Galway V Limerick

Replying To wexico15:  "I agree with Jackie, seeing stats like over 45 frees in Waterford Westmeath is alarming but I've no sympathy for Limerick, tactical fouling is a clear aspect of their gameplan going back to the 2020 championship, maybe from the Kinnerick playbook, Kiely should be more concerned with his team's discipline like Byrnes braindead punch at full time."
Byrnes was only minding himself. If somebody interferes with him then they pay the consequences. Funny coming from a Wexford guy about tactics...probably the most over coached team in hurling. And iv no doubt but Davy would have ye fouling if it paid off but Wexford are capable of even following a tactical instruction..they are a 2nd rate team..outside of the top 5. And thats not a slur Wexico

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 17/05/2021 15:41:19    2342823

Replying To ecad123:  "Jesus ye want less frees but ye want a Galway players sent off, who would be a ref? What do ye want ? No frees at all ? I'm sorry but Galway are allowed to win too! Just accept it congratulate and move on. Like Shane o Neill did last year! And please for the good of the game go out and hurl and leave all that hand passing for other sports."
No one said anything about sending him off, but at least it should have been a free. Why should we leave handpassing out when every other team is using it and going back over several years at that.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 17/05/2021 15:42:45    2342824

Replying To katser:  "lk are such a dirty team and terrible bad losers!"
Says the lad who whinged for months and months after Galway lost to Limerick last year.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 17/05/2021 15:44:47    2342826

Replying To Setanta11:  "Ailteoir, we can all read what we want to read as well (!), my first example was in reference to the Byrnes' incident (Byrnes deserved a red card).....but sticking to the rules, the Galway lad also deserved a red for interfering with the helmet of an opponent (off-the ball)."
Fair enough re: your 1st example. It read to me as though you were suggesting the Limerick player had been struck. Misunderstanding on my part. Both red card offences, as was the Kyle Hayes incident I mentioned.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 17/05/2021 15:55:08    2342832

Replying To bloodyban:  "Byrnes was only minding himself. If somebody interferes with him then they pay the consequences. Funny coming from a Wexford guy about tactics...probably the most over coached team in hurling. And iv no doubt but Davy would have ye fouling if it paid off but Wexford are capable of even following a tactical instruction..they are a 2nd rate team..outside of the top 5. And thats not a slur Wexico"
Its not that long ago since Limerick were one too.
In fairness to Kilkenny, they were good winners in their pomp. Maybe that isn't a Limerick trait.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 17/05/2021 15:58:07    2342837

Replying To bloodyban:  "Byrnes was only minding himself. If somebody interferes with him then they pay the consequences. Funny coming from a Wexford guy about tactics...probably the most over coached team in hurling. And iv no doubt but Davy would have ye fouling if it paid off but Wexford are capable of even following a tactical instruction..they are a 2nd rate team..outside of the top 5. And thats not a slur Wexico"
Call me a fool if you want but on what planet is throwing a punch minding yourself its beyond stupid, your actually defending the indefensible for staters. Right so if were over programmed over coached etc. how did our defence chip in with 1-3 from play yesterday. People just a think a sweeper is a defensive mechanism but it gives licence for defenders to bomb forward, also the days of 6 traditional backs are long gone. Declan Hannon is essentially a sweeper and is excellent in the role, the most defensive set up ive seen live in the last few years was Limerick in a league game in Wexford park in 2019, there formation was essentially 6 backs, 5 midfielders given deep your half forward line dropped and 3 forwards. I know Wexford are level below Limerick, Galway, Tipperary etc. but i'm aware of our place on the ladder, Limerick haven't even won back to back all irelands yet and I see Ciaran Carey on off the ball comparing them to the Dublin footballers.

