2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To ballydalane:  "Yes I'm aware of the incident, a cut on the nose from an All Ireland Final 10 years ago which Brian Gavin himself was happy to acknowledge was completely accidental, and did not see fit to even book much less send off Tommy Walsh. Indeed Gavin was perfectly fine to referee the remainder of the match with a plaster on his nose, some achievement for a man who was "split open" as you say! (or, whisper it, maybe you're ever so slightly exaggerating what happened for dramatic effect).

I see Tommy getting a few references on this thread. The lad's been retired 6 or 7 years and he still triggers people! I'll say this for him though, anytime he did overstep the mark, he didn't go rolling round on the ground trying to get out of a yellow or red card. He stayed on his feet, faced the ref square in the eye and took whatever punishment was coming to him like a man. Peter Casey and Cian Lynch, please take note."
You're getting boring now. PLEASE move on..

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 25/08/2021 17:58:47    2374748

Statistical analysis of All Ireland Final Limerick v Cork, Q2

https://limerickhurling.blogspot.com/2021/08/all-ireland-final-q2-stats.html

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 25/08/2021 18:11:37    2374753

Replying To Oldtourman:  "These boys have three All Ireland Medals in their **** pockets, and they might even find room for one or two more. I am sure they are worried about damaging their reputations in the same way Kilkenny were worrying about theirs, when they were sweeping all before them, while playing on the edge. As your own iconic Manager said 'Winners are winners and losers make excuses'. In passing, in the last four years I cant recall a single case in which an opposition player had a bone broken inflicted on him by a Limerick player. I would also add that John Doyle once said that 'winning is not the most important thing; its the only thing'. Basically, as Viking rightly points out, a team without a 'bit of cutting' is at nothing."
Ok and is Kiely behind it or woukd he give them a hard time over it?

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 25/08/2021 18:24:09    2374754

Replying To ballydalane:  "Yes I'm aware of the incident, a cut on the nose from an All Ireland Final 10 years ago which Brian Gavin himself was happy to acknowledge was completely accidental, and did not see fit to even book much less send off Tommy Walsh. Indeed Gavin was perfectly fine to referee the remainder of the match with a plaster on his nose, some achievement for a man who was "split open" as you say! (or, whisper it, maybe you're ever so slightly exaggerating what happened for dramatic effect).

I see Tommy getting a few references on this thread. The lad's been retired 6 or 7 years and he still triggers people! I'll say this for him though, anytime he did overstep the mark, he didn't go rolling round on the ground trying to get out of a yellow or red card. He stayed on his feet, faced the ref square in the eye and took whatever punishment was coming to him like a man. Peter Casey and Cian Lynch, please take note."
I have said it before. No one on that team tried to get someone sent off.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 25/08/2021 18:25:14    2374755

Lovely writing from The Examiner's Kieran Shannon about bringing his son to his first final.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 25/08/2021 19:51:12    2374767

So if Tommy "accidentally" split the refs nose, what exactly was he intending to do by swinging the hurl?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 25/08/2021 20:27:36    2374772

Replying To ballydalane:  "He wasn't "up on Lynch's back", Lynch grabbed his arm and flung him judo-style onto his neck. No need for it whatsoever. I've never seen it on a football or hurling field before, maybe players weren't physically strong enough to do that previously. Then rolled around on the ground holding his head pretending to be injured himself to get out of being punished. Great player, one of the best ever potentially, but nah, wouldn't have much time for that crack."
You failed to mention Downeys pull down on Lynchs collar bone and the damage that could have done just to give the Lynch/ O'Mahony incident it's full context. As the self appointed expert on 'classy' incidents here what did you think of that?

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 25/08/2021 20:46:23    2374774

Read that article..yeah abit saccharine sweet for me but nice to take the kid..what I don't get is the babies on the pitch with the ear defenders . What is the point? 'Here's my baby everyone..no one gives a fiddlers and the babies are usually in a huff.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 25/08/2021 21:12:04    2374778

Replying To updwell:  "You failed to mention Downeys pull down on Lynchs collar bone and the damage that could have done just to give the Lynch/ O'Mahony incident it's full context. As the self appointed expert on 'classy' incidents here what did you think of that?"
"had to do a freeze frame analysis on the Cian Lynch incident - there was a real dirty strike on Lynch by Downey… Just as Lynch turned to run back at Downey Tim O'Mahony comes in and drives into him and Lynch saw red - it was dangerous, he could have hurt TOM … Mulcahy saw the strike on Lynch and was incensed- very unlike him to get riled up so you know it was dirt … you can see him punching Downey in the arm when he's on the ground just after the whistle has gone !!"

Took this from another forum. Its a fair analysis as far as I can see and puts a lot into perspective . Context as you say is everything and the attempt to make out that Mulcahy, Lynch etc are somehow dirty players who attempted to cause damage without looking at what preceded the incidents is just lazy arrogance...feeds into the halfwit narrative that Limericks success is somehow tainted.
I've a lot of words I could use to describe that but amin doesn't allow that on Hoganstand, so a load of **#€€! #***#@ will have to be enough..

