Dublin Vs Kerry

Replying To TheFlaker:  "All ifs and buts, you are back to 2014 as if it's the same Donegal team. And again it's not the fault of Mayo that Cork beat Kerry and Cavan beat Donegal. Such a stupid argument.

Bringing me back down to earth? I have said Mayo are maybe the 3rd best team in the country? Are you seriously trying to say I am getting carried away by saying Mayo are maybe the 3rd best team in the country. Some craic."
I have never said anything about Cork beating Kerry or Cavan beating Donegal so I'm not sure why you keep referring to that or better yet, making out as if I'm arguing about it. You are putting Mayo as the third best closely behind Kerry. I'm questioning as to why or how? I don't understand your reasoning. Is it because you got to the AI final last year? I haven't seen anything from this new Mayo team to even suggest they are ahead of Donegal or even Tyrone for that matter. In fact, what I've seen is them getting relegated to Division 2 and seeing Dublin cruise to a 6th consecutive AI title by beating Mayo.

I'm simply stating that Donegal were the last and could be the next.

Oh so it's maybe now is it? I would put Mayo at probably the fifth best team in the country as of now, this minute.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 20/05/2021 15:42:24    2343689

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Dublin are in number 1 spot for sure, for the order of the rest I don't know, I suppose there's Donegal Mayo Tyrone Kerry, I would probably have added Galway early on last year that are around the same level and Dublin though going for 7 in a row are not unbeatable, on current form I'd see Kerry this year as the biggest threat to Dublin.
I don't buy the mental weakness thing that's being spun about Donegal, last years Ulster final we were beaten by a very good hungry Cavan team, I think we were over trained and the minds were on the semi final with Dublin already and we were deservedly beaten on the day, I hope that never happens again anyway.
we were out muscled in Mayo in the last super 8 game in 2019, I think we have added physical strength since that and Mayo would have weakened maybe in that dept, we have a great a panel if we could get our act together and stay injury free I'd fancy Donegal against anyone, we have been a bit of a bogey team for Dublin and if we could get ahead of them in the closing stages of a match I'd fancy us to beat them."
It's the Donegal man who said they were mentally weak which was the strange thing. Donegal on their day can be good but I am not sure how strong they are. Paul Brennan a serious weak point. Not sure about Neil Mc either when it gets to the business end in Croker. If Mcbrearty can stay fit it will be a start but for me they are still behind Mayo. Time will tell.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/05/2021 15:46:33    2343690

Replying To foreveryoung:  "While it's almost impossible to argue that the six-in-a-row Dublin team isn't the greatest team of all time, the four-in-a-row Kerry team was also a great team.

That Kerry team played some great football, during their era. Just as Dublin have played so great football over the past 6-7 years. JackO and the Spillane's were certainly not aul rooters, as you put it. Actually, none of that team were. They were all skillful, athletic players. As are the modem Dublin players."
It's hard to say with teams from different eras, I think that Kerry team were the greatest of all time, or in my time anyway, Offaly scuppered their 5 in a row shot with a late lucky enough goal and how many all Irelands did Kerry win a row after that?
This current Dublin team has changed a lot from the 2015 team, I think Kerry's team back then had mostly the same players, open to correction.
This Dublin team have been brilliant and great ambassadors for the game, that was why I was so surprised by the rule breaking and group training they engaged in, don't think it would have happened under Jim Gavin.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 20/05/2021 15:46:54    2343691

Replying To foreveryoung:  "While it's almost impossible to argue that the six-in-a-row Dublin team isn't the greatest team of all time, the four-in-a-row Kerry team was also a great team.

