Intercounty Players Who Had One Or Two Good Seasons And Then Just Disappeared..Both Codes

On the subject of Limerick.

Did Eoin Keating play much with the footballers post 04? Had two chances of winning that years Munster final.

Cormac Joyce Power was another from a years after. He might have emigrated though.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 11/05/2021 09:58:35    2341047

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I have to say genuinely, this has turned out to be a good healthy debate, I used to be able to remember all games how they were won and lost, and still only 50 years of age, in recent times these things fade for me,I do remember most of the games when metnioned but if you asked me who knocked LImerick (or Offaly) out of championship in in 2001 or 2005 I woluldnt have a clue without looking it up..fair plays to ye...my excuse was anyway, the sheer volume of games now played with round robins etc...I just wouldnt remember them...

Getting back to LImerick, our own Pat Joe Whelehan went down to ye and I genuinely thought he was the man Limerick but apparently he found alot of opposition from certain sections of county board too..shooting myself in the foot here but this is "what they were saying"..as an Offaly man I always liked Limerick, and along with Wexford, Waterford, Clare, Laois and Dublin (leaving out the other counties then immediately below these) if Limerick dont win this year, I wont mind any of the those others listed winning..I know some wont but they are trying and that is the main thing..."
Like you I welcome healthy debates. My points were meant to bring balance to the discussion. Yes PJW done a lot with Birr and I thought he would have success with Limerick but it just didn't happen. Some players with egos were instrumental in getting rid of several managers during this period as well

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 11/05/2021 10:20:02    2341050

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Points taken. You omitted however to mention 2003 when in the qualifiers we scraped past Kerry and were well beaten by a poor Offaly team. Also, Tipperary in 2004 and 2005 and 2006 and maybe even 2007 were in transition. Yet in six meetings with a Tipperary team in transition from 2004 to 2007 we only won once. In the 2006 game we were 2-1 to no score ahead early on but still contrived to lose that game. So my point about these lads underachieving is valid. Also in 2006 Clare embarrassed us in the qualifiers in Ennis. So I think you are selective in the matches you have mentioned. Admittedly, they were poorly managed and perhaps poorly trained. But Cork won an All-Ireland in 2005 and EIGHT (yes eight) of that Cork team played in the 2000 Munster under-21 final when Limerick best them 4-18 to 1-6.

And as a footnote - I had a conversation with Justin McCarthy last year and I asked him about 2009 and the dropping of players. He told me that a previous Limerick manager (who I won't name) said to him that he (the previous guy) regretted not having dropped the same players years earlier."
I would say John some games take on a life of their own so that 2000 U 21 final you mention was anexception to the rule. In the drawn game in Cork, which I was at, we were lucky to escape and for most of the games over the three years in Munster we only scraped past Cork and Tipp- note the number of draws. When we came out of Munster we were lucky to edge Wexford by a point in '01 and in the '02 we played exceptionally well but in all three years Galway, whom we seem to have an Indian sign over at this grade, played below par, in my HO. My point is that though we won three in a row we not much better than most of the counties playing against us.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 11/05/2021 10:27:40    2341051

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Points taken. You omitted however to mention 2003 when in the qualifiers we scraped past Kerry and were well beaten by a poor Offaly team. Also, Tipperary in 2004 and 2005 and 2006 and maybe even 2007 were in transition. Yet in six meetings with a Tipperary team in transition from 2004 to 2007 we only won once. In the 2006 game we were 2-1 to no score ahead early on but still contrived to lose that game. So my point about these lads underachieving is valid. Also in 2006 Clare embarrassed us in the qualifiers in Ennis. So I think you are selective in the matches you have mentioned. Admittedly, they were poorly managed and perhaps poorly trained. But Cork won an All-Ireland in 2005 and EIGHT (yes eight) of that Cork team played in the 2000 Munster under-21 final when Limerick best them 4-18 to 1-6.

And as a footnote - I had a conversation with Justin McCarthy last year and I asked him about 2009 and the dropping of players. He told me that a previous Limerick manager (who I won't name) said to him that he (the previous guy) regretted not having dropped the same players years earlier."
I would say John some games take on a life of their own so that 2000 U 21 final you mention was anexception to the rule. In the drawn game in Cork, which I was at, we were lucky to escape and for most of the games over the three years in Munster we only scraped past Cork and Tipp- note the number of draws. When we came out of Munster we were lucky to edge Wexford by a point in '01 and in the '02 we played exceptionally well but in all three years Galway, whom we seem to have an Indian sign over at this grade, played below par, in my HO. My point is that though we won three in a row we not much better than most of the counties playing against us.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 11/05/2021 10:28:01    2341052

Barney Breen from Leitrim- super footballer in his day

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 11/05/2021 10:33:14    2341055