Luimneach abu.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 25/08/2021 21:39:17    2374783

Replying To skillet:  ""had to do a freeze frame analysis on the Cian Lynch incident - there was a real dirty strike on Lynch by Downey… Just as Lynch turned to run back at Downey Tim O'Mahony comes in and drives into him and Lynch saw red - it was dangerous, he could have hurt TOM … Mulcahy saw the strike on Lynch and was incensed- very unlike him to get riled up so you know it was dirt … you can see him punching Downey in the arm when he's on the ground just after the whistle has gone !!"

Took this from another forum. Its a fair analysis as far as I can see and puts a lot into perspective . Context as you say is everything and the attempt to make out that Mulcahy, Lynch etc are somehow dirty players who attempted to cause damage without looking at what preceded the incidents is just lazy arrogance...feeds into the halfwit narrative that Limericks success is somehow tainted.
I've a lot of words I could use to describe that but amin doesn't allow that on Hoganstand, so a load of **#€€! #***#@ will have to be enough..

Luimneach abu."
Good post. People on here fail to grasp context but that's fine. They can post what they like and let it drive them mad. It's clearly lads that never played the game.

This limerick team in time will be regarded as the best that ever set foot in croke park. Skill, physicality, team work, work ethic, honesty, humility, mental acuity. And all from a county outside the golden circle. The circle has been breached and it should guve great hope to the likes of Wexford Waterford Dublin Galway and Clare what can be achieved in 5-10 years with the correct structure, county board and volunteers at the core of it all driving standards all under the umbrella of the common goal from u13 to senior.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 25/08/2021 22:04:08    2374794

Replying To ballydalane:  "He wasn't "up on Lynch's back", Lynch grabbed his arm and flung him judo-style onto his neck. No need for it whatsoever. I've never seen it on a football or hurling field before, maybe players weren't physically strong enough to do that previously. Then rolled around on the ground holding his head pretending to be injured himself to get out of being punished. Great player, one of the best ever potentially, but nah, wouldn't have much time for that crack."
Look I saw one incident on Sunday which you obviously did not see. Quaid was set up to send a puck out down the right side of the field and was about to strike the ball, when he suddenly relented. I glanced down the field as something must have been going on. There was. Two Cork players were hauling out of Lynch even before ever Quaid hit the ball. I thought this nonsense mainly only went on in Full Back lines. It is a sure sign a team is banjaxed when two members of the opposition fell they have to haul and drag an opponent, even before the ball is hit in his direction. No wonder Hegarty and Gullane were both in splendid isolation to bury goals. My point is why were none of this incidents highlighted on TV or clamped down on by officials. Big questions are being asked about the validity of Lynch's handpass for the first goal. However nobody is noticing that Lynch is clearly being fouled as he is giving the handpass, which just might have influenced the ref to 'let the game flow'.
Btw Ballydalane, was that not a fine dangerous flick Paddy Deigan pulled across your friend your Tim O'Mahoney face in the 14th in the Semi Final. Thank God Tim was alright.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 25/08/2021 22:12:17    2374797

Like Viking66 emphasized it is an intense sport and you have to be, playing it. Players will do knee jerk reactions from time to time. That does not make them dirty players but neither should they get away with it when it is outside the rules. Dirty players are few and far between now and as much as I talk up the players of the past there were far more of them in the past. My god the amount of off the ball hits with the stick that I saw was in my life was crazy. This type of hit has nothing to do with intensity or manliness. Thankfully it is all but eradicated. The biggest take away from this season is Limerick are the champions again and a special team. They will have a bulls eye on their back now if they fart. Like Kilkenny and Dublin. Hopefully my fella posters on here will hone in on the most important aspects of the game. Of course there will be the odd controversy but lets not beat it to death.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 25/08/2021 22:18:28    2374800

Replying To skillet:  ""had to do a freeze frame analysis on the Cian Lynch incident - there was a real dirty strike on Lynch by Downey… Just as Lynch turned to run back at Downey Tim O'Mahony comes in and drives into him and Lynch saw red - it was dangerous, he could have hurt TOM … Mulcahy saw the strike on Lynch and was incensed- very unlike him to get riled up so you know it was dirt … you can see him punching Downey in the arm when he's on the ground just after the whistle has gone !!"

Luimneach abu."
To be fair a lot of this narrative is begrudgery , its all starting to go down the same way as all the anti-dublin begrudgery and jealousy of the the last 6/7 years.
Haters gonna hate.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 25/08/2021 22:19:39    2374801

Replying To gahfan:  "I think there's been a theme of indiscipline associated with Limerick all year. I can't believe kiely hasn't tackled it. We hear about what great guys they are but they are damaging their own reputations."
Rumor has it he is waiting for feedback from Liam Dunne who bragged about breaking Gary Kirby' s finger to help Wexford over the line. You can't make this stuff up. Dirt is dirt whether i year or several decades old.
Some brve anonymous comments appering here again. Fire away.

