Dublin Senior Football Team

This nonsense needs to stop. The pic shows five people, one supposedly a coach out in a field spaced out. If this is spreading covid then we are truly ******. With regards the rules the rest of the country needs to do the same in solidarity with this group. Go kick a ball around with your friends. Rules need to make some sense if you expect compliance. Phil Fanning wrote an article lately where by he was driving by the RSC and there was a full fledged soccer game on with two teams and a significant group of others around. Continuing on his way he went by several GAA grounds including Walsh Park and the gates were chained. It just did not make sense. The authorities every where are grasping at straws because they can not solve the real causes spreading this horrible virus. They are regulating the people who are complying the most because they can't control the real spreaders. I was in support of all and any regulations but now like many others getting tired of the smoke screens been put up. It's called losing the people.
If the GAA with its huge members and influence grew a pair instead of cowing to every thing we would be better off. Standing by watching other sports operating while their members are grounded. Follow good practices and do what is best for the over all health including mental of its members.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 01/04/2021 14:50:05    2335613

I would like to thank Dublin GAA on behalf of the wider GAA community.

Not only do they provide the key engine for the financing of the GAA now they knock all other sports off the top page and give the GAA publicity during the off season.

All hail the Dubs!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 01/04/2021 14:55:46    2335614

Replying To wexico15:  "Provide a link? Just Google it yourself. Haven't seen you providing any links to back up your remarks BTW."
That lads should be shot with a ball of his own ****e.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 01/04/2021 15:01:14    2335615

Replying To MesAmis:  "There is no suggestion they were outside their 5km to be fair."
Johnny Cooper maybe 5.5Km sure the "Journalist" will be able to GPS locate the exact distance. Meanwhile the fourth wave rages. Maybe if the said journalist was in Miltown yesterday at the dropping well he would have seen maybe 2000 older teens running amok!! I suppose it gives the begrudgers, whingers and lockdown police some else to groan and moan about.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 01/04/2021 15:26:35    2335617

Replying To catch22:  "That lads should be shot with a ball of his own ****e."
They should not have done it and there should be a minor sanction. It was 7am in the morning , it was non contact, only 9 people involved , but the people on here who want to throw the kitchen sink at them must be going round wearing blinkers, every park is jammed with people with many not social distancing. I would totally disagree if these nine guys are made scapegoats when in reality the science shows there is no evidence of spreading of the virus from outdoor sports. Outdoor training should have been back by now and the GAA would serve Its membership better by putting pressure on the government to resume outdoor Gaa training for all immediately rather than wasting time on this really minor incident. I get no greater satisfaction than beating the dubs but I feel these boys are going to be crucified. I am really surprised by the Indo.

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 01/04/2021 15:39:16    2335619

The Independent are on to the Gardai now to deal with it!
That paper and its journalists really does not like the GAA

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 669 - 01/04/2021 15:42:12    2335620

Replying To Canuck:  "This nonsense needs to stop. The pic shows five people, one supposedly a coach out in a field spaced out. If this is spreading covid then we are truly ******. With regards the rules the rest of the country needs to do the same in solidarity with this group. Go kick a ball around with your friends. Rules need to make some sense if you expect compliance. Phil Fanning wrote an article lately where by he was driving by the RSC and there was a full fledged soccer game on with two teams and a significant group of others around. Continuing on his way he went by several GAA grounds including Walsh Park and the gates were chained. It just did not make sense. The authorities every where are grasping at straws because they can not solve the real causes spreading this horrible virus. They are regulating the people who are complying the most because they can't control the real spreaders. I was in support of all and any regulations but now like many others getting tired of the smoke screens been put up. It's called losing the people.
If the GAA with its huge members and influence grew a pair instead of cowing to every thing we would be better off. Standing by watching other sports operating while their members are grounded. Follow good practices and do what is best for the over all health including mental of its members."
Unfortunately there are too many people only too willing to rip into the GAA. We all know this is rubbish but sure the GAA has to be seen to hang a few bodies to show how responsible they are. It is like the restrictions childrens clothes are essential but the rest of us cave dwellers can make do with birthday suits. Or the 5K why not 5.5?, 6? etc etc. But at the same time if you have rules, you have rules.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 01/04/2021 15:46:15    2335621

