Kerry Vs Tyrone

Well folks

Thoughts on this?

Hopefully be a good game - players playing for places so id say there will be lots of changes. Kerry vs Tyrone games always wet the appetite so looking for to it. Anyone nkow what channel its on?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 01/06/2021 13:02:12    2347369

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Well folks

Thoughts on this?

Hopefully be a good game - players playing for places so id say there will be lots of changes. Kerry vs Tyrone games always wet the appetite so looking for to it. Anyone nkow what channel its on?"
Two teams that the media perceive as real dangers to Dublin. What was once called Puke football from Pat Spillane when Tyrone and Donegal adopted it, is now known as a "defensive masterclass" from Kerry. I honestly don't think Kerry are as strong as everyone makes them out to be. On the other hand, a Tyrone team in a transition of footballing style will be most dangerous to Dublin than Kerry I think. Tyrone are the team that can improve the most this year with Cathal McShane to come back into the fold and even though they are in transition mode they are right there with Donegal who I also see as more a threat to Dublin than Kerry as well. Tyrone to win this one and meet Dublin in the final.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 01/06/2021 13:23:02    2347376

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Two teams that the media perceive as real dangers to Dublin. What was once called Puke football from Pat Spillane when Tyrone and Donegal adopted it, is now known as a "defensive masterclass" from Kerry. I honestly don't think Kerry are as strong as everyone makes them out to be. On the other hand, a Tyrone team in a transition of footballing style will be most dangerous to Dublin than Kerry I think. Tyrone are the team that can improve the most this year with Cathal McShane to come back into the fold and even though they are in transition mode they are right there with Donegal who I also see as more a threat to Dublin than Kerry as well. Tyrone to win this one and meet Dublin in the final."
Haha Donegal are a bigger threat to Dublin than Kerry you say. That's hilarious. You were probably one of the dreamers that thought Donegal were going to hammer Cavan in the Ulster final last year.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 01/06/2021 22:05:54    2347542

Unfortunately cant see anything but a Kerry win here especially in Kerry. After watching Tyrone for 3 games, I am still not sure what system they are trying to play. They are playing long ball sometimes but they are also playing the old game too much.
McCurry is showing well up front along with Canavan and Meyler to a certain extent. In saying that I think if you handle McCurry at the moment you handle Tyrone. Midfield is a serious concern, we don't seem to have much options there. McKenna is struggling for form, Donaghy needs a good game. Defensively we do seem to be tighter and the half back line especially is very strong. Harte looks like a man reborn, great tackler, gets forward and can take scores. Munroe looks good at corner back and we seem to be tighter around conceding goals in the last game and a half

Kerry are looking good and at home it will be a big ask to overthrow them. We could easily have been in the relegation playoff, so at least we don't have that minefield to work with

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 02/06/2021 09:33:05    2347593

Replying To thegadfly:  "Haha Donegal are a bigger threat to Dublin than Kerry you say. That's hilarious. You were probably one of the dreamers that thought Donegal were going to hammer Cavan in the Ulster final last year."
Yes, I do believe that Donegal are a bigger threat than Kerry. Are you one of these dreamers that believe in the hype surrounding Kerry? And yes, I thought Donegal would hammer Cavan. I'm sure you thought that too. 99% of the Irish population thought that. But sure the same people thought that about Cork and Kerry too. Although Cavan deserved to beat Donegal last year, Donegal made the mistake of thinking ahead to Dublin. And because of Cavan winning, I think most people will agree with me that it ruined the Championship as Donegal was the only team left in the competition that could have a chance of toppling the Dubs. You can talk about Donegal being chokers the past couple of years but the talent is there to beat anyone on their day and don't forget we still have 6 players on the team that beat Dublin back in 2014. And, I think Tyrone aren't far behind us, if not better. Cavan can kiss goodbye to their Ulster Title because they won't be seeing another one for another good few years. Cavan's biggest worry could be getting out of Division 4 football against the powerhouses of Wicklow and Waterford.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 02/06/2021 10:19:10    2347605

This will be the first meeting of the red hands and the kingdom since the storm Ciara massacre of Edendork in 2020, an infamous day when we all got soaked huddled in the shade of the TG4 TV equipment truck and we didn't know if the game would go ahead until 30 mins before trow in, a day when bouncing the ball was as dangerous as swimming with a saltwater crocodile but bounce the ball we did over and over again and Tyrone like the ferocious saltwater Crocs gobbled us up time after time and gave us our only defeat in last years league.

