Venues For Semi Finals

Monaghan should have been relegated to Division 2 automatically for such a blatant and negligent breach of rules and public health guidelines. Instead they get a home game and a full week to reminisce about a wonderful victory in the summer of 2018 and how they got to dance around the hallowed turf in Salthill.

Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 31/05/2021 13:21:07    2346941

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "As a Monaghan man I have to say I feel embarrassed that the already decided rules would give a superpower like us home advantage, you would think we have enough advantages without giving us more over poor Galway. This how you Dubs feel
Would yez all grow up, we'd play them in Kilarney if requested. The fixture rules were there before the league started, we took our punishment, I think playing Armagh away has cost us more than people know, benefited??? move on"
You broke the Covid-19 regulations - you should have been dumped along with the Dubs into Div 2 you shower of cheats!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1788 - 31/05/2021 13:27:28    2346948

Neutral venue, grand! Sensible decision by the county boards! Breffni might make sense!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 31/05/2021 13:41:18    2346955

Replying To galwayfball:  "Its ridiculous it should either be a neutral venue or the team that places higher gets home advantage but it isnt set up to bend the rules.for Dublin. It's just the GAA making no sense again

Galway finished 3rd and Monaghan finished 4th but we have to travel to them for relegation (a lot more important than a semi final) . They get home advantage because they had less home games....they had less home games because they got caught breaking restrictions"
The second part of your last sentence is simply incorrect, false. Galway manager seems to be similarly confused?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 31/05/2021 13:49:22    2346958

Replying To sligo joe:  "The second part of your last sentence is simply incorrect, false. Galway manager seems to be similarly confused?"
You're right, but if anything this only exposed what a cop out the punishment actually was. At least Dubs are doing the decent thing and going for a neutral venue.

Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 31/05/2021 14:07:52    2346970

Replying To baire:  "You broke the Covid-19 regulations - you should have been dumped along with the Dubs into Div 2 you shower of cheats!"
Yes we are cheats and the punishment was a loss of one home game and the Manager banned for 3 months..
With the one home game we could have been in the top half of the table.. Galway had 2 home games and still made it to the bottom half of the table.. We have paid the sentence, now get of our backs..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 31/05/2021 14:33:22    2346991

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Ask the geniuses in the GAA who came up with the idea for this mess, clowns."
You you ever quit giving out. You have a smart answer for everything.

There is a small thing called COVID that has slightly effected the whole world.

Also people on here complain that club players not getting a proper cut at their championships. Do we push club games back again?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 31/05/2021 14:50:23    2347001

Replying To Farney:  "Yes we are cheats and the punishment was a loss of one home game and the Manager banned for 3 months..
With the one home game we could have been in the top half of the table.. Galway had 2 home games and still made it to the bottom half of the table.. We have paid the sentence, now get of our backs.."
There is a huge difference between a league game and a knockout game, losing Division 1 status especially with the new championship is massive - a neutral venue would be the fairest option for all knockout games.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1788 - 31/05/2021 15:20:36    2347024

Replying To baire:  "There is a huge difference between a league game and a knockout game, losing Division 1 status especially with the new championship is massive - a neutral venue would be the fairest option for all knockout games."
How is losing div 1 status massive with the new championship

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 31/05/2021 15:42:24    2347040

Replying To baire:  "You broke the Covid-19 regulations - you should have been dumped along with the Dubs into Div 2 you shower of cheats!"
Well, they weren't. So live with it, get on with it, and stop your crying!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 31/05/2021 15:52:43    2347048

Clones it is then so happy enough

Lad79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 53 - 31/05/2021 16:04:57    2347057

Replying To Townee2018:  "You're right, but if anything this only exposed what a cop out the punishment actually was. At least Dubs are doing the decent thing and going for a neutral venue."
Definitely the punishment was ridiculously lenient and you can be sure if it wasn't for the fact Dublin were guilty of the same offence we would have been dumped into division 2 and rightly so. Relegating Dublin would have served no purpose other than effectively punish the teams in Division 2
Dublin did not have the say on declaring for a neutral venue, it had to be agreed jointly because Donegal had equal say and gave up the chance of a home game. Maybe had Galway asked rather than throw all the toys out of the pram, Monaghan may well have offered a neutral venue, don't know, we did wrong in training early but did nothing wrong here
We could easily be playing Kerry in the semi final had we not forfeited home advantage against Armagh

