Where Have The Characters Gone

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Great read and by Mick too. Great points made by both of you."
Thank you Dubsfan

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 18/06/2021 10:38:18    2351805

Replying To TheUsername:  "Again I have to disagree wit you Mick, I think your drawing definitives when no definitives exist. Sure if you shoe up at Croker and pull a blanket, we'll happily play the percentages, play in front of you and take low risk scores. Let's be honest that's what everyone does, including Kerry. The way I look at it, is shaming teams to come out and play, there is a part of me that doesn't like it as I actually think it's exposing and humiliating for the opposition. I felt for Tyrone in the semi in 18 and I just couldn't understand Kerry sitting back, protecting letting us just play in front the blanket for the five in row.The front press is how we counter the blanket and fear ball. It's the symptom of the scourge blanket.

I know the reason, in many ways this team is more creative the the side that had, Alan, Bernard, Dermo, Flynn's and Paddy A. The reason is simple given a sniff of blood this Dublin team can pull you a part, the example I'd give is probably the most lethal creative display I have ever seen against Mayo in the semi in 19 from a loosening position scoring 2-6 against one of the meanest and most talented defences of this generation, in one of the highest profile games of the year, devastating stuff. Teams are terrified to open up or go toe to toe because of that creative force.

Then I think of risks, I'm thinking down to 14 men, loosening a five in a row final, The Dubs push everyone forward, leave Cluxton marking Tommy Walsh, every Kerry man behind the ball with a man up - can you image a team doing that vs Dublin, sorry I can't either.

Look I'm just reality testing, we cantered last season, I'd acknowledge. I'd also say we are ,ore vulnerable then we were. But teams are terrified of us and "have to come with a plan for Dublin" - how often do we hear that.

We're doing it a decade now, dodging no one, any county, any province, dodging no one and it's not reality comparing a decade of unparalleled creative innovation, to knocking the stuffing out of two relegated teams in the league after training all winter after a short championship playing defensive football, it not getting back to philosphey it's beating a half fit Galway, Roscommon and an experimental Tyrone.

If Kerry come out in the Championship and destroy teams like we have for a long time, without a blanket or pulling lads down on the break , I'll come on and say they are a wonderful attacking team, but right now they aren't even in the conversation in terms of creativity and impactful play with Dublin, they might get there, but walking the walk beyond the league is something they have to achieve (for a good few seasons now). This branding of Kerry as some attacking "of the cuff" creative enigma, based on last year and certainly against us is just at worst branding and a comfort blanket of poor self aware hope during a barren spell.

Don't get me wrong the talent is there, but if I'm honest I don't think Keane has it in him to fulfil the talent, he worries about us to much. I think if Fitzmaurice was there Kerry would have an All Ireland by now.

As you say A Chara all opinion, you can give me loads where yee hammer us! ;)"
You talk about "rebranding" and you giving dublins display against Mayos meanest and 1 of the most talented defences in the semifinal in 2019 as an example of 1 of the best performances of attacking play by dublin you ever seen? When really ye bate a tired Mayo team who had played their hearts out a week earlier against Donegal where ye had a dead rubber game in the super8s.

Ye beat the meanest most talented defence in Ireland by 10 points and we also bate that same mean Mayo defence by 10 points a month or 5 weeks earlier when they were still fresh.

Just offering some fresh perspective on your scrall above.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/06/2021 10:39:30    2351806

Playing devils advocate, sometimes you end up with somebody who isn't able for the microphone. Then you then end up with Bubbles being interviewed and roaring to the nation "We're the champions of f*****g Ireland".
Some lads just aren't good at media, and a team maybe doesn't want to be portrayed as a bunch of plonkers.
I know on our club team, if we ever won anything I would be happy to be interviewed because I do a lot of talking in my job. A few others, teachers, etc similar. Others - never let them near a microphone!!

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 18/06/2021 10:45:41    2351809

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I might be waiting a while for that to happen but if it happens there will be no gloating from me"
You might be waiting a while , but i very much doubt it .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/06/2021 12:44:35    2351836

Not to get all "pc has gone too far" yada yada, but people in general are being encouraged to keep their opinions to themselves these days, and not express themselves too much,or rock the boat so to speak, it's the same in any workplace, not just the GAA.
There are exceptions like Trump and Brexit where you can become almost obsessively opinionated (so long as you detest them), but generally speaking the powers that be have succeeded on putting manners on us.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 18/06/2021 12:52:55    2351840

Replying To Galway9801:  "What happened?"
He wanted to concentrate on his singing career.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 18/06/2021 13:28:36    2351846

Replying To yew_tree:  "Every team has characters and still do. I can only think of my own club team but every county team has them too.

