Dublin Senior Football Team

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "So for all of you brushing this off as an overreaction, here are the stats. Almost 4.7k deaths in the country, families impacted beyond words & traumatized as they had to pick and chose who could attend funerals- hurts & traumas that will never heal. Many long established businesses have been destroyed - some of them having been in families for generations. I haven't seen many members of my family in a year - elderly people prisoners in their homes in their twilight years. Missed cancer diagnosis & delayed health care delivery.
As a country we will be paying the multi dimensional psychological & economic costs of this pandemic for years. It is about the spirit of the guidance & that sense of the collective that has been lost and a damned sense of entitlement by a few - whether that be golfing societies in Mayo, vaccine distribution by those who have power over supply or inter county players conducting training sessions. I would suggest that the next time these players look to do their photo opportunities in hospitals, they should not be given access. What they did was a slap in the face to the bereaved & to front line workers & to the sacrifices made by so many."
So the spirit of the guidance doesn't extend to soccer and rugby players. Some slap in the face for front line workers when they see other sports playing . What about the young, they have sacrificed more than anyone, they're healthy but had to stay in to help everyone else. People talk about what the elderly done for our generation during the war, our young people have done as much. So forget about spirit of guidance and sense of collective when it's only GAA being held back.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 01/04/2021 23:19:40    2335738

Replying To Whammo86:  "Couldn't agree more. I can't stand FF/FG but at the end of the day they're a very legitimate government.

PR system is way more democratic than the UK's FPTP system for example.

Yes SF got the most 1st preference votes but that's not the name of the game so it doesn't matter a sh1t and if it was the name of the game there's zero guarantee that the outcome would've been the same in that regard."
I just don't like people who seem to be either new to voting or to politics don't get it. We will never have a overall majority in this country again. The last was 1977. I was a kid ffs. We will always have coalition, so in that regard no one gets what they voted for entirely. The only way sf will ever be in gov is by going into coalition with either ff or fg. I can't see the latter ever going for that as they would be better as a opponent in such a scenario. Also likely any 2 partys will not be able to form a government after next election so will need a third. I know it's not on topic etc just annoys me that people don't either understand or care how our democracy works.
Btw I would not have voted Mm as Taoiseach but he is. And as a democrat I accept that

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/04/2021 23:25:56    2335740

Replying To superos:  "LOI competitions run along side the UEFA calender and all leagues across Europe are playing at the moment. Also our teams are in European club competition come July and one other point is not one Covid violation was broken by the Football player's or clubsin the country during the past 12 months ....pity we can't say the same about our club and county team"
So your a soccer man. I thought LOI starts when other countries leagues are coming to a finish.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 01/04/2021 23:31:16    2335741

Replying To arock:  "And how many of that was caused by GAA players? Consider the huge amount of deaths caused by a Govt that didnt consider nursing homes, levt airports open etc etc. Spare us the outrage, my mother went into hospital last summer with a stroke and got covid off a member of staff and died. So yeah the system is a killing machine"
You are correct and sorry to hear about your mother, RIP.. Unfortunately we as a country are full of morons which includes the majority of the media and our politicians. We delayed the vacine by 10 days when it was obvious that it should have been kept rolled out- how many lives did this stupid action cost us. I am not a Dublin follower but I am 100% confident that the actions of the Dublin players cost no lives. Can our media investigate the numbers of HSE office workers/management/mismanagement staff who got the vaccine when frontline staff and older people were waiting for same. Are our HSE capable of counting. -great frontline staff, nurses and doctors but management-maybe 'faulty towers' could do better

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 02/04/2021 00:17:23    2335743

Replying To superos:  "LOI competitions run along side the UEFA calender and all leagues across Europe are playing at the moment. Also our teams are in European club competition come July and one other point is not one Covid violation was broken by the Football player's or clubsin the country during the past 12 months ....pity we can't say the same about our club and county team"
Didn't Bohemians get caught for something similar to the Dubs last season

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 02/04/2021 02:30:52    2335745

Replying To Canuck:  "I guess ourselves and the U.S. would be still part of the British Empire if accepting the rule of law. Probable a minority fought that fight also. The rules regarding playing sport in Ireland during this pandemic is discriminating against GAA players period. God bless those who rebel against it. This is a selective ban with b.s. reasoning.
I commiserate with you for the position you are in and those people who can't attended funerals ."
Appreciate your message thank you

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 02/04/2021 03:34:25    2335747

Replying To CTGAA10:  "As another poster mentioned,check the date lads..I really couldnt imagine the dubs being that stupid with only 3 weeks left to get back.."
it happened and dessie farrell has been suspended but no sanction for the players

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 02/04/2021 07:49:54    2335751

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Can someone clarify for me. The Dublin Gaa have suspended Dessie Farrell. Not the central body, as in the CCCC.... this is an internal suspension so yes? As opposed to an official gaa disciplinary sanction.

