Ulster Championship 2021

Replying To seanie08:  "Genuinely think armagh can win Ulster. Easier side of the draw and the team they will face in final will have had some v hard matches. Cavan will be hell bent on having a right crack at tyrone and showing last year wasn't a one off and think they will go v close to winning that one. Tyrone seem to have gone back a little dont seem as ruthless and think people underestimate effect of harte leaving. Donegal could beat teams out the gate with array of attacking talent they have but unlike days gone by their defence can be got at. A lot will depend on murphy being ready for a lot of hard matches just to make the final. Armagh will beat Antrim and should have too much for either ourselves who are in transition with a few more youthful faces (good but inconsistent performances) or fermanagh."
Just admit it Seanie, you really believe Monaghan will clinch Ulster but you are just afraid to say it

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 02/06/2021 17:47:47    2347777

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Just admit it Seanie, you really believe Monaghan will clinch Ulster but you are just afraid to say it"
Ha no I'd be happy with a win v fermanagh been a while since we had one of those.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 02/06/2021 18:34:02    2347791

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yes it's going to be interesting, our side of the draw is the toughest no doubt, if we manage to get past Down and Derry we'll likely then be facing a well primed Tyrone team, I think Cavan were a flash in the pan last year, their league form would back that up, I think Tyrone will beat them comfortably, we'll be battered and bruised if we manage to get as far as Tyrone in the semi and the way we have been playing so far wouldn't fill me with confidence. we have great talent and a great squad no doubt but there is something not right about it, could be coming from the management I don't know, but I see shades of Donegal teams of old were we had talented players who could beat anyone one day and implode the next. McGuinness drove that out of them.
Monaghan look good on the other side and I predict a Tyrone Monaghan final, Tyrone to win it."
Cavan's win last season may have been a surprise but what does it say about Donegal.....? Either they took the game for granted which smacks of bad management and players who think they are better than the actually are or Donegal are just not as good as they think.... If Donegal think they are going to challenge the Dubs with Eamon Magee still playing in the full back line they are totally deluded... He got roasted on a relatively tight pitch in the Ulster Final so what would happen him in the likes of Croke Park...? He was a great player but Father Time has caught up with him I fear....!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 02/06/2021 18:45:25    2347793

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Cavan's win last season may have been a surprise but what does it say about Donegal.....? Either they took the game for granted which smacks of bad management and players who think they are better than the actually are or Donegal are just not as good as they think.... If Donegal think they are going to challenge the Dubs with Eamon Magee still playing in the full back line they are totally deluded... He got roasted on a relatively tight pitch in the Ulster Final so what would happen him in the likes of Croke Park...? He was a great player but Father Time has caught up with him I fear....!!!"
Eamon McGee retired 5 years ago far as I remember, I think we were over trained before last years Ulster final and focused on a semi final with Dublin, I put that down to bad management rather than on the players themselves.
Hope ye can avoid the drop to division 4, it would be embarrassing for the Ulster Champions.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 02/06/2021 19:04:07    2347799

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Cavan's win last season may have been a surprise but what does it say about Donegal.....? Either they took the game for granted which smacks of bad management and players who think they are better than the actually are or Donegal are just not as good as they think.... If Donegal think they are going to challenge the Dubs with Eamon Magee still playing in the full back line they are totally deluded... He got roasted on a relatively tight pitch in the Ulster Final so what would happen him in the likes of Croke Park...? He was a great player but Father Time has caught up with him I fear....!!!"
No fear of eamon Mc gee getting roasted he retired 3 years ago.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 02/06/2021 19:11:17    2347803

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Just admit it Seanie, you really believe Monaghan will clinch Ulster but you are just afraid to say it"
Division 1 for the last 7 years, have best forward and goalie in the country playing for us. Have got players who have won numerous sigerson cups and been main men for these colleges playing for us, have the experience of winning ulster championships, coming off back of winning few ulster minor titles and succesfull at under 21 a few years ago, have one of the most competitive club scenes in ireland and have a state of the art facility in cloghan for our teams.

