Can Anyone Name A More Forgone Conclusion Of A Competition Than The Leinster Football Championship?

Replying To tonguey:  "agree 100% with sentiments here. It is correct in my opinion that a lot of Dublin's wins do not have the same meaning to them as they have been so heavily favoured in so many ways. Most people see through that although some still try to have us believe otherwise.

Last year for example we were Ulster champions, they were Leinster champions. Surely there should only be a few points difference between the teams at the end of the game but they beat us handily pulling up as they do to every team. It is more than a coincidence that this "era" started as a result of the millions upon millions pumped into them over the past number of years.

Granted they have some exceptional footballers but so do Kerry, so do Tyrone, so do Donegal- why are they not dominating then???? Why are Dublin always much fitter than other teams?? It often makes me wonder."
If you're still "wondering", then you're still in the "believe otherwise" category and have fallen for the GAA / Dublin media propaganda.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/05/2021 14:50:26    2339945

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "So the main reason Dublin are successful you believe is because a lot of teams have thrown in the towel before throw-in and are not trying hard enough. It has nothing to do with funding, playing population, using Croke Park as their home, or taking an amateur sport to a level that most counties cannot and should not be expected to compete ?

A Ferrari will always win a race against a Toyota Corolla, no matter how hard the driver tries and the fact is it's beaten before it leaves the grid. The buck stops at the GAA's door, not Dublin's.

Hopefully, the penny will eventually drop for everyone.
"
Dublin have more sponsorship revenue for sure. And have always had a larger playing population. Those things were true in the 90s and 00s also. The main 2 reasons they have been dominant the last 6 years is firstly and mostly to do with the exceptional group of players they currently have, though as each year goes by over the next few years most will one by one retire. Secondly their main competitors or indeed beaters in the noughties, Kerry and Tyrone, havent had the players the last decade that they had in the noughties. In addition they had a great management team and no little hunger after basically underachieving since the 70s."
Is your name John Horan by any chance or have you fallen for the GAA / Dublin propaganda as well ?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/05/2021 15:05:13    2339946

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "So the main reason Dublin are successful you believe is because a lot of teams have thrown in the towel before throw-in and are not trying hard enough. It has nothing to do with funding, playing population, using Croke Park as their home, or taking an amateur sport to a level that most counties cannot and should not be expected to compete ?

A Ferrari will always win a race against a Toyota Corolla, no matter how hard the driver tries and the fact is it's beaten before it leaves the grid. The buck stops at the GAA's door, not Dublin's.

Hopefully, the penny will eventually drop for everyone.
"
Dublin have more sponsorship revenue for sure. And have always had a larger playing population. Those things were true in the 90s and 00s also. The main 2 reasons they have been dominant the last 6 years is firstly and mostly to do with the exceptional group of players they currently have, though as each year goes by over the next few years most will one by one retire. Secondly their main competitors or indeed beaters in the noughties, Kerry and Tyrone, havent had the players the last decade that they had in the noughties. In addition they had a great management team and no little hunger after basically underachieving since the 70s."
Is your name John Horan by any chance or have you fallen for the GAA / Dublin propaganda as well ?"]Not fallen for any propaganda. Would be nice to see Wexford win Leinster at football again been 70 odd years at this stage. We had our golden age team back just over 100 years ago with the 4 in a row AI winning team. Would be great to see Dublin not winning Sam this year and I'm not a gloomy pessimist I can see them not winning it sometime soon. Leinster on the other hand needs the Meaths and Kildares etc to keep their best young players motivated. They have great club sides. And Kildare in particular have done well underage in the recent past. But if everyone quits or boycotts or whatever you would have them do then Dublin will keep winning.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 04/05/2021 17:01:20    2339966