Can the CCCC loans another suspension on the Dublin man like Ronan McCarthy ?"
The GAA will look very weak if they don't hand out a suspension. Allowing counties to handle disciplinary matters in-house would set a dangerous precedent.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 02/04/2021 09:14:53    2335754

Replying To catch22:  "Yeah , I know , 9 lads in a field.
News of the world. Dreadful altogether.
A pandemic, and this is big,big news."
The forum is about Gaa and it's a gaa related topic,so yes it is news.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/04/2021 10:48:22    2335761

Dublin smart enough getting rid of Farrell and not suspending those at training. Ie. Fenton. Dublin can win Leinster without Farrell.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 02/04/2021 10:50:29    2335763

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Dublin smart enough getting rid of Farrell and not suspending those at training. Ie. Fenton. Dublin can win Leinster without Farrell."
Correct statement but incomplete. I would say if the GAA decided to ban Farrell/ Fenton and several other top Dublin players for the season Dublin would probably still win a seventh All Ireland in a row. By the way I'm not saying this as if I would agree with such Dublin bans, I think this whole controversy over an outdoor non contact training session is a bit ridiculous.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1338 - 02/04/2021 11:26:33    2335764

Replying To Saynothing:  "So the spirit of the guidance doesn't extend to soccer and rugby players. Some slap in the face for front line workers when they see other sports playing . What about the young, they have sacrificed more than anyone, they're healthy but had to stay in to help everyone else. People talk about what the elderly done for our generation during the war, our young people have done as much. So forget about spirit of guidance and sense of collective when it's only GAA being held back."
People talk about what the elderly done for our generation during the war, our young people have done as much

That has to rank as one of the most uneducated and ridiculous comments ever posted on here, you wouldn't be here today if it wasn't for the people who fought and died in the great wars !

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 02/04/2021 11:27:24    2335766

As representatives of the best team this sport has ever seen and having the level of idolisation and responsibility that comes with that, It was a very stupid thing to do and shouldn't go unpunished. But if you're genuinely offended at 10 or so lads having a kick about in a park, or you think this is a slap in the face to healthcare workers, you might want to wise up.

If there's a man or woman here that can tell me they've honestly not left their 5k for any purpose other that shopping or essentials, they've not been to someone's house or garden or that they've not broken any other rule, then fair enough. But otherwise, you can't be selective about what rule breaks offend you just because it's the dubs. I think we can all agree that the science behind non contact outdoor sports proves it to be incredibly safe..

At this stage in the lockdown, if you see any group of lads at any age or level having a kick about, you might want to have a think about their mental health and everything that young people have given up and lost out on over the past year.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 02/04/2021 11:38:06    2335768

Replying To royaldunne:  "I just don't like people who seem to be either new to voting or to politics don't get it. We will never have a overall majority in this country again. The last was 1977. I was a kid ffs. We will always have coalition, so in that regard no one gets what they voted for entirely. The only way sf will ever be in gov is by going into coalition with either ff or fg. I can't see the latter ever going for that as they would be better as a opponent in such a scenario. Also likely any 2 partys will not be able to form a government after next election so will need a third. I know it's not on topic etc just annoys me that people don't either understand or care how our democracy works.
Btw I would not have voted Mm as Taoiseach but he is. And as a democrat I accept that"
Exactly agree with all that including the MM bit.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 02/04/2021 11:48:45    2335770

