Donegal V Monaghan

Jes I wish they would sort out that PA system in Mac Cumhaill Park, wouldn't have minded if they'd started Mac Niallas, he needs game time.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 22/05/2021 17:01:44    2344200

Good game so far, a lot of football to be played here yet, unfortunately the refereeing is factor

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 22/05/2021 17:42:13    2344215

Never listening to Monaghan fans again! On fire! We are woeful at the back though but Conor McCarthy deserves a lot of credit.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 22/05/2021 17:43:36    2344217

I've said it on previous threads but we need Stephen McMenamin, Odhran McFadden Ferry and perhaps Ciaran Gillespie into that defence or we may pack up for summer.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 22/05/2021 17:47:12    2344222

McFadden was extremely lucky not to get a black card. Definition of a black card.

Good good. Really good actually. Lots to look forward to in second half

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 22/05/2021 17:57:15    2344225

Strange game but our defending has been brutal at times, getting beat here mightn't be the end of the world, might wake a few fellas up, nothing is easy against Ulster teams.
Why is he not giving Mac Niallas a game here?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 22/05/2021 18:05:05    2344230

This could get very embarrassing. We've simply completey lost the defensive aura we once had.
Too many nice footballers and not enough dogs.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 22/05/2021 18:15:43    2344233

Replying To The_Fridge:  "McFadden was extremely lucky not to get a black card. Definition of a black card.

Good good. Really good actually. Lots to look forward to in second half"
Great second half for sure. Delighted with a point from 9 points down.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 22/05/2021 18:41:59    2344241

A thoroughly enjoyable game. Conor McCarthy was immense. Move over Clifford! 3 goals in one half take a bow.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/05/2021 18:43:55    2344242

A very entertaining game with 36 scores. Declan needs to sort that defence out, neither wing half backs are defenders in the true sense and Donegal will struggle until that is sorted.
Do them the world of good to come back without Murphy.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/05/2021 18:49:27    2344249

Replying To The_Fridge:  "McFadden was extremely lucky not to get a black card. Definition of a black card.

Good good. Really good actually. Lots to look forward to in second half"
You'd know all about the black card in Tyrone seeing as it was UK Sean that defined the thing in the first place, lucky to get that draw in a very strange game, we kicked so many stupid wides in the first half though, we need to see a big improvement for the Armagh game, brilliant to have Mac Niallas back on board, such a class footballer.
That game was better than a dozen training sessions, learned a lot and better to learn it now than in the Ulster Championship.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 22/05/2021 18:50:42    2344251

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Strange game but our defending has been brutal at times, getting beat here mightn't be the end of the world, might wake a few fellas up, nothing is easy against Ulster teams.
Why is he not giving Mac Niallas a game here?"
Big influence when he came on. Such a nice passer and almost played the Murphy role to a degree there when we needed him.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 22/05/2021 19:08:33    2344259

A Monaghan Donegal encounter never fails to deliver. Great game. Disappointed not to take it in the end but good to see some new talent coming through.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 22/05/2021 19:29:20    2344267

Disappointed not leave with the win, but still alot of positives to take away I feel. Alot of young lads are being blooded this year, and several performed well. Alot of pace there that can hurt defences if they're not closely watched. With that youth though also comes a lack of experience and "cuteness" in parts of the game, but that will come with more game time at this level.

Enjoyable game, despite the best efforts of Barry Cassidy making some baffling decisions on both sides, and probably the deserving result on the balance of things.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 22/05/2021 19:37:43    2344271

Commiserations to Monaghan supporters you must be wondering how the f**k you didn't win that game. Often looked like ye were playing with the extra man but the efforts of playing with a man down for alot of the game certainly took its toll in the latter stages of the second half. I thought Began was fantastic and my motm despite McCarthy's first half exploits. Also Kearns was excellent when coming on as was McManus who bought a couple of handy ones with his wily old head. Defensively we were an absolute shambles but to get a draw despite feels like a win. In fairness lads stood up in the second half when needed. Often when Murphy and Ryan are nullified Donegal can forget it. However with Murphy off and Ryan having a mare we somehow got a result largely through our forwards. I thought Gallen showed great character in the second half after a poor first half. I thought Langan was probably our motm and MacNilais showed why he needs to be an automatic with getting game time an absolute priority now. While Thompson was poor he still kicked a couple of worldies in clutch situations. I dunno what McGonagle was at not playing Gallen in at the start of the second half but I suppose getting a point in the end might mask poor decision making. Again the quality of refereeing was shocking. Both red cards were not warranted and how Donegal did not have at least one black card was bemusing to say the least.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 22/05/2021 20:08:48    2344283