This game will be interesting and hard to call, a lot of people are trying to make out that we're in the top 2 teams in the country and that we're somehow equal to dublin at this moment in time but I disagree, I think we are equal to Tyrone Donegal Monaghan Cavan Cork Galway and Mayo, I think on any given day any of these teams can beat each other and I won't be surprised to see Tyrone beat us in killarney, Tyrone will want to put down a marker for the championship so I'd say Tyrone to win by 1 to 2 points in a good open game.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2021 10:28:58    2347609

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "This will be the first meeting of the red hands and the kingdom since the storm Ciara massacre of Edendork in 2020, an infamous day when we all got soaked huddled in the shade of the TG4 TV equipment truck and we didn't know if the game would go ahead until 30 mins before trow in, a day when bouncing the ball was as dangerous as swimming with a saltwater crocodile but bounce the ball we did over and over again and Tyrone like the ferocious saltwater Crocs gobbled us up time after time and gave us our only defeat in last years league.

This game will be interesting and hard to call, a lot of people are trying to make out that we're in the top 2 teams in the country and that we're somehow equal to dublin at this moment in time but I disagree, I think we are equal to Tyrone Donegal Monaghan Cavan Cork Galway and Mayo, I think on any given day any of these teams can beat each other and I won't be surprised to see Tyrone beat us in killarney, Tyrone will want to put down a marker for the championship so I'd say Tyrone to win by 1 to 2 points in a good open game."
Yerra Yerra I think Kerry are the biggest threat to Dublin, the complacency that done for Kerry last year will be nowhere is sight this year, that's another thing I admire about Dublin no matter how much they win they never get complacent,
Donegal got caught out by it last year too as well as being over trained for a game we hadn't even got as far as, big mistake from management but you can't stop some fellas absorbing the media hype no matter how you try.
Dublin and Kerry are the big 2, I'd have Tyrone at number 3, people don't fully see it yet but Tyrone have a mighty forward line and when they all click into place they will take some stopping, Cavan won't lay a glove on them in Omagh, they aren't in the same league, literally,
Can only see a Kerry win here, nothing in it really for Tyrone except to give fellas a run out and try a few things, they won't want a hammering but a 3 or 4 point defeat will mean nothing.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 02/06/2021 11:01:13    2347625

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yerra Yerra I think Kerry are the biggest threat to Dublin, the complacency that done for Kerry last year will be nowhere is sight this year, that's another thing I admire about Dublin no matter how much they win they never get complacent,
Donegal got caught out by it last year too as well as being over trained for a game we hadn't even got as far as, big mistake from management but you can't stop some fellas absorbing the media hype no matter how you try.
Dublin and Kerry are the big 2, I'd have Tyrone at number 3, people don't fully see it yet but Tyrone have a mighty forward line and when they all click into place they will take some stopping, Cavan won't lay a glove on them in Omagh, they aren't in the same league, literally,
Can only see a Kerry win here, nothing in it really for Tyrone except to give fellas a run out and try a few things, they won't want a hammering but a 3 or 4 point defeat will mean nothing."
I sometimes wonder where people get the nonsense from that they continue to spread on this forum. Media hype Kerry and the public believe it. Tyrone haven't beat Donegal since 2018 and yet people are putting them firmly ahead of Donegal. I just don't quite understand it. It's like cancer. It can sometimes spread very quickly and I feel that's what happens here. In 2019 Kerry got to an AI final replay with Dublin. Dublin played most of the first game with 14 men and Kerry still couldn't beat them. In 2020/21 they lost the first round of Munster. Can someone please tell me why they are firmly top 2 in the country? In 2019, Kerry and Donegal played probably the best game of football the country has seen in quite a few years and they drew. Fair result I thought. But somehow Kerry are miles ahead of Donegal and the majority has Tyrone ahead of Donegal. I mentioned earlier that Tyrone aren't far behind them and has the potential to be better than Donegal but until Tyrone live upto that potential and beat Donegal I will happily say that Tyrone are probably the biggest threat to the Dubs. There is also a case where people don't want to bum up their own county but the above comment takes that to another level. Donegal has beaten Tyrone in the last two Ulster Championships and recently beat them in the league so speculatively putting Tyrone at number 3 doesn't make any sesne.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 02/06/2021 11:31:39    2347639

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "This will be the first meeting of the red hands and the kingdom since the storm Ciara massacre of Edendork in 2020, an infamous day when we all got soaked huddled in the shade of the TG4 TV equipment truck and we didn't know if the game would go ahead until 30 mins before trow in, a day when bouncing the ball was as dangerous as swimming with a saltwater crocodile but bounce the ball we did over and over again and Tyrone like the ferocious saltwater Crocs gobbled us up time after time and gave us our only defeat in last years league.

