RTE And This Constant "Henry Shefflin Is The Greatest Hurler Of All Time To Many"

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  " "If Tony Browne or Shane Conway were born in Kilkenny, how many All Irelands would they have. The same with Brick Walsh."

Name the three Kilkenny players they would have replaced?"
I'd say Cody wouldve loved to have been able select Conway the last few years. Aside from TJ Reid theres nothing special about your front 6."
OK. And how many All-Irelands would have Kilkenny won over the last few years with Conway in the team?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 06/06/2021 21:51:05    2348726

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  " "If Tony Browne or Shane Conway were born in Kilkenny, how many All Irelands would they have. The same with Brick Walsh."

I'd say Cody wouldve loved to have been able select Conway the last few years. Aside from TJ Reid theres nothing special about your front 6."
OK. And how many All-Irelands would have Kilkenny won over the last few years with Conway in the team?"]In the 2019 final your starting inside forwards only managed 2 points from play between the 3 of them. While he might not have made up the 14 point difference who knows how great he would have become if he had been part of the great Kilkenny production line from school age. He is still only 23 years old. Apart from maybe Mullen if he regains his pre injury form, and obviously TJ, I dont think you have any forwards as good. And I've seen nearly all of them live from pitch side at minor or u20/21 playing against us or on telly if I couldnt go to the matches. The only player you have had come through in the last few years who has superstar talent if he harnesses it right is Richie Leahy. Conway was a big part of the UCC teams that won 2 Fitzgibbons. He was their top scorer in both campaigns.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 07/06/2021 11:05:47    2348775

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  " "If Tony Browne or Shane Conway were born in Kilkenny, how many All Irelands would they have. The same with Brick Walsh."

OK. And how many All-Irelands would have Kilkenny won over the last few years with Conway in the team?"]In the 2019 final your starting inside forwards only managed 2 points from play between the 3 of them. While he might not have made up the 14 point difference who knows how great he would have become if he had been part of the great Kilkenny production line from school age. He is still only 23 years old. Apart from maybe Mullen if he regains his pre injury form, and obviously TJ, I dont think you have any forwards as good. And I've seen nearly all of them live from pitch side at minor or u20/21 playing against us or on telly if I couldnt go to the matches. The only player you have had come through in the last few years who has superstar talent if he harnesses it right is Richie Leahy. Conway was a big part of the UCC teams that won 2 Fitzgibbons. He was their top scorer in both campaigns.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 07/06/2021 11:08:13    2348776

I am waiting to see when pundits on rte begin the question the viability of Croke Park holding the All Irelands this year with all the violence we are seeing in Dublin city centre affecting things. Will they have to move the finals down the country somewhere for safety reasons. Hopefully rte will get cracking on discussing this.

the_creeler (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 07/06/2021 12:04:12    2348782

Replying To the_creeler:  "I am waiting to see when pundits on rte begin the question the viability of Croke Park holding the All Irelands this year with all the violence we are seeing in Dublin city centre affecting things. Will they have to move the finals down the country somewhere for safety reasons. Hopefully rte will get cracking on discussing this."
A few reprobates who always cause trouble, whom society tolerates and then too late berates are loose on our streets. I cannot see how this would affecting any organised event, the key here is organised we Irish just do not do organised. These yokes during the lockdown harressed delivery riders, when weather got better plagued the public parks, when weather got even better and schools closed Dublin city centre has become their mecca. Its also happening in Cork, Galway, Limerick albeit in smaller numbers. But I wouldn't worry too much all the action is on the south side of the city, Smithfield is an oasis of urban calm, as is Phibsboro and Drumcondra. Its always the southsiders.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 07/06/2021 12:36:07    2348785

Replying To the_creeler:  "I am waiting to see when pundits on rte begin the question the viability of Croke Park holding the All Irelands this year with all the violence we are seeing in Dublin city centre affecting things. Will they have to move the finals down the country somewhere for safety reasons. Hopefully rte will get cracking on discussing this."
To be honest I wouldn't think that too many of the thugs who have caused problems are interested in GAA.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 07/06/2021 12:42:56    2348786