What annoys a lot of people is the guff and whinging from Meath and Kildare. They have large populations, way bigger than say Tyrone or Roscommon or even Mayo. And yet they just cannot compete with Dublin. Why can Mayo, a relatively underpopulated county, who have not won an A.I since the 50's compete with the Dubs, and yet Meath with a huge population and an All Ireland as recently as 1999 are a long way off. One of the reasons is there is a lot of whingers involved in their GAA.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 04/05/2021 17:03:54    2339968

Replying To galwayford:  "What annoys a lot of people is the guff and whinging from Meath and Kildare. They have large populations, way bigger than say Tyrone or Roscommon or even Mayo. And yet they just cannot compete with Dublin. Why can Mayo, a relatively underpopulated county, who have not won an A.I since the 50's compete with the Dubs, and yet Meath with a huge population and an All Ireland as recently as 1999 are a long way off. One of the reasons is there is a lot of whingers involved in their GAA."
To be fair I agree with you to an extent. We have been guilty of some whinging and feeling sorry for ourselves. But at the same time there's much more to it than just that. At the start of Dublins dominance in Leinster between around 2011 and 2015 ourselves and Kildare were reasonably competitive with Dublin. The games were closer then but over time the gap has been increasing every year and now we find ourselves where absolutely miles behind them. It definitely doesn't help getting lads to commit when you are taking a bad beating off Dublin every summer in their own back yard. I think its easier for counties in other provinces to get commitment and motivated because they play in more competitive provinces with a realistic chance of doing well.

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 04/05/2021 17:20:04    2339969

Replying To Meath10:  "To be fair I agree with you to an extent. We have been guilty of some whinging and feeling sorry for ourselves. But at the same time there's much more to it than just that. At the start of Dublins dominance in Leinster between around 2011 and 2015 ourselves and Kildare were reasonably competitive with Dublin. The games were closer then but over time the gap has been increasing every year and now we find ourselves where absolutely miles behind them. It definitely doesn't help getting lads to commit when you are taking a bad beating off Dublin every summer in their own back yard. I think its easier for counties in other provinces to get commitment and motivated because they play in more competitive provinces with a realistic chance of doing well."
Think that's a fair point. Lads in the 3 other provinces have the motivation of winning their province. But if the likes of us and Dublin didnt redouble our efforts at hurling since the late noughties and Galway hadn't been admitted Kilkenny would still be winning all the Leinster hurling titles. Will take a big effort from the top down in theeinster football counties to get back competing again but if no1 makes that effort and continues giving up/whingeing then Dublin will keep on winning.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 04/05/2021 17:35:38    2339972

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "U3 I'm just pointing out that dublin use their games against Mayo as some massive barometer as that they're not that far ahead of the rest whereas we had yer number in the last decade as well, how many times did Mayo play dublin in the last decade 6/7 times ye won 1 and drew 2 and lost 4 which is a semilar record that ye have against us in the last decade and we were brutal.

What I'm getting at is to dublin a 2 point lead is as good as a 10 point lead because they just keep the ball and run down the clock.

As for dublins 6 in a row, that is what it is and I and others know what it's worth when it's stripped bare and as for them breaking our records there's nothing that can be done about that, that something we have to live with, but again we all really know what it's worth."
Win/loose streaks against Kerry don't interest me. It's just about winning an all Ireland final. We know our record when it comes to finals is beyond awful but we can do is keep at it. Who we beat or don't beat does not interest me.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 04/05/2021 18:25:52    2339975

Replying To galwayford:  "What annoys a lot of people is the guff and whinging from Meath and Kildare. They have large populations, way bigger than say Tyrone or Roscommon or even Mayo. And yet they just cannot compete with Dublin. Why can Mayo, a relatively underpopulated county, who have not won an A.I since the 50's compete with the Dubs, and yet Meath with a huge population and an All Ireland as recently as 1999 are a long way off. One of the reasons is there is a lot of whingers involved in their GAA."
There's a lot of it that's begrudgery and I don't think I've ever seen a team that won more than a couple of All Ireland's get what could roundly be seen as compliment from all sides.
As soon as you become successful you will have the usual crying and complaining from those that can't.
Some of the Kerry boys are the worst offenders when it comes to football. Full sure of themselves and always looking to drag their betters down. Terribly stuff altogether.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/05/2021 18:49:15    2339978