Just putting it out there, I expect noting less than an ulster final appearance and victory and if that is not achieved I will be fiercely unhappy.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 02/06/2021 19:29:44    2347808

Eamon McGee retired a good few years ago so no danger him playing Dublin.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 02/06/2021 19:35:43    2347811

Monaghan will get to an ulster final this year. If they can get their heads right and close out a game they will be good ulster champions.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 02/06/2021 22:29:13    2347848

Replying To thegadfly:  "Monaghan will get to an ulster final this year. If they can get their heads right and close out a game they will be good ulster champions."
What's the odds on a Cavan-Monaghan final Gad?
That would be an odious bit of craic altogether, there would be folk wouldn't sleep for a week before it. Or after it.
It hasn't happened since 1952, a good year for the Breffni.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 04/06/2021 10:00:38    2348143

I would probably think no chance

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1897 - 04/06/2021 15:31:10    2348231

Replying To MurphBalls:  "Mayo haha? What is everyone's obsession with a Mayo team that qualified to an AI final by beating Tipperary to get there? Just a reminder that Tipperary are in a relegation battle to maintain Division 3 status. Division 3? I know league doesn't mean a whole lot but I would say that more applies to Division 1 and Division 2 teams. I put Mayo outside of Dublin, Kerry, Donegal, and Tyrone. Judging by this years league I'd probably put Armagh and Monaghan ahead of them too.

The fact of the matter is that the Ulster teams have played 3, sometimes 4 hard games on the way to the AI semi final. Kerry play Waterford sometimes to earn a spot in the Munster final where they might play Tipperary. If you put Tyrone in Munster and Kerry in Ulster it would be a completely different outcome."
The last time a ulster team bet mayo was 2012.

The last time donegal made it to the semi's was 2014. Mayo hav made it 9 out of the alst 10 years. Knocking out donegal in the super 8s just 2 years ago.

Just a reminder the ulster champions are in a relegation to stay in division 3.

Judging by last years league form Kerry were better than dublin. And we all know how that ended.

Its over 10 years since an Ulster team without jim McGuinness were able to give mayo or Dublin a real challenge in the championship.

Ulster does great in the league but they haven't doen shit in championship since 2014.

Sssthe (Mayo) - Posts: 57 - 04/06/2021 21:31:45    2348302

Replying To Sssthe:  "The last time a ulster team bet mayo was 2012.

The last time donegal made it to the semi's was 2014. Mayo hav made it 9 out of the alst 10 years. Knocking out donegal in the super 8s just 2 years ago.

Just a reminder the ulster champions are in a relegation to stay in division 3.

Judging by last years league form Kerry were better than dublin. And we all know how that ended.

Its over 10 years since an Ulster team without jim McGuinness were able to give mayo or Dublin a real challenge in the championship.

Ulster does great in the league but they haven't doen shit in championship since 2014."
Tyrone in 2018 did exactly what the greatest ever mayo team have done this past decade. . .
Gave Dublin their victory lap.

Derry brought Mayo to extra time in 2016 when Derry were probably the 5th best team in ulster.

The lop sided provincial setup has suited no team more than mayo in the last 15 years.

But when it matters, unlike Donegal in 2012, Mayo are inevitably found wanting.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 04/06/2021 23:00:51    2348326

See a lot of people tipping armagh to at least get to the final with many backing them to win it. Can mcgeeney deliver with this v talented group of footballers. Think they will definitively make the final being on weaker side of draw but Donegal will win it .

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 14/06/2021 21:58:39    2350978

Looking forward to ulster championship donegal with a fit MM and tyrone still the teams to beat . Looks like everyone else is closing the gap at this stage ,maybe a few games going to extra time ..

Theliveshow (Armagh) - Posts: 13 - 14/06/2021 23:51:56    2351014

Replying To seanie08:  "See a lot of people tipping armagh to at least get to the final with many backing them to win it. Can mcgeeney deliver with this v talented group of footballers. Think they will definitively make the final being on weaker side of draw but Donegal will win it ."
Armagh need to beat an up and coming Antrim team and Monaghan in Clones, I wouldn't be betting on anyone.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 15/06/2021 09:18:39    2351045

Lovely to see some sniping about the place

I think we will reach the All-Ireland semi-final this year but it will be tough. I wouldn't read much in to Kerry demolishing Tyrone the last day. I know it's year 1 for the new management in Tyrone but they worry me (as always really). Cavan will be trickier than many are giving them credit for here but I do think Tyrone will beat them. We also have to navigate a resurgent Derry and Rory Gallagher would love nothing more to pull a fast one on us I'd say.

