Galway V Limerick

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I think everyone of us can agree with Kiely that physicality is a part of the game and none of us want it to be reduced to a freetaking competition but the reason why there are so many frees is because there are so many cynical fouls that often go unpunished. If Kiely reserved his remarks to his opinion on the interpretation of the rules it would be fine but what I strongly object to and vehemently reject is his very unfair and unfounded allegation that Galway players engaged in simulation. To effectively call your opponent cheats is totally out of order and is unbecoming of anyone involved in hurling. I have never heard a hurling manager make that allegation before and I hope I never will again."
But if players are engaged in simulation should they not be called out for it? Or should we all just keep our heads in the sand and pretend that is doesn't happen in our beloved game?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 17/05/2021 19:17:15    2342902

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I think everyone of us can agree with Kiely that physicality is a part of the game and none of us want it to be reduced to a freetaking competition but the reason why there are so many frees is because there are so many cynical fouls that often go unpunished. If Kiely reserved his remarks to his opinion on the interpretation of the rules it would be fine but what I strongly object to and vehemently reject is his very unfair and unfounded allegation that Galway players engaged in simulation. To effectively call your opponent cheats is totally out of order and is unbecoming of anyone involved in hurling. I have never heard a hurling manager make that allegation before and I hope I never will again."
I think that's fair and a very understandable point of view..
JK was probably immensely frustrated by what he'd seen and let fly during the interview.
Have to add though that I listened to the match on Limerick live 95 where Shane Dowling was co commentator, he basically said much the same thing at different times during the match.

He couldn't believe how easy the Galway lads went down. Thought It looked very much like they were playing the Ref to win frees. Easy enough I suppose to just say that's another bitter limerick man but Dowling was very keen to try and be impartial in the context of the game.

He was full of praise for how well Galway played and thought they were much the better team on the day.
No one from Limerick would deny that Galway deserved to win but instead of attacking Limerick as bad losers maybe there's an element of truth in what was said..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 17/05/2021 19:21:12    2342903

But may be that is what is needed. Call it out for what it is because the game is going in the tank. If that means he calls out Waterford players on Sunday I will take it if it is true. Was it true ? Were Galway players guilty of this and if so give the specifics ? Sh-t or get off the pot. Shut up or put up. Being politically correct is getting no one no where and in fact is closer to lying. In the mean time the game is going to hell in a hand basket.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 17/05/2021 19:25:59    2342904

Limerick players kicking and punching Galway men because they weren't able to hurl them isn't hurling....its pure thuggery!
Fair play to Galway for a sweet victory!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 17/05/2021 19:32:27    2342908

Replying To katser:  "lk are such a dirty team and terrible bad losers!"
.....but All Ireland Champions...

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 17/05/2021 19:40:38    2342912

Replying To Bon:  "But if players are engaged in simulation should they not be called out for it? Or should we all just keep our heads in the sand and pretend that is doesn't happen in our beloved game?"
Works better if you win a game and then say it.
Limerick are a team I like but they do play on the edge.
I watched the match and didn't see lots of diving.
It's amazing how every manager that loses a game seems to think it's the end of hurling.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 17/05/2021 19:51:06    2342914

Can he give some examples of the simulation? I think Galway were by far the better team, if fouls are committed then frees are given and Galway have two unbelievable free takers to punish teams. Bad from the All Ireland champions moaning, defend the title and take a beaten fair and square , nearly two years since Limerick were defeated be extremely proud of that!!

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 17/05/2021 19:59:48    2342915

