SHC Draws

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Is that a new addition? Waterford lost all their games in munster a couple of years ago and weren't relegated."
They won the relegation playoff

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 25/04/2021 09:02:26    2338694

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Why didn't the long break work against the Leinster Champions?"
Dublin '13 and Wexford '19 do come to mind and to a lesser Galway in'18. There are a number of factors. The fact that that KK team was probably the greatest team ever and that Leinster may not have been as difficult to get out of as Munster.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 25/04/2021 20:40:59    2338738

Limerick would be the standout side IMO but Cork have beaten them a few times in recent years and its really hard for any group of players to keep performing at the highest level year on year & trust the Rebels to spoil any sentimentality on Limerick being 1st to lift the Mick Mackey cup. If I was to gamble on it I'd go Cork v Waterford final but maybe only stick a fiver on that eventuality :)
In Leinster given that games are at neutral venues I'm saying KK v Galway but the outcome reversed from last year. But then that'd be about it for what I think are a transitioning Galway side.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 26/04/2021 10:27:14    2338781

Replying To Maroonatic:  "Limerick would be the standout side IMO but Cork have beaten them a few times in recent years and its really hard for any group of players to keep performing at the highest level year on year & trust the Rebels to spoil any sentimentality on Limerick being 1st to lift the Mick Mackey cup. If I was to gamble on it I'd go Cork v Waterford final but maybe only stick a fiver on that eventuality :)
In Leinster given that games are at neutral venues I'm saying KK v Galway but the outcome reversed from last year. But then that'd be about it for what I think are a transitioning Galway side."
Hopefully you are wrong about the Leinster Final pairing !

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 26/04/2021 10:45:55    2338791

Replying To Viking66:  "Hopefully you are wrong about the Leinster Final pairing !"
You could be right. Last year, Dublin beat Laios in the Leinster quarter-final, before going on to lose to Kilkenny by a single point in the semi-final (Kilkenny's first game of the Championship). This year Wexford face Laios in the quarter-final, with the winner facing Kilkenny in the semi-final. I don't think there is much between KK and Wexford. And the game against Laios (which I think they'll win), could give them an advantage against KK, who'll be playing their first game.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2448 - 26/04/2021 11:02:40    2338794

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You could be right. Last year, Dublin beat Laios in the Leinster quarter-final, before going on to lose to Kilkenny by a single point in the semi-final (Kilkenny's first game of the Championship). This year Wexford face Laios in the quarter-final, with the winner facing Kilkenny in the semi-final. I don't think there is much between KK and Wexford. And the game against Laios (which I think they'll win), could give them an advantage against KK, who'll be playing their first game."
Since Davy took over theres been nothing between us and the Cats. Alot will depend on the bounce of the ball on the day and which team has more injuries during the League.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 26/04/2021 11:11:39    2338796

Replying To Maroonatic:  "Limerick would be the standout side IMO but Cork have beaten them a few times in recent years and its really hard for any group of players to keep performing at the highest level year on year & trust the Rebels to spoil any sentimentality on Limerick being 1st to lift the Mick Mackey cup. If I was to gamble on it I'd go Cork v Waterford final but maybe only stick a fiver on that eventuality :)
In Leinster given that games are at neutral venues I'm saying KK v Galway but the outcome reversed from last year. But then that'd be about it for what I think are a transitioning Galway side."
Limerick are a class above the others. However I believe the way to beat them is not by copying them. If you can score three or four then you have a chance. Say four, that brings their 30 points back to 18 difference and to score 19 points to win is feasible. Easier said than done I know because they have goal potential also. I would say Kilkenny or ourselves would be the best chance to do that. Waterford were built to score goals but are coming up a little short without the bustling Tom Devine. They are probable hoping D.J. Foran will help. For sure Billy Kiely is a goal getter but may be too soon. Shane Bennett is a proven goal scorer but I I have a sneaky feeling they will play him half back with Lyons on the other flank as attacking half backs. Tadgh not there is a big set back but probably big things expected of Daly.
Of course the Cats will always go for the jugular and goals to put you away quick.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 26/04/2021 21:51:46    2338862

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well Tiobraid what makes me doubtful is that Tipp. Waterford, Cork( thrice) and Limerick (twice) all won Munster titles and the long break thereafter seemed to work against them by the time All Ireland Semi Final came about."
Thats not your original point though.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/04/2021 18:26:46    2338982

