Kerry V Galway

Replying To superdub:  "Big difference in both teams yesterday especially for a division 1 game. Galway obviously stuck by the lockdown rules and Kerry obviously trained and were one of the fortunate teams not to get caught. Championship will level off a lot of these different fitness levels though and I'd expect Kerry to be there or there abouts and Galway will be a lot better than what we saw last night"
"Kerry obviously trained and were one of the fortunate teams not to get caught."

That's quite a claim to make. What do you have to back it up?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/05/2021 09:01:28    2342646

Replying To oneoff:  ""Kerry obviously trained and were one of the fortunate teams not to get caught."

That's quite a claim to make. What do you have to back it up?"
Probably just the voices in his head

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 17/05/2021 10:29:07    2342683

Super performance from Kerry, especially the boy Clifford, what a baller yous have down there!

Worrying for Galway though.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 17/05/2021 10:36:27    2342684

Replying To superdub:  "Big difference in both teams yesterday especially for a division 1 game. Galway obviously stuck by the lockdown rules and Kerry obviously trained and were one of the fortunate teams not to get caught. Championship will level off a lot of these different fitness levels though and I'd expect Kerry to be there or there abouts and Galway will be a lot better than what we saw last night"
Ridiculous post.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1931 - 17/05/2021 11:24:06    2342707

Replying To MesAmis:  "Super performance from Kerry, especially the boy Clifford, what a baller yous have down there!

Worrying for Galway though."
True Mesamis. Delighted with Kerry s performance and that's the style I want Kerry playing. Use our scoring forwards. Attack is the best form of defense. On Galway while I can't judge them on one game if I was a Galwegian I would worry a little. They had no tough tackling etc. I will reserve judgement for the mó though. Galway have talent but it's not being nurtured at the moment. For me Shane Walsh is wasted corner forward as he has blistering pace and a great ball carrier also who can score long range points. For me Walsh should be in half forward line or full forward rotating with Comer. On Comer when he 14 he should be left inside. Ideally too I'd like Conroy in the forward line if Galway could get a settled midfield. Maybe bring Ciarán Duggan in if he fit enough. I'd also like to see Eoin Kerin Brough back. Galway need that bit of steel in the backs. Galway v Rossies will tell us more. Kerry and Dublin could be a cracker if weather stays fine.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 17/05/2021 12:12:33    2342727

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "True Mesamis. Delighted with Kerry s performance and that's the style I want Kerry playing. Use our scoring forwards. Attack is the best form of defense. On Galway while I can't judge them on one game if I was a Galwegian I would worry a little. They had no tough tackling etc. I will reserve judgement for the mó though. Galway have talent but it's not being nurtured at the moment. For me Shane Walsh is wasted corner forward as he has blistering pace and a great ball carrier also who can score long range points. For me Walsh should be in half forward line or full forward rotating with Comer. On Comer when he 14 he should be left inside. Ideally too I'd like Conroy in the forward line if Galway could get a settled midfield. Maybe bring Ciarán Duggan in if he fit enough. I'd also like to see Eoin Kerin Brough back. Galway need that bit of steel in the backs. Galway v Rossies will tell us more. Kerry and Dublin could be a cracker if weather stays fine."
Not just no tough tackling Mick, no tackling at all. The effort level on Saturday was appalling. Zero pressure being put on the ball when we weren't in possession. Whether that was mental or physical (i.e. they just couldn't keep pace), we'll find out soon enough, but either one is an indictment on the management team.
We were miles off the bare minimum work-rate for an intercounty team. I can assure you that there are plenty worried supporters in Galway.
Before even talking about personnel and who should be playing, we have to sort this out.
We've mentioned it a few times already, but our hurlers look on a different level in terms of physical preparation and setup.
As the commentators mentioned during the game, the most we had ever lost a game to Kerry by was 8 points, over 50 years ago. We've had a few beatings close to that in more recent years too, but nothing remotely as bad as what we saw on Saturday. Even a bad footballing team would be able to keep it far more competitive than that, through effort alone. It's not an exaggeration to say Kerry could have scored 9 or 10 goals. Such was the lack of pressure and the amount of space given, almost every attack was a goal chance, if Kerry bothered to work it.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2049 - 17/05/2021 12:48:21    2342751

Firstly I would say that in all my time watching Galway football it was the worst performance I think I've ever seen.
Any team can go down to Kerry and get a sound beating. But dear God, Galway were miles off it. I know that they might not be physically where they want to be at present. But it isn't like other years where teams have a nice long runway into Championship to gradually get up to top speed. They couldn't lay a glove on Kerry. I'd be very worried if I was a Galway supporter. Like all GAA fans I loved watching PJ play the game, he was a master. I just hope they can improve drastically and quickly for his sake. There is talent there without a doubt, but you know what they say about hard work beating talent if talent doesn't work hard.

