NFL Div 2

Replying To Richieq:  "Actually if you or any other hyper sensitive Lilywhites listened to McEntee's interviews after the game in their totality you would have heard him clearly acknowledge that the Meath performance was well below standard and that Kildare outplayed and indeed bullied Meath in the physical exchanges, the allegation around spitting in no way deflected from the performance which he accepted was poor, lacking in intensity and littered with missed chances where we had 11 shots in the first half and only scored 4, those are the type of issues at hand and I can tell you that the poor nature of the performance has not been in any way diluted in Meath which is where the opinion counts. And don't think you are without issues yourselves, after dominating a game for 95% of it and at one stage leading by 10 you were nearly brought to extra time by a Meath team that played somewhere near its potential for around 10 minutes and you can thank your goalie for an excellent save to prevent that extra time so I wouldn't be shouting from the rooftops around the plains just yet either"
Ah I am a bit sensitive when an allegation of spitting is made against one of our players. I think it needs to be either proven or disproven. At the very least McEntee should clarify what exactly he was told happened and if he saw it. I'd know most of the team and have seen them play. The lads who were involved in the melee wouldn't have it in them to spit imho. They wouldn't be that type of player or person. A bit like McGill wouldn't be the type to act like he did.

I have no doubt, knowing McEntees previous form for deflecting that his decision to throw this in to the mix post match was designed to take the focus off him, not the team but him alone. He obviously has gotten team selections and tacticts wrong.

We were leading by ten and the fact we decided to pull up off the gas a little is worrying but we still won so hopefully it's tactical as much as anything. I'd doubt it with JOC to be honest. We were down to 14 also so again that is going to account partially for the mini collapse.

I wouldn't focus to much on stats Richieq either. They are really misleading. All well and good having so many shots but if they players can't them between the posts it means nothing.

I'd hope though that Meath and Kildare can eventually be in Division 1 at the same time as the Dubs. I think it's the only way the two teams can really build for the future.

You know I don't think the issues in Meath and KIldare are as massive as some people in both counties and externally like to make out. We have gotten promoted and Meath have also been in Division 1 recently. The issues now? Dublin will crucify us in Leinster like every year. The damaged that has caused over 10-11 years is huge and shouldn't be ignored either. I'd fancy Meath and Kildare to be close enough to Mayo, Tyrone, Monaghan or Donegal on any given. We very rarely get to see that though in the championship.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 15/06/2021 16:19:35    2351183

Replying To daytona11:  "Well that person is entitled to due process obviously.

I think a simple apology would suffice from Andy though."
I'm not so sure. Why shouldn't there be a process for McEntee to go through? It's a very serious allegation to make if, and I emphasis if, it isn't true.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/06/2021 16:20:03    2351184

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "I'm not taking sides or anything like that, just it was a very serious accusation to make about a player. Mc Gill was going for his man full on. He is as you say "now that type of player" or he was dead right simple as that. The onus is on the GAA to make McEntee clarify his accusation, don't you think"
I absolutely agree. There should be an investigation now to see if any spitting occurred. It's a really serious thing to accuse someone of, especially on a sports field. It's a low act but an equally low act to make the accusation if it's false. It's not the type of thing you can say about someone and just be let hang there.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/06/2021 16:23:25    2351186

Replying To kildare73:  "I absolutely agree. There should be an investigation now to see if any spitting occurred. It's a really serious thing to accuse someone of, especially on a sports field. It's a low act but an equally low act to make the accusation if it's false. It's not the type of thing you can say about someone and just be let hang there."
This whole thing will die a death. If the officials missed the incident and there is no video evidence, then the alleged perpetrator will go unpunished (if he was guilty in the first place ?) and McGill will be the only one affected by the whole incident, having received a red card (wrongly if the spitting took place).

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 15/06/2021 16:42:12    2351194

Replying To daytona11:  "I'd tend to agree. But for Donie Vaughans moment of madness Mayo surely would have gotten over the line."
We might have. We love a scapegoat and have many from Pat McEneaney to Robbie Hennelly to John Madden to Pat Holmes to Stephen Rochford to the Breaffy mafia etc. Other teams have won All Irelands after having a man sent off. My mate tells me every May that the only team that'll beat Mayo that summer is Mayo. There's some truth in that.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 15/06/2021 17:03:40    2351202

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Most of the time I agree the better team wins but not always. Sometimes referee can make mistakes at crucial times and that bit of luck goes against you. Even in 14 replay v Kerry the ref was much kinder to us. However I do think Green and red the way Mayo play is the future is the proper way to beat a team like Dublin or Kerry for that matter."
Cheers Mick. What a night that was in Limerick, an unbelievable atmosphere and a great game of football. I think some of these young lads coming through have plenty of skills, fearlessness and a bit of arrogance needed. If we get a bit tighter at the back we'll hopefully have a long summer.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 15/06/2021 17:12:48    2351206

Replying To daytona11:  "Ah I am a bit sensitive when an allegation of spitting is made against one of our players. I think it needs to be either proven or disproven. At the very least McEntee should clarify what exactly he was told happened and if he saw it. I'd know most of the team and have seen them play. The lads who were involved in the melee wouldn't have it in them to spit imho. They wouldn't be that type of player or person. A bit like McGill wouldn't be the type to act like he did.