Replying To Canuck:  "Limerick are a class above the others. However I believe the way to beat them is not by copying them. If you can score three or four then you have a chance. Say four, that brings their 30 points back to 18 difference and to score 19 points to win is feasible. Easier said than done I know because they have goal potential also. I would say Kilkenny or ourselves would be the best chance to do that. Waterford were built to score goals but are coming up a little short without the bustling Tom Devine. They are probable hoping D.J. Foran will help. For sure Billy Kiely is a goal getter but may be too soon. Shane Bennett is a proven goal scorer but I I have a sneaky feeling they will play him half back with Lyons on the other flank as attacking half backs. Tadgh not there is a big set back but probably big things expected of Daly.
Of course the Cats will always go for the jugular and goals to put you away quick."
Some good points made. A huge amount of their scoring comes from Hegarty and Morrissey. Mulcahy didnt score as heavy last year and Lynch and the midfield pairing dont generally run up big scores. It's easier said than done but teams need to find big, strong and extremely fit man markers to take the two boys out of the games. Although if Lyons and Moran couldnt do it then who can? Although I do think both of them switching wings for the AI really hindered their games and Waterfords own attacking game.
Personally I don't think this Limerick team will go on to do what KK done, however I think right now they are clear favs and will be very hard to stop this year. But as I said, a Galway team who in my opinion failed to turn up in the semi final last year were level with them in injury time. Limerick still won tho and probably always looked like winning.
On another note - Limerick will be stronger again this year with the return of Casey and English - will be interesting to see their starting team.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/04/2021 18:34:43    2338983

Replying To Canuck:  "Limerick are a class above the others. However I believe the way to beat them is not by copying them. If you can score three or four then you have a chance. Say four, that brings their 30 points back to 18 difference and to score 19 points to win is feasible. Easier said than done I know because they have goal potential also. I would say Kilkenny or ourselves would be the best chance to do that. Waterford were built to score goals but are coming up a little short without the bustling Tom Devine. They are probable hoping D.J. Foran will help. For sure Billy Kiely is a goal getter but may be too soon. Shane Bennett is a proven goal scorer but I I have a sneaky feeling they will play him half back with Lyons on the other flank as attacking half backs. Tadgh not there is a big set back but probably big things expected of Daly.
Of course the Cats will always go for the jugular and goals to put you away quick."
It's a fair point but we only conceded 3 goals last year in 5 matches, one of which realistically should have been disallowed..
Don't see too many teams scoring 4 goals against this current limerick team. Hope not anyway.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 27/04/2021 19:54:26    2338998

Replying To tiobraid:  "Some good points made. A huge amount of their scoring comes from Hegarty and Morrissey. Mulcahy didnt score as heavy last year and Lynch and the midfield pairing dont generally run up big scores. It's easier said than done but teams need to find big, strong and extremely fit man markers to take the two boys out of the games. Although if Lyons and Moran couldnt do it then who can? Although I do think both of them switching wings for the AI really hindered their games and Waterfords own attacking game.
Personally I don't think this Limerick team will go on to do what KK done, however I think right now they are clear favs and will be very hard to stop this year. But as I said, a Galway team who in my opinion failed to turn up in the semi final last year were level with them in injury time. Limerick still won tho and probably always looked like winning.
On another note - Limerick will be stronger again this year with the return of Casey and English - will be interesting to see their starting team."
I am not so sure they depend as much as you say on Hegarty and Morrissey. Remember they won an Ireland and though Tom scored 1.1 Hegarty was held scoreless. And remember both Flanagan and Gillane scored freely also last year. In relation to Mulcahy, he has always been a more top of the ground player and most games last year were played in awful conditions and even still he scored four points in the Munster Final. He may be getting on a bit but with Flanagan in situ, Peter Casey would be an ideal replacement especially in Summer conditions. I agree about Lynch and WOD not being scorers, but a fully fit DOD- he was suffering last year- is well capable of coming on with two or three points as he proved against Cork and KK in;18. It should be noted also that Byrnes, Hannon and Hayes are capable of knocking over long range points- remember the two belters Byrnes shoved over against Galway when Limerick badly needed them. As regards Galway not turning up. I thought that worked both ways in that game. For the first twenty minutes Limerick looked outplayed, but after that I thought the issue was never in doubt. However later on, they did make a mistake by going for goals when points were there for the taking. If they had taken those points there have been no close result near the end. They did not repeat the same mistake against Waterford, a team that I feel are grossly underrated.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 27/04/2021 20:10:00    2339003

Replying To skillet:  "It's a fair point but we only conceded 3 goals last year in 5 matches, one of which realistically should have been disallowed..
Don't see too many teams scoring 4 goals against this current limerick team. Hope not anyway."
Cant see it either. Any team beating Linerick will have to stop them scoring 30 odd points. Will be easier said than done. But nothing is impossible in hurling.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11736 - 27/04/2021 20:12:58    2339005

If Limerick can maintain hunger levels as well as being ruthless with keeping a flow of players coming through like the Dubs did then they can dominate for a few years to come. Big IFs though!!