What is so irratating is that it exposes the hypocracy that exists in the GAA. A situation where it is Intercounty first above everything including clubs is disgusting. This is what happens when you give undeserved "Elite" status to what are amateurs working in the wider community. Club players cannot train according to GAA guidelines - these guidelines are NOT based on science they are based on politics and the so called local power of the GAA to bend rules.
People are right to question the sheer arrogance - someone on another thread suggested Inter-county players get vaccinated!!! It is this disgusting attitude fostered by a core element in the GAA that is actually causing it to be vilified and getting a battering today. The vast majority of people in the games are decent, hardworking volunteers who make the GAA wheels turn. The GAA would do well to listen to these voices rather than the hurlers on the ditch. What some Dublin players did is wrong and they should be ashamed of themselves. However, in terms of the death and destruction visited on nursing homes by a poor HSE/Govt is off the ricter scale in this regard. I have no doubt Dublin are not the only ones. What also is idiotic is this misguided belief that Dublin should get a different punishment to others. Dublin County Board are only following what other County boards do. But I cannot understand why training for GAA is to return for very young and Inter-county only and not the many thousands of young adults suffering in this pandemic. I do not understand how an organisation supposedly based on some values would detach and favour an elite undeserving, self important bunch of me feiners. What the lads did was what lads do everywhere but there is something else at the heart of this and it is not pretty.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 02/04/2021 12:01:43    2335771

Replying To FoolsGold:  "The forum is about Gaa and it's a gaa related topic,so yes it is news."
Yes, but it's not just on this or any other GAA forum. It's front page newspaper headline news along with most other Irish media outlets. You talk about a pandemic and this is worthy of newspaper headlines.Cop on a bit and put this in perspective before you relate a pandemic to 9 lads in a field kicking a ball. Just another example of the standard of some of the journalism that passes for professional in this country.
Everyone knows it shouldn't have taken place but it's pure and simple a case of looking for an arse to kick at this stage and that's what these players did.They made a bad call but it just demonstrates how small and ultimately pathetic people can be when it comes to overreacting.
Look around you and see how insignificant this is in relation to what's happening all over the country everyday. We're in a " level 5 lockdown " and the roads are thronged with cars and trucks in all towns and cities. Go to any park if it's anything above 10 degrees and see the crowds gathered and a lot of them with drink.
Enter a shopping centre and look at the numbers mixing under " level 5 restrictions ".
No , as usual, this is the easy option for a story and it's news because it's made big news and not just on a GAA forum.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/04/2021 12:02:29    2335772

Replying To Sweetspot:  "As representatives of the best team this sport has ever seen and having the level of idolisation and responsibility that comes with that, It was a very stupid thing to do and shouldn't go unpunished. But if you're genuinely offended at 10 or so lads having a kick about in a park, or you think this is a slap in the face to healthcare workers, you might want to wise up.

If there's a man or woman here that can tell me they've honestly not left their 5k for any purpose other that shopping or essentials, they've not been to someone's house or garden or that they've not broken any other rule, then fair enough. But otherwise, you can't be selective about what rule breaks offend you just because it's the dubs. I think we can all agree that the science behind non contact outdoor sports proves it to be incredibly safe..

At this stage in the lockdown, if you see any group of lads at any age or level having a kick about, you might want to have a think about their mental health and everything that young people have given up and lost out on over the past year."
Thats the most sensible and fair minded post I've seen on here in a long time, and by the way any Dublin supporter that I've spoken with regarding the covid 19 breach by some members of the Dublin team has agreed it was a stupid thing to do and they will rightly have to accept any punishment that comes their way as long its in line with the precedent set by the punishment given to the Down and Cork teams.

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 02/04/2021 12:06:39    2335773

Replying To KillingFields:  "for stupidity alone, the players and fitness coach that took parts should all get 12 week bans. By having it at 6 in the morning, they were obviously trying to get away with breaking the rules. Very sneaky by the dublin CB giving the ban to ensure he is back for championship. Are the GAA going to leave that ban and set a precedent that CB's decide their own punishments when they break national laws and rules. Some crack if they take away home advantage in the league...they'll probably play the games in croker then instead of parnell park!!!!!!!!!!
wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1504 - 01/04/2021 20:50:57

Or they had it at 6am simply to allow the players train and then go to work just like many athletes do in multiple sports.