Replying To Meath10:  "Should have to forfeit their last 10 Leinster titles imo. With the runners up each year taking the crown :). Only suitable punishment"
And they should be awarded to Wicklow, where all the beautiful people come from.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 01/04/2021 15:50:10    2335623

Realistically should be treated same as what happened to Cork and Down earlier in the year, given this involves the most high profile GAA team in the country including the footballer of the year has accelerated all of this.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 01/04/2021 15:51:54    2335624

Replying To wexico15:  "I think if the independent had it as an April fools joke it would be a headline and headline only rather than a 3 page spread ...."
Yeah and now Garda investigating. That would be wasting Garda resources which actually carries a hefty fine along with probable improvement. So no April fools.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/04/2021 16:09:21    2335626

Replying To OpenStand:  "The Independent are on to the Gardai now to deal with it!
That paper and its journalists really does not like the GAA"
I wonder if the gardai can lend the resources, an awful lot of them are involved in stopping motorists coming home from work on the N7 at present.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 01/04/2021 16:09:42    2335627

Replying To OpenStand:  "The Independent are on to the Gardai now to deal with it!
That paper and its journalists really does not like the GAA"
Selective policing at its finest if that's true.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 01/04/2021 16:10:20    2335628

Replying To arock:  "Johnny Cooper maybe 5.5Km sure the "Journalist" will be able to GPS locate the exact distance. Meanwhile the fourth wave rages. Maybe if the said journalist was in Miltown yesterday at the dropping well he would have seen maybe 2000 older teens running amok!! I suppose it gives the begrudgers, whingers and lockdown police some else to groan and moan about."
And no one to blame only themselves , it's not just dub gaa that it makes look bad. It's the gaa full stop.
I mean what were they thinking?
As someone said already this would not have happened if Jim gavin was still in charge, and if it did none of them not even Fenton (the best player of his generation) would wear a dubs shirt this year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/04/2021 16:14:59    2335629

Replying To Daith:  "Dublin players probably have received their second jabs from the Beacon anyway.

There will be no sanctions. This is Dublin, not the rest of us paupers."
pauper footballers ,, rich farmers

Heffo (Dublin) - Posts: 76 - 01/04/2021 16:16:49    2335631

I'm not sure the police were notified for Cork. I think the PSNI got involved for Down correct me if I'm wrong.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 01/04/2021 16:19:00    2335633

The return date of actual training for all County teams could be pushed back as a result

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 01/04/2021 16:19:02    2335634

Replying To Heffo:  "pauper footballers ,, rich farmers"
So the the rest of us obay by rules not attending funerals of family and me myself personally missing the birth of my child as my partner is living in a different country at the moment. But these shower of dubs think there above the law as usual and then we wonder why they can't be stopped winning all Ireland's? Its because they can pump as much money and breach as much rules as they want and not get penalised

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 01/04/2021 16:21:45    2335636

Replying To Irishcelt:  "So the the rest of us obay by rules not attending funerals of family and me myself personally missing the birth of my child as my partner is living in a different country at the moment. But these shower of dubs think there above the law as usual and then we wonder why they can't be stopped winning all Ireland's? Its because they can pump as much money and breach as much rules as they want and not get penalised"
If you're outraged by the Dubs then I suggest you don't go outside as you'll see the vast majority of people aren't following the restrictions to the letter.

The Dubs' players are just an example of how the majority are behaving at the moment.

This 'shower of Dubs think they're above the law' just like most people out and about if we're all honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 01/04/2021 16:32:38    2335639

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah and now Garda investigating. That would be wasting Garda resources which actually carries a hefty fine along with probable improvement. So no April fools."
A hungry feeling
Came o'er me stealing
And the mice were squealing
In my prison cell
And that auld triangle went jingle-jangle
All along the banks of the Royal Canal!!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/04/2021 16:34:44    2335640

Replying To AfricanGael:  ""We are all eager to return to GAA pitches with clubs and counties. But we can only do so in a safe manner. Blatant breaches of the rules such as this one, will inevitably delay a return. By sticking to the guidelines and supporting each other, we can all get back to the sports we love"

You'd hardly call that statement getting "very worked up" lol."
I wouldn't call it getting worked up. But I would call it hilarious when you consider that members of the Mayo squad broke regulations by bunking into the AI final. Mayo served no punishment. Have a word with your buddies there Al.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/04/2021 16:35:29    2335641