georgejetson (Limerick) - Posts: 3 - 28/04/2021 12:00:59    2339081

Replying To skillet:  "It's a fair point but we only conceded 3 goals last year in 5 matches, one of which realistically should have been disallowed..
Don't see too many teams scoring 4 goals against this current limerick team. Hope not anyway."
I agree it would be difficult to score many goals. However that is how I would go about it. I can't see anyone out scoring Limerick with points. Not taking from y'ere great win but we were a little bit unlucky not to have a few in the final. On the other hand we could have taken our points and be closer at the end but no cigar for close. Those goals must come early to put ye on the back foot. Jack Fagan was unlucky not to score early but then there is that little problem of beating Tommy Quaid who is excellent. Limerick are close to popping a point every two minutes. That tells me you are not going to have too many possessions. Go for the jugular against this great team who are a joy to watch.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 28/04/2021 22:43:36    2339227

On paper it looks as if Limerick are a bit ahead of the pack. However, as the late great Padi O'Shea once said "a grain of rice can tip the scales". There are such small margins between the top teams that if Limerick are not at their best for every game the will be caught!

Look at Clare 2018, Cork 2019 & Kk 2019. Three games where the opposition forced limerick to loose shape and focus. I do believe the loss to KK in 2019 was a massive learning curve in many ways. A lesson they don't want to taste again for a long time!!

Anyway only one more weekend left without hurling so y'all better get the last of the spring cleaning done this weekend and don't start any projects around the house!!

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 29/04/2021 00:27:37    2339241

Replying To Canuck:  "I agree it would be difficult to score many goals. However that is how I would go about it. I can't see anyone out scoring Limerick with points. Not taking from y'ere great win but we were a little bit unlucky not to have a few in the final. On the other hand we could have taken our points and be closer at the end but no cigar for close. Those goals must come early to put ye on the back foot. Jack Fagan was unlucky not to score early but then there is that little problem of beating Tommy Quaid who is excellent. Limerick are close to popping a point every two minutes. That tells me you are not going to have too many possessions. Go for the jugular against this great team who are a joy to watch."
Agree with everything you said there, Waterford could have had 2 goals in the first 10 minutes, would have put a different slant on the match for definite.
But I think we're going to offer a different challenge this year also.

I was watching the final a few days ago again and the build up to Kyle Hayes and then Lynchs shot that resulted in the double save was sublime. They cut through Waterford brilliantly.. My hope is that Limerick are going to be working on creating more chances like that. Well worked ball into the inside forward line, we're well capable of getting 1 or 2 goals a game also which along with the point taking from distance should hopefully make it harder to beat us.

Our shot taking in the first half against Kilkenny in 19 was dreadful, that was what cost us the game, not the 65 at the end.
This had obviously been worked on in training so there is no reason why goal opportunities won't be something they'll concentrate on this time round.

The fact also the 2/3 of our regular full back line are available again makes me confident that we're going to be in the mix again this year..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 29/04/2021 09:23:01    2339261

Replying To skillet:  "Agree with everything you said there, Waterford could have had 2 goals in the first 10 minutes, would have put a different slant on the match for definite.
But I think we're going to offer a different challenge this year also.

I was watching the final a few days ago again and the build up to Kyle Hayes and then Lynchs shot that resulted in the double save was sublime. They cut through Waterford brilliantly.. My hope is that Limerick are going to be working on creating more chances like that. Well worked ball into the inside forward line, we're well capable of getting 1 or 2 goals a game also which along with the point taking from distance should hopefully make it harder to beat us.

Our shot taking in the first half against Kilkenny in 19 was dreadful, that was what cost us the game, not the 65 at the end.
This had obviously been worked on in training so there is no reason why goal opportunities won't be something they'll concentrate on this time round.

The fact also the 2/3 of our regular full back line are available again makes me confident that we're going to be in the mix again this year.."
Yes I absolutely believe Limerick have the potential to be a dynasty because of the dept that is there. If my county can't break through I will be okay with that and not change my mind in a year or two because of jealousy to yer'e success. I would be similar with Clare, Wexford and Galway of the chasing pack and really miss the swagger of Offaly. Chasing the chasing back Laois, Antrim, Westmeath and Dublin deserve their day in the sun if they can knock off some of us so called upper tier. The elite multi All-Ireland winners will always be there and have had enough of days in the sun.
Getting back to Limerick and ourselves.I could be wrong but I think Liam Cahill will use Shane Bennett in the half back line to have himself and Callum Lyons in an attacking roll on both flanks. It may cause a bit of vulnerability defensively. I think he is going to show a different face. However we have fall off the face of the earth before. One player I would suggest watching out for is Billy Kiely (20). A goal scorer. He would have been there last year but for Injury. Dessie probable has another level especially if some bigger boys make space for him. You never know in hurling who will pop up or down for that matter.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 29/04/2021 23:35:12    2339450