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 31/05/2021 16:07:44    2347058

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Definitely the punishment was ridiculously lenient and you can be sure if it wasn't for the fact Dublin were guilty of the same offence we would have been dumped into division 2 and rightly so. Relegating Dublin would have served no purpose other than effectively punish the teams in Division 2
Dublin did not have the say on declaring for a neutral venue, it had to be agreed jointly because Donegal had equal say and gave up the chance of a home game. Maybe had Galway asked rather than throw all the toys out of the pram, Monaghan may well have offered a neutral venue, don't know, we did wrong in training early but did nothing wrong here
We could easily be playing Kerry in the semi final had we not forfeited home advantage against Armagh"
Don't worry about it.If the shoe was on the other foot I don't think there would be much sympathy for you.Just go out and win the game and stay up.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 31/05/2021 16:49:03    2347090

Replying To sligo joe:  "The second part of your last sentence is simply incorrect, false. Galway manager seems to be similarly confused?"
They had less home games because they got caught breaking restrictions? What part of that isn't true . The lost a home game because they broke restrictions

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 31/05/2021 17:02:58    2347097

Replying To galwayfball:  "They had less home games because they got caught breaking restrictions? What part of that isn't true . The lost a home game because they broke restrictions"
The game that Monaghan lost home advantage for (Armagh) counted as a home game in the decision making process for relegation play-offs. Galway had 2 home games, Monaghan had 1 (which was forfeited). Monaghan are not benefiting from the punishment meted out for breaking regulations, this point is clearly being misunderstood by many.

monaghan_ultra (None) - Posts: 211 - 31/05/2021 17:28:02    2347107

Replying To galwayfball:  "They had less home games because they got caught breaking restrictions? What part of that isn't true . The lost a home game because they broke restrictions"
When the competition started each team had 3 games to play.....some teams had 2 away games and some teams had 2 home games.
We had 2 away games and you had 2 home games therefor it was decided before the competition started that if we were to meet in a playoff that the team that played 2 away games would have home advantage. Us
The away game for breaking the restrictions does not count in this regard and the people that are saying we are benefiting from that away game, including those in the media, are clueless

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 31/05/2021 18:14:58    2347121

Replying To monaghan_ultra:  "The game that Monaghan lost home advantage for (Armagh) counted as a home game in the decision making process for relegation play-offs. Galway had 2 home games, Monaghan had 1 (which was forfeited). Monaghan are not benefiting from the punishment meted out for breaking regulations, this point is clearly being misunderstood by many."
Fair enough...I still think it should be a neutral venue or the higher placed team gets home advantage. The rules make no sense obviously the issue is at the top

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 31/05/2021 18:28:11    2347125

Replying To The_Fridge:  "You you ever quit giving out. You have a smart answer for everything.

There is a small thing called COVID that has slightly effected the whole world.

Also people on here complain that club players not getting a proper cut at their championships. Do we push club games back again?"
Wouldn't be hard to be smarter than you in all fairness, if there was any decency about Monaghan they should offer to play Galway in a neutral venue, Galway have every right to be fuming about this, more mayhem created by Croke Park.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2745 - 31/05/2021 18:30:13    2347126

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "When the competition started each team had 3 games to play.....some teams had 2 away games and some teams had 2 home games.
We had 2 away games and you had 2 home games therefor it was decided before the competition started that if we were to meet in a playoff that the team that played 2 away games would have home advantage. Us
The away game for breaking the restrictions does not count in this regard and the people that are saying we are benefiting from that away game, including those in the media, are clueless"
Didn't help that the Sunday game pundits didn't understand what they were being told.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 31/05/2021 18:53:06    2347133

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Wouldn't be hard to be smarter than you in all fairness, if there was any decency about Monaghan they should offer to play Galway in a neutral venue, Galway have every right to be fuming about this, more mayhem created by Croke Park."
Your opinion is duly noted to go along with the many others showing your hatred for Monaghan, 2013 was it or 2015 that done it,

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 31/05/2021 18:56:32    2347134