Replying To Bon:  "But if players are engaged in simulation should they not be called out for it? Or should we all just keep our heads in the sand and pretend that is doesn't happen in our beloved game?"
I think Kiely, at a certain level had to make a kind of call out yesterday, because for months his side have been singularly set apart for on going criticism re every thing from doing too much handpassing- one Galway commentator said here that we should stop handpassing altogether, but he said nothing about his own team abandoning it as well- same old nonsense- one law for Limerick, to being practically the only team that ever committed a foul. The other night Joanne Cantwell, supposedly an impartial reporter, said will referees 'clampdown on Limerick now' instead of will referees clampdown on dirty play , which is the question she should have asked. It appears that Hurling rules had to be changed just because a small little hurling county for got above their station and won two All Irelands in three years. Long when the Tipp Full line were called Hells Kitchen it was all fun and games. They also had a few huge Full Forwards- Sean McLaughlin was shall we say archtypical, in that every high ball that came into the square he would bundle the goalkeeper into the back of the net, despite the best efforts of Full backs to hold him out. However the tide was turned in '73 in the Munster Final in Thurles. Limerick management noticed that Tipp had two average sized men at Full and in goal. Out of the blue they picked Ned Rea, a big man and a converted Full back at Full Forward. The Plan was splendid. Every ball that landed in the vicinity Ned Rea went straight for the Tipperary goalman and repeatedly buried him in the back of the net. The ref a Clare man took a very sanguine view- knowing Tipps reputation for these kind of fun and games themselves and only warned Ned when the game was nearly over. It was no coincidence that Tipp conceded six goals that day. Limerick went on to win the All Ireland. However the upshot of this was the rules in relation to play in the square were changed shortly afterwards. Funny enough when Limerick won not one but two All Irelands almost fifty years later the rules have had to be changed again. I take it as a great compliment. We will just on with it anyway and heartiest congratulation on yesterdays fine win, enjoy.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 17/05/2021 20:13:24    2342918

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Kilkenny were also good losers in their pomp."
Went without saying Cockney_Cat.
After 2019 Leinster FInal, Kilkenny were absolutely gracious in defeat. Maybe they just didn't begrudge us that one!

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/05/2021 20:48:33    2342922

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "By god I have never read such begrudgery against Limerick from some posters here. Galway lads whinging about Joe Canning getting belted in last year's semi-final, let me tell ye Joe is a good man to pull a dirty stroke himself and others on the Galway team are capable of it too. Every successful team in any sport has a bit of divilment and has 1 or 2 scamps on their team, it was a scrappy game of hurling yesterday but there was nothing vindictive from either sets of players. Galway were the better team no complaints, hopefully we will meet again in the championship.

As for the rubbish thrown at John Kiely here, I don't think he said anything too out of the way, it could be argued he let his frustrations out. But he is right to question and call out the rule changes, there should have most definitely being no changing of rules considering the lack preparation and training for teams during the covid-19 pandemic to ready themselves for changes."
I realize I might be in the minority in my own county but I would agree that John Kiely did'nt say too much out of the way.In fact I'm glad he brought up the topic of simulation because it badly needs to be addressed.And yes contrary to what some posters on here will tell you Galway were at a bit of it yesterday.The problem is ,is that it has become so normal with all counties that the players probably dont see anything wrong with it. Ja Mannion picked up a handy free yesterday by catching the defenders hurl and pulling him down on top of him.Grabbing his hurl is hardly a hanging offence but going to ground looking for a free looks an awful lot like simulation to me. Darren Morrissey did something similar last week against Westmeath. Jayos theatrics at the end didnt look to good either particularly if you contrast them to Gearoid Hegartys reaction to getting a clatter earlier. I'm not picking on Galway either as obviously all counties are at it but I think its an awful blight on the game and unfortunately if its not stymied soon we'll be in the same boat as soccer where its accepted as the norm

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 17/05/2021 20:53:04    2342923

I definitely don't think Limerick have become disliked as a team. Or at least not for the most part. A few obnoxious and annoying supporters, every county has them. But it is important to win well and be an equally good loser, in spite of what Vince Lombardi said, you can be a good loser.

Look, matches are won and lost by players. Blaming referees, opposition tactics, etc, is loser talk.
A couple of years ago, we lost a very big game and 2 of our full back line, who had been harping on about the referee all evening in the pub. I eventually had heard enough (I was frustrated and disappointed) and told them it wasn't the referees fault they had 1-6 scored off them. It caused a fair bit of tension but it shut them up.

Blaming referees is loser talk and I have always thought this. There is something in the Irish psyche of not taking responsibility, blaming anyone that can be blamed, finding a scapegoat. The referee is the easiest scapegoat of all.

The referee is the 1 person the game will not survive without. Every county is struggling to get referees - because they are judged to a standard that players are not. A player could miss 5 frees and then only thing the supporters will focus on is the free they didn't get.

GAA people want better referees, but want to savage them for 70 minutes every week. This is a vicious cycle and GAA players and supporters and managers need to take a hard look at themselves. The referee is human, I don't know James Owens personally but I've played enough matches under him in the last few years to say that he is a decent referee, he is fair. But above all, he's human like the rest of us.