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "You'd know all about the black card in Tyrone seeing as it was UK Sean that defined the thing in the first place, lucky to get that draw in a very strange game, we kicked so many stupid wides in the first half though, we need to see a big improvement for the Armagh game, brilliant to have Mac Niallas back on board, such a class footballer.
That game was better than a dozen training sessions, learned a lot and better to learn it now than in the Ulster Championship."
Surely you are not that ignorant to think that Sean introduced the black card when it had already been passed to be introduced the year after that tackle.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 22/05/2021 21:04:10    2344302

Replying To greysoil:  "A Monaghan Donegal encounter never fails to deliver. Great game. Disappointed not to take it in the end but good to see some new talent coming through."
Great show by Monaghan, you have a great team there coming through again and should have a good run in the Ulster Championship, Tyrone v Monaghan is going to be another great game.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 22/05/2021 21:33:26    2344316

A mystifying poor defensive performance from us. OK, I posted a wee bit earlier on this same thread stating that we have too many "unnatural" defenders in our back 6 but even still. Get a strong hand in, make contact, force a man wide etc....
McCarthy's second goal was quite frankly ridiculous. Don't get me wrong, he did ever so well so generate the space and finish, but my God, Donegal had enough bodies back there to make sure he couldn't breathe, never mind fashion a goal chance and bury it.

Monaghan do have pacy players for sure, and I have to admit I was very impressed by the new brigade. One thing about Monaghan is that they'll always put their best foot forward and have a right good cut no matter what the opposition is.

I have to commend our lads for sticking at it and getting the draw especially without Murphy. I feared it was going to end up being one of those days for Donegal where everything that could go wrong would go wrong, and discipline would be thrown to the wind. But they stuck at it, and a draw was probably fair in the end, although I think Monaghan will rue not taking the victory.

An aside, how does Cassidy still get games? I try not to criticise referees because they have an extremely hard job. But he is so inconsistent. Some baffling decisions today, and I say that feeling he was harshest on Monaghan and not us.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 22/05/2021 22:03:13    2344324

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A mystifying poor defensive performance from us. OK, I posted a wee bit earlier on this same thread stating that we have too many "unnatural" defenders in our back 6 but even still. Get a strong hand in, make contact, force a man wide etc....
McCarthy's second goal was quite frankly ridiculous. Don't get me wrong, he did ever so well so generate the space and finish, but my God, Donegal had enough bodies back there to make sure he couldn't breathe, never mind fashion a goal chance and bury it.

Monaghan do have pacy players for sure, and I have to admit I was very impressed by the new brigade. One thing about Monaghan is that they'll always put their best foot forward and have a right good cut no matter what the opposition is.

I have to commend our lads for sticking at it and getting the draw especially without Murphy. I feared it was going to end up being one of those days for Donegal where everything that could go wrong would go wrong, and discipline would be thrown to the wind. But they stuck at it, and a draw was probably fair in the end, although I think Monaghan will rue not taking the victory.

An aside, how does Cassidy still get games? I try not to criticise referees because they have an extremely hard job. But he is so inconsistent. Some baffling decisions today, and I say that feeling he was harshest on Monaghan and not us."
Agree with most there. Donegal done well to keep chipping away and that is what got you back in the game. I would worry about yous around the middle. Mc gonagle doesn't seem up to it and mc fadden not mobile enough. Both seem great spoilers not ballers.

Agreed on the ref. The first black card for Boyle was ludicrous. The linesman was there too and between 2 men they should have got it right. The doengal red was very harsh and seems ref tried to even it out. Some frees were harsh too, inconsistency seems to be a big thing. There wasn't one bad tackle in the game today but two men were sent off for niggles that used to come part and parcel of ulster football.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 380 - 22/05/2021 22:45:39    2344338

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A mystifying poor defensive performance from us. OK, I posted a wee bit earlier on this same thread stating that we have too many "unnatural" defenders in our back 6 but even still. Get a strong hand in, make contact, force a man wide etc....

An aside, how does Cassidy still get games? I try not to criticise referees because they have an extremely hard job. But he is so inconsistent. Some baffling decisions today, and I say that feeling he was harshest on Monaghan and not us."
Neither player should have been sent off . He then didn't card McFadden when he should have.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 22/05/2021 22:49:12    2344341