I have no doubt, knowing McEntees previous form for deflecting that his decision to throw this in to the mix post match was designed to take the focus off him, not the team but him alone. He obviously has gotten team selections and tacticts wrong.

We were leading by ten and the fact we decided to pull up off the gas a little is worrying but we still won so hopefully it's tactical as much as anything. I'd doubt it with JOC to be honest. We were down to 14 also so again that is going to account partially for the mini collapse.

I wouldn't focus to much on stats Richieq either. They are really misleading. All well and good having so many shots but if they players can't them between the posts it means nothing.

I'd hope though that Meath and Kildare can eventually be in Division 1 at the same time as the Dubs. I think it's the only way the two teams can really build for the future.

You know I don't think the issues in Meath and KIldare are as massive as some people in both counties and externally like to make out. We have gotten promoted and Meath have also been in Division 1 recently. The issues now? Dublin will crucify us in Leinster like every year. The damaged that has caused over 10-11 years is huge and shouldn't be ignored either. I'd fancy Meath and Kildare to be close enough to Mayo, Tyrone, Monaghan or Donegal on any given. We very rarely get to see that though in the championship."
Can understand standing up for your player, its going to be very difficult to resolve this to everybodys liking. Think it all started by ball being kicked away and then all hell broke loose, something must have happened ( not saying spitting took place) for McGill to totally go for it. However if TV camera had picked it up surely it would be out there by now. In normal times maybe someone in crowd would have recorded incident. GAA needs to interview all concerned and at least attempt to address issue.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 15/06/2021 17:40:42    2351211

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Cheers Mick. What a night that was in Limerick, an unbelievable atmosphere and a great game of football. I think some of these young lads coming through have plenty of skills, fearlessness and a bit of arrogance needed. If we get a bit tighter at the back we'll hopefully have a long summer."
Thanks Green and Red and you are so right. The atmosphere in Limerick that day was the best I've come across. It was electric and the weather helped too. Yeah roll on a long summer P. G.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 15/06/2021 17:52:35    2351216

Replying To kingofclubs:  "This whole thing will die a death. If the officials missed the incident and there is no video evidence, then the alleged perpetrator will go unpunished (if he was guilty in the first place ?) and McGill will be the only one affected by the whole incident, having received a red card (wrongly if the spitting took place)."
You are probably right but either the act, or the allegation, is a horrible one.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/06/2021 17:55:17    2351219

Replying To kingofclubs:  "This whole thing will die a death. If the officials missed the incident and there is no video evidence, then the alleged perpetrator will go unpunished (if he was guilty in the first place ?) and McGill will be the only one affected by the whole incident, having received a red card (wrongly if the spitting took place)."
If there was spitting it is indeed a travesty that the perpetrator will not be punished. However there is no GAA rule exempting a player from receiving a red card on the grounds of provocation so like it or not McGill's repeated striking of the Kildare player is clearly a red card offence.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 15/06/2021 18:42:28    2351233

Replying To seadog54:  "Can understand standing up for your player, its going to be very difficult to resolve this to everybodys liking. Think it all started by ball being kicked away and then all hell broke loose, something must have happened ( not saying spitting took place) for McGill to totally go for it. However if TV camera had picked it up surely it would be out there by now. In normal times maybe someone in crowd would have recorded incident. GAA needs to interview all concerned and at least attempt to address issue."
GAA don't need to and won't. If it's not in the referee's report or tv evidence, there's nothing to be said. Imagine the GAA being asked to investigate every club game that had this sort of complaint. It would be endless. County teams follow the same rules and regulations as clubs.
If I sent a complaint to the county board that my player was spit on, with no evidence and denial from the accused, it would not and should not be given the time of day. Otherwise, any player that gets sent off on a moment of madness could throw in an accusation to save himself from a suspension going into championship.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 15/06/2021 20:38:31    2351257

