European Super League / GAA

Replying To KillingFields:  "You ok hun xxx
What are rooters?
The games against NZ, Oz etc in November, June are far from friendlies and certainly not against second string teams"
Oh right I forgot that once they are called tests they are not friendlies. Silly me- great all the trophies handed out winning these friendly, sorry I mean test games. We played New Zealand at the World cup in what was not a friendly, sorry I mean test and we saw what happened. Completely out of their depth, rooting around like a pig in a freshly ploughed field.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 21/04/2021 16:10:25    2338230

Replying To KillingFields:  "You ok hun xxx
What are rooters?
The games against NZ, Oz etc in November, June are far from friendlies and certainly not against second string teams"
They played NZ in Chicago, what was the point of that? For NZ it was the appearance fee and for the IRFU world fifteen it was a season opening exhibition match. It's basically an aul challenge game you'd get for opening a gaa pitch with an over 40s masters selection lining out. Pointless endeavour. They don't even get the commemorative medals the gaa lads would get.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 21/04/2021 16:44:04    2338239

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yes 'greenfield', please remember that without 'greengrass' you wouldn't exist at all. It's so ironic and so Irish to have you two guys communicating with each other!"
Very good forever young. I enjoyed that post.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 21/04/2021 16:45:05    2338241

Rugby..

A sport I'll never be overly fond of. It's a cultural divide scenario in Dublin. A big one.

Its a posh boy sport in Dublin, a private school sort of thing.

It's an implanted sport/culture that's played in the sort of blue blooded elite school setups that are a carbon copy of those that are attended by future Tory MP's across the water.

That's not the Dublin I know. These little West Brit enclaves here in Dublin might as well be in a different country altogether and they basically are.

I understand it's not like that in other spots around the country, a more working class pursuit but it's the exact opposite in Dublin.

Rugby. . Nah.. leave it to them lot!

We've a different sort of Blue Blood around my way.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/04/2021 17:44:17    2338252

Replying To tonguey:  "Well I think it is and that's all that matters. If you think barging into people constantly is sport then off with you- not for me fair to say. But I suppose being from Kildare ye have to clutch at something seeing as the football team is atrocious. Sounds like deflection isn't it."
I've no interest whatsoever in kildare football, I'm a hurling fan :)

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 21/04/2021 18:14:01    2338254

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I believe that the GAA is at a cross roads The problem with the GAA is they haven't left the crossroads they first stood at in 1884. What they have let happen to the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship is nothing short of disgusting at this stage, totally out of their depth, not fit for purpose. They're using Dublin as a Patsy to cover up their own ineptitude.

It's time supporters all around the country started standing up for the game, instead of pandering to inept county boards and the organisation as a whole, otherwise you are all part of the problem.
"
What do you suggest? Most supporters in a number of counties believes that their county board is not fit for purpose but there isn't the finances to pay full time people to run their affairs so they are left with voluntaries who while their heart is up to it, they don't have the know how. On the hand there are counties who are able to pay full time qualified professional people to the role. Again it is professional in some counties and amateur in others. I can't see the current structure continuing, so there will be a handful of counties able to continue and the rest won't.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1914 - 21/04/2021 20:53:42    2338273

Replying To republicofcloone:  "They played NZ in Chicago, what was the point of that? For NZ it was the appearance fee and for the IRFU world fifteen it was a season opening exhibition match. It's basically an aul challenge game you'd get for opening a gaa pitch with an over 40s masters selection lining out. Pointless endeavour. They don't even get the commemorative medals the gaa lads would get."
In fairness there is no such thing as a 'friendly' in rugby, the full houses would mirror that.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 21/04/2021 22:43:48    2338286

Replying To AfricanGael:  "The 6 Nations is always open to expansion and will become 7 then 8 etc, you can't just create rugby nations overnight, just look at the GAA, they've never been able expand outside Ireland to become more than a one nation game. The GAA is about local parochial tribalism, so its games will never be anything other than that, never be recognised as olympic sports or played on the international stage. There are many other games like that though, that are played by tribes in remote parts of the world, so it's not just an Irish thing."
There are GAA clubs in every major city in the World. There is also a GAA world games. It to use your expression, takes time to develope GAA.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 22/04/2021 07:49:17    2338304

