RTE And This Constant "Henry Shefflin Is The Greatest Hurler Of All Time To Many"

Replying To supersub15:  "The simple fact is I don't think your post deserves a reply but out of common curtsey I decided I would.
It's fair to say you scanned my post you didn't actually read it properly, my gut feeling tells me you are a woman so for that reason too I want to clear the air and let you see I am not a misogynist, far from it I have great respect for women, so with that and with your permission I will talk you through the post in question.

I started with, "There's opinions and there's repeated opinions, so in my opinion there's no reason why the Sunday game can't have a male presenter, women fill all the key rolls within RTE, I do know that, eg front line presenters in the News Room, Current Affairs, Sunday Sport's, etc, etc, etc. ( that is an honest opinion I have, it simply doesn't qualify for an offensive statement.)

The only "one" show that I would like to see a man presenting is The Sunday Game, that is my opinion and I make no apologies for saying that. (Nothing more than the Sunday Game show,. neither is it offensive or of a misogynistic nature)

Like I said my gut feeling tells me you're a woman and my post has offended you, can I add my post was never meant to offend you or any other woman, it offended me more when you suggested I was a misogynist and I don't value women's opinions as much as men's, bitter agendas are not part of my makeup.

Being a prisoner in my own mind is not an option for me, I should have the right to express my thoughts openly and honestly, other than letting them fester in my mind to the point of explosion, no thanks.
Good day Madam."
Your dead right..she is just ok of a presenter, nothing special, this lark of she deserves the role..whats that about??and the Wexford comogie player commenting on hurling games..we are so correct now and no one must be left out...you know its not far away when a non gender person (which is impossible) will be presenting it..wait and see..FG in Government for you again...the country is destroyed...and your attacked now for speaking your mind..they can speak their minds though, oh thats equality, but dont disapprove or anything or your deemed old fashioned and told your backwards..as I say, you cant offend them but they can you...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 01/06/2021 21:44:38    2347532

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "To be honest I deliberately left out any Offaly candidates as it would appear I was batting for an Offaly man, which is not the case at all..yes we have a few, who could be mentioned, but the real core point is that this amost obsession that Henry was the best..he wasnt the best...very very good yes..."
Offlay "have a few hurlers" who could be regarded as the greatest hurler of all time? Really? Besides Brian Whelahan, who are these other 'greatest of all time' Offlay hurlers?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2453 - 01/06/2021 21:53:01    2347536

Thought we had all agreed on John Troy as TGHOAT . Definitely the most skillful bar none.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 01/06/2021 22:37:31    2347559

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Offlay "have a few hurlers" who could be regarded as the greatest hurler of all time? Really? Besides Brian Whelahan, who are these other 'greatest of all time' Offlay hurlers?"
I would have no bother in naming Offaly players among the greats that played the game. Pat Delaney would have few equal as a centre back. Eugene Coughlan would be up there with the greatest full backs. Pat Fleury was a house hold name and manny many other before and after them. The greatest hurler of all time is a total joke. Even in Kilkenny itself was Henry better than D.J. D.J. better than Keher better than Jimmy Langton or any of them better than T.J. Reid is now.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 01/06/2021 22:43:52    2347562

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "The simple fact is I don't think your post deserves a reply but out of common curtsey I decided I would.
It's fair to say you scanned my post you didn't actually read it properly, my gut feeling tells me you are a woman so for that reason too I want to clear the air and let you see I am not a misogynist, far from it I have great respect for women, so with that and with your permission I will talk you through the post in question.

I started with, "There's opinions and there's repeated opinions, so in my opinion there's no reason why the Sunday game can't have a male presenter, women fill all the key rolls within RTE, I do know that, eg front line presenters in the News Room, Current Affairs, Sunday Sport's, etc, etc, etc. ( that is an honest opinion I have, it simply doesn't qualify for an offensive statement.)

The only "one" show that I would like to see a man presenting is The Sunday Game, that is my opinion and I make no apologies for saying that. (Nothing more than the Sunday Game show,. neither is it offensive or of a misogynistic nature)

Like I said my gut feeling tells me you're a woman and my post has offended you, can I add my post was never meant to offend you or any other woman, it offended me more when you suggested I was a misogynist and I don't value women's opinions as much as men's, bitter agendas are not part of my makeup.

