Monaghan

Replying To Farney:  "Is it true that Alan Dillon was the one that raised this with the Justice Department?"
The Justice Department received an anonymous letter.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/04/2021 15:22:57    2336351

Bit off topic but I seem to rem the Minister for Justice being a spectator at the Meath county final last year when spectators were banned? there was no investigation into that?
Bad pr day for the GAA just when they were going to announce the new league schedule for next month.
Somebody had the knife ready for Banty and this breaking news was timed deliberately it would seem to me anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 08/04/2021 15:27:59    2336353

Replying To Farney:  "Is it true that Alan Dillon was the one that raised this with the Justice Department?"
"Last night a spokesperson for the Department of Justice confirmed it forwarded material directly to the GAA.

"Following receipt of an anonymous letter with information regarding this matter, the Department forwarded the information to the GAA, An Garda Síochána, and the Department of Health for their appropriate attention," the spokesperson said"

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/04/2021 15:32:10    2336354

The players are in Covid breach as well surely players from Cork Down Dublin and now Monaghan are eligible for the well publicised fine of 100 euro. Unless they were within their 5km of course!! I blame the players as much as managers for actually going ahead they are old enough to know the rules. Team bans is the way to go.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 08/04/2021 15:37:40    2336355

For me

We carried on regardless after the Sligo panel fell ill to covid-19 and the championship was up and running with the British variant in the country and who knows for how long..

But sure twas all grand when we were elite and actually catching the virus..

The Sligo panel catching and spreading it amongst themselves was grand sure., great to have a bit of entertainment on the tele wasn't it.

Then someone deemed we weren't elite and now it's bad.

It's all very silly at this stage.. we were playing full contact championship football, panels travelling back and forth around the island..while actively catching the virus not so long ago but sure weren't we elite..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 08/04/2021 15:42:59    2336358

Replying To jimbodub:  "For me

We carried on regardless after the Sligo panel fell ill to covid-19 and the championship was up and running with the British variant in the country and who knows for how long..

The Sligo panel catching and spreading it amongst themselves was grand sure., great to have a bit of entertainment on the tele wasn't it.

It's all very silly at this stage.. we were playing full contact championship football, panels travelling back and forth around the island..while actively catching the virus not so long ago but sure weren't we elite.."
I see the penny still hasn't dropped for you, there was no British variant in the country at that time, so it would be nice if you stopped spreading misinformation and lies.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/04/2021 15:52:22    2336362

It's all very silly at this stage.. we were playing full contact championship football, panels travelling back and forth around the island..while actively catching the virus not so long ago but sure weren't we elite.."
What point you trying to make?

Sligo happened in November and championship was in progress. No one, even in December, knew the extent of the new wave and the new strain. Was December when this was known and even then it was very early days. There was decisions made to curtail activity - club championships, county minors and U20s - but senior was allowed to continue with strict protocols in place.

We know a lot more now and that's what recent decisions are based on plus the vaccine programme is rolling out.

Hindsight a wonderful thing and makes all decisions a lot easier months down the line.

France, Germany, italy, Eastern Europe all in a lot worse spot than us.

TheJackel (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 08/04/2021 15:59:05    2336365

Replying To wexico15:  "If someone can produce a dossier on this to provide to the department of justice they've way to much time on their hands."
Probably work in the hospitality sector.......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 08/04/2021 15:59:32    2336366

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Ask the people who have had relatives and friends die from COVID."
Not right to blame intercounty footballers or hurlers or their managements for any deaths from covid when the people supposed to be running the country cant even bring in the statutory hotel quarantine now that should've been brought in over a year ago.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 08/04/2021 16:05:21    2336367

Replying To lilylanger:  "I didn't mean anybody here I meant ex players and managers pontificating in the media about how bad it is and calling for stricter punishments. We all know who they are. Also, regarding your last point, if these allegations are true about Monaghan and they seem to be given Banty has been given a ban already, it is alleged they were training in March which was before the Dubs were caught so your last point wouldn't stand."
Agreed, I haven't heard rumours of Galway being at it. I hope they aren't but unless I was actually on the panel I wouldn't get on my soapbox about other counties

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 08/04/2021 16:05:48    2336368

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I see the penny still hasn't dropped for you, there was no British variant in the country at that time, so it would be nice if you stopped spreading misinformation and lies."
But sure that's just pure speculation on your part.