This game will be interesting and hard to call, a lot of people are trying to make out that we're in the top 2 teams in the country and that we're somehow equal to dublin at this moment in time but I disagree, I think we are equal to Tyrone Donegal Monaghan Cavan Cork Galway and Mayo, I think on any given day any of these teams can beat each other and I won't be surprised to see Tyrone beat us in killarney, Tyrone will want to put down a marker for the championship so I'd say Tyrone to win by 1 to 2 points in a good open game."
Well, none less than the great Pat Spillane of 8 AI medals and puke football fame, is bigging up this Kerry team. He believes that they are now ready to beat Dublin. And Pat, according to himself, does not pluck his analysis out of thin air like the other punters. Rather his analysis is based on scientific knowledge.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 02/06/2021 11:46:39    2347653

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Well folks

Thoughts on this?

Hopefully be a good game - players playing for places so id say there will be lots of changes. Kerry vs Tyrone games always wet the appetite so looking for to it. Anyone nkow what channel its on?"
Kerry game on at 5pm on June the 12th, followed by Dublin v Donegal. Both games on tg4.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 02/06/2021 11:51:04    2347656

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yerra Yerra I think Kerry are the biggest threat to Dublin, the complacency that done for Kerry last year will be nowhere is sight this year, that's another thing I admire about Dublin no matter how much they win they never get complacent,
Can only see a Kerry win here, nothing in it really for Tyrone except to give fellas a run out and try a few things, they won't want a hammering but a 3 or 4 point defeat will mean nothing."
Nothing in it for Tyrone? Isn't there a league final against dublin? Wouldn't they want to test themselves against the dubs before they meet them in the championship!?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2021 12:00:43    2347660

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Well, none less than the great Pat Spillane of 8 AI medals and puke football fame, is bigging up this Kerry team. He believes that they are now ready to beat Dublin. And Pat, according to himself, does not pluck his analysis out of thin air like the other punters. Rather his analysis is based on scientific knowledge."
Well as Murph says in his post, the media like to big up kerry, in fairness its their jobs and if they told the thruth that no one can beat this dublin team then people would just tune out and there would be no jobs for the pundits.

The thruth is that there are teams like Kerry Tyrone Cork Donegal Monaghan Cavan Galway and Mayo that can beat each other and then you have dublin miles ahead of every one.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2021 12:09:10    2347664

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well as Murph says in his post, the media like to big up kerry, in fairness its their jobs and if they told the thruth that no one can beat this dublin team then people would just tune out and there would be no jobs for the pundits.

The thruth is that there are teams like Kerry Tyrone Cork Donegal Monaghan Cavan Galway and Mayo that can beat each other and then you have dublin miles ahead of every one."
I agree with you that it's their job. But does everyone have to believe the hype or can they not make their own judgments on teams. Based on the evidence of the Kerry and Dublin game I would say that Dublin are miles ahead. They played terribly and an element of them playing terribly might have been the fact that the Kerry blanket defense sapped whatever intensity Dublin have out of them but once they set foot in Croke park I think Dublin find another gear. But Dublin are beatable and it's only a matter of time but the sense I'm getting from everyone is that it's a two horse race. If the champions of Ulster (Likely Tyrone or Donegal) come out of it unscathed then Kerry is a good match for any of them. Donegal vs Kerry in 2019 is a good example of that, even though Donegal were hampered by some major injuries, Kerry alike. People may say my opinion is biased but I genuinely believe that both Tyrone (Who I despise) and Donegal (with Murphy) are real contenders to take down Dublin, more so than Mayo but I put Kerry on a par with both Ulster teams.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 02/06/2021 12:39:22    2347668

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Nothing in it for Tyrone? Isn't there a league final against dublin? Wouldn't they want to test themselves against the dubs before they meet them in the championship!?"
Do you think it would do Tyrone any good to show their hand now in Killarney? They'll be saving their best for the All Ireland semi with Kerry if they can win Ulster which I think is very likely.
Kerry are looking very strong, whoever wins Ulster will have a very tough game ahead in the All Ireland semi final that's for sure.
Winning the league doesn't really matter and the GAA have made it obvious by the shambolic way they are letting it play out that they don't care a whole lot about it either.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 02/06/2021 12:47:18    2347671

