Galway V Limerick

Replying To fainleog:  "Shane can keep laughing to himself. Limerick have two All-Irelands secured and hopefully will add another All-Ireland shortly."
Shane has carried himself with dignity thus far as Galway manager as did Micheál Donoghue before him.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 19/05/2021 11:09:14    2343299

Replying To Flaherty:  "Why make insinuations when you didn't even watch the game...as it happens those assertions of diving weren't true."
Gamesmanship, including diving, is an inevitable by product of the win at all costs mentality.

I'll repeat i didn't see the game, not casting aspersions, but I do think simulation has crept into hurling these last few years,, not as bad as the embarrassing stuff that goes on in football, but it's worrying to see,and should be called out.

If Kiely was wrong he was wrong, and should apologise, but when you look at the thousands upon thousands of frees (at least it felt like that much) awarded in hurling the last couple of weekends, Id put money that there were plenty of occasions when the player could have stayed upright.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1716 - 19/05/2021 12:03:19    2343310

Replying To katser:  "Everything is ok now... J.Kiely admitted he was wrong and apologised. The most important thing is that Galway won the match convincingly."
To be honest Galway were much the better team on the day but it is afterall only round 2
Hopefully we'll get another chance to measure ourselves against ye later in the year!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 19/05/2021 12:16:00    2343314

Here is a short list of players from every county who tend to win frees quite often and are in my opinion looking for it a lot of the time. Most of them are backs driving out with a ball. Feel free to disagree.

Tipp - Padraig Maher and Cathal Barrett
Dublin - Liam Rushe
Clare - Jack Browne and Cathal Malone
Wexford - Simon Donohue
Galway - Padraig Mannion
Cork - Tim O Mahony
Limerick - Dan Morrissey
Kilkenny - Paddy O ' Loughlin & Richie Leahy
Waterford - Kevin Moran & Jami Barron

I'm not complaining about it by the way, its a skill in itself.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 19/05/2021 12:19:37    2343315

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Here is a short list of players from every county who tend to win frees quite often and are in my opinion looking for it a lot of the time. Most of them are backs driving out with a ball. Feel free to disagree.

Dublin - Liam Rushe
Wexford - Simon Donohue
Galway - Padraig Mannion
Cork - Tim O Mahony
Limerick - Dan Morrissey

I'm not complaining about it by the way, its a skill in itself."
Barrett for sure, spends half his time on the ground.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 19/05/2021 13:18:58    2343337

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Here is a short list of players from every county who tend to win frees quite often and are in my opinion looking for it a lot of the time. Most of them are backs driving out with a ball. Feel free to disagree.

Dublin - Liam Rushe
Wexford - Simon Donohue
Galway - Padraig Mannion
Cork - Tim O Mahony
Limerick - Dan Morrissey

Conor Whelan and Colin Fennelly too tend to get alot of frees when in reality there barging, Paidi Maher, Liam Rushe and Paddy Deegan similarly.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/05/2021 13:32:00    2343343

For those that regard diving to win frees as a skill and have no problem with it, what about if it leads to more than a free, a man being sent off for example?
What about the fact that accepting diving to earn frees in another little step further down to road towards the embarrassment that is professional soccer. Soon we'll be scanning multiple angle replays looking for any sort of contact to justify a 200lb athlete falling into a heap at the merest touch

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 19/05/2021 13:55:16    2343355