Where is your evidence that it wasn't in the country before the 19th of December

Flights to UK were only cancelled on the 20th

What proof do you have that the thousands of passengers travelling back into Ireland from London before the 20th didn't have the far more contagious strain.. given the fact that we're on a lock down since Christmas, which is being blamed on the British strain.. surely it's only commonsense to say it was being brought into Ireland across December with so many people travelling back from the very epicenter of the British strain.

I'm just giving an unsubstantiated opinion like yourself.

But hey.. regardless of strain

Inter County panels were still catching Covid-19 yet all was deemed acceptable to play full contact championship football

It's all a bit odd to ignore such things and then see the recent hyperbole

All was rosey not so long ago

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 08/04/2021 16:13:33    2336374

British variant? There's no such thing.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2443 - 08/04/2021 16:13:51    2336375

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "British variant? There's no such thing."
We know that Cat, but if it takes half a day to explain what "all the while" means then good luck explaining your point :-).

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/04/2021 16:19:44    2336378

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Bit off topic but I seem to rem the Minister for Justice being a spectator at the Meath county final last year when spectators were banned? there was no investigation into that?
Bad pr day for the GAA just when they were going to announce the new league schedule for next month.
Somebody had the knife ready for Banty and this breaking news was timed deliberately it would seem to me anyway."
She was there in a official capacity. And no spectators weren't banned just limited.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/04/2021 16:24:12    2336381

Replying To jimbodub:  "But sure that's just pure speculation on your part.

Where is your evidence that it wasn't in the country before the 19th of December

Flights to UK were only cancelled on the 20th

What proof do you have that the thousands of passengers travelling back into Ireland from London before the 20th didn't have the far more contagious strain.. given the fact that we're on a lock down since Christmas, which is being blamed on the British strain.. surely it's only commonsense to say it was being brought into Ireland across December with so many people travelling back from the very epicenter of the British strain.

I'm just giving an unsubstantiated opinion like yourself.

But hey.. regardless of strain

Inter County panels were still catching Covid-19 yet all was deemed acceptable to play full contact championship football

It's all a bit odd to ignore such things and then see the recent hyperbole

All was rosey not so long ago"
I mean regardless of how people think it's only lads having a kick out or you think the behaviour is abhorrent I presume all of us know that money is the reason intercounty is going ahead.

The only reason club got to go first last year is because of the massive uproar there would have been had it not from the entire country after the clubs all over the country rallied around the vulnerable in the communities ( I've honestly never been as proud of the GAA community as I was last year)even people who have never been to a game in their life saw what the clubs did. Big name players coming out and demanding club goes first also put the pressure on

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 08/04/2021 16:24:31    2336382

The things these division one/Top intercounty football teams do to gain a slight advantage is actually sticking I know for a fact the our county boys are not training in numbers just individual training John maughen said he hasn't even met some of the new lads he called into the offaly panel as they are not training collectively. No wonder the gap is winding between the few top teams and the rest

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 08/04/2021 16:36:06    2336390

Replying To Irishcelt:  "The things these division one/Top intercounty football teams do to gain a slight advantage is actually sticking I know for a fact the our county boys are not training in numbers just individual training John maughen said he hasn't even met some of the new lads he called into the offaly panel as they are not training collectively. No wonder the gap is winding between the few top teams and the rest"
Nobody is going to admit it now are they?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 08/04/2021 16:55:34    2336396

Very foolish of Monaghan....I mean come on after Dublin were caught any team still training must be pure stupid.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 08/04/2021 18:13:39    2336416

Replying To Irishcelt:  "The things these division one/Top intercounty football teams do to gain a slight advantage is actually sticking I know for a fact the our county boys are not training in numbers just individual training John maughen said he hasn't even met some of the new lads he called into the offaly panel as they are not training collectively. No wonder the gap is winding between the few top teams and the rest"
A bit like saying, "my children wouldn't do that" nobody knows. Storm in a teacup when you see other sports. Not many sticking to the rules full stop. People can criticise others but not many walking about with big hairy heads on them, either we're brilliant at cutting our own hair or we're in close contact getting it cut elsewhere. People can't wait to slag GAA, do as I say not as I do culture. Not much harm in a kick about.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2003 - 08/04/2021 18:14:38    2336418

Replying To yew_tree:  "Very foolish of Monaghan....I mean come on after Dublin were caught any team still training must be pure stupid."
Monaghan were caught training in March

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 08/04/2021 19:21:14    2336434