NFL Div 1 2021

4 Ulster teams in div 1 next year, far and away the strongest province. Great win by Monaghan, I think they will go all the way to the Ulster final now, that win will be some boost.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 13/06/2021 18:16:07    2350334

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "4 Ulster teams in div 1 next year, far and away the strongest province. Great win by Monaghan, I think they will go all the way to the Ulster final now, that win will be some boost."
Monaghan fortunate to play match V Galway in Clones. Their home ground.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 13/06/2021 18:45:01    2350371

Replying To ponga:  "Watched 3 games today and mostly enjoyed them but that feckin' advanced mark is wrecking my head. An accurate pass picks out a fellow inside the 45 and you think "good attack coming here", but no. The bloody whistle blows and it's a free even though the man was unchallenged. This sort of nonsense and the more or less non-contact feature of our game will destroy it."
I think all the managers should come together and decide not to use the bloody thing.Unlikely to happen but I don't know many who think it is a good idea.What about the GPA and the CPA , could they not do something to remove it.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 13/06/2021 18:58:27    2350383

Replying To realdub:  "Whats the craic with Tyrone? The first 15 bus break down on the way? Seriously though, Kerry are scary!!"
Tyrone defence belongs on a basketball court. No leadership of any kind in evidence. No clue about how to line out a defence and how to zonal mark. No workrate. No physicality. Hard to know just how good Kerry are. Miles ahead of us, certainly; but that was one of the worst defensive performances I've ever seen.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 13/06/2021 19:04:43    2350388

Replying To essmac:  "Tyrone defence belongs on a basketball court. No leadership of any kind in evidence. No clue about how to line out a defence and how to zonal mark. No workrate. No physicality. Hard to know just how good Kerry are. Miles ahead of us, certainly; but that was one of the worst defensive performances I've ever seen."
Shockingly bad alright, I see Donegal aping Dublin's style last night.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 13/06/2021 20:28:39    2350461

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "4 Ulster teams in div 1 next year, far and away the strongest province. Great win by Monaghan, I think they will go all the way to the Ulster final now, that win will be some boost."
To keep 4 teams in Div 1 is a big achievement for Ulster football; it'll make for a very competitive Ulster championship.

Leinster football outside of Dublin may be showing some signs of improvement; big wins for Wicklow, Offaly and a really strong Kildare performance over the weekend, not to mention an impressive looking Louth team, who may go up again next season.

I think Connacht football is struggling at the minute; Mayo were fortunate to win in Ennis and Roscommon and Galway beat. It's a big win for Monaghan but there is some transition there yet they still managed to send a Galway team many thought were on the way back 18 months ago down.

I agree I think Armagh, Monaghan will get big boosts after today and Donegal looked significantly improved last night before you throw in the rest, this season's Ulster Championship could be one of the best in years.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 13/06/2021 20:34:48    2350465

Replying To galwayford:  "Monaghan fortunate to play match V Galway in Clones. Their home ground."
I'm glad it was played there. Hardship and tough going is what this Galway team needs to get ready for the Championship. They'll learn from this.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2111 - 13/06/2021 20:44:57    2350474

Replying To essmac:  "Tyrone defence belongs on a basketball court. No leadership of any kind in evidence. No clue about how to line out a defence and how to zonal mark. No workrate. No physicality. Hard to know just how good Kerry are. Miles ahead of us, certainly; but that was one of the worst defensive performances I've ever seen."
I think it comes down to the swarm or zonal defence as you mentioned. Gone are the days of marking your own man and if you weren't up to it you got took off. Now a player mightn't get a kick but because he's putting the yards he's grand. No accountability. As for our new management, least said the better. They wouldn't give Micky Harte another year and it's going to come back to haunt them.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2003 - 13/06/2021 22:06:07    2350529

Replying To ponga:  "Watched 3 games today and mostly enjoyed them but that feckin' advanced mark is wrecking my head. An accurate pass picks out a fellow inside the 45 and you think "good attack coming here", but no. The bloody whistle blows and it's a free even though the man was unchallenged. This sort of nonsense and the more or less non-contact feature of our game will destroy it."
Here here, well said, idiotic mad rule, ruining the game. A free at goal for a catch? Absolute stupidity. Well said.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 13/06/2021 22:16:47    2350535

Replying To arock:  "Here here, well said, idiotic mad rule, ruining the game. A free at goal for a catch? Absolute stupidity. Well said."
Agree entirely - wrecking my head too

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 13/06/2021 22:48:46    2350553

Replying To arock:  "Here here, well said, idiotic mad rule, ruining the game. A free at goal for a catch? Absolute stupidity. Well said."
Most annoying rule in a long time, slows things down in the heat of an attack. You're waiting on a man to swing a lovely kick away for a point and instead the hand goes up and he has a free. Very anti climactic..

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 13/06/2021 23:06:10    2350565

Replying To sam1884:  "To keep 4 teams in Div 1 is a big achievement for Ulster football; it'll make for a very competitive Ulster championship.

Leinster football outside of Dublin may be showing some signs of improvement; big wins for Wicklow, Offaly and a really strong Kildare performance over the weekend, not to mention an impressive looking Louth team, who may go up again next season.

I think Connacht football is struggling at the minute; Mayo were fortunate to win in Ennis and Roscommon and Galway beat. It's a big win for Monaghan but there is some transition there yet they still managed to send a Galway team many thought were on the way back 18 months ago down.

I agree I think Armagh, Monaghan will get big boosts after today and Donegal looked significantly improved last night before you throw in the rest, this season's Ulster Championship could be one of the best in years."
Mayo fortunate? Get real. Mayo's 2nd half performance or lack of allowed Clare back into it but formate to win?? Don't make me laugh.... Mayo are now the only Connacht team in division 1. Sure we are in decline and transision...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 13/06/2021 23:07:09    2350566

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Most annoying rule in a long time, slows things down in the heat of an attack. You're waiting on a man to swing a lovely kick away for a point and instead the hand goes up and he has a free. Very anti climactic.."
I like it, it rewards the art of high fielding, before the mark was introduced, defending players wouldn't even contest high balls, they'd just let yer man catch it and wait for him to land before swarming him and inevitably winning a free out, so the games momentum was often slowed down anyways.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1693 - 16/06/2021 09:16:28    2351345

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo fortunate? Get real. Mayo's 2nd half performance or lack of allowed Clare back into it but formate to win?? Don't make me laugh.... Mayo are now the only Connacht team in division 1. Sure we are in decline and transision..."
Ye might be in Transition and decline but from what I have seen from us and Galway we are both just in decline. Us rapidly

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 16/06/2021 11:04:40    2351378