Replying To yew_tree:  "Win/loose streaks against Kerry don't interest me. It's just about winning an all Ireland final. We know our record when it comes to finals is beyond awful but we can do is keep at it. Who we beat or don't beat does not interest me."
In fairness to you U3 and to the other Mayo posters ye only want to win an allireland and ye don't go into the win/lose thing and neither do I usually i was just pointing out that the dubs use their close games against yer selves and ourselves as a point that they're not miles ahead of the rest when there is really a massive gulf between them and us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/05/2021 19:35:03    2339987

Replying To Meath10:  "To be fair I agree with you to an extent. We have been guilty of some whinging and feeling sorry for ourselves. But at the same time there's much more to it than just that. At the start of Dublins dominance in Leinster between around 2011 and 2015 ourselves and Kildare were reasonably competitive with Dublin. The games were closer then but over time the gap has been increasing every year and now we find ourselves where absolutely miles behind them. It definitely doesn't help getting lads to commit when you are taking a bad beating off Dublin every summer in their own back yard. I think its easier for counties in other provinces to get commitment and motivated because they play in more competitive provinces with a realistic chance of doing well."
Meath cannot even get through the back door. Why has there not been a Meath Dublin final, given that there has been Cork V Down, and Donegal V Mayo.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 04/05/2021 19:38:29    2339988

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "In fairness to you U3 and to the other Mayo posters ye only want to win an allireland and ye don't go into the win/lose thing and neither do I usually i was just pointing out that the dubs use their close games against yer selves and ourselves as a point that they're not miles ahead of the rest when there is really a massive gulf between them and us."
The gulf was not as big as you think. On paper yes and Dublin have a much bigger quality squad but first 15 to first 15 I fully believed we should have won at least one final against them but for bad luck and shooting ourselves in the foot be it own goals and sending offs.

Nearly every team Dublin face are beaten before they take the field. Mayo for whatever reason have never feared Dublin....go back to 1985 (drawn game), 2006 and up to the recent epic games.

Now when Kerry tore us to shreds in those 2004 and 2006 finals which were over after 15 mins...that was a real gulf in class but also belief. The Mayo team and even fans (which annoyed the hell out of me) were in awe of Kerry.

Mayo used to regularly get hammered in big games in Croke Park years ago but that does not happen anymore....we compete because we believe we can win.

I may be over simplifying it but I think a little self belief in the likes of Meath and Kildare would go a long way. If you think you're beaten before you take the field you may as well stay in the dressing room.

Someone mentioned population....Mayo is the most sparsely populated county in Ireland (3rd largest county with only 130,000 pop) but every single kid wants to play for Mayo and football is a 24/7 obsession.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 04/05/2021 21:03:29    2340005

Even though the GAA didn't set out to create a "Super Team" in Dublin, they ought to have known that their unfair actions would have done just that. You see, there was a time in Dublin not so long ago when Gaelic games were looked at by many in Dublin as something only "country people" played, "bog ball" it was known as. Clearly they still had lads playing the game, many of them introduced to it by Guards from the country and so on.

There came a point when the GAA became terrified at the reality of other sports getting a foothold in the capital and in the most basic of terms this is what lead to massive investments in Dublin GAA, helped along by Bertie Ahern, who "happened" to be a man steeped in Dublin GAA.

There is an inherent fear of "foreign games" within the GAA dating back to its formation, and it still exists today. All you need to do is read some of the posts here to get a sample of that, it's like going back in time and it's this fear which has lead us to the farcical situation we are in today, especially when it comes to the Leinster Championship, which isn't dying, it's already dead.