And where is all this racism and sexism taking place? Do you live in Russia?
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 7897 - 01/04/2021 21:01:29
Just look at the news, see posts by many female journalists, commentators on issues of all kinds on social media and look at comments below them and there's so many misogynistic posts

I think that you have a strong case when you argue that the word discrimination is most readily used in relation to issues of race, creed, gender and sexual orientation KillingFields. However when it came to the application of the definition of elite sports male and female hurlers and gaelic footballers were unfairly treated.
The definition of elite sports was not applied equitably. Professionalism was perhaps the single most important criterion.There are amateur rugby and soccer teams training and playing away with the permission of the government. The Irish women's rugby team is overwhelmingly populated by amateur players. The professional players amongst the squad also work as GPOs in the community. The squad is travelling to Wales for a game on the 10th of April. They then welcome France the following weekend and they may end up travelling to Italy for their final game. The vast majority of the panel are either students or they work in the community. The National Women's League in soccer is entirely amateur. A lot of the players don't even get expenses. Their league started last weekend. In Division One of The LOI there are entirely amateur teams such as UCD and Wexford Youths. The Echo in Cork reported before Christmas that Cork City would be amateur this season. Do Cabinteely, Treaty United and Athlone pay their players on a full time basis? I very much doubt it. Do they pay them at all? The players in the sports I have mentioned above are living and working in the community in the exact same way that senior inter county male and female hurlers and footballers do. They have all been allowed to train and play by the government. Yet male and female gaelic footballers and hurlers have been banned from training and playing by the government for the last three months. It may not amount to discrimination KillingFields but it is most certainly unfair and inequitable treatment.
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 5278 - 01/04/2021 21:43:10
Elite was probably wrong word to be used by government and the definition was essentially changes for 2021. The top hurlers and footballers werent unfairly treated.
There isnt really many adult rugby sides training away and there definitely isnt any amatuer rugby sides playing games right now.
Womens national rugby team does contain a considerable number of professional players and many others who work as development officers in schools but since schools have been closed/none of that work going ahead they can just train. many/most are not working in the community at all"
Nah KillingFields. I'm not having that. The Sevens players on the Irish women's rugby squad have professional contracts. The rest of the squad are amateur. They will be travelling abroad twice this month to play games. It is a distinct possibility that Italy where 108,000 people have died from Covid will provide the opposition in the final game. Should that materialise this predominantly amateur squad will have to travel to Italy. Some of that squad work in the community just like male and female hurlers and footballers. Yet male and female hurlers and footballers have been banned from training and playing. All of the soccer players involved in The National Women's League are amateur. Teams like UCD, Wexford Youths and Cork City amongst others in Division One of The LOI are amateur . They all have to work outside their sport to earn a living unless they are students. Yet they are training and playing away. Male and female hurlers and footballers were banned from training and playing. There was an unfair, inequitable distinction made. To say otherwise is wrong.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/04/2021 12:10:30    2335774

Replying To catch22:  "Yes, but it's not just on this or any other GAA forum. It's front page newspaper headline news along with most other Irish media outlets. You talk about a pandemic and this is worthy of newspaper headlines.Cop on a bit and put this in perspective before you relate a pandemic to 9 lads in a field kicking a ball. Just another example of the standard of some of the journalism that passes for professional in this country.
Everyone knows it shouldn't have taken place but it's pure and simple a case of looking for an arse to kick at this stage and that's what these players did.They made a bad call but it just demonstrates how small and ultimately pathetic people can be when it comes to overreacting.
Look around you and see how insignificant this is in relation to what's happening all over the country everyday. We're in a " level 5 lockdown " and the roads are thronged with cars and trucks in all towns and cities. Go to any park if it's anything above 10 degrees and see the crowds gathered and a lot of them with drink.
Enter a shopping centre and look at the numbers mixing under " level 5 restrictions ".
No , as usual, this is the easy option for a story and it's news because it's made big news and not just on a GAA forum."
All those other instance's are a different issue and not In the Gaa ontrol
. The Gaa issued a statement 12 hours before the training session. Dublin are portrayed as role models to the GAA, but it was more like a 2 finger to everyone else.

It didn't need to be on the front news ,but probably no harm either as at least counties would wise up and not think about breakong the ban now.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/04/2021 12:22:14    2335776

Replying To AfricanGael:  "People talk about what the elderly done for our generation during the war, our young people have done as much

That has to rank as one of the most uneducated and ridiculous comments ever posted on here, you wouldn't be here today if it wasn't for the people who fought and died in the great wars !"
" Great wars"? There was nothing great about WW1. It was a feud between Imperialist European countries who had related royal families as their heads of state. It was not a war of liberation or a war that opposed indescribably evil totalitarian regimes. WW1 was a mincing machine that was fed millions upon millions of young men by Imperialist regimes. The sacrifices and appalling slaughter were for nothing.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/04/2021 12:22:17    2335777