BTW , Liam is glad to be back at HOME in Limerick (Mom was Dinneen rom Bruff), after the cumbersome trip to Dublin... what with worry of getting waylaid by round bales and so forth.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1358 - 25/08/2021 22:30:29    2374804

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Agreed. The sliotar is so light one can score from nearly anywhere and as a few posters mentioned the amount of players throwing the ball is crazy."
If the hand pass was stopped altogether it might suit Limerick, as few teams can give long and short stick passes as well as they can.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 25/08/2021 22:32:04    2374805

Replying To Bon:  "To be fair a lot of this narrative is begrudgery , its all starting to go down the same way as all the anti-dublin begrudgery and jealousy of the the last 6/7 years.
Haters gonna hate."
I'm starting to think you're right...I suppose the only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about at all.

We're at the top of the pile and seems like there's plenty wanting to have a go at us.
To be honest it's great.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 25/08/2021 22:40:25    2374809

Replying To Canuck:  "Like Viking66 emphasized it is an intense sport and you have to be, playing it. Players will do knee jerk reactions from time to time. That does not make them dirty players but neither should they get away with it when it is outside the rules. Dirty players are few and far between now and as much as I talk up the players of the past there were far more of them in the past. My god the amount of off the ball hits with the stick that I saw was in my life was crazy. This type of hit has nothing to do with intensity or manliness. Thankfully it is all but eradicated. The biggest take away from this season is Limerick are the champions again and a special team. They will have a bulls eye on their back now if they fart. Like Kilkenny and Dublin. Hopefully my fella posters on here will hone in on the most important aspects of the game. Of course there will be the odd controversy but lets not beat it to death."
Excellent post as always. You have a clear idea about the game and I'd agree with a lot you have to say.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1126 - 25/08/2021 22:40:27    2374810

Replying To Oldtourman:  "These boys have three All Ireland Medals in their **** pockets, and they might even find room for one or two more. I am sure they are worried about damaging their reputations in the same way Kilkenny were worrying about theirs, when they were sweeping all before them, while playing on the edge. As your own iconic Manager said 'Winners are winners and losers make excuses'. In passing, in the last four years I cant recall a single case in which an opposition player had a bone broken inflicted on him by a Limerick player. I would also add that John Doyle once said that 'winning is not the most important thing; its the only thing'. Basically, as Viking rightly points out, a team without a 'bit of cutting' is at nothing."
"As your own iconic Manager said 'Winners are winners and losers make excuses."
Well said and I suggest that while it gets tiresome it is also good to fire back at some of the small-minded, jealousy born cheap shots put up here from "under the bed". Helps slow the pace and keep it in check.

Liam MacCarthy is rested and glistening in the Limerick sun again- ready to tour Limerick again when OK to do so. I'm not gloating,I"m just flushing away the years of unlimited heartbreak. Oh sorry ,I'm not supposed to say such things because I may offend some sensibilities. WTF? ( we have a few of those in our own midst who may or may not jump on this remark.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1358 - 25/08/2021 22:46:25    2374814

Replying To Bon:  "To be fair a lot of this narrative is begrudgery , its all starting to go down the same way as all the anti-dublin begrudgery and jealousy of the the last 6/7 years.
Haters gonna hate."
Just like Kk in 08, limric had a 5 Star performance on Sunday. Kk never played like 08 again and limric might not ever play like they did last Sunday again. like kk probably won't need to have 5 start performances to win big games..

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 127 - 25/08/2021 23:07:01    2374820

Replying To foreveryoung:  "DJ was indeed great with the handpass, both left and right. Of course, he was a fine hand-baller, too back then. That helped. But DJ is retired the bones of 20 years now. The game does move on.

But back then, that type of handpass, you'd get away with. The fellas today are way too fast for that. If a modern player left the ball in the air as long as DJ used to, it'd be snapped, turned over, and back down the field for a point against Kilkenny.

In the modern game, it's just a slight nudge up, and then the quickest flick of the wrist and open palm to get the ball away. It's gone so advanced since DJ's time that the naked eye at times believes that it's seeing a throw. But the ball isn't thrown at all. Look, it's like watching a magician, you believe you see something but what you see isn't what you see at all.

It contributes significantly to a faster, more skillful game. Everything now is done at such speed."
"the naked eye at times believes that it's seeing a throw"

But if the naked eye can't identify a "clear striking action", then it's not a clear striking action. That's the whole point.

"I didn't throw it ref, it's just my handpass is so quick you just thought it was a throw. I'm a magician like that...."

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 26/08/2021 05:02:05    2374836