Where Have The Characters Gone

Replying To realdub:  "Incorrect my good man, Mannion gave an honest account of why he left during the week for all to see.

And it had nothing to do with them not been allowed express themselves."
He gave the party line realdub incase he might want to go back some time.

Jack McCarfertys interview a few months back told a bit more of the story where he talked of the anguish he felt when he found out that there was no extra time in the allireland final in 2019 and that he had to wait another 2 weeks he said the fun was gone out of it, you'd never think looking at Jim gavin that he'd take the fun out of football coz he was such a bubbly kinda guy but there you go.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/06/2021 16:04:21    2351677

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "He gave the party line realdub incase he might want to go back some time.

Jack McCarfertys interview a few months back told a bit more of the story where he talked of the anguish he felt when he found out that there was no extra time in the allireland final in 2019 and that he had to wait another 2 weeks he said the fun was gone out of it, you'd never think looking at Jim gavin that he'd take the fun out of football coz he was such a bubbly kinda guy but there you go."
Ah Jack is a bubbly, was always going to do whatever he felt like doing. Don't buy the 'party line', why would Mannion ever go back if it was that awful!

Hopefully he does come back, after all he's one of our very few natural footballers:D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/06/2021 16:19:24    2351682

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "To go toe to toe with Dublin a team would have to play at least 7 or 8 forwards Username. Dublin are one of the most defensive teams to play against. While they are strong attacking they play with a man covering full back line nearly all the time and constantly have large numbers back. It's the division 3 or 4 teams that seem to play with more freedom."
I think we get men behind the ball Mick, but we are a mobile team and we are a soft enough team defensively, we take more risks then say Kerry do, you are as likely to see the Dublin fullback and half backs attacking as defending, in 19 they were the enabling factor of the five in a row from an attacking point of view, that's something other teams wont do against us, maybe Mayo would now that i think about it. We flood forward we flood back that is completely different then what Kerry do in big games, Cork game last year, when they play us really. In a way i think Kerry have lost their identity in recent years, so the off the comment i think is a bit of wishful thinking or an attempt at disingenuous branding - the last quarter of the second game in 19 we closed out knocking the ball around in front of the Kerry blanket to win the 5 in a row, thats not the Kerry way. Id accept that the management have tried something different after the Cork game but they needed to, the big question will that translate from league to Championship.

Id compare it bit to 11, we were a far more defensive team than Kerry - concerned with containing Kerry, Kerry were the team who took the initiative and risks, these days tables are turned in terms of philopshey and intent, Its about containing Dublin and trying to nick it. Itrs a question of what you gain and loose, they havent cracked it yet, maybe they change to much in big games and dont trust themselves, like what happened in Cork last year, you'd hardly describe that as off the cuff really or their games against us.

I suppose my general point is one of frustration, im sick to death of teams playing a blanket against us, its pure fear ball, the last team to have a go at us in a meaningful "off the cuff" way was Cork back in the S8's in 19.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/06/2021 16:50:35    2351689

I think it was Karol Mannion for Ros a few years ago who said when he started out playing county, league games were enjoyable, win or lose you'd have a hour or so where ever you were playing and have a couple of pints and mingle with fans of both sides and have the craic, then get on the bus and head home. He said nowadays it was game over on the bus and straight home. Sounds like the fans loved the interaction and so did the players.
But even the game has gotten regimented, players are discourage from doing anything out of the ordinary, its all about playing the percentages.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 17/06/2021 17:01:20    2351690

If the fun has gone out of it for players who are winning multiple All Ireland's (And I've no doubt it can), what must it be like for players involved with counties that havnt a hope in hell of winning one?
You'd really have to wonder where is the enjoyment there.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 17/06/2021 17:20:20    2351692