Being a prisoner in my own mind is not an option for me, I should have the right to express my thoughts openly and honestly, other than letting them fester in my mind to the point of explosion, no thanks.
Good day Madam."
Your dead right..she is just ok of a presenter, nothing special, this lark of she deserves the role..whats that about??and the Wexford comogie player commenting on hurling games..we are so correct now and no one must be left out...you know its not far away when a non gender person (which is impossible) will be presenting it..wait and see..FG in Government for you again...the country is destroyed...and your attacked now for speaking your mind..they can speak their minds though, oh thats equality, but dont disapprove or anything or your deemed old fashioned and told your backwards..as I say, you cant offend them but they can you..."
In fairness, 'that Wexford Camogie Player' comes with some pedigree. She and all her three siblings have played 'hurling' at the top level, for their county. Her father and uncle are All Ireland Medalists and her Great Grand Uncle, Jem Mythen, was a member of the 1910 All Ireland winning team. So I would be happy enough with her commenting on hurling as I am sure she knows a lot more about the game than I do.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 02/06/2021 09:10:38    2347585

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Offlay "have a few hurlers" who could be regarded as the greatest hurler of all time? Really? Besides Brian Whelahan, who are these other 'greatest of all time' Offlay hurlers?"
Kinahan, Hanamy and Jonny Dooley all won 3 all stars each? Whelahan won 4. I'm sure there are some in Offaly would regard one of them as an all time great?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11798 - 02/06/2021 09:15:12    2347586

Replying To TheFlaker:  "This old chestnut again. He's right up there. People have different opinions on it. Wouldn't be getting worked up about it."
Yeah, agree. Stopped reading after this post. Pointless thread. People have opinions, who cares.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 02/06/2021 09:28:46    2347591

Replying To Canuck:  "I would have no bother in naming Offaly players among the greats that played the game. Pat Delaney would have few equal as a centre back. Eugene Coughlan would be up there with the greatest full backs. Pat Fleury was a house hold name and manny many other before and after them. The greatest hurler of all time is a total joke. Even in Kilkenny itself was Henry better than D.J. D.J. better than Keher better than Jimmy Langton or any of them better than T.J. Reid is now."
I wasn't talking about 'great' players, there have been hundreds of them, you mention some of them. My reply was about 'the greatest of all time'. Anyway, it's pointless anyone stating who was the greatest. There's hardly anyone alive who would have seen the great players of the 1920's and 30's; and no one has seen the greats of the first 30 years of the GAA. And even if you had a group 150 year old's, who had seen every game since the beginning of the GAA. They would still argue about who was 'The Greatest Hurler Of All Time'.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2453 - 02/06/2021 10:11:16    2347602

Replying To Viking66:  "Kinahan, Hanamy and Jonny Dooley all won 3 all stars each? Whelahan won 4. I'm sure there are some in Offaly would regard one of them as an all time great?"
Include me in that.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 02/06/2021 10:20:44    2347607

Replying To supersub15:  "There's opinions and there's repeated opinions, so in my opinion there's no reason why the Sunday game can't have a male presenter, women fill all the key rolls within RTE, I do know that, eg front line presenters in the News Room, Current Affairs, Sunday Sport's, etc, etc, etc.

The only one show that I would like to see a man presenting is The Sunday Game, that is my opinion and I make no apologies for saying that.

Darragh Maloney should have got that slot in the first place, Tommy Martin is another reasonably good presenter. Equalisation is a non runner in RTE apparently.

Fairplayalways (Offaly) was only giving his opinion on one issue and he put it across reasonably well, it gave me the opportunity to expand a little re Joanne Cantwell / Sunday Game."
Jeysus that was some attempt to turn a thread about Shefflin into a rant about women presenters.

As for "Henry being the greatest ever to many" with many being the key word there well yes he was the greatest ever to many

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 02/06/2021 10:40:50    2347614

Replying To Oldtourman:  "
Replying To Fairplayalways:  "[quote=supersub15:  "The simple fact is I don't think your post deserves a reply but out of common curtsey I decided I would.