Replying To arock:  "A few reprobates who always cause trouble, whom society tolerates and then too late berates are loose on our streets. I cannot see how this would affecting any organised event, the key here is organised we Irish just do not do organised. These yokes during the lockdown harressed delivery riders, when weather got better plagued the public parks, when weather got even better and schools closed Dublin city centre has become their mecca. Its also happening in Cork, Galway, Limerick albeit in smaller numbers. But I wouldn't worry too much all the action is on the south side of the city, Smithfield is an oasis of urban calm, as is Phibsboro and Drumcondra. Its always the southsiders."
That'll bring the Meenahans out to meet the Geraghty's as they say in East Galway :)

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 07/06/2021 13:04:47    2348789

i would say henry was a great player in a great team. but maybe the greatest hurler of all time was from sligo? or kerry? or wesmeath?we will never know. likewise tommy walsh was great..as was dj. but would any of the 3 have all irelands or indeed allstars if they played with say louth? hardly. would david kilcloyne,shane brick ,pat crichley,the cuddy brothers,killian doyle,paddy purcell,shane conway or joe henry have multiple all ireland medals if they were from kilkenny? no doubt id say. the best ive seen,as part of great teams ? henry,dj, brian whelehan tommy walsh ,tony kelly,eoin kelly tipp, nicky english,joe cooney,john troy,johnny dooley, ollie and joe canning,jimmy barry murphy,seamus callinan,aidan fogarty,noel hickey,brian lohan sean mc mahon, jamsie,brendan cummins,eddie keher, john mullane ....and theres loads more..i never seen ringy sadly!!

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 07/06/2021 13:33:20    2348792

Replying To Maroonatic:  "That'll bring the Meenahans out to meet the Geraghty's as they say in East Galway :)"
How anyone thinks the holding of the All Ireland's in CP is going to encourage anti social behaviour is pushing things abit...its highly unlikely that lads out for trouble are going to be paid up members of their clubs to firstly get a chance of getting a ticket to attend, and these same people are not going to leave CP and start setting fire to wheelie bins and hanging out etc...I think and hope things will be a bit more relaxed anyway...I cant see there being too much hassle to be honest...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 08/06/2021 00:17:03    2348887

Replying To catch22:  "Oh a master stickman no doubt. Would walk on to any team including the 4 in a row Kilkenny side."
TJ Reid didn't walk onto the 4 in a row team neither did Richie Hogan or Michael Fnnelly. So Tony Kelly wouldn't have either.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 08/06/2021 02:50:58    2348893

Replying To gatha:  "TJ Reid didn't walk onto the 4 in a row team neither did Richie Hogan or Michael Fnnelly. So Tony Kelly wouldn't have either."
TJ was nowhere near the player he is now, back then, so that argument doesn't really hold. TJ hit his peak later in his career and has been one of the best hurlers in the country for the last 6 or 7 years. Prior to that, he wasn't at the same level at all. Tony Kelly has been performing at a very high level since he was 21 and has been one of the top players nationally since he came on to the scene.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 08/06/2021 10:07:43    2348913

Replying To WanPintWin:  "TJ was nowhere near the player he is now, back then, so that argument doesn't really hold. TJ hit his peak later in his career and has been one of the best hurlers in the country for the last 6 or 7 years. Prior to that, he wasn't at the same level at all. Tony Kelly has been performing at a very high level since he was 21 and has been one of the top players nationally since he came on to the scene."
My point is that team was special Fennelly was a more talented player than Derek Lyng or Michael Rice TJ and Richie Hogan were more talented than Taggy Fogarty or Colin Fennelly, even back then. The genius of Cody was he knew what players could do jobs for the team. During those years Lyng , Rice, Fogarty and C. Fennelly were better fits some days then TJ., Richie and Michael Fennelly. To say Tony Kelly would walk onto that team is just not true. If he fit the need Cody wanted then yes if not he wouldn't. John Mullane said during that time T.J. Reid would walk onto any other county team in Ireland. Since he couldn't nail down a place on that Kilkenny team how do you know how good or bad he was. If he as in Clare he would have been an automatic starter. He was missing that little something at the time to make the first 15 in Kilkenny. Sitting back then may have made him the best player in Ireland over the last 5 years.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 08/06/2021 10:43:40    2348923