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "No need to apologise. We will take it that John Kiely was speaking for the likes of you too when making his apology."
No need for me to apologise PoolSturgeon, Kiely like a lot of Limerick followers is annoyed with the double standards with regards to Limerick and the way we are being refereed. If 2 players collide on a 50/50 ball and 1 falls to the ground now days the ref will give a free to the player on the ground more often than not, as Limerick men are usually bigger and stronger than their opponents then the opposition will get a free and a lot of that seemed to be happening on Sunday. Maybe the Galway man 'dived' or fell under the weight of the challenge I don't know but with the yelling amd roaring that could be easily heard on the tv from the player tackled and the sideline of Galway then a weak ref gave ye a lot of frees. Galway I'm sure like Limerick would have no problem getting into a hard hitting physical match that wouldn't cross the line but the rules now days prevent that. Limerick seemed to come out the wrong side of a lot of the calls on Sunday like Peter Caseys booking, English having his hurley held and the free going against him, Costello being blown up for over carrying near the end of the game after he had stumped and got up and see the photos in the Irish Examiner on Monday of Tuohys hurley up inside Hegartys helmet and no free either and 2 photos of Mannion with the spare hand pulling back Limerick forwards getting away from him. The most cynical foul I saw on Sunday was Mclnerney holding onto Flanagan after he won a ball in the air and was getting free to run at the goals from 30 yards out. The play acting of Tuohy at 1 stage I thought he had a broken neck and a minute later he was running around like a spring lamb or Flynn after the final whistle hitting Byrne's in the back and apparently getting a box to the face and going down like he was shot even though he had a helmet on with the face guard- surely Byrne's must have a broken hand if he hit him that hard. As for the suggestion the Hayes kicked a man on the ground do what Kiely did and review the video because on Sunday if Limerick players looked crooked at Galway men the ref gave a free. Finally get a saddle for Shane Cooney for the next time he marks Lynch- he did everything but ride him.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 19/05/2021 14:13:52    2343366

Dublin - Liam Rushe
Wexford - Simon Donohue
Galway - Padraig Mannion
Cork - Tim O Mahony
Limerick - Dan Morrissey

Probably "fouled" by forwards who arent cute enough in the tackle?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12008 - 19/05/2021 14:14:00    2343367

Replying To Galway9801:  "Gamesmanship, including diving, is an inevitable by product of the win at all costs mentality.

I'll repeat i didn't see the game, not casting aspersions, but I do think simulation has crept into hurling these last few years,, not as bad as the embarrassing stuff that goes on in football, but it's worrying to see,and should be called out.

If Kiely was wrong he was wrong, and should apologise, but when you look at the thousands upon thousands of frees (at least it felt like that much) awarded in hurling the last couple of weekends, Id put money that there were plenty of occasions when the player could have stayed upright."
Fair enough, very possibly there is some feigning of fouls going on but I think what's equally damaging to the game is the cynical tapping on helmets , lazy hands on arms and other stupid fouls. One leads to the other in my opinion...what's an opponent supposed to do to counter all the cynical fouling?

I think the refs are doing right to clamp down on it and once the cynical fouling is reduced perhaps the so called diving will vanish too and hurling will be the better for it. Jackie Tyrrell is naive to think it makes for a more entertaining game if hurling was allowed to be a physical free for all environment. Cynicism and illegality take the good out of any game and there was a lot of that going on when he was playing. I think most people would agree hurling has been far more entertaining the past four or five years then in the period prior to that when Jackie played...how is that?

Flaherty (UK) - Posts: 119 - 19/05/2021 14:35:18    2343376

Replying To updwell:  "No need for me to apologise PoolSturgeon, Kiely like a lot of Limerick followers is annoyed with the double standards with regards to Limerick and the way we are being refereed. If 2 players collide on a 50/50 ball and 1 falls to the ground now days the ref will give a free to the player on the ground more often than not, as Limerick men are usually bigger and stronger than their opponents then the opposition will get a free and a lot of that seemed to be happening on Sunday. Maybe the Galway man 'dived' or fell under the weight of the challenge I don't know but with the yelling amd roaring that could be easily heard on the tv from the player tackled and the sideline of Galway then a weak ref gave ye a lot of frees. Galway I'm sure like Limerick would have no problem getting into a hard hitting physical match that wouldn't cross the line but the rules now days prevent that. Limerick seemed to come out the wrong side of a lot of the calls on Sunday like Peter Caseys booking, English having his hurley held and the free going against him, Costello being blown up for over carrying near the end of the game after he had stumped and got up and see the photos in the Irish Examiner on Monday of Tuohys hurley up inside Hegartys helmet and no free either and 2 photos of Mannion with the spare hand pulling back Limerick forwards getting away from him. The most cynical foul I saw on Sunday was Mclnerney holding onto Flanagan after he won a ball in the air and was getting free to run at the goals from 30 yards out. The play acting of Tuohy at 1 stage I thought he had a broken neck and a minute later he was running around like a spring lamb or Flynn after the final whistle hitting Byrne's in the back and apparently getting a box to the face and going down like he was shot even though he had a helmet on with the face guard- surely Byrne's must have a broken hand if he hit him that hard. As for the suggestion the Hayes kicked a man on the ground do what Kiely did and review the video because on Sunday if Limerick players looked crooked at Galway men the ref gave a free. Finally get a saddle for Shane Cooney for the next time he marks Lynch- he did everything but ride him."
This is just drivel...