Replying To Rosineri1:  "I think it was Karol Mannion for Ros a few years ago who said when he started out playing county, league games were enjoyable, win or lose you'd have a hour or so where ever you were playing and have a couple of pints and mingle with fans of both sides and have the craic, then get on the bus and head home. He said nowadays it was game over on the bus and straight home. Sounds like the fans loved the interaction and so did the players.
But even the game has gotten regimented, players are discourage from doing anything out of the ordinary, its all about playing the percentages."
100%, nearly all teams are safety first nowadays even dublin, I can't remember was it Kerry15 or geniusGerry that said 1 time on the kerry page that dublin do all they can to remove skill from the game, they don't like playing teams that play off the cuff and in fairness when Fitzmaurice took over kerry in 2013 he did the same thing he changed us from our more natural attacking game to 1 where we went more defensive first but now we're slowly moving back to our more natural game thank God.

I don't think we'll ever again be allowed back into training sessions though.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/06/2021 17:33:10    2351695

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think we get men behind the ball Mick, but we are a mobile team and we are a soft enough team defensively, we take more risks then say Kerry do, you are as likely to see the Dublin fullback and half backs attacking as defending, in 19 they were the enabling factor of the five in a row from an attacking point of view, that's something other teams wont do against us, maybe Mayo would now that i think about it. We flood forward we flood back that is completely different then what Kerry do in big games, Cork game last year, when they play us really. In a way i think Kerry have lost their identity in recent years, so the off the comment i think is a bit of wishful thinking or an attempt at disingenuous branding - the last quarter of the second game in 19 we closed out knocking the ball around in front of the Kerry blanket to win the 5 in a row, thats not the Kerry way. Id accept that the management have tried something different after the Cork game but they needed to, the big question will that translate from league to Championship.

Id compare it bit to 11, we were a far more defensive team than Kerry - concerned with containing Kerry, Kerry were the team who took the initiative and risks, these days tables are turned in terms of philopshey and intent, Its about containing Dublin and trying to nick it. Itrs a question of what you gain and loose, they havent cracked it yet, maybe they change to much in big games and dont trust themselves, like what happened in Cork last year, you'd hardly describe that as off the cuff really or their games against us.

I suppose my general point is one of frustration, im sick to death of teams playing a blanket against us, its pure fear ball, the last team to have a go at us in a meaningful "off the cuff" way was Cork back in the S8's in 19."
I would see it as different. Dublin can counter with pace but play a very defensive brand of football. Its effective but the perception they play all attack is nonsense. Kerry went very defensive v Cork and paid the price. Kerry are nt used to defensive football whereas Dublin are. After 15 Dubs played with a sweeper Maí ly Cian Ó Sullivan. Now its not unusual to see Dublin with all 15 in their own half. That would be unheard of years ago. Dublin also use the percentages with alot oflateral handpasding before taking on a shot. They wait for a high percentage scoring shot before shooting. They have become close to a basketball theme side with possession foremost until you get a good percentage shot. Now it's no coincidence that this style came in when they got the former Irish basketball coach in their backroom team a few years back.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 17/06/2021 18:27:56    2351703

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I would see it as different. Dublin can counter with pace but play a very defensive brand of football. Its effective but the perception they play all attack is nonsense. Kerry went very defensive v Cork and paid the price. Kerry are nt used to defensive football whereas Dublin are. After 15 Dubs played with a sweeper Maí ly Cian Ó Sullivan. Now its not unusual to see Dublin with all 15 in their own half. That would be unheard of years ago. Dublin also use the percentages with alot oflateral handpasding before taking on a shot. They wait for a high percentage scoring shot before shooting. They have become close to a basketball theme side with possession foremost until you get a good percentage shot. Now it's no coincidence that this style came in when they got the former Irish basketball coach in their backroom team a few years back."
It's all Donegals fault :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/06/2021 18:42:18    2351706

Replying To realdub:  "Ah Jack is a bubbly, was always going to do whatever he felt like doing. Don't buy the 'party line', why would Mannion ever go back if it was that awful!