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Do you think it would do Tyrone any good to show their hand now in Killarney? They'll be saving their best for the All Ireland semi with Kerry if they can win Ulster which I think is very likely.
Kerry are looking very strong, whoever wins Ulster will have a very tough game ahead in the All Ireland semi final that's for sure.
Winning the league doesn't really matter and the GAA have made it obvious by the shambolic way they are letting it play out that they don't care a whole lot about it either."
I think Tyrone will go out to win this game. I don't think they have any other reason not to. It could be there last hard game before the championship and they are in search of form, so yes I think they will try to win. Tirchonaill you have come out with a lot of absurd things on this forum. How likely is very likely? As likely as Donegal are to beat Down? Because to be honest it's probably more likely that Donegal will beat Tyrone than it is likely Tyrone to win Ulster. I like to base my assumptions on form/h2h form and right now I think Donegal surpasses Tyrone in both of those. Being blatantly honest and not trying to be biased at all but going off on those 2 stats alone should be enough to decipher who is and who is not most likely to win anything.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 02/06/2021 13:07:16    2347679

Kerry should win this game. Tyrone still gelling under new management and home advantage to Kerry seals it.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 02/06/2021 13:38:35    2347696

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well as Murph says in his post, the media like to big up kerry, in fairness its their jobs and if they told the thruth that no one can beat this dublin team then people would just tune out and there would be no jobs for the pundits.

The thruth is that there are teams like Kerry Tyrone Cork Donegal Monaghan Cavan Galway and Mayo that can beat each other and then you have dublin miles ahead of every one."
Dublin are not miles ahead of Kerry , Kerry are more than capable of beating Dublin ,, and well you know it !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/06/2021 13:49:32    2347702

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Do you think it would do Tyrone any good to show their hand now in Killarney? They'll be saving their best for the All Ireland semi with Kerry if they can win Ulster which I think is very likely.
Winning the league doesn't really matter and the GAA have made it obvious by the shambolic way they are letting it play out that they don't care a whole lot about it either."
Being honest I don't think any of the 2 teams will be holding back, lads are fighting for championship places, I reckon we'll be trying to win the game as down here we want to win every game and if we don't we get on the managements backs, PK knows this is his last shot this year and if he doesn't deliver he'll be gone and have the stigma of being the first Kerry manager since óige Moran to not win an allireland.

Tyrone are playing a more expansive game this year and they will want to try it out against us in preparation for a possible allireland semifinal and iron out any flaws.

I reckon this game could be a cracker.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2021 14:03:28    2347709

Replying To MurphBalls:  "I agree with you that it's their job. But does everyone have to believe the hype or can they not make their own judgments on teams. Based on the evidence of the Kerry and Dublin game I would say that Dublin are miles ahead. They played terribly and an element of them playing terribly might have been the fact that the Kerry blanket defense sapped whatever intensity Dublin have out of them but once they set foot in Croke park I think Dublin find another gear. But Dublin are beatable and it's only a matter of time but the sense I'm getting from everyone is that it's a two horse race. If the champions of Ulster (Likely Tyrone or Donegal) come out of it unscathed then Kerry is a good match for any of them. Donegal vs Kerry in 2019 is a good example of that, even though Donegal were hampered by some major injuries, Kerry alike. People may say my opinion is biased but I genuinely believe that both Tyrone (Who I despise) and Donegal (with Murphy) are real contenders to take down Dublin, more so than Mayo but I put Kerry on a par with both Ulster teams."
There are a lot of people in denial on this forum Murph, I believe Kerry or anyone of the teams I mentioned bar dublin can have a bad day at the office and get beat by each other.

Don't listen to pundits as they're trying to feather their own nests, Ciarán whellan has a feeling dublin will be bate this year, "a feeling" :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2021 14:08:21    2347711

Replying To superbluedub:  "Dublin are not miles ahead of Kerry , Kerry are more than capable of beating Dublin ,, and well you know it !"
We can't even bate ye in a league game when yer resting the likes of cluxtin rock Cooper and McMahon, what chance will we or any other team have of beating ye in a big game in Crokepark?

Zilch nada not a hope.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2021 16:03:09    2347744