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I would say John some games take on a life of their own so that 2000 U 21 final you mention was anexception to the rule. In the drawn game in Cork, which I was at, we were lucky to escape and for most of the games over the three years in Munster we only scraped past Cork and Tipp- note the number of draws. When we came out of Munster we were lucky to edge Wexford by a point in '01 and in the '02 we played exceptionally well but in all three years Galway, whom we seem to have an Indian sign over at this grade, played below par, in my HO. My point is that though we won three in a row we not much better than most of the counties playing against us."
That is very true as well. In 2001 and 2002 Tipperary could have taken us in those Munster finals. And if the backdoor system was in place then we could have ended up playing Tipperary again in All-Ireland finals. A Tipperary man made the exact same point you made to me a few years back

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 11/05/2021 10:35:18    2341056

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I would say John some games take on a life of their own so that 2000 U 21 final you mention was anexception to the rule. In the drawn game in Cork, which I was at, we were lucky to escape and for most of the games over the three years in Munster we only scraped past Cork and Tipp- note the number of draws. When we came out of Munster we were lucky to edge Wexford by a point in '01 and in the '02 we played exceptionally well but in all three years Galway, whom we seem to have an Indian sign over at this grade, played below par, in my HO. My point is that though we won three in a row we not much better than most of the counties playing against us."
And as Ger Loughnane said some years ago - in those three years Limerick never faced Kilkenny.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 11/05/2021 10:37:15    2341057

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I agree with you on this from all I have heard over the years. We gave Dave Keane no chance and brought in a man from outside, who forced a situation to occur, where six possible panelists (Steven Lucey, Connor Fitz, Mark Keane, Mike O'Brien, Mark O'Riordan and Another whom I cant remember all opted to play football for a few years. When Eamon Cregan tried to get everyone to commit to hurling in 2001 and 2002 he got no support from our County Board, yet when some body else came in it was OK."
Brian Begley was the sixth man, if I remember correctly. You seem to be good at forgetting him! All were part of those u-21 winning sides, except for Banger!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 11/05/2021 11:36:00    2341075

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "And as Ger Loughnane said some years ago - in those three years Limerick never faced Kilkenny."
to be fair, I rememer Clare winning an U21 All Ireland or 2 some years ago and were facing Kilkenny in one of them, and low and behold Clare beat them in cracker of a game...that Limerick team from early 00's was an exceptional team, Kilkenny obviously were not strong if they never made it to play them..I hear what your saying alright, but that Limerick team were not lucky to win 3 AI finals in a row..you have to be good to do that..most will aggree they were exceptional....

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 11/05/2021 12:02:09    2341082

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Brian Begley was the sixth man, if I remember correctly. You seem to be good at forgetting him! All were part of those u-21 winning sides, except for Banger!"
Begley was a guy who flattered to deceive, albeit he had injury issues

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 11/05/2021 12:12:15    2341088

And here's another name of a player who disappeared almost without trace - Eugene Mulcahy of Knockainey.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 11/05/2021 12:14:48    2341089

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "And here's another name of a player who disappeared almost without trace - Eugene Mulcahy of Knockainey."
jaysus yeah..what became of him..alot of players mentioned here...my own Offaly wouldnt have that many if we were to thrawl through the last 20//30 years, some yes but Limerick appear to have lots whom have certainly had the talent anyway..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 11/05/2021 14:33:27    2341118

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "jaysus yeah..what became of him..alot of players mentioned here...my own Offaly wouldnt have that many if we were to thrawl through the last 20//30 years, some yes but Limerick appear to have lots whom have certainly had the talent anyway.."
Unfortunately in Limerick up until very recent times talent was not always harnessed in the right way

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 11/05/2021 14:38:14    2341119

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "And as Ger Loughnane said some years ago - in those three years Limerick never faced Kilkenny."
But there was a good Wexford team and an Offaly side in 2000 that had each already beaten Kilkenny. Anyway Limerick beat Kilkenny convincingly in the only Under 21 Final they played in.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 11/05/2021 15:12:54    2341126

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "And here's another name of a player who disappeared almost without trace - Eugene Mulcahy of Knockainey."
Did Eugene emigrate?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 11/05/2021 15:15:33    2341127

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Did Eugene emigrate?"
He emigrated to London towards the end of 2004

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 11/05/2021 15:49:16    2341135

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "He emigrated to London towards the end of 2004"
isnt it strange...when I was his age if I had that talent...we are all different I suppose...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 14/05/2021 11:27:21    2341662

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "isnt it strange...when I was his age if I had that talent...we are all different I suppose..."
Admittedly as well some of the print and broadcast media in Limerick and a lot of supporters hyped these under-21s out of all proportion and maybe some players began to believe what they read and heard.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 14/05/2021 14:18:12    2341697

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "isnt it strange...when I was his age if I had that talent...we are all different I suppose..."
Not in Eugene's I think he spent the Summer of 2001 abroad. Some people just think there is more to life that hurling.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 14/05/2021 16:43:19    2341718

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Not in Eugene's I think he spent the Summer of 2001 abroad. Some people just think there is more to life that hurling."
No he played under-21 for Limerick throughout the three in a row years

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 14/05/2021 19:48:38    2341750