Good day Madam."
Your dead right..she is just ok of a presenter, nothing special, this lark of she deserves the role..whats that about??and the Wexford comogie player commenting on hurling games..we are so correct now and no one must be left out...you know its not far away when a non gender person (which is impossible) will be presenting it..wait and see..FG in Government for you again...the country is destroyed...and your attacked now for speaking your mind..they can speak their minds though, oh thats equality, but dont disapprove or anything or your deemed old fashioned and told your backwards..as I say, you cant offend them but they can you..."
In fairness, 'that Wexford Camogie Player' comes with some pedigree. She and all her three siblings have played 'hurling' at the top level, for their county. Her father and uncle are All Ireland Medalists and her Great Grand Uncle, Jem Mythen, was a member of the 1910 All Ireland winning team. So I would be happy enough with her commenting on hurling as I am sure she knows a lot more about the game than I do."]Totally agree. Her Mam was also a camogie player of note. And she is quite knowledgeable

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 02/06/2021 11:30:02    2347636

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "
Replying To Breffni40:  "[quote=supersub15:  "The simple fact is I don't think your post deserves a reply but out of common curtsey I decided I would.

Good day Madam."
I'm a man and women do not fill all the key roles in rte, no matter how many times you say it.

Joanne Cantwell was and is the most deserving candidate for the role of Sunday Game presenter. She may not be to your liking but you'll just have to suck that up. You can't please everyone.

Also nobody is denying you the right to an opinion or voicing it on here or anywhere else. If you don't want anyone to challenge it then exercise your right not to post it on a discussion board.

The fact an all-star GAA player with years of experience in sports media presenting The Sunday Game is drawing parallels with men's mental health is quite frankly warped. They are not related in any way shape or form. Dangerous whataboutery."
How can she be "most deserving"???...what does that mean?? is there no other candidate..we are all gone to all sexes included in this country..and yer one from Wexford and she sqauaking about the "half backs being pulled out of position and all this ould modern populist lark"...its not a good show at all, and the presenter doesnt help...or some of the panel..."]It means she was the best candidate to replace Micheal Lyster. Some people have suggested Darragh Moloney but that would take him out of the commentary box and he's the main anchor for the soccer coverage. Although it seems Darragh is a woman because I'm told women hold ALL the key roles in rte, FACT.

I'm a big fan of Darragh Moloney by the way. He also interrupts and challenges the pundits on the soccer coverage but I guess he's entitled to do that as a man?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 02/06/2021 12:24:57    2347665

Replying To Breffni40:  "
Replying To Fairplayalways:  "[quote=Breffni40:  "[quote=supersub15:  "The simple fact is I don't think your post deserves a reply but out of common curtsey I decided I would.

Good day Madam."
I'm a man and women do not fill all the key roles in rte, no matter how many times you say it.

Joanne Cantwell was and is the most deserving candidate for the role of Sunday Game presenter. She may not be to your liking but you'll just have to suck that up. You can't please everyone.

Also nobody is denying you the right to an opinion or voicing it on here or anywhere else. If you don't want anyone to challenge it then exercise your right not to post it on a discussion board.

The fact an all-star GAA player with years of experience in sports media presenting The Sunday Game is drawing parallels with men's mental health is quite frankly warped. They are not related in any way shape or form. Dangerous whataboutery."
How can she be "most deserving"???...what does that mean?? is there no other candidate..we are all gone to all sexes included in this country..and yer one from Wexford and she sqauaking about the "half backs being pulled out of position and all this ould modern populist lark"...its not a good show at all, and the presenter doesnt help...or some of the panel..."]It means she was the best candidate to replace Micheal Lyster. Some people have suggested Darragh Moloney but that would take him out of the commentary box and he's the main anchor for the soccer coverage. Although it seems Darragh is a woman because I'm told women hold ALL the key roles in rte, FACT.

I'm a big fan of Darragh Moloney by the way. He also interrupts and challenges the pundits on the soccer coverage but I guess he's entitled to do that as a man?"]The biggest mistake RTE made was making Darragh Maloney an anchorman. A much better commentator. Peter Collins would be ideal to anchor the soccer.

Regarding the Sunday Game - I think Joanne and "yer one from Wexford" are both quite good. Michael Lyster had long outlived his usefulness. Him and the three amigos for the football coverage were sterile and were like an old boys club.

And the Virgin Media sports crew? Leave them right where they are.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 02/06/2021 12:47:08    2347670

It has been noticeable that Henry is being mentioned quite a lotl recently on The Sunday Game. Most people are fed up with comparing hurlers of who is the greatest. And I am not going to add to that debate.
I think it has been refreshing and reflects our society currently that women are playing a more prominent part in the presentation and punditry around our games. Good on them I say !
They are fully entitled to their view and I think its about time we recognised their invaluable contribution to the whole discussion around our games.
Joanne Cantwell is a player of note and the fact that she is a presenter on The Sunday Game reflects the hard work professionalism and personal interest she has in Gaelic Games.
She is to the point, decisive and cuts to the chase well. The more ladies involved in all aspects of the games the better !