But hats off to Kerry too. Some of their play was a delight to watch. Simple, fast football and getting it into their danger men with no a***ing about. They mixed it up too with big Tommy in the second half. If they can get a tune out of him he's a serious option. He took some lovely marks. Some people are against the inside mark, and I get that. These wee tapped 20 balls into lads chests for handy frees isn't great to see. But marks like big Tommy was taking are a delight to see.

Finally, what more can be said about the boy wonder Clifford? He plays the game on a higher plane. Simply outstanding to watch. Every time he gets on a ball you find yourself inching forward in your seat to see what he'll come up with next. My young fella spent the evening out in the garden recreating his wee drag back hat trick goal. Just a pleasure to see after so many weeks and months without any football.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 17/05/2021 15:16:50    2342808

I must say it amuses me that people in the GAA who spend a lot of their time running down soccer then get tremendously exited when a player executes a basic soccer skill in a GAA match.The media commentators get very exited too I might add.Nice goal and the intelligent thing to do instead of going down to pick it up and getting crowded out.But imagine a player trying that and it not coming off,they would get some slagging.They would be saying afraid to go down on the ball.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1059 - 17/05/2021 16:17:57    2342846

Replying To gunman:  "I must say it amuses me that people in the GAA who spend a lot of their time running down soccer then get tremendously exited when a player executes a basic soccer skill in a GAA match.The media commentators get very exited too I might add.Nice goal and the intelligent thing to do instead of going down to pick it up and getting crowded out.But imagine a player trying that and it not coming off,they would get some slagging.They would be saying afraid to go down on the ball."
True, it wasn't the most technically difficult bit of skill to pull off, and the result was a foregone conclusion before that, but to have the presence of mind to do it, and the audacity? Not many players in the country would have done it. It's what elevates players like Clifford above others. It's one thing a***ing about and doing something like that in training, but to do it at inter county level in a competitive match is another story.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 17/05/2021 16:28:10    2342854

Replying To Lockjaw:  "True, it wasn't the most technically difficult bit of skill to pull off, and the result was a foregone conclusion before that, but to have the presence of mind to do it, and the audacity? Not many players in the country would have done it. It's what elevates players like Clifford above others. It's one thing a***ing about and doing something like that in training, but to do it at inter county level in a competitive match is another story."
I'd agree with that. Watching it I was reminded of our own Graham Geraghty, he would have the audacity to do it too, remember going for goal v Louth, the quick free v mayo , the lobbed ball v Tyrone. Very few players have the mindset to do things like that during a match. That's what sets these special ones apart

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/05/2021 17:08:41    2342870

Jays above I think lads are getting carried away with the eulogising of this pretty straightforward goal.
A simple drag back and a tap in and all of a sudden we're Lionel Messi.
It's getting to the stage where any goal he scores has the masses fawning over him.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/05/2021 19:09:24    2342897

David Clifford is a huge talent for sure but stop the supply to him and Kerry are in trouble.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 17/05/2021 19:27:20    2342905

Replying To catch22:  "Jays above I think lads are getting carried away with the eulogising of this pretty straightforward goal.
A simple drag back and a tap in and all of a sudden we're Lionel Messi.
It's getting to the stage where any goal he scores has the masses fawning over him."
The talk about the goal is because that type of goal is not seen on gaa pitches persais. However I would think nó matter what type of goal he scored you would nt like it anyway. I have read so many of your posts and you are just very anti Kerry and bitter when they get any credit. Clifford scored 2 other goals Saturday but people are nt talking about them. He scored a fab goal v Dublin in league last year also no great debate on it. He scored a goal v Galway in his first minor final when he soloed from half way line to score a cracker. David Clifford is a class player. He probably the greatest minor star that played football who in his two all ireland finals scored 1-8 and 4-4 from play. The highest scoring football minor ever and already at 22 years old one of the great players of the modern era. Most neutrals would agree but not you! You constantly get upset about Kerry. Get over your bitterness and appreciate the great footballers on show like Clifford King Con Shane Walsh Michael Murphy etc and try not let your dislike of a county cloud your judgement.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 17/05/2021 19:49:18    2342913

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'd agree with that. Watching it I was reminded of our own Graham Geraghty, he would have the audacity to do it too, remember going for goal v Louth, the quick free v mayo , the lobbed ball v Tyrone. Very few players have the mindset to do things like that during a match. That's what sets these special ones apart"
Exactly nail on head Royal. I've had many a dispute with you on these forums but one thing that can't be disputed is pure and unadulterated quality when it's seen.