Replying To Canuck:  "Yes I absolutely believe Limerick have the potential to be a dynasty because of the dept that is there. If my county can't break through I will be okay with that and not change my mind in a year or two because of jealousy to yer'e success. I would be similar with Clare, Wexford and Galway of the chasing pack and really miss the swagger of Offaly. Chasing the chasing back Laois, Antrim, Westmeath and Dublin deserve their day in the sun if they can knock off some of us so called upper tier. The elite multi All-Ireland winners will always be there and have had enough of days in the sun.
Getting back to Limerick and ourselves.I could be wrong but I think Liam Cahill will use Shane Bennett in the half back line to have himself and Callum Lyons in an attacking roll on both flanks. It may cause a bit of vulnerability defensively. I think he is going to show a different face. However we have fall off the face of the earth before. One player I would suggest watching out for is Billy Kiely (20). A goal scorer. He would have been there last year but for Injury. Dessie probable has another level especially if some bigger boys make space for him. You never know in hurling who will pop up or down for that matter."
the systems and the way hurling is played now i dont think playing forwards in defense or vice versa doesnt really matter that much anymore. look at the limerick team that won the all ireland last year for instance gearoid hegarty won hurler of the year at wing forward and won an allireland u21 medal at wing bk.....kyle hayes won man of the match award in 2018 at centre forward and won an all star in 2020 at wing bk. declan hannon won a munster senior huring medal in 2013 at wing forward and an allstar at centre bk in 2018. dan morrissey won an allstar at wing bk in 2018 and won an alstar at fullbk in 2020. barry nash won an all ireland senior medal at corner bk and all ireland u21 medal at wing forward. huring has completely changed .

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1095 - 30/04/2021 11:14:48    2339484

Replying To munsterchamps:  "the systems and the way hurling is played now i dont think playing forwards in defense or vice versa doesnt really matter that much anymore. look at the limerick team that won the all ireland last year for instance gearoid hegarty won hurler of the year at wing forward and won an allireland u21 medal at wing bk.....kyle hayes won man of the match award in 2018 at centre forward and won an all star in 2020 at wing bk. declan hannon won a munster senior huring medal in 2013 at wing forward and an allstar at centre bk in 2018. dan morrissey won an allstar at wing bk in 2018 and won an alstar at fullbk in 2020. barry nash won an all ireland senior medal at corner bk and all ireland u21 medal at wing forward. huring has completely changed ."
Excellent points.
Can't wait for it to start real pity crowds won't be allowed in, from a limerick perspective I think we got a tough draw in cork some might say this or that but I'd always respect them though I do think we're better than them. For me big underdogs in Munster anyway is Waterford they had chances versus us in the December final and if one had gone in early you never know having said all that I expect limerick stronger next yr with players coming back from injury plus a few exciting new players added to the panel we'll be close plus though most teams can say this but I think we'd a few lads playing last time that weren't right gillane being one but I could be wrong there.
I see a limerick v Waterford munster final but only after a great battle with cork.
Leinster will be tough I think galway will get to the final but who'll come through the other match? 50 50 for me

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 03/05/2021 00:06:32    2339738

Replying To munsterchamps:  "the systems and the way hurling is played now i dont think playing forwards in defense or vice versa doesnt really matter that much anymore. look at the limerick team that won the all ireland last year for instance gearoid hegarty won hurler of the year at wing forward and won an allireland u21 medal at wing bk.....kyle hayes won man of the match award in 2018 at centre forward and won an all star in 2020 at wing bk. declan hannon won a munster senior huring medal in 2013 at wing forward and an allstar at centre bk in 2018. dan morrissey won an allstar at wing bk in 2018 and won an alstar at fullbk in 2020. barry nash won an all ireland senior medal at corner bk and all ireland u21 medal at wing forward. huring has completely changed ."
Don't take those moves for granted. All the hurlers you mention above are some of the most skilful hurlers ever to don the Limerick jersey. So I'm not sure the same level of transition would be as successful in Limerick teams gone by. There are almost always one or two exceptional hurlers on most teams that could make the transition but this current team has bucked that trend. Don't forget Cian lynch started his senior career as a corner forward and won HOTY at centre field. Gearoid Hegarty won a Fitzgibbon cup at half back.

I think with Shane Bennets goal scoring ability, he's a bigger threat up front. I'm also looking forward to watching Dessie Hutchiinson play on the hard ground. He excited the championship last year for me.

The Countdown is on in out house, the projects are finishing up this week and the beer fridge will be restocked for the weekend. Can't wait!!

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 03/05/2021 09:52:53    2339749