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 02/06/2021 13:28:07    2347691

I'm not going to attempt to comment on what passes for GAA coverage on RTE as it required a mass overhaul 10 years ago but there were only minor tweeks. Bringing in a new presenter was such a minor tweek. Reading through this thread got me thinking - what deems a player to be 'great' or the 'greatest'? After all, being a superstar in GAA is probably the biggest lottery in the world of sport bar none. I say this because it is based purely on luck - what county you are born into. If Henry Sheflin was born in Offaly or Antrim or Mayo, would people be saying he is the greatest or even talking about him, regardless of how good a hurler he was? After all where you are born determines how many all ireland medals and all stars you win. I am assuming that is a significant part of the criteria for greatest? Plus in hurling, you need to be born in probably 5 counties if you want to be part of the greatest of all time discussion, this narrow the field considerable I would say. By the way, Henry Sheflin was a terrific hurler.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1909 - 02/06/2021 14:12:17    2347712

Replying To carlowman:  "It has been noticeable that Henry is being mentioned quite a lotl recently on The Sunday Game. Most people are fed up with comparing hurlers of who is the greatest. And I am not going to add to that debate.
I think it has been refreshing and reflects our society currently that women are playing a more prominent part in the presentation and punditry around our games. Good on them I say !
They are fully entitled to their view and I think its about time we recognised their invaluable contribution to the whole discussion around our games.
Joanne Cantwell is a player of note and the fact that she is a presenter on The Sunday Game reflects the hard work professionalism and personal interest she has in Gaelic Games.
She is to the point, decisive and cuts to the chase well. The more ladies involved in all aspects of the games the better !"
Hear Hear!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 02/06/2021 14:31:28    2347716

Replying To carlowman:  "It has been noticeable that Henry is being mentioned quite a lotl recently on The Sunday Game. Most people are fed up with comparing hurlers of who is the greatest. And I am not going to add to that debate.
She is to the point, decisive and cuts to the chase well. The more ladies involved in all aspects of the games the better !"
It's okay for the women to mind the kids a few nights week and on match day. Do the chores on a farm Sunday while hubby is away playing. Wash his gear. Make sandwiches in the hall at a GAA event. Collect the money for the lottery. Dare they have a say about the game or rise to a position in t.v. presenting.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 02/06/2021 15:11:17    2347725

How did a thread on whether or whether not Shefflin was or wasnt the best hurler of all time go off in the direction of suicide, an issue very close to my heart, or gender equality in modern day Ireland? Most of the presenters of GAA programs on RTE or whatever channel are professional tv presenters. That's their job. Tbh I couldnt tell you what any of them said about anything the second the program they are presenting is over. I watch the likes of the Sunday Game to see great scores, or last ditch blocks and saves, and then hear what a selection of genuinely great former hurlers, be they Jamesy O Connor, Anthony Daly, Donal og, Henry Shefflin, Ursula Jacob or the other pundits in years gone by think of the games they saw and usually there be things theyd have spotted that I wouldn't and I'd have learnt something new. If I want craic I mess with the wife and kids or go off with my mates.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11798 - 02/06/2021 15:55:11    2347739

Self-rightness, the selfishness of Man, I will go further other than say, how dare I bring into question the Sunday Game and its presenter Joanne Cantwell. Yes how dare I ? With the benefit of hind sight this is my very own quote I can't deny it, "The only one show that I would like to see a man presenting is The Sunday Game, that is my opinion and I make no apologies for saying that." Its almost unforgiveable to suggest such a thing, lucky for me I didn't bad mouth Joanne, come to think of it sure I didn't make any reference to her at all.

The squeaky clean posters here lead by example for sure with their surgically prepared posts; . Anonymity has the hidden ability to bring out the act of bravado and self-rightness in some while others refuse to be distracted and play the field as they see it, it's blatantly obvious that some posts on the same topic went unnoticed, while (without paranoia) my one liner took a few sarcastic jibes Lets have a look at that one liner again, here goes.

"The only one show that I would like to see a man presenting is The Sunday Game,"
Un-forgiveable. - - -

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 02/06/2021 18:11:43    2347786

Henry Sheflin might have been a great hurler but he is a terrible pundit.... As for Daly from Clare... he would give an aspirin a headache...!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1919 - 02/06/2021 18:50:14    2347796