show its possible. plenty of clubs try blame hurling on their own failures when in reality its just a easy excuse.

Did posters also consider the ratoath lads play hurling because they enjoy it?
You would swear a gun was held to their head.

Gaa is gaa , both are great games , cop on

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 27/10/2021 18:24:46    2387647

Replying To hurlit:  "Ratoath are a prime example of proper dual club now as much as that pains me to say , and a good one at that , fair play to them , just goes to show its possible. plenty of clubs try blame hurling on their own failures when in reality its just a easy excuse.

Did posters also consider the ratoath lads play hurling because they enjoy it?
You would swear a gun was held to their head.

Gaa is gaa , both are great games , cop on"
I can tell you that there is absolutely no Hurling / football rift in Ratoath
The same lads play both and the lads that don't are all mates
And the "committee" has absolutely never tried to influence how the training is structured
This is lead by the management and players from both codes and that's a fact

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 28/10/2021 17:32:06    2387753

Must say, I've seen some funny criticisms of Ratoath over the last 5-10 years, but criticising the club for basically being too good at both football and hurling is up there with the most ridiculous.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 29/10/2021 09:04:30    2387782

This thread is in relation to Senior Football championship so lets keep it about that, Ratoath were good champions and will be back but its now about 4 teams who have something left to play for.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 29/10/2021 09:43:15    2387786

Replying To Analyst:  "This thread is in relation to Senior Football championship so lets keep it about that, Ratoath were good champions and will be back but its now about 4 teams who have something left to play for."
Agreed

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 29/10/2021 15:07:43    2387830

Replying To Analyst:  "This thread is in relation to Senior Football championship so lets keep it about that, Ratoath were good champions and will be back but its now about 4 teams who have something left to play for."
I fully agree, Ratoath have been great champions. Now what's your predictions on the final. Dunboyne have been favourites from the start and look a sure bet . The Tones are there on merit and playing their third final in two months. They flopped in the other two. Dunboyne look to have quality all over the field and this could end in a crushing defeat for Tones again.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 29/10/2021 15:21:56    2387833

Replying To latouche25:  "I fully agree, Ratoath have been great champions. Now what's your predictions on the final. Dunboyne have been favourites from the start and look a sure bet . The Tones are there on merit and playing their third final in two months. They flopped in the other two. Dunboyne look to have quality all over the field and this could end in a crushing defeat for Tones again."
Definitely fancy Dunboyne to win but I'd be very surprised if its a crushing defeat. Tones have way too much steel and experience to let that happen as well as firepower. I think it will be close but tones will run out of steam in the last 10 and Dunboynes superior conditioning and their athletic prowess to see them home

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 30/10/2021 12:41:25    2387881

Replying To latouche25:  "I fully agree, Ratoath have been great champions. Now what's your predictions on the final. Dunboyne have been favourites from the start and look a sure bet . The Tones are there on merit and playing their third final in two months. They flopped in the other two. Dunboyne look to have quality all over the field and this could end in a crushing defeat for Tones again."
Yeah it is great for Tones to be on the same pitch as a Dunboyne side sprinkled with great county players, the two Mc Entees, Leno, Two Lowndes bros, former Cavan superstar Bradley, Mc Coy, Lavin, Finn, Jones bros. I think if Tones show up on the day they could keep the score respectable but hopefully we get a decent game and then all get behind Dunboyne in Leinster

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 30/10/2021 14:06:12    2387892

Replying To Analyst:  "Yeah it is great for Tones to be on the same pitch as a Dunboyne side sprinkled with great county players, the two Mc Entees, Leno, Two Lowndes bros, former Cavan superstar Bradley, Mc Coy, Lavin, Finn, Jones bros. I think if Tones show up on the day they could keep the score respectable but hopefully we get a decent game and then all get behind Dunboyne in Leinster"
Sarcasm I assume LOL. Or at least I hope it was sarcasm
.Dunboyne are favourites for sure and justified favourites but certainly wouldn't have Tones without a chance. Dunboyne are good but not that good that they couldn't be caught by a decent Senior team which tones are. And I certainly wouldn't be disrespecting Tones by implying they should honored to be sharing the same pitch at Dunboyne..... And there is absolutely no way anyone in the Dunboyne camp will be thinking like that either .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 30/10/2021 17:33:43    2387899

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Sarcasm I assume LOL. Or at least I hope it was sarcasm
.Dunboyne are favourites for sure and justified favourites but certainly wouldn't have Tones without a chance. Dunboyne are good but not that good that they couldn't be caught by a decent Senior team which tones are. And I certainly wouldn't be disrespecting Tones by implying they should honored to be sharing the same pitch at Dunboyne..... And there is absolutely no way anyone in the Dunboyne camp will be thinking like that either ."
I suspect it was an odd attempt at sarcasm but in relation to what I have no idea, no one here or elsewhere has written off Tones or suggested this will be a formality for Dunboyne. In fact most I spoke with in lead up to Sundays game fancied Tones, it wasn't a shock to many.

I will add as a Dunboyne man I was confident from the outset we could win it back this year from what I saw from beginning of the league and from last year where I thought we were very good bar 20 minutes of madness v Kells which ended the year due to format, and coming out the wrong end of a classic as has been quite common for us in recent years. But certainly not under any illusion on Tones, they're there fully on merit, I thought they should have beaten Kells earlier in campaign too thus Sunday wasn't a fluke by any stretch. They deservedly beat us last time we met in championship out in Skyrne too.