That Kerry team played some great football, during their era. Just as Dublin have played so great football over the past 6-7 years. JackO and the Spillane's were certainly not aul rooters, as you put it. Actually, none of that team were. They were all skillful, athletic players. As are the modem Dublin players."
It certainly is easy to argue the Dublin team are not the greatest. They have never had to travel to play a tough championship game, are practically semi pro to professional in their outlook and get a vast amount of funding, so much that they don't have to fundraise!

the_creeler (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 20/05/2021 15:58:37    2343696

Can't see Kerry showing their hand too much in this game, they would be daft to do that. I'm leaning towards a draw in this one. Good chance this years AI final will double up as the Div 1 League final as well as I cant see a Div 1 final being played in June.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 20/05/2021 16:03:59    2343698

Replying To MurphBalls:  "I have never said anything about Cork beating Kerry or Cavan beating Donegal so I'm not sure why you keep referring to that or better yet, making out as if I'm arguing about it. You are putting Mayo as the third best closely behind Kerry. I'm questioning as to why or how? I don't understand your reasoning. Is it because you got to the AI final last year? I haven't seen anything from this new Mayo team to even suggest they are ahead of Donegal or even Tyrone for that matter. In fact, what I've seen is them getting relegated to Division 2 and seeing Dublin cruise to a 6th consecutive AI title by beating Mayo.

I'm simply stating that Donegal were the last and could be the next.

Oh so it's maybe now is it? I would put Mayo at probably the fifth best team in the country as of now, this minute."
You are some craic. You brought up Mayo beating Tipp. They played Tipp because Kerry lost to Cork. That's why I mentioned it.

It's all ifs and buts the fact is I said Mayo are the 3rd best team in the country in my original post which is hardly getting carried away. Until Donegal get back to a final they can't have an argument based on the last 3 years. They have to prove it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/05/2021 16:07:19    2343699

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It's the Donegal man who said they were mentally weak which was the strange thing. Donegal on their day can be good but I am not sure how strong they are. Paul Brennan a serious weak point. Not sure about Neil Mc either when it gets to the business end in Croker. If Mcbrearty can stay fit it will be a start but for me they are still behind Mayo. Time will tell."
Our defence will be a lot stronger in a few weeks time hopefully, we have a lot of lads to come back in and also we have Odhran Mac back this year and if he is on song for us he gives us another great option,
that mental weakness line I hear spun a lot by the likes of Oisin McConville, I suppose you have to get everything right both mentally and physically.
Take last years Ulster final for example. in my opinion we were over trained and leggy against Cavan and mentally we were thinking about playing Dublin in the semi final, is that mental weakness or a failure of management to prepare the team right?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 20/05/2021 16:13:30    2343701

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It's the Donegal man who said they were mentally weak which was the strange thing. Donegal on their day can be good but I am not sure how strong they are. Paul Brennan a serious weak point. Not sure about Neil Mc either when it gets to the business end in Croker. If Mcbrearty can stay fit it will be a start but for me they are still behind Mayo. Time will tell."
There has been a mental block there in the last 3 years when it comes to straight knockout games against the big teams. Losing to Tyrone in Ballybofey in the Super 8s when up by 5 points was probably more down to a lack of experience. Against a struggling Mayo team in Castlebar had an element of softness to it. Murphy was the only player to show up that day. We didn't lose to Cavan because they were a great and hungry side. Cavan never should have been within sight of a team with ambitions of winning the AI. That was completely down to mental weakness. Donegal thought they only had to show up and stick the ball over the bar a few times to win.

Not sure where you get your reasoning behind Mayo being a close third to Kerry but anyway, as you say only time will tell. Donegal will not be playing Mayo this year anyway, except for that Challenge match a couple of weeks ago. We can compare the two teams off of that game sure ;p

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 20/05/2021 16:14:22    2343703

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You haven't exposed anything jim only that you can't answer our question only shouting and flapping your lips :-)"
How long before we're treated to another classic Jimbo essay that doesn't actually say anything?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 20/05/2021 16:16:02    2343704

Replying To tonguey:  "Dessie would not have known as it was only a "kickabout" at 7 am in the morning which happened to have a lookout guy and cones down while doing sprinting and fitness drills.