If people want exact sciences and sports that are beyond dispute, maybe darts or snooker or ski jumping would be a better sport to follow.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/05/2021 21:02:48    2342927

Over a long number of years found a certain section of the limerick posters ( definitely not all) to be the worst lot for blaming referees etc. and looks to have resurfaced in the last 36 hours.

To put things in context some seem to be defending Byrnes for his punch with 'Ah he was standing his ground' which is comical really.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 17/05/2021 21:06:42    2342930

Absolutely. But then give chapter and verse on it. And do it with some reflection when specific incidents can be referred to. I watched the game. I didn't see any simulation. Perhaps that's me as a Galwayman but I watch a game as a hurling lover first and foremost and there were no such obvious incidents to me. Maybe if I looked at it again I'd find some. But to me this is more a case of Kiely throwing some mud so that it will stick so that if the teams meet again in the championship Kiely's words will be in the referee's mind and when a Galway player is tackled and falls the referee will see it as play-acting.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 17/05/2021 21:12:41    2342933

Replying To katser:  "lk are such a dirty team and terrible bad losers!"
A "bird on the wire" view o the game ,would most likely reveal that Hayes, Hegarty, Byrnes and any others on your execution list of "dirty" Limerick players were reacting to 50 or 60 minutes of shrewd provocation.
You sound like e murphy' dog ..."he was great o give it but he couldn't take it."

This probably won't stop until addressed by the eunuchs in Croke Park. I hereby call as the first witness to shame full play by all counties, the righteous " how dare you challenge me" , and why not? he was allowed to perpetrate this stuff for over a decade. That's where the root of the problem lies.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1358 - 17/05/2021 21:30:44    2342936

Replying To katser:  "Limerick players kicking and punching Galway men because they weren't able to hurl them isn't hurling....its pure thuggery!
Fair play to Galway for a sweet victory!!"
In round 2 of the league...wow...eeeee..!!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 17/05/2021 21:59:07    2342944

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Absolutely. But then give chapter and verse on it. And do it with some reflection when specific incidents can be referred to. I watched the game. I didn't see any simulation. Perhaps that's me as a Galwayman but I watch a game as a hurling lover first and foremost and there were no such obvious incidents to me. Maybe if I looked at it again I'd find some. But to me this is more a case of Kiely throwing some mud so that it will stick so that if the teams meet again in the championship Kiely's words will be in the referee's mind and when a Galway player is tackled and falls the referee will see it as play-acting."
This would be my take on it too. I despise diving and faking injury. I called out one of our own county footballers a few years ago for embarrassing playacting at the end of an All-Ireland club final.
All I've heard are generalities in relation to the yesterday's game. They were at it all game, type of stuff. I didn't see any obvious dives to win frees, but please reference them specifically if there were.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 17/05/2021 22:55:06    2342964

Replying To updwell:  "What about Mannion hitting Flanagan a sly belt of the hurley behind the refs back after giving away a free. Galway a physical team is a joke , role on July when the refs have swallowed their whistles and we'll sort out the men from the boys."
Bring it on. It didn't work out to well for you yesterday. In the meantime, keep chewing on those sour grapes.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 17/05/2021 23:03:12    2342968

Kathy and Pathetic. 2 bald men fighting over a comb.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 17/05/2021 23:05:16    2342970

Replying To ecad123:  "Ye will soon learn to stop fouling then! If you foul then guess what !! It's a free !! Ye do the most fouling and have done for the last year or so a lot of it is tactical, Kiely just wants everything his own way he was lucky in a few games last year that his team finished with the full amount. Shane Dowling said that Limerick play on the edge so when you play on the edge you have to accept that this will happen. Ask any hurling men or women are they happy with limericks hand passing game and tactics which in my view is the real scourge on the game!"
Galway did some wonderful hand passing yesterday...the best I have seen them do out of defense,its a great skill at speed.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 17/05/2021 23:17:15    2342971

Replying To Oldtourman:  "No one said anything about sending him off, but at least it should have been a free. Why should we leave handpassing out when every other team is using it and going back over several years at that."
Ah come on now ye are bringing it to a whole new level with carrying the ball, that in my opinion is the blight on the game and also the cynical fouling out the field. That if anything is making the games more boring. Read Anthony Daly bit in the paper today compare it to football now. I hope we get back to the times when we had good games like the tipp Galway trilogys!

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 17/05/2021 23:56:06    2342976