Hoping for decent weather in any case which in turn should give us a good game, last weeks conditions really didn't help. There's a lot more football in Dunboyne than displayed in the semis which anyone whose watched this team would vouch for, while Tones have the players to go toe to toe with anyone so fingers crossed we get a good spectacle.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 30/10/2021 21:00:43    2387918

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Definitely fancy Dunboyne to win but I'd be very surprised if its a crushing defeat. Tones have way too much steel and experience to let that happen as well as firepower. I think it will be close but tones will run out of steam in the last 10 and Dunboynes superior conditioning and their athletic prowess to see them home"
Football is goin to be the winner here i feel.athletes over traditional ball players.Lots of sideways stuff from dunboyne and kicking thru the lines for tones.managers with different approaches can see an upset here hope the tones push on.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 31/10/2021 11:07:14    2387944

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Football is goin to be the winner here i feel.athletes over traditional ball players.Lots of sideways stuff from dunboyne and kicking thru the lines for tones.managers with different approaches can see an upset here hope the tones push on."
I don't completely disagree with you. I do think Dunboyne will shade it but As i said in a previous post I don't have tones without a chance and your bang on about it being too contrasting styles. As a neutral I'm really looking forward to the game. It would be fantastic if we got a day like today weather wise for it.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 31/10/2021 13:36:13    2387956

I think Dunboyne will win this comfortably if they perform. Wolfe Tones are punching above their weight getting this far. Ratoath were absolutely atrocious against them and never played at all. To much being made of Tones performance. They had a huge wind in the first half and still just sat back defensively and when they did have the ball they hoofed in ridiculous high balls that they got zero results from. Shooting from crazy positions as well. Cian Ward was hardly in the game at all against Ratoath until after the penalty, when he did play very well, using the ball smartly and kicking a big free. I can see Dunboyne going after Wolfe Tones kick out and if they are successful with that it could be tough day for Wolfe Tones.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 31/10/2021 18:00:09    2387980

Is this a real sign that was put up around Gibbstown? Why on earth would a business want to put their name to something so stupid?

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 03/11/2021 10:25:05    2388238

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "link

Is this a real sign that was put up around Gibbstown? Why on earth would a business want to put their name to something so stupid?"
All publicity is good publicity to some people!!!!! Important thing people realize is that this sign has nothing to do with Wolf Tones GAA club whatsoever .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 03/11/2021 11:52:37    2388257

Is this a real sign that was put up around Gibbstown? Why on earth would a business want to put their name to something so stupid?"
But sure everyone knows it is Ashbourne Co. Dublin, and Ratoath Co. Dublin... ;o)

ONLY JOKING... ;o)

Bit of a mad sign to put up though....

Maybe that is why Ratoath are so disliked within Meath GAA.??? lol

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 03/11/2021 12:09:29    2388261

Replying To Fionn:  "

But sure everyone knows it is Ashbourne Co. Dublin, and Ratoath Co. Dublin... ;o)

ONLY JOKING... ;o)

Bit of a mad sign to put up though....

Maybe that is why Ratoath are so disliked within Meath GAA.??? lol"
Of course I meant Dunboyne.... ooops.

Another part of Dublin... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 03/11/2021 12:22:37    2388264

Replying To Blackspot09:  "

All publicity is good publicity to some people!!!!! Important thing people realize is that this sign has nothing to do with Wolf Tones GAA club whatsoever ."
Yep, I think you hit the nail on the head there.

All about Publicity for the company in question.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 03/11/2021 13:04:29    2388270

Replying To Fionn:  "
Replying To Blackspot09:  "[quote=Ratoath Royal:  "link

All publicity is good publicity to some people!!!!! Important thing people realize is that this sign has nothing to do with Wolf Tones GAA club whatsoever ."
Yep, I think you hit the nail on the head there.

All about Publicity for the company in question....."]im going to link in the last two items together. First thing to say is , heartfelt commiserations to the Ferguson Family on the passing of Snitchy. His passing will be a huge loss for The family. In addition The GAA have lost a true Gentleman who embodied so many of the original ideals of who that organisation seeks to be . Others will post , write and speak better about this mans contribution , but i only want to mention one thing, which is the concept of being true to your own County. Snitchy & his family understood what that meant. He was a loyal & proud Dub, but once the family left the capital he reared his sons and daughters to be proud meath folk. There is a lesson to all those who give out about "dubs" or any other " blow ins"....its not about being a Dub...its about understanding that within the GAA is the idea that each generation grow up loyal to their Parish/Their County....not the county of our fathers or mothers...this is something we need to foster, and where better to seek an example than with the Ferguson Family of Kells .

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 03/11/2021 14:24:55    2388280

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I think Dunboyne will win this comfortably if they perform. Wolfe Tones are punching above their weight getting this far. Ratoath were absolutely atrocious against them and never played at all. To much being made of Tones performance. They had a huge wind in the first half and still just sat back defensively and when they did have the ball they hoofed in ridiculous high balls that they got zero results from. Shooting from crazy positions as well. Cian Ward was hardly in the game at all against Ratoath until after the penalty, when he did play very well, using the ball smartly and kicking a big free. I can see Dunboyne going after Wolfe Tones kick out and if they are successful with that it could be tough day for Wolfe Tones."
I totally agree, It's going to be like a light weight getting into the ring with a heavy weight. They can punch all they want but ultimately they're going to lose. The Tones have bottled it twice this year and were soundly thrashed on both occasions. They're only the 8th or 9th ranked team in Senior against the number 1 team.. On Sunday Dunboyne will give them the Father and Mother of a spanking. This has all the hall marks of a total mismatch and one of the worst beatings in a county final in living memory. I expect Dunboyne to win by a point a man.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 03/11/2021 14:38:32    2388283