Poor Dessie was suspended by his own county board even though he had nothing to do with it!!!!!!!!!!"
We should probably do a collection for poor Dessie he must be finding it financially tough being laid off for 12 weeks. Can he draw his stamps while he's off I wonder? It's tough on him for sure.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/05/2021 16:19:00    2343705

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Our defence will be a lot stronger in a few weeks time hopefully, we have a lot of lads to come back in and also we have Odhran Mac back this year and if he is on song for us he gives us another great option,
that mental weakness line I hear spun a lot by the likes of Oisin McConville, I suppose you have to get everything right both mentally and physically.
Take last years Ulster final for example. in my opinion we were over trained and leggy against Cavan and mentally we were thinking about playing Dublin in the semi final, is that mental weakness or a failure of management to prepare the team right?"
They can deny it but of course they underestimated Cavan. Even watching they got dragged into a dogfight they never expected. These things happen.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/05/2021 16:21:03    2343706

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's interesting that a lot of the dublin posters on here are pushing the narrative that this game doesn't matter or mean anything and that it's only a bit of "fun" but the actions of the dublin footballers suggests a lot different when they broke the law/lock down rules to go collective training for the league and Kerry didn't."
The cute Kerry hoors just weren't caught !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 20/05/2021 16:59:01    2343714

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Our defence will be a lot stronger in a few weeks time hopefully, we have a lot of lads to come back in and also we have Odhran Mac back this year and if he is on song for us he gives us another great option,
Take last years Ulster final for example. in my opinion we were over trained and leggy against Cavan and mentally we were thinking about playing Dublin in the semi final, is that mental weakness or a failure of management to prepare the team right?"
No, it's cavan being better than ye on the day and fully deserving their victory.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1721 - 20/05/2021 17:05:04    2343717

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "The cute Kerry hoors just weren't caught !"
To the best of my knowledge the Kerry team followed the rules on lockdown and did nt train. To suggest they did is very wrong. Not all broke the restrictions. For you to state otherwise is false and misleading.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 20/05/2021 17:11:54    2343720

Replying To the_creeler:  "Have a look at the pics in that link, you'll see who they are. Those drill cones were obviously left behind by someone else maybe. That's pure bad luck"
I only recognise 4. Who are the rest? Who is the coach you're all talking about?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 20/05/2021 17:41:14    2343727

Replying To the_creeler:  "It certainly is easy to argue the Dublin team are not the greatest. They have never had to travel to play a tough championship game, are practically semi pro to professional in their outlook and get a vast amount of funding, so much that they don't have to fundraise!"
At the time same allegations were thrown at Kerry about the professional issue etc. Also that they only had two matches to win an All-Ireland (odd time Cork, maybe a Semi and the Final).

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 20/05/2021 18:13:23    2343736

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "To the best of my knowledge the Kerry team followed the rules on lockdown and did nt train. To suggest they did is very wrong. Not all broke the restrictions. For you to state otherwise is false and misleading."
With all due respect Mick I'd say we all thought the same until our own counties got caught. Like the Down manager said, he heard about all these counties training from their own county managers and didn't want to be left behind. Doesn't make it right mind you.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 20/05/2021 18:24:59    2343742

Replying To TheFlaker:  "They can deny it but of course they underestimated Cavan. Even watching they got dragged into a dogfight they never expected. These things happen."
That's the point I was making, underestimating anyone in Ulster is a big mistake, Cavan deserved the win on the day, but we weren't prepared right and to me that's managements fault, if we had been right on the day we'd have beaten Cavan in my opinion.
I think we would have given Dublin a good game in the semi final last year, only way we'll get a crack at them this year is if we can make it all the way to the final, from the prelim round in Ulster that's a tough ask.
Of course if we progress in the league we may get to play them there, not that the league really matters.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2757 - 20/05/2021 19:51:28    2343752

Replying To witnof:  "At the time same allegations were thrown at Kerry about the professional issue etc. Also that they only had two matches to win an All-Ireland (odd time Cork, maybe a Semi and the Final)."
Kerry never won an all ireland playing 2 matches and only once in my lifetime they played 3 matches. I think that was 1980.They normally played at least 4 matches to win Sam. Professional? Well yes Id agree in a way in that the players never wanted for anything.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 20/05/2021 20:49:30    2343768

Replying To witnof:  "At the time same allegations were thrown at Kerry about the professional issue etc. Also that they only had two matches to win an All-Ireland (odd time Cork, maybe a Semi and the Final)."
It's pretty simple in my opinion, if you have to argue about being the greatest. You are probably not the greatest! ;)

I like to call it the Diarmaid Connolly rule.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/05/2021 22:32:15    2343784