Replying To gatha:  "TJ Reid didn't walk onto the 4 in a row team neither did Richie Hogan or Michael Fnnelly. So Tony Kelly wouldn't have either."
TJ Reid is a far better player now than then. The TJ Reid of the last 4 years wouldve walked onto that team. Michael Fennellys best years were after then too. Richie Hogan maybe wasnt quite as good as the lads did the 4 in a row but maybe he would've been if hed stayed injury free. But again he was in the next generation like Reid and Mick Fennelly.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 08/06/2021 11:00:54    2348931

Replying To gatha:  "My point is that team was special Fennelly was a more talented player than Derek Lyng or Michael Rice TJ and Richie Hogan were more talented than Taggy Fogarty or Colin Fennelly, even back then. The genius of Cody was he knew what players could do jobs for the team. During those years Lyng , Rice, Fogarty and C. Fennelly were better fits some days then TJ., Richie and Michael Fennelly. To say Tony Kelly would walk onto that team is just not true. If he fit the need Cody wanted then yes if not he wouldn't. John Mullane said during that time T.J. Reid would walk onto any other county team in Ireland. Since he couldn't nail down a place on that Kilkenny team how do you know how good or bad he was. If he as in Clare he would have been an automatic starter. He was missing that little something at the time to make the first 15 in Kilkenny. Sitting back then may have made him the best player in Ireland over the last 5 years."
Cody is an expert that way. Richie Leahy was the best underage player I saw play for ye the last 10 years but Cody didnt rush him into the senior team. He wanted him to develop his work rate etc first.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 08/06/2021 11:03:58    2348933

Replying To gatha:  "My point is that team was special Fennelly was a more talented player than Derek Lyng or Michael Rice TJ and Richie Hogan were more talented than Taggy Fogarty or Colin Fennelly, even back then. The genius of Cody was he knew what players could do jobs for the team. During those years Lyng , Rice, Fogarty and C. Fennelly were better fits some days then TJ., Richie and Michael Fennelly. To say Tony Kelly would walk onto that team is just not true. If he fit the need Cody wanted then yes if not he wouldn't. John Mullane said during that time T.J. Reid would walk onto any other county team in Ireland. Since he couldn't nail down a place on that Kilkenny team how do you know how good or bad he was. If he as in Clare he would have been an automatic starter. He was missing that little something at the time to make the first 15 in Kilkenny. Sitting back then may have made him the best player in Ireland over the last 5 years."
He's been quoted in various interviews over the years that his dedicated approach to looking after his body transformed him in the last few years. His physicality is a huge part of his game and he's mentioned that he's meticulous in how he does his own strength and conditioning as well as recovery work. He wasn't physically at that level in his very early 20s, when the 4 in a row was done. Some lads peak later.
Joe Canning was one of the best in the country from a very early age. Tony Kelly had the endless energy when he came on to the scene, that he still has today, as well as the vision and skill. A 20/21 year old Tony Kelly was a top intercounty player, as was Joe from his late teens.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 08/06/2021 11:08:42    2348934

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He's been quoted in various interviews over the years that his dedicated approach to looking after his body transformed him in the last few years. His physicality is a huge part of his game and he's mentioned that he's meticulous in how he does his own strength and conditioning as well as recovery work. He wasn't physically at that level in his very early 20s, when the 4 in a row was done. Some lads peak later.
Joe Canning was one of the best in the country from a very early age. Tony Kelly had the endless energy when he came on to the scene, that he still has today, as well as the vision and skill. A 20/21 year old Tony Kelly was a top intercounty player, as was Joe from his late teens."
We all know that TJ is a far stronger man now then he was at 21 or 22 as is Tony Kelly and Joe Canning. It was said Kelly would walk onto the greatest team of all time. I don't agree with that because there is more to it then just skill. You are saying Tony Kelly was better then TJ at 21 or 22. If TJ was in another county at that age he would have started every game and who knows what he would have done. Every game he came into a a sub he produced for Kilkenny back then. You are making a big assumption saying anyone would walk onto the 4 in a row Kilkenny team when the likes of Mick Fennelly TJ and Richie Hogan didn't walk on.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 08/06/2021 12:54:33    2348961

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  " "If Tony Browne or Shane Conway were born in Kilkenny, how many All Irelands would they have. The same with Brick Walsh."