Hopefully he does come back, after all he's one of our very few natural footballers:D"
Jack is a bubbly character Realdub and a real good lad. Very likeable fellow and one hell of a player. Mannion another class player that will be missed but Id say will be back again.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 17/06/2021 18:48:43    2351707

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I would see it as different. Dublin can counter with pace but play a very defensive brand of football. Its effective but the perception they play all attack is nonsense. Kerry went very defensive v Cork and paid the price. Kerry are nt used to defensive football whereas Dublin are. After 15 Dubs played with a sweeper Maí ly Cian Ó Sullivan. Now its not unusual to see Dublin with all 15 in their own half. That would be unheard of years ago. Dublin also use the percentages with alot oflateral handpasding before taking on a shot. They wait for a high percentage scoring shot before shooting. They have become close to a basketball theme side with possession foremost until you get a good percentage shot. Now it's no coincidence that this style came in when they got the former Irish basketball coach in their backroom team a few years back."
Id disagree completely Mick, Dublin have consistently knock up scores of 20+ points on a bad day and have for a decade, they have many arms to their creativity, kick pass - no problem, break at pace - no problem, stretch - blanket no problem, intricate football - so problem, shoot from distance - no problem. no other team is as creative, or consistently as creative or attacking.

Id accept a flood back, but that is different from a Blanket - that say you guys and others play and look to counter, its particularly evident in big games. But the one thing about our defenders they are as much a part of our attacking unit as they are defensive unit, they attack as much as defend. Other teams dont have that creativity or courage - certainly not against us - apart from maybe Mayo. You mention Cian O Sullivan as sweeper, certainly, but probably one of the most creative and technical sweepers in the game, hes an ALL Ireland winning midfielder as well.

By basket ball you mean the frontal press, thats our answer to the blanket, we will work the ball into a scoring zone, wear the opposition down when they play a blanket. If we're doing it against you your playing a blanket and we are back to that semi Vs Tyrone, if we're doing its a symptom to beat the blanket the opposition is playing, it works, we have successfully beaten the blanket - so why do teams persevere, come out and play ball. Which brings me back to my original point, i wish teams were brave enough and go toe to toe, if Dublin are a defensive team, then why do Kerry and the like play fear ball against them and not take the initiative and haunt hallowed ground with a blanket style - you know the answer and so do I and its not because of Dublins defensive side football. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/06/2021 19:05:02    2351708

Replying To Bon:  "If the fun has gone out of it for players who are winning multiple All Ireland's (And I've no doubt it can), what must it be like for players involved with counties that havnt a hope in hell of winning one?
You'd really have to wonder where is the enjoyment there."
Robots can do many things, but you can't have the craic with them.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 17/06/2021 19:59:33    2351721

Replying To TheUsername:  "Id disagree completely Mick, Dublin have consistently knock up scores of 20+ points on a bad day and have for a decade, they have many arms to their creativity, kick pass - no problem, break at pace - no problem, stretch - blanket no problem, intricate football - so problem, shoot from distance - no problem. no other team is as creative, or consistently as creative or attacking.

Id accept a flood back, but that is different from a Blanket - that say you guys and others play and look to counter, its particularly evident in big games. But the one thing about our defenders they are as much a part of our attacking unit as they are defensive unit, they attack as much as defend. Other teams dont have that creativity or courage - certainly not against us - apart from maybe Mayo. You mention Cian O Sullivan as sweeper, certainly, but probably one of the most creative and technical sweepers in the game, hes an ALL Ireland winning midfielder as well.