I don't think you'll see many of them in the media these days with the rancid vile and hatred going around on social media. Who needs that?"
Ahh here, Kingdomboy isn't that bad.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/06/2021 15:47:38    2351869

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Playing devils advocate, sometimes you end up with somebody who isn't able for the microphone. Then you then end up with Bubbles being interviewed and roaring to the nation "We're the champions of f*****g Ireland".
Some lads just aren't good at media, and a team maybe doesn't want to be portrayed as a bunch of plonkers.
I know on our club team, if we ever won anything I would be happy to be interviewed because I do a lot of talking in my job. A few others, teachers, etc similar. Others - never let them near a microphone!!"
Being a teacher is no guarantee you will be good in front of a mic.....Dessie Dolan is a teacher.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 18/06/2021 15:54:06    2351871

Replying To avonali:  "Ahh here, Kingdomboy isn't that bad."
My problem is I'm too honest Avon.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/06/2021 18:16:34    2351888

Replying To Galway9801:  "Not to get all "pc has gone too far" yada yada, but people in general are being encouraged to keep their opinions to themselves these days, and not express themselves too much,or rock the boat so to speak, it's the same in any workplace, not just the GAA.
There are exceptions like Trump and Brexit where you can become almost obsessively opinionated (so long as you detest them), but generally speaking the powers that be have succeeded on putting manners on us."
Sure GAA players are even cut down if they dare celebrate a goal or dare I say even a win. I remember Ciaran McDonald being mocked (by Joe Brolly who preaches a an all inclusive socialist paradise) for the blonde hair and white boots.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 18/06/2021 18:20:41    2351889

Replying To yew_tree:  "Sure GAA players are even cut down if they dare celebrate a goal or dare I say even a win. I remember Ciaran McDonald being mocked (by Joe Brolly who preaches a an all inclusive socialist paradise) for the blonde hair and white boots."
In fairness its hard to blame them for keeping shtum. Dammed if you do and damned if you don't, if you say nothing you're dour, if you express yourself you're cocky etc

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 18/06/2021 20:06:47    2351909

Replying To Galway9801:  "In fairness its hard to blame them for keeping shtum. Dammed if you do and damned if you don't, if you say nothing you're dour, if you express yourself you're cocky etc"
It's an Irish complex thing though in general. Anyone that stands out or that is even successful is seen as a show off and arrogant. Other countries celebrate success.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 19/06/2021 12:15:04    2351994

Replying To yew_tree:  "It's an Irish complex thing though in general. Anyone that stands out or that is even successful is seen as a show off and arrogant. Other countries celebrate success."
You are right there!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 19/06/2021 14:05:54    2352010

Replying To yew_tree:  "It's an Irish complex thing though in general. Anyone that stands out or that is even successful is seen as a show off and arrogant. Other countries celebrate success."
A friend of mine reckons we are a nation of begrudgers!!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 19/06/2021 15:49:17    2352027

Replying To Viking66:  "A friend of mine reckons we are a nation of begrudgers!!!!!"
Plenty of collaborating evidence of that in here!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/06/2021 18:11:38    2352049

Replying To avonali:  "Plenty of collaborating evidence of that in here!"
corroborating, rather

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/06/2021 19:17:15    2352059

:D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 19/06/2021 19:30:53    2352063

Collaboration with the dublin multiple username names eh Avon ! :-)

I don't agree with U3 and viking about the Irish being begrudgers, I just think we're brutally honest we cál BS when we hear it and some people can't handle the truth and take offence when none is given.

A dub poster on here years ago said that offence is not given its taken and I don't usually agree with dubs but I do in this case.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/06/2021 22:59:28    2352084

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I was saying the same over the last few years, it's all gone so serious now and the only teams playing off the cuff football now are Kerry and Galway every other team just follow the "process"

I'm not sure about the hurling as I wouldn't follow it that closely.

It's sad really, our players are ameture and every minute of their day's are planned out for them, I remember years ago meeting kerry players in pubs around Dingle during the summer and youd even meet some of them in dublin after big matches but that's all gone now.

Also on nice summer evening you could carry the young folk to watch kerry training and it was brilliant, the kids got to meet the players after and get Jerseys signed and there was a great connection between the supporters and the players."
No teams play off the cuff football. I'd say no team has done so in this century. If a team was playing off the cuff, and making it up as they went along, then what would be the point of a manager ...

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 20/06/2021 05:04:28    2352093

Replying To essmac:  "No teams play off the cuff football. I'd say no team has done so in this century. If a team was playing off the cuff, and making it up as they went along, then what would be the point of a manager ..."
Some teams have more freedom than others essmac, ours being 1 of them, you can't look at what Gavin White did against ye last week and say that was planned can you?

In fairness teams need to bring chaos to games when they play the dubs because the dubs study teams inside out that's why they hated playing Mayo and had to resort to cheating to win.

Like a kerry poster said on the kerry page a few months back, the dubs do everything they can to take skill and unpredictability out of games, they don't want to play teams that play off the cuff football and the team that eventually bates em will be the will be the team that brings the most chaos.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/06/2021 12:23:08    2352140