Replying To AfricanGael:  "The 6 Nations is always open to expansion and will become 7 then 8 etc, you can't just create rugby nations overnight, just look at the GAA, they've never been able expand outside Ireland to become more than a one nation game. The GAA is about local parochial tribalism, so its games will never be anything other than that, never be recognised as olympic sports or played on the international stage. There are many other games like that though, that are played by tribes in remote parts of the world, so it's not just an Irish thing."
I can think of Aussie rules, and American football, similar to GAA- played by "tribes" in remote parts of the World? Says the African gael.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 22/04/2021 07:53:08    2338305

I don't like slagging other sports. For example I brought up the Rugby 6 nations, and criticized it. Well it is an exciting competition. And gives enjoyment to many. Well done to it. And I just believe that there are a few trolls on this site. We know who they are, who just attack the GAA and offer no solutions. It is not nice of me to criticize other sports and believe me, I don't like doing it.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 22/04/2021 07:56:29    2338306

Replying To realdub:  "In fairness there is no such thing as a 'friendly' in rugby, the full houses would mirror that."
In the old days under Jack Charlton when Irish soccer was going well every friendly was a full house with them too. Makes no odds. Just because they name it a 'test' doesn't make it important. A challenge game in gaa is a test also, you're testing new players maybe and new ways of playing. NZ only travel up into this hemisphere for the appearance fees, why do they rarely play Ireland in their home country? Because the Irish rugby team are irrelevant and wouldn't fill their stadiums for tes....friendlies, and it's not financially beneficial either.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 22/04/2021 09:41:48    2338311

Replying To galwayford:  "
I can think of Aussie rules, and American football, similar to GAA- played by "tribes" in remote parts of the World? Says the African gael."
There are many parts of Africa a lot more advanced than large parts of Galway, and that wouldn't be difficult. If you traveled a bit, you'd know who sets up GAA clubs abroad, the Irish people with cop on who aren't afraid of work, who left places like "downtown Ahascragh", they'd rather be in places like Cape Town, and who could blame them. "GAA World Games" :-)).

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 22/04/2021 09:47:14    2338314

Replying To galwayford:  "I don't like slagging other sports. For example I brought up the Rugby 6 nations, and criticized it. Well it is an exciting competition. And gives enjoyment to many. Well done to it. And I just believe that there are a few trolls on this site. We know who they are, who just attack the GAA and offer no solutions. It is not nice of me to criticize other sports and believe me, I don't like doing it."
The GAA is an organization and not a sport.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 22/04/2021 09:51:40    2338316

Replying To Bon:  "I've no interest whatsoever in kildare football, I'm a hurling fan :)"
Did not know ye have a hurling team at all

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 22/04/2021 09:57:32    2338317

Replying To republicofcloone:  "In the old days under Jack Charlton when Irish soccer was going well every friendly was a full house with them too. Makes no odds. Just because they name it a 'test' doesn't make it important. A challenge game in gaa is a test also, you're testing new players maybe and new ways of playing. NZ only travel up into this hemisphere for the appearance fees, why do they rarely play Ireland in their home country? Because the Irish rugby team are irrelevant and wouldn't fill their stadiums for tes....friendlies, and it's not financially beneficial either."
Well thats just false.
Rugby fans, players, coaches treat these tests as very important. They are not anywhere near similar to challenge games in the GAA. People in the GAA dont care too much, or are that interested in challenge games but rugby fans, players etc are very interested supportive of the test matches and the results
New Zealand dont just travel here for appearance fees
We dont travel as much to New Zealand compared to their visits to us because of basic logistics.
You could travel to all the 6 nations sides in a shorter time than you can fly from australia to new zealand.
in every 4 year world cup cycle there is just 2 summers where ireland may visit new zealand as there isnt tours year of a world cup or lions tour and there is also south africa, argentina, australia etc to tour
Ireland do fill the stadiums in new zealand for tests. care to show that they dont?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3512 - 22/04/2021 11:25:21    2338345