Growing up in my early teens, the likes of Geraghty and Giles were the type of players outside your own county in club football that you'd look forward to see. Both had obvious natural talent and physicality granted. But it was their ability within high pressure games to do something different, something which gave their team the edge, and at the same time absolutely sicken opponents with their skill that means that the likes of us are still referring to them on Internet forums to this day.

Clifford last Saturday exemplified that.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 17/05/2021 21:00:10    2342925

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "The talk about the goal is because that type of goal is not seen on gaa pitches persais. However I would think nó matter what type of goal he scored you would nt like it anyway. I have read so many of your posts and you are just very anti Kerry and bitter when they get any credit. Clifford scored 2 other goals Saturday but people are nt talking about them. He scored a fab goal v Dublin in league last year also no great debate on it. He scored a goal v Galway in his first minor final when he soloed from half way line to score a cracker. David Clifford is a class player. He probably the greatest minor star that played football who in his two all ireland finals scored 1-8 and 4-4 from play. The highest scoring football minor ever and already at 22 years old one of the great players of the modern era. Most neutrals would agree but not you! You constantly get upset about Kerry. Get over your bitterness and appreciate the great footballers on show like Clifford King Con Shane Walsh Michael Murphy etc and try not let your dislike of a county cloud your judgement."
Jaysus Michael but you sound like a very angry man.
I can appreciate great skill but just don't go all weak at the knees when a fella drags a ball back and then side foots it into the net.
You'd see young lads out playing and training do stuff that would be equally as skilful and what about it.
He scored another goal against Monaghan which was very fortunate to go in as it went through a couple of players from an acute angle and it was being hailed as a masterpiece. Fact of the matter was he got lucky.
Anyway, I'm sure he'll continue to score goals but let's not be getting carried away.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/05/2021 21:12:19    2342932

Replying To catch22:  "Jaysus Michael but you sound like a very angry man.
I can appreciate great skill but just don't go all weak at the knees when a fella drags a ball back and then side foots it into the net.
You'd see young lads out playing and training do stuff that would be equally as skilful and what about it.
He scored another goal against Monaghan which was very fortunate to go in as it went through a couple of players from an acute angle and it was being hailed as a masterpiece. Fact of the matter was he got lucky.
Anyway, I'm sure he'll continue to score goals but let's not be getting carried away."
Ah here would ya stop. Do you not think that there's a bit of a difference between an average Joe Soap player on a junior C match trying a bit of a drag back and finish against a keeper that's had 12 pints, a couple of Jager bombs and maybe a full fry the morning after, between what David Clifford did on Saturday?

No-one is saying it was an inexplicable bit of skill to win a tight match. It was what it was. A remarkable bit if composure to finish a poor Galway team. Lord above if we're nit picking over something like this we may just follow soccer for "better" incidents of skill in your opinion

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 17/05/2021 21:22:02    2342934

Anyway, I'm sure he'll continue to score goals but let's not be getting carried away."
Think that 3-5 or 3-6 in any county game by any player is noteworthy.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 17/05/2021 21:44:01    2342940

"You'd see young lads out playing and training do stuff that would be equally as skilful and what about it."
Doing it in training is one thing, having the composure to try, and pull it off, in a county game is far different.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 17/05/2021 21:50:00    2342941

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Exactly nail on head Royal. I've had many a dispute with you on these forums but one thing that can't be disputed is pure and unadulterated quality when it's seen.

Growing up in my early teens, the likes of Geraghty and Giles were the type of players outside your own county in club football that you'd look forward to see. Both had obvious natural talent and physicality granted. But it was their ability within high pressure games to do something different, something which gave their team the edge, and at the same time absolutely sicken opponents with their skill that means that the likes of us are still referring to them on Internet forums to this day.

Clifford last Saturday exemplified that."
I find your last sentence confusing considering the criteria you reference earlier, you say David Clifford exemplified 1) the ability to do something different, 100% correct, 2) in a high pressure game, 1st round of a modified league, hardly high pressure, certainly not high pressure after 10 minutes, 3) something that gives their team the edge, really? Game over b4 that goal and 4) I'd say Galway were well sickened at that stage.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 685 - 17/05/2021 21:59:14    2342945

Yeah you might be right. He was lucky. He s not skilful but lucky. He s been very lucky so far and I would forecast he will be lucky again..Hopefully he stays lucky. A famous American golfer once said "the more I practice the luckier I get". Someday someday!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 17/05/2021 22:09:45    2342949