By basket ball you mean the frontal press, thats our answer to the blanket, we will work the ball into a scoring zone, wear the opposition down when they play a blanket. If we're doing it against you your playing a blanket and we are back to that semi Vs Tyrone, if we're doing its a symptom to beat the blanket the opposition is playing, it works, we have successfully beaten the blanket - so why do teams persevere, come out and play ball. Which brings me back to my original point, i wish teams were brave enough and go toe to toe, if Dublin are a defensive team, then why do Kerry and the like play fear ball against them and not take the initiative and haunt hallowed ground with a blanket style - you know the answer and so do I and its not because of Dublins defensive side football. ;)"
Look User. You have your view and I have mine. We all look at our own county through Rose tinted glasses. You ré on about Kerry s defensive blanket and I'm on about Dublin's. You say about Dubs scoring. Well Kerry outscored everyone in the league and Kerry play defensive also. All I know is that I used to love watching Dublin play and believe it or not I often supported them (as my kids are fanatical dubs) so why would nt I. However I have started to find watching them a hard watch. Yes they re still excellent at what they do but gone are the Jack Mac runs. Dermo s passing and Mannion sublime shooting. I'm not alone and even some Dublin lads I work with agree with my sentiments. Neutrals I work with are turned off. Many said they did nt even watch last years final. Obviously you as a Dub love watching them play and I as a Kerryman love watching Jerry play. Another few lads told me they had gone off Kerry last year but think they starting to show flair again. Dublin do what they have to do and they are excellent at it but they re not the swashbuckling team they used to be. Sure n aybe I'm blind to Kerry too but leaving Kerry aside the sides I like watching now are Armagh Donegal Mayo Galway. Maybe it's because Dublin are too good or cos they win so easily but during Kilkenny reign in hurling I was tired of their winning but never their style. Maybe the crowds affect my viewpoint at mó but seriously as a neutral watching the ball go over and back one side of the pitch over and over again without taking a shot is hard viewing. Paddy Andrew in radio 2vweeks ago said the were told not to go for a score unless its nearly a cert so a fear of shooting set in. Yes they score heavy but not many Connolly points scored anymore. Again its not a criticism. Just an observation. As a supporter I would prefer a victory regardless of what the neutrals thought.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 17/06/2021 20:21:49    2351725

Replying To gatha:  "Everyone has been talking about the state of football and hurling. Possesion game, ball going to far, poor officiating etc. My question is when was the last time we had a few characters playing or at least being interviewed. Where are the Johnny Pilkington's, John Mullane's and so forth. Whenever Warterford where playing you either loved John or you didn't. Waterford had a load of personalities. Mullane, Big Dan Eoin Kelly. Clare had Brian Lohan, Ger Loughnane no gray area in your feeling towards them. Tipp had Lar, Eoin Kelly, Pat Fox and Nicky English before them. Galway had Sylvie, Pete Finnerty Tony Keady Hopper McGrath. Cork were loaded with players we all had an opinion about over the years. Every team had a bit of personality. I think maybe the Face guards take away a bit from really knowing players as a player. Maybe the proffesionalism in the teams has taken from the players individuality. I miss having players on other teams you were dying to beat. It seems teams today are a bit robotic in the way they play and handle the media. Probably can't blame them when dealing with certian people in he media. I watch football but I don't follow football that closely I wonder is it the same?"
Would not say Lynch can be at least unorthodox if not indeed a 'character', with some of those outrageous ball flicks in the heat of battle.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 17/06/2021 20:29:25    2351728

There's still a few of them on the hoganstand forums anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 17/06/2021 20:47:49    2351733