OK. And how many All-Irelands would have Kilkenny won over the last few years with Conway in the team?"]In the 2019 final your starting inside forwards only managed 2 points from play between the 3 of them. While he might not have made up the 14 point difference who knows how great he would have become if he had been part of the great Kilkenny production line from school age. He is still only 23 years old. Apart from maybe Mullen if he regains his pre injury form, and obviously TJ, I dont think you have any forwards as good. And I've seen nearly all of them live from pitch side at minor or u20/21 playing against us or on telly if I couldnt go to the matches. The only player you have had come through in the last few years who has superstar talent if he harnesses it right is Richie Leahy. Conway was a big part of the UCC teams that won 2 Fitzgibbons. He was their top scorer in both campaigns."]In 2017 the KK full forward line, playing in Nowlan Park, did not get a single score from play between the three of them against Limerick

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 08/06/2021 13:37:49    2348972

Replying To gatha:  "We all know that TJ is a far stronger man now then he was at 21 or 22 as is Tony Kelly and Joe Canning. It was said Kelly would walk onto the greatest team of all time. I don't agree with that because there is more to it then just skill. You are saying Tony Kelly was better then TJ at 21 or 22. If TJ was in another county at that age he would have started every game and who knows what he would have done. Every game he came into a a sub he produced for Kilkenny back then. You are making a big assumption saying anyone would walk onto the 4 in a row Kilkenny team when the likes of Mick Fennelly TJ and Richie Hogan didn't walk on."
It was 15 years ago the 4 in a row team won their 1st and 12 when they won their last. Fennelly,Richie and TJ were chaps back then. Tony Kelly was barely out of national school back then. So obviously none of the 4 of them would have walked onto that team then. That's not what hes saying. The TJ and Tony Kelly of the last 5 years might have though. And Richie started the 2009 final btw. And Michael Fennelly played most of the 2nd half.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 08/06/2021 13:52:24    2348980

Replying To gatha:  "We all know that TJ is a far stronger man now then he was at 21 or 22 as is Tony Kelly and Joe Canning. It was said Kelly would walk onto the greatest team of all time. I don't agree with that because there is more to it then just skill. You are saying Tony Kelly was better then TJ at 21 or 22. If TJ was in another county at that age he would have started every game and who knows what he would have done. Every game he came into a a sub he produced for Kilkenny back then. You are making a big assumption saying anyone would walk onto the 4 in a row Kilkenny team when the likes of Mick Fennelly TJ and Richie Hogan didn't walk on."
It was 15 years ago the 4 in a row team won their 1st and 12 when they won their last. Fennelly,Richie and TJ were chaps back then. Tony Kelly was barely out of national school back then. So obviously none of the 4 of them would have walked onto that team then. That's not what hes saying. The TJ and Tony Kelly of the last 5 years might have though. And Richie started the 2009 final btw. And Michael Fennelly played most of the 2nd half. And when they were going for the 5 in a row TJ was captain and Fennelly started and Richie Hogan came on as a sub.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 08/06/2021 13:54:20    2348982

While it is always a almost fantasy team stuff wondering how Shane Conway (Kerry) or Cillan Doyle(? -Westmeath and in years gone by DJ Leahy (Kerry) just to pull a few names up, would have got on say if they were with the great Kilkenny teams or similar. Each player is majestic in their own right, and are top of the pops in their own bowl so to speak, one does not know how such players would do in full time training with the likes of Kilkenny or Tipperary for example. Yes, we seen lesser county stars make Railway cup teams in the past, that is just for a short period (if any) of pre tournament training and is over is a few weeks..training long term against lads as good and potentially better than you is a different matter and might affect playrer confidence, attitude and approach etc. Also the manager of a bigger county may not be beholding to them as the their own county manager.

No doubt some might make the cut with a bigger traditional county, but it would not be guaranteed either, we all know some stars who have disapeared from these bigger counties for one reason or another..it can be very unforgiven the higher up the ladder one goes..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 08/06/2021 23:26:33    2349127