If we can't get out of Newry without a handy enough win we've no business even talking about championship, the myths and enigma surrounding Down football is years gone at this stage, for my mind they have some really talented lads but as a county set up are one of the poorest around. If they pull it together for championship this year then fair play, they're one of my favourite counties outside of Donegal but I just can't see it.

I think this is the year for us to take the next step, as tough as it will be from the preliminary round. If we don't make that step you'd have to say Bonner will face tough questions - it's knockout championship but I think the time has come for this group to make the step up.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 15/06/2021 09:56:06    2351054

I think the draw makes for a very interesting championship.

Donegal and Tyrone looked a step above the rest when they met a few weeks ago.

I'm not sure how much to read into the Tyrone/Kerry game but equally I have no idea how to gauge where Cavan are at. We weren't just bad - we were so disorganised and laissez faire about some aspects of the game that we simply must have something up our sleeve. I think there's a big performance in us for the Tyrone game, but it being enough to beat Tyrone, in Omagh, is another thing altogether.

I think Monaghan will come through the other side of the draw. For all the talk of Armagh, they still haven't done anything in the championship under McGeeney.

Whoever wins it this year, it will have been seriously hard fought. The 4 division 1 teams will all think they've a chance, but each one could be caught too.

I'll plump for Donegal. But for the semi final to be as far as any ulster side makes it this year.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 15/06/2021 10:20:00    2351062

Replying To cavanman47:  "I think the draw makes for a very interesting championship.

Donegal and Tyrone looked a step above the rest when they met a few weeks ago.

I'm not sure how much to read into the Tyrone/Kerry game but equally I have no idea how to gauge where Cavan are at. We weren't just bad - we were so disorganised and laissez faire about some aspects of the game that we simply must have something up our sleeve. I think there's a big performance in us for the Tyrone game, but it being enough to beat Tyrone, in Omagh, is another thing altogether.

I think Monaghan will come through the other side of the draw. For all the talk of Armagh, they still haven't done anything in the championship under McGeeney.

Whoever wins it this year, it will have been seriously hard fought. The 4 division 1 teams will all think they've a chance, but each one could be caught too.

I'll plump for Donegal. But for the semi final to be as far as any ulster side makes it this year."
I'd agree with that, I'm just not sure with Tyrone, we'll know a lot more after the Cavan game, I think they will be very hard to beat when they have a full team out, suppose like ourselves there's a few key men they can't really do without,
we have a long hard road to get to the Ulster semi final even, never mind the All Ireland semi final,
I fancy Monaghan on the other side but it wouldn't surprise me either if Armagh made it to the final.
Can't wait for it to start, the only really competitive provincial left were you could make a case for any of 4 teams winning it, and look at what happened last year so you can take nothing for granted and can't write anybody off as we know only too well in Donegal now.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 15/06/2021 12:03:23    2351098

Could be anyone
Just hope they all come out to play ball and not go back to old habits

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 17/06/2021 03:12:53    2351548

Probably very premature to be making predictions with any sort of certainty, and admittedly I have my big Donegal hat on but anyways...

Predictions:

Preliminary Round:

Down vs Donegal (Donegal by 4 points)

Quarter Finals:

Donegal vs Derry (Donegal by 3 points)
Tyrone vs Cavan (Tyrone by 2 points)
Monaghan vs Fermanagh (Monaghan by 6 points)
Armagh vs Antrim (Armagh by 7 points)

Semi Finals:

Donegal vs Tyrone (Donegal by 2 points)
Armagh vs Monaghan (Monaghan by 2 points)

Final:

Monaghan vs Donegal (Donegal by 2 points)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 17/06/2021 14:10:39    2351633