Last I saw this thread was called Galway v Limerick and had nothing to do with Wexford so like John Kiely yesterday serious deflection tactics from you. Interesting that Limerick have 1 competitive game in 22 months and following it your manager accuses the opposition of simulation, poor optics to say the least. In 1 post you showed yourself to be a sore winner and sore loser.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 17/05/2021 16:17:31    2342844

I'll agree that Byrnes was very lucky..I'll ask ye to have a look at the lead up to the incident..as far as I know it was Flynn who had acted the clown at a line ball earlier and tried also interfering with helmet..I'm pretty sure if Galway players saw it they'd have backed him up or would they?id expect the limerick boys to stand up for each other..I have to be totally honest and didn't see Hayes use a boot,if he did he,d have deserved red to..it's funny the number of analysts and managers who are agreeing with kiely..surely they can't all be wrong..wait until some big decisions go against Galway,cork,the cats or tipp and the uproar that will occur..looking forward to seeing how local refs deal with all these things in club games..could be great fun..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 17/05/2021 16:24:53    2342849

Wexico 1 competitive match in 22 months..check those figures again..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 17/05/2021 16:28:00    2342853

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Wexico 1 competitive match in 22 months..check those figures again.."
Since your loss to Kilkenny you've pretty much rolled over everybody fairly handy!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11857 - 17/05/2021 16:36:37    2342860

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Wexico 1 competitive match in 22 months..check those figures again.."
Apologies lost 1 competitive match in 22 months, interesting your last competitive defeat prior to yesterday was Kilkenny in 2019 and the wrong 65 call was the narrative after that conveniently forgetting Limerick got the rub of the green in that game over the 70 mins from the referee including a soft penalty and the decision to award Limerick the last gasp line ball was debatable too. Is there a trend developing?

Any taughts on what I said or are you just here to point out grammatical errors?

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 17/05/2021 16:39:01    2342862

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'll agree that Byrnes was very lucky..I'll ask ye to have a look at the lead up to the incident..as far as I know it was Flynn who had acted the clown at a line ball earlier and tried also interfering with helmet..I'm pretty sure if Galway players saw it they'd have backed him up or would they?id expect the limerick boys to stand up for each other..I have to be totally honest and didn't see Hayes use a boot,if he did he,d have deserved red to..it's funny the number of analysts and managers who are agreeing with kiely..surely they can't all be wrong..wait until some big decisions go against Galway,cork,the cats or tipp and the uproar that will occur..looking forward to seeing how local refs deal with all these things in club games..could be great fun.."
We agree that we don't want I freetaking competition but little sympathy for Limerick given the tactical fouling element to there game.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 17/05/2021 16:41:20    2342863

Throwing a punch at a fella is never acceptable but for a guy who was wearing a helmet as Jason Flynn was , he dropped like he was shot. That's as pathetic.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 17/05/2021 17:05:19    2342869

Think he meant one team that stood up to Limerick in 22 months..
Not sure, wouldn't necessarily agree if that's the suggestion but that's a round about compliment if it was..

this thread is gone kind of toxic very quickly and I'm amazed at how disliked we've become, being blamed for all of hurling problems all of a sudden.

a few years ago it was Kilkennys dominance was going to kill hurling , then it was the sweeper system, now its us and our 'cynical' style of hurling.

Even allowing for Katser and her special brand of "wah, wah Limerick are mean" type of input, its a bit nuts..

Pity really as both teams probably learnt a lot from the game on Sunday.. As a hurling match it was poor but the second round of the league is all it wad. Won't be reading too much into it just yet.

Galway were very good and played the game on their terms, they put it up to Limerick and we couldn't match them at times..
We're slow and none of the trademark breaks and fluid passing on show yet, shooting for points is off but that'll come good I hope..
The free count was terrible against us I do think a lot of them were very soft and some players went down easily but our style of hurling seems to draw a bit of scrutiny at the moment..
Joys of being successful I suppose.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 17/05/2021 17:13:27    2342873

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Its not that long ago since Limerick were one too.
In fairness to Kilkenny, they were good winners in their pomp. Maybe that isn't a Limerick trait."
Kilkenny were also good losers in their pomp.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 17/05/2021 17:18:31    2342874