Had the "the free market choices" of sport prevailed and not been interfered with by the GAA and the government at the time, then I have no doubt that we would have a more competitive Leinster and All-Ireland championship now and I have no doubt that Dublin would not have won six in a row either. Nobody questions that Dublin wouldn't still have produced good players and that they wouldn't win the odd All-Ireland, of course they would, but they definitely wouldn't have the dominance they have today.

Throw in the use of Croke Park as your home ground, to know every blade of grass like the back of your hand and know your range, sure how could you not win. I just wonder is there anything else the GAA could do to help them.

If it hadn't been for the likes of Kerry, Mayo and Donegal over the last few years, the farce would have been exposed even more.

If you look at a player like Andy Moran of Mayo as an example, who probably played on the best team Mayo ever produced and indeed one of the best teams that ever played, great on the eye, to think that in all likelihood he and that team were denied because of the unfairness of the GAA, is scandalous and simply wrong. That was a classic generational team, not a team helped by millions to create robots, the money even turned Jim Gavin into a robot in the end, if he had stayed in the game much longer he would have been electrocuted with all the wires hanging out of his ears. Will David Clifford of Kerry suffer the same fate as Moran or will time save him, who knows. How many more generational teams will be denied by the money men ? It's wrong.

So no matter what way you look at it, the paper trail leads you back to the unfair investment, but don't blame Dublin, it's the GAA who have created the monster but unless things are radically changed, in time the monster will end up costing the GAA big time.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/05/2021 21:46:26    2340009

Replying To tonguey:  "They would of course have a chance just as we did last year!! They would also have a chance in Connacht- not too many superpowers there now- sure you could get Leitrim or sligo in semi finals, straight into final and one big performance and a below par performance from the big two and you are champions. No need to be so patronising"
I'm not patronising anyone. Meath would not win 4 games in a row in Ulster. With the players they have at the moment, they would simply not be good enough.

They might get to a Munster or Connacht final but its hard to see them winning it. Do you honestly see them beating Mayo or Kerry for example? I don't.

They don't have the mental strength. Was it the year before last in the Leinster final they couldn't even perform the basic skills of the game? Hand passing, foot passing. Kicking wides in front of the goals. It was a complete capitulation. They only scored a few points altogether in the whole game.

Dublin are not that much better than them and all this whinging and moaning about money and population is getting tiresome at this stage. All the excuses under the sun have been trotted out.

As one poster already stated, they are beaten before they go out on the field. Someone said that they were competitive in Div 1. Well its no good being competitive if you can't win a game.

I never hear the Mayo lads here moaning and whinging about Dublin winning. Mayo have the heads down and probably working on a tactic that might help them win against Dublin.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 04/05/2021 22:30:51    2340016

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Even though the GAA didn't set out to create a "Super Team" in Dublin, they ought to have known that their unfair actions would have done just that. You see, there was a time in Dublin not so long ago when Gaelic games were looked at by many in Dublin as something only "country people" played, "bog ball" it was known as. Clearly they still had lads playing the game, many of them introduced to it by Guards from the country and so on.

There came a point when the GAA became terrified at the reality of other sports getting a foothold in the capital and in the most basic of terms this is what lead to massive investments in Dublin GAA, helped along by Bertie Ahern, who "happened" to be a man steeped in Dublin GAA.

There is an inherent fear of "foreign games" within the GAA dating back to its formation, and it still exists today. All you need to do is read some of the posts here to get a sample of that, it's like going back in time and it's this fear which has lead us to the farcical situation we are in today, especially when it comes to the Leinster Championship, which isn't dying, it's already dead.

Had the "the free market choices" of sport prevailed and not been interfered with by the GAA and the government at the time, then I have no doubt that we would have a more competitive Leinster and All-Ireland championship now and I have no doubt that Dublin would not have won six in a row either. Nobody questions that Dublin wouldn't still have produced good players and that they wouldn't win the odd All-Ireland, of course they would, but they definitely wouldn't have the dominance they have today.