Replying To KillingFields:  "Well thats just false.
Rugby fans, players, coaches treat these tests as very important. They are not anywhere near similar to challenge games in the GAA. People in the GAA dont care too much, or are that interested in challenge games but rugby fans, players etc are very interested supportive of the test matches and the results
New Zealand dont just travel here for appearance fees
We dont travel as much to New Zealand compared to their visits to us because of basic logistics.
You could travel to all the 6 nations sides in a shorter time than you can fly from australia to new zealand.
in every 4 year world cup cycle there is just 2 summers where ireland may visit new zealand as there isnt tours year of a world cup or lions tour and there is also south africa, argentina, australia etc to tour
Ireland do fill the stadiums in new zealand for tests. care to show that they dont?"
Well of course rugby folk treat these games as important. But they aren't. They're good challenge matches for teams and money spinners for their coffers isn't it. Why did NZ travel to Chicago if logistics are a problem for them for their game against Ireland, it was simply to raise awareness of their brand and spin money, and fair play to them. And Ireland was picked as the opponent because of all the Irish people on the US and A east coast. That's the only reason. They knew they'd pack out the pitch for that simply because of the novelty of seeing a team representing Ireland. Takes 3/4 hours flying from NZ to Aus, not exactly a punishing trip. The GAA could start calling all challenge games 'tests' instead. And the soccer crowd could do the same, friendlies in soccer affects rankings too. The one simple fact is when NZ play Ireland when it actually matters...a world cup, they'll know the IRFU side will fill the togs every time and it's put down as a banker win.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 22/04/2021 11:57:42    2338350

Replying To tonguey:  "Did not know ye have a hurling team at all"
You learn something new everyday so.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 22/04/2021 12:20:57    2338353

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Well of course rugby folk treat these games as important. But they aren't. They're good challenge matches for teams and money spinners for their coffers isn't it. Why did NZ travel to Chicago if logistics are a problem for them for their game against Ireland, it was simply to raise awareness of their brand and spin money, and fair play to them. And Ireland was picked as the opponent because of all the Irish people on the US and A east coast. That's the only reason. They knew they'd pack out the pitch for that simply because of the novelty of seeing a team representing Ireland. Takes 3/4 hours flying from NZ to Aus, not exactly a punishing trip. The GAA could start calling all challenge games 'tests' instead. And the soccer crowd could do the same, friendlies in soccer affects rankings too. The one simple fact is when NZ play Ireland when it actually matters...a world cup, they'll know the IRFU side will fill the togs every time and it's put down as a banker win."
Irish rugby is how do you say- like a cow after calving- not what it used to be like. Only similar thing is that Ireland also usually calve on the big day too

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 22/04/2021 12:25:34    2338354

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Well of course rugby folk treat these games as important. But they aren't. They're good challenge matches for teams and money spinners for their coffers isn't it. Why did NZ travel to Chicago if logistics are a problem for them for their game against Ireland, it was simply to raise awareness of their brand and spin money, and fair play to them. And Ireland was picked as the opponent because of all the Irish people on the US and A east coast. That's the only reason. They knew they'd pack out the pitch for that simply because of the novelty of seeing a team representing Ireland. Takes 3/4 hours flying from NZ to Aus, not exactly a punishing trip. The GAA could start calling all challenge games 'tests' instead. And the soccer crowd could do the same, friendlies in soccer affects rankings too. The one simple fact is when NZ play Ireland when it actually matters...a world cup, they'll know the IRFU side will fill the togs every time and it's put down as a banker win."
Look i get it. you dont like rugby and are trolling but who are GAA people to say to rugby fans what they deem as important in terms of matches. Theyre not challenges or friendlies.
When do you ever see top level gaa teams/players play to same intensity in friendlies as they would in championship games because the intensity in many of these tests are similar to 6 nations and world cup games.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3512 - 22/04/2021 12:44:08    2338357

Replying To KillingFields:  "Look i get it. you dont like rugby and are trolling but who are GAA people to say to rugby fans what they deem as important in terms of matches. Theyre not challenges or friendlies.
When do you ever see top level gaa teams/players play to same intensity in friendlies as they would in championship games because the intensity in many of these tests are similar to 6 nations and world cup games."
I do not know if he is a troll or not but how do you know how these players play in these challenge games seeing as you argue that nobody has any interest in them so assume you have not attended many of them?

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 22/04/2021 13:17:49    2338363