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Look User. You have your view and I have mine. We all look at our own county through Rose tinted glasses. You ré on about Kerry s defensive blanket and I'm on about Dublin's. You say about Dubs scoring. Well Kerry outscored everyone in the league and Kerry play defensive also. All I know is that I used to love watching Dublin play and believe it or not I often supported them (as my kids are fanatical dubs) so why would nt I. However I have started to find watching them a hard watch. Yes they re still excellent at what they do but gone are the Jack Mac runs. Dermo s passing and Mannion sublime shooting. I'm not alone and even some Dublin lads I work with agree with my sentiments. Neutrals I work with are turned off. Many said they did nt even watch last years final. Obviously you as a Dub love watching them play and I as a Kerryman love watching Jerry play. Another few lads told me they had gone off Kerry last year but think they starting to show flair again. Dublin do what they have to do and they are excellent at it but they re not the swashbuckling team they used to be. Sure n aybe I'm blind to Kerry too but leaving Kerry aside the sides I like watching now are Armagh Donegal Mayo Galway. Maybe it's because Dublin are too good or cos they win so easily but during Kilkenny reign in hurling I was tired of their winning but never their style. Maybe the crowds affect my viewpoint at mó but seriously as a neutral watching the ball go over and back one side of the pitch over and over again without taking a shot is hard viewing. Paddy Andrew in radio 2vweeks ago said the were told not to go for a score unless its nearly a cert so a fear of shooting set in. Yes they score heavy but not many Connolly points scored anymore. Again its not a criticism. Just an observation. As a supporter I would prefer a victory regardless of what the neutrals thought."
Again I have to disagree wit you Mick, I think your drawing definitives when no definitives exist. Sure if you shoe up at Croker and pull a blanket, we'll happily play the percentages, play in front of you and take low risk scores. Let's be honest that's what everyone does, including Kerry. The way I look at it, is shaming teams to come out and play, there is a part of me that doesn't like it as I actually think it's exposing and humiliating for the opposition. I felt for Tyrone in the semi in 18 and I just couldn't understand Kerry sitting back, protecting letting us just play in front the blanket for the five in row.The front press is how we counter the blanket and fear ball. It's the symptom of the scourge blanket.

I know the reason, in many ways this team is more creative the the side that had, Alan, Bernard, Dermo, Flynn's and Paddy A. The reason is simple given a sniff of blood this Dublin team can pull you a part, the example I'd give is probably the most lethal creative display I have ever seen against Mayo in the semi in 19 from a loosening position scoring 2-6 against one of the meanest and most talented defences of this generation, in one of the highest profile games of the year, devastating stuff. Teams are terrified to open up or go toe to toe because of that creative force.

Then I think of risks, I'm thinking down to 14 men, loosening a five in a row final, The Dubs push everyone forward, leave Cluxton marking Tommy Walsh, every Kerry man behind the ball with a man up - can you image a team doing that vs Dublin, sorry I can't either.

Look I'm just reality testing, we cantered last season, I'd acknowledge. I'd also say we are ,ore vulnerable then we were. But teams are terrified of us and "have to come with a plan for Dublin" - how often do we hear that.

We're doing it a decade now, dodging no one, any county, any province, dodging no one and it's not reality comparing a decade of unparalleled creative innovation, to knocking the stuffing out of two relegated teams in the league after training all winter after a short championship playing defensive football, it not getting back to philosphey it's beating a half fit Galway, Roscommon and an experimental Tyrone.

If Kerry come out in the Championship and destroy teams like we have for a long time, without a blanket or pulling lads down on the break , I'll come on and say they are a wonderful attacking team, but right now they aren't even in the conversation in terms of creativity and impactful play with Dublin, they might get there, but walking the walk beyond the league is something they have to achieve (for a good few seasons now). This branding of Kerry as some attacking "of the cuff" creative enigma, based on last year and certainly against us is just at worst branding and a comfort blanket of poor self aware hope during a barren spell.

Don't get me wrong the talent is there, but if I'm honest I don't think Keane has it in him to fulfil the talent, he worries about us to much. I think if Fitzmaurice was there Kerry would have an All Ireland by now.

As you say A Chara all opinion, you can give me loads where yee hammer us! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/06/2021 21:30:13    2351742

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "There's still a few of them on the hoganstand forums anyway."
Brilliant lol

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 17/06/2021 21:40:25    2351744

Replying To TheUsername:  "Again I have to disagree wit you Mick, I think your drawing definitives when no definitives exist. Sure if you shoe up at Croker and pull a blanket, we'll happily play the percentages, play in front of you and take low risk scores. Let's be honest that's what everyone does, including Kerry. The way I look at it, is shaming teams to come out and play, there is a part of me that doesn't like it as I actually think it's exposing and humiliating for the opposition. I felt for Tyrone in the semi in 18 and I just couldn't understand Kerry sitting back, protecting letting us just play in front the blanket for the five in row.The front press is how we counter the blanket and fear ball. It's the symptom of the scourge blanket.