Throw in the use of Croke Park as your home ground, to know every blade of grass like the back of your hand and know your range, sure how could you not win. I just wonder is there anything else the GAA could do to help them.

If it hadn't been for the likes of Kerry, Mayo and Donegal over the last few years, the farce would have been exposed even more.

If you look at a player like Andy Moran of Mayo as an example, who probably played on the best team Mayo ever produced and indeed one of the best teams that ever played, great on the eye, to think that in all likelihood he and that team were denied because of the unfairness of the GAA, is scandalous and simply wrong. That was a classic generational team, not a team helped by millions to create robots, the money even turned Jim Gavin into a robot in the end, if he had stayed in the game much longer he would have been electrocuted with all the wires hanging out of his ears. Will David Clifford of Kerry suffer the same fate as Moran or will time save him, who knows. How many more generational teams will be denied by the money men ? It's wrong.

So no matter what way you look at it, the paper trail leads you back to the unfair investment, but don't blame Dublin, it's the GAA who have created the monster but unless things are radically changed, in time the monster will end up costing the GAA big time.
"
Comparing Dublin players and their ex manager to robots with wires hanging out of their ears is a disgraceful comment.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 04/05/2021 22:46:38    2340019

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Even though the GAA didn't set out to create a "Super Team" in Dublin, they ought to have known that their unfair actions would have done just that. You see, there was a time in Dublin not so long ago when Gaelic games were looked at by many in Dublin as something only "country people" played, "bog ball" it was known as. Clearly they still had lads playing the game, many of them introduced to it by Guards from the country and so on.

"
Agreed. I don't think many actually blame Dublin, it was a massive mess up by the gaa. Dublin benefited but it was not their doing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/05/2021 07:43:51    2340034

Replying To thegadfly:  "I'm not patronising anyone. Meath would not win 4 games in a row in Ulster. With the players they have at the moment, they would simply not be good enough.

They might get to a Munster or Connacht final but its hard to see them winning it. Do you honestly see them beating Mayo or Kerry for example? I don't.

They don't have the mental strength. Was it the year before last in the Leinster final they couldn't even perform the basic skills of the game? Hand passing, foot passing. Kicking wides in front of the goals. It was a complete capitulation. They only scored a few points altogether in the whole game.

Dublin are not that much better than them and all this whinging and moaning about money and population is getting tiresome at this stage. All the excuses under the sun have been trotted out.

As one poster already stated, they are beaten before they go out on the field. Someone said that they were competitive in Div 1. Well its no good being competitive if you can't win a game.

I never hear the Mayo lads here moaning and whinging about Dublin winning. Mayo have the heads down and probably working on a tactic that might help them win against Dublin."
So says the lad from a division 3 county who can win a provincial championship. Think allanis Morrisette had a song about this post.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/05/2021 07:45:59    2340035

Replying To thegadfly:  "

"
Comparing Dublin players and their ex manager to robots with wires hanging out of their ears is a disgraceful comment."
Very true, if they had wires out of their ears it would show they're badly built.

the_creeler (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 05/05/2021 07:51:56    2340038

Galway travel to Tralee on Saturday 15th May to play Kerry. This will be imho a huge test of what I am saying and posting. Galway must play until the 80th minute, if not longer. And must believe they can get a result. It is a big ask for them to beat the Kerrymen in their backyard. And they must try and try again to do so. And not drop their heads.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 05/05/2021 09:38:04    2340051

Replying To galwayford:  "Meath cannot even get through the back door. Why has there not been a Meath Dublin final, given that there has been Cork V Down, and Donegal V Mayo."
The last time there was a back door in the championship Meath got through it

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 05/05/2021 09:38:23    2340052

Replying To thegadfly:  "

"
Comparing Dublin players and their ex manager to robots with wires hanging out of their ears is a disgraceful comment."
You're right gadfly, and I apologize to all the robots in the world who were insulted by being compared to the Dubs.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/05/2021 10:03:18    2340057