Replying To Ailteoir:  "Fair enough re: your 1st example. It read to me as though you were suggesting the Limerick player had been struck. Misunderstanding on my part. Both red card offences, as was the Kyle Hayes incident I mentioned."
What about Mannion hitting Flanagan a sly belt of the hurley behind the refs back after giving away a free. Galway a physical team is a joke , role on July when the refs have swallowed their whistles and we'll sort out the men from the boys.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 17/05/2021 17:40:45    2342877

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I'll agree that Byrnes was very lucky..I'll ask ye to have a look at the lead up to the incident..as far as I know it was Flynn who had acted the clown at a line ball earlier and tried also interfering with helmet..I'm pretty sure if Galway players saw it they'd have backed him up or would they?id expect the limerick boys to stand up for each other..I have to be totally honest and didn't see Hayes use a boot,if he did he,d have deserved red to..it's funny the number of analysts and managers who are agreeing with kiely..surely they can't all be wrong..wait until some big decisions go against Galway,cork,the cats or tipp and the uproar that will occur..looking forward to seeing how local refs deal with all these things in club games..could be great fun.."
I think everyone of us can agree with Kiely that physicality is a part of the game and none of us want it to be reduced to a freetaking competition but the reason why there are so many frees is because there are so many cynical fouls that often go unpunished. If Kiely reserved his remarks to his opinion on the interpretation of the rules it would be fine but what I strongly object to and vehemently reject is his very unfair and unfounded allegation that Galway players engaged in simulation. To effectively call your opponent cheats is totally out of order and is unbecoming of anyone involved in hurling. I have never heard a hurling manager make that allegation before and I hope I never will again.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 17/05/2021 17:57:30    2342881

By god I have never read such begrudgery against Limerick from some posters here. Galway lads whinging about Joe Canning getting belted in last year's semi-final, let me tell ye Joe is a good man to pull a dirty stroke himself and others on the Galway team are capable of it too. Every successful team in any sport has a bit of divilment and has 1 or 2 scamps on their team, it was a scrappy game of hurling yesterday but there was nothing vindictive from either sets of players. Galway were the better team no complaints, hopefully we will meet again in the championship.

As for the rubbish thrown at John Kiely here, I don't think he said anything too out of the way, it could be argued he let his frustrations out. But he is right to question and call out the rule changes, there should have most definitely being no changing of rules considering the lack preparation and training for teams during the covid-19 pandemic to ready themselves for changes.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 17/05/2021 17:59:39    2342882

I'd say he meant 1 competitive loss. All I'll say, is if there's this much whinging after 1 loss, god help us if there's a 2nd.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 17/05/2021 18:10:01    2342883

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "By god I have never read such begrudgery against Limerick from some posters here. Galway lads whinging about Joe Canning getting belted in last year's semi-final, let me tell ye Joe is a good man to pull a dirty stroke himself and others on the Galway team are capable of it too. Every successful team in any sport has a bit of divilment and has 1 or 2 scamps on their team, it was a scrappy game of hurling yesterday but there was nothing vindictive from either sets of players. Galway were the better team no complaints, hopefully we will meet again in the championship.

As for the rubbish thrown at John Kiely here, I don't think he said anything too out of the way, it could be argued he let his frustrations out. But he is right to question and call out the rule changes, there should have most definitely being no changing of rules considering the lack preparation and training for teams during the covid-19 pandemic to ready themselves for changes."
Everyone agrees that we don't want the game to become a free taking contest but to accuse the opposition of simulation when no obvious examples spring to mind is a bit of a cheap shot.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 17/05/2021 18:55:25    2342892

For all of ye I remember all the bad days for limerick ,I can remember back to 74 and add in all club defeats in all ireland finals to..I like where limerick are at the moment and I and many more know bad days will come again..I don't like the way limerick are painted by others..I admitted we were beaten yesterday by a better team..limerick look off the pace of others and I'm hoping they are aiming again for a good run at championship..I think if lim/gal meet later in year,a few things might carry over from both teams and the fact that rule changes and the tackle have changed could lead to problems for croke park..next weekend is interesting because gal/tipp,lim/water and Wexford/kkenny..let's wait for the controversy..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2217 - 17/05/2021 19:08:55    2342896