Flaherty (UK) - Posts: 119 - 19/05/2021 14:58:59    2343381

Replying To Flaherty:  "Fair enough, very possibly there is some feigning of fouls going on but I think what's equally damaging to the game is the cynical tapping on helmets , lazy hands on arms and other stupid fouls. One leads to the other in my opinion...what's an opponent supposed to do to counter all the cynical fouling?

I think the refs are doing right to clamp down on it and once the cynical fouling is reduced perhaps the so called diving will vanish too and hurling will be the better for it. Jackie Tyrrell is naive to think it makes for a more entertaining game if hurling was allowed to be a physical free for all environment. Cynicism and illegality take the good out of any game and there was a lot of that going on when he was playing. I think most people would agree hurling has been far more entertaining the past four or five years then in the period prior to that when Jackie played...how is that?"
"hurling has been far more entertaining the past four or five years then in the period prior to that when Jackie played...how is that?"

Nonsense. Games may have closer scores, between more counties nowadays, but they are certainly not "far more entertaining".

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 19/05/2021 14:59:38    2343382

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""hurling has been far more entertaining the past four or five years then in the period prior to that when Jackie played...how is that?"

Nonsense. Games may have closer scores, between more counties nowadays, but they are certainly not "far more entertaining"."
I would respectfully say that with "cat" as part of your name badge you're not in a neutral position to comment...

Flaherty (UK) - Posts: 119 - 19/05/2021 15:45:13    2343399

Are yaz still arguing over a league match lads........
Time to move on.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1736 - 19/05/2021 15:48:37    2343404

Replying To updwell:  "No need for me to apologise PoolSturgeon, Kiely like a lot of Limerick followers is annoyed with the double standards with regards to Limerick and the way we are being refereed. If 2 players collide on a 50/50 ball and 1 falls to the ground now days the ref will give a free to the player on the ground more often than not, as Limerick men are usually bigger and stronger than their opponents then the opposition will get a free and a lot of that seemed to be happening on Sunday. Maybe the Galway man 'dived' or fell under the weight of the challenge I don't know but with the yelling amd roaring that could be easily heard on the tv from the player tackled and the sideline of Galway then a weak ref gave ye a lot of frees. Galway I'm sure like Limerick would have no problem getting into a hard hitting physical match that wouldn't cross the line but the rules now days prevent that. Limerick seemed to come out the wrong side of a lot of the calls on Sunday like Peter Caseys booking, English having his hurley held and the free going against him, Costello being blown up for over carrying near the end of the game after he had stumped and got up and see the photos in the Irish Examiner on Monday of Tuohys hurley up inside Hegartys helmet and no free either and 2 photos of Mannion with the spare hand pulling back Limerick forwards getting away from him. The most cynical foul I saw on Sunday was Mclnerney holding onto Flanagan after he won a ball in the air and was getting free to run at the goals from 30 yards out. The play acting of Tuohy at 1 stage I thought he had a broken neck and a minute later he was running around like a spring lamb or Flynn after the final whistle hitting Byrne's in the back and apparently getting a box to the face and going down like he was shot even though he had a helmet on with the face guard- surely Byrne's must have a broken hand if he hit him that hard. As for the suggestion the Hayes kicked a man on the ground do what Kiely did and review the video because on Sunday if Limerick players looked crooked at Galway men the ref gave a free. Finally get a saddle for Shane Cooney for the next time he marks Lynch- he did everything but ride him."
Wow you really are deluded! It's not even funny at this stage I actually thought you were joking but now I think you are actually serious and believe your own rubbish.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 19/05/2021 16:03:05    2343413