I know the reason, in many ways this team is more creative the the side that had, Alan, Bernard, Dermo, Flynn's and Paddy A. The reason is simple given a sniff of blood this Dublin team can pull you a part, the example I'd give is probably the most lethal creative display I have ever seen against Mayo in the semi in 19 from a loosening position scoring 2-6 against one of the meanest and most talented defences of this generation, in one of the highest profile games of the year, devastating stuff. Teams are terrified to open up or go toe to toe because of that creative force.

Then I think of risks, I'm thinking down to 14 men, loosening a five in a row final, The Dubs push everyone forward, leave Cluxton marking Tommy Walsh, every Kerry man behind the ball with a man up - can you image a team doing that vs Dublin, sorry I can't either.

Look I'm just reality testing, we cantered last season, I'd acknowledge. I'd also say we are ,ore vulnerable then we were. But teams are terrified of us and "have to come with a plan for Dublin" - how often do we hear that.

We're doing it a decade now, dodging no one, any county, any province, dodging no one and it's not reality comparing a decade of unparalleled creative innovation, to knocking the stuffing out of two relegated teams in the league after training all winter after a short championship playing defensive football, it not getting back to philosphey it's beating a half fit Galway, Roscommon and an experimental Tyrone.

If Kerry come out in the Championship and destroy teams like we have for a long time, without a blanket or pulling lads down on the break , I'll come on and say they are a wonderful attacking team, but right now they aren't even in the conversation in terms of creativity and impactful play with Dublin, they might get there, but walking the walk beyond the league is something they have to achieve (for a good few seasons now). This branding of Kerry as some attacking "of the cuff" creative enigma, based on last year and certainly against us is just at worst branding and a comfort blanket of poor self aware hope during a barren spell.

Don't get me wrong the talent is there, but if I'm honest I don't think Keane has it in him to fulfil the talent, he worries about us to much. I think if Fitzmaurice was there Kerry would have an All Ireland by now.

As you say A Chara all opinion, you can give me loads where yee hammer us! ;)"
I might be waiting a while for that to happen but if it happens there will be no gloating from me

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 17/06/2021 22:31:02    2351756

Replying To TheUsername:  "Again I have to disagree wit you Mick, I think your drawing definitives when no definitives exist. Sure if you shoe up at Croker and pull a blanket, we'll happily play the percentages, play in front of you and take low risk scores. Let's be honest that's what everyone does, including Kerry. The way I look at it, is shaming teams to come out and play, there is a part of me that doesn't like it as I actually think it's exposing and humiliating for the opposition. I felt for Tyrone in the semi in 18 and I just couldn't understand Kerry sitting back, protecting letting us just play in front the blanket for the five in row.The front press is how we counter the blanket and fear ball. It's the symptom of the scourge blanket.

As you say A Chara all opinion, you can give me loads where yee hammer us! ;)"
Great read and by Mick too. Great points made by both of you.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 17/06/2021 23:21:54    2351768

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I was going to start a thread on this last week gatha!
The game, from when I was a kid and before, is gone.
Characters like Mullane have been replaced by robots, party-liners, media bans, etc.
Its just coached into the team like everything else "say nothing, tell them nothing", and so on.
We will never see an interview like John Mullane's raw emotion again. Even as a small child, it was great and I often look back at it.
Sad to see. Instead of lads having a social life, they now have a phone and a gambling app as their release."
without going to check, remember Kilkennys Noel Hickey having a few outstanding seasons for Kilkenny when he was full back and they were winning the start of their great run..I remember him being interviewed on television one day after a match and could not get over how young he both was and looked, yet this guarded helmet portrayed a the fearsome warrior that he was at full back...Noel Sheehy of Tipp was similar..awesome and yet so young out of micro helmet...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 17/06/2021 23:56:46    2351774

Every team has characters and still do. I can only think of my own club team but every county team has them too.

I don't think you'll see many of them in the media these days with the rancid vile and hatred going around on social media. Who needs that?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 18/06/2021 10:28:59    2351803