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "GAA don't need to and won't. If it's not in the referee's report or tv evidence, there's nothing to be said. Imagine the GAA being asked to investigate every club game that had this sort of complaint. It would be endless. County teams follow the same rules and regulations as clubs.
If I sent a complaint to the county board that my player was spit on, with no evidence and denial from the accused, it would not and should not be given the time of day. Otherwise, any player that gets sent off on a moment of madness could throw in an accusation to save himself from a suspension going into championship."
Not as simple as that, every club game is not played out on Tv. The 3 involved are now known to all. At least address issue, but no doubt "its out of our hands" will be trotted out

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 15/06/2021 21:07:21    2351262

Replying To seadog54:  "Not as simple as that, every club game is not played out on Tv. The 3 involved are now known to all. At least address issue, but no doubt "its out of our hands" will be trotted out"
Yes it's played on tv, but that's the point I made isn't it. It's on tv, so if there's no tv evidence that's even more reason to move on. I've seen first hand how difficult it is to get any case fairly heard, even with evidence in the gaa. Going up without evidence is just wasting everybody's time.
I see in soccer that proof is not always necessary to sanction players. There have been cases where the probability of what may have occurred has been enough. GAA is not the same and it is up to the complainant to provide all. You can request an investigation by GAA, but they will only have the same evidence in this instance.
By the way, being able to sanction based on probability in my opinion is not where you want to go. It is very subjective and nearly always ends up being a political decision.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 15/06/2021 22:20:54    2351294

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "GAA don't need to and won't. If it's not in the referee's report or tv evidence, there's nothing to be said. Imagine the GAA being asked to investigate every club game that had this sort of complaint. It would be endless. County teams follow the same rules and regulations as clubs.
If I sent a complaint to the county board that my player was spit on, with no evidence and denial from the accused, it would not and should not be given the time of day. Otherwise, any player that gets sent off on a moment of madness could throw in an accusation to save himself from a suspension going into championship."
I don't agree. The act of spitting is as low as you go on a sporting field. Equally accusing someone in the wrong of spitting is very low too. Either one of these two scenarios happened in this game and 2 Meath players got sent off in the aftermath. This is an issue HQ should be interested in getting to the bottom of. The old "ah sure look it" isn't really good enough in a case like this.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 15/06/2021 22:37:33    2351302

I'm generally a law abiding sort so haven't much to fear, but I'd genuinely be afraid if I was ever on trial knowing the jury could be composed of some of the posters here.

"Well it must be true, why else would he say it?"

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 15/06/2021 22:38:14    2351303

Replying To kildare73:  "Cool your jets there petal, I heard it said Meath were possibly upset by time wasting and that's what kicked off the row. The spitting accusation as well. Do you know for a fact he spat at anyone or are you just going on hearsay from your manager? It's the kind of thing McEntee better be able to back up rather than say it and flounce off the stage in a huff after taking someone's good name. If spitting happened, by all means throw the book at the offender. If it didn't happen and the accusation isn't withdrawn then equally McEntee himself should have the book thrown at him."
Yes, I know for a fact; hence you and your giddy lilly muppets looking very stupid.

There is no *if* you're dying to throw out over and over, clearly another fan who doesn't know anyone involved. Crack on

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 16/06/2021 00:35:31    2351326

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Yes, I know for a fact; hence you and your giddy lilly muppets looking very stupid.

There is no *if* you're dying to throw out over and over, clearly another fan who doesn't know anyone involved. Crack on"
I don't know why my original reply didn't get through but I'll shorten it down to this for you...... Hearsay and accusations from the opposition manager isn't the gospel you think it is so hence....... It doesn't make anyone look stupid except the guy who takes it as gospel. No footage, none of 7 officials see it but two Meath men are sent off. The evidence is against you:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 16/06/2021 14:59:31    2351439

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Yes, I know for a fact; hence you and your giddy lilly muppets looking very stupid.

There is no *if* you're dying to throw out over and over, clearly another fan who doesn't know anyone involved. Crack on"
Nobody is dying to throw out the term "if"… I think everyone just mutually hopes it didn't happen, agrees it's a vile, disgusting act if it did and wants to keep the possibility that it didn't happen open, until it's proven otherwise. Nobody has had anything but heresay so far, so if you know it for a fact, we'd love to know the information you have that nobody else does.

It is possible that you knowing "for a fact" stems from the fact you're passionate about your clubman/countymen and don't want to believe the scrap kicked off out of frustration having been dominated for 60 minutes. It's also possible that Andy jumped to the same conclusion and attached himself to the first excuse to mind.
If you've evidence for the spit, I'm very sorry. It's vile and I apologise for calling to dispute the words of Andy. But if your evidence is "such and such said so.." then I'm sorry, but no.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 16/06/2021 19:15:12    2351491