Dublin - Liam Rushe
Wexford - Simon Donohue
Galway - Padraig Mannion
Cork - Tim O Mahony
Limerick - Dan Morrissey

I'm going to give you the benefit of the doubt and assume youre joking with that last sentence,, but on the off chance that you actually believe that throwing yourself to the ground is a skill,, I'll make it simple,, (I'll have to)

1-wait for your opponent to physically contact you
2-fall down

There, you've just mastered the skill of diving.
Who needs stickwork/ball control /hand eye coordination, precision /intelligence eh?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1716 - 19/05/2021 16:08:42    2343415

Replying To Flaherty:  "Fair enough, very possibly there is some feigning of fouls going on but I think what's equally damaging to the game is the cynical tapping on helmets , lazy hands on arms and other stupid fouls. One leads to the other in my opinion...what's an opponent supposed to do to counter all the cynical fouling?

I think the refs are doing right to clamp down on it and once the cynical fouling is reduced perhaps the so called diving will vanish too and hurling will be the better for it. Jackie Tyrrell is naive to think it makes for a more entertaining game if hurling was allowed to be a physical free for all environment. Cynicism and illegality take the good out of any game and there was a lot of that going on when he was playing. I think most people would agree hurling has been far more entertaining the past four or five years then in the period prior to that when Jackie played...how is that?"
So the hurling of the last 2 weekends is better according to you than KK v Tipp from around 2010 or Tipp v Gal from the mid teens or go further back to Cork v Waterford or Cork v KK from the early part of this century. If you want a tippy tappy no contact with 42 frees like Waterford v Westmeath then I'm sure you must be one of the few hurling fans who's happy at the moment.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 19/05/2021 16:24:07    2343422

Limerick have been the top team in the land for the last three years (bar one defeat to KK). They have developed a style of play that relies heavily on short game and winning the physical exchanges. Like most teams they are extremely fit, have excellent stick work where they are better than most and have played very much on the edge physically. Most teams in any sport try and take away as much of the competitive advantage of the leaders, Galway looked at Limerick and decided to play a man to man with no sweeper to negate the short game and remove space. They, as are others are aware of Limericks physicality in the past, many of the plays that they got away with before are now being called. Its not that Limerick are a dirty team, nor were KK in their prime but some of the dark arts that they got away are being exploited by other teams. Kiely's frustration comes from the fact that these incidents were not called on them before but we can see from the Tipp and Galway games that refs are calling them out now.
One other thing that all teams are doing now is throwing the ball because its faster than handpassing. They either need to make throwing acceptable or reimplement the handpass because right now its a joke.

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 19/05/2021 16:30:22    2343424

Replying To updwell:  "So the hurling of the last 2 weekends is better according to you than KK v Tipp from around 2010 or Tipp v Gal from the mid teens or go further back to Cork v Waterford or Cork v KK from the early part of this century. If you want a tippy tappy no contact with 42 frees like Waterford v Westmeath then I'm sure you must be one of the few hurling fans who's happy at the moment."
Ah yes, I remember those days up to 2010 when we had a hugely exciting Leinster championship we followed the whole summer long! Those were the days alright...let's have them back.

Flaherty (UK) - Posts: 119 - 19/05/2021 16:48:34    2343430

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Would concur with your assessment. Niland looks promising for you. I would say though Limerick may not be going full pelt in the league this year ..."
Agree 100%, Limerick the best team in the country and still the team to beat. They may well be looking to time their run this year, while Galway, Tipp, Cork need to perform in the league and also hopefully find a few players. Munster looking scarily competitive (even more so than normal) this year, with only Clare perhaps slipping away a small bit.
Updwell, please take a chill pill